OT Cricket
Submitted: Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 11:51
QLD Kev & Darkie
Is Test cricket ruining the Australian economy??
How many fit and healthy people take sickies from work so they can go and watch the cricket. It is no wonder the economy is suffering.
I think the 20-20 game is the best around as it is all over in a few hours not like a Test match that takes 5 days of boredom to complete.
But all in all I love my cricket and would like to hear your
views :))
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 12:03
Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 12:03
Kev,
I don't have to take "sickies" to watch a test match.
I have a 3 day work week with my other job. Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday. So Friday to Monday is off to watch the cricket.
Follow Up By: QLD Kev & Darkie - Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 12:39
Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 12:39
I am on Holidays and am watching it.
When are you off to the High Country??
Kev
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Wayne (NSW) - Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 13:07
Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 13:07
Kev,
Saturday. Just going for a week.
All my trips (6) this summer will down in that area.
Next winter, back up north again.
Can't wait for either.
Reply By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 12:43
Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 12:43
Im banned from the cricket thanks to Amy and Kasey...its rest time so peter pan as ben on......but never taken a sicky to watch it though....but at our old house we use to lay the futon down so we could see over it and sit outside and drink the odd bundy or 3.
20-20 is great if ya wanna stir grandfather up...he hates the game....he's a test boy from way back so no changing his mind.
I love it....and andrew simmons....now that another story!!
kiwi
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Nov 17, 2007 at 09:02
Saturday, Nov 17, 2007 at 09:02
G'day
Laura, we went to the WI cricket on a tour with Becs and Kasper a few months ago and hear plenty of Simmo stories too. One comes easily to mind.
Simmo, read through the options for movies at one of the hotels they were staying at and declared "Now thats GROSS" He was asked what was gross.
He read through the options for movies to purchase. Quote "
1. Children's movies,
2. Box Office Movies
3. Adult Movies
4. DISABLED Adult Movies"
They all gasped, "NO Simmo that is to DISABLE Adult movies, if you have children likely to select an option of adut movies" Lots of Simmo stories. LOL He is a plurry good cricketer
Laura
Follow Up By: QLD Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Nov 17, 2007 at 09:20
Saturday, Nov 17, 2007 at 09:20
Did you hear what Simmo and Matt Hayden had for dinner on the eve of the 2nd test??
They had fresh Lobster, All it cost was a few signatures for the bloke that donated them. I thnik he was going to auction the signed stuff for charity.
Kev
| Russell Coight:
Reply By: Member - Noldi (WA) - Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 12:48
Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 12:48
Might
well be, seems the pollies only run it when its going OK
Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 12:49
Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 12:49
20/20 sucks. No skill required, just hit and giggle stuff.
Follow Up By: QLD Kev & Darkie - Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 13:01
Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 13:01
Well there is nothing wrong with a bit of slap and tickle ;))
Kev
| Russell Coight:
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 23:22
Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 23:22
The way test cricket is though gramps, its aussie score 23902830459823049832048 runs, everyone else 200 tops. boring as bat bleep . it will kill itself off putting eveyrone to sleep.
there are great skills in being a big hitter that can keep his wicket probably more than a block for 500 balls in a row and being 0 for 2 at the end of day 5
Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 23:36
Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 23:36
Truckie,
It was'nt that long ago the Poms kicked our butts and won the Ashes. We're a bit suspect o/s and coming back to the field without Warne/McGrath.
Follow Up By: QLD Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Nov 17, 2007 at 06:56
Saturday, Nov 17, 2007 at 06:56
Warne was an over rated bowler, Stuart Magill is a better bowler by far it's just he wasn't a contraversial as Warne.
Kev
| Russell Coight:
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Nov 17, 2007 at 08:43
Saturday, Nov 17, 2007 at 08:43
Gramps, but that ashes series reaks of what Marsh and Lilliee were busted for in the 80's.... think of the odds you would get...
but look at the next series after that. Boring as bat bleep
Kev, Warne is also a bad sport, a grub as
well.... If anyone should be nailed for bringing game into disrepute..
Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 17, 2007 at 10:18
Saturday, Nov 17, 2007 at 10:18
"Warne was an over rated bowler" - Kev, you've lost it. The greatest spin bowler of all time, bar NONE. You could see the Aussies lift every time he came in to bowl because they knew he could make things happen. A once in a lifetime cricketer. Why else would he be held in such high regard around the cricketing world?
Truckie, you've got to control that cynicism lad :)))))
Follow Up By: QLD Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Nov 17, 2007 at 10:32
Saturday, Nov 17, 2007 at 10:32
The Aussies survived very
well when Warne was banned for 12 months and Glenn McGrath was unavailable due to his wifes health problems.
So yes Warne is very over rated even if the cricket world has him on a Pedestal.
I hope that one of the fast bowlers can fill the void left by McGrath as MacGill is and always was the better leg spin bowler ;))
Kev
| Russell Coight:
Reply By: Member - Barnesy (SA) - Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 13:06
Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 13:06
Kev, I don't think that a few people taking a couple of days off each year is going to ruin a nation's economy. Considering the test is only 4-5 days per year in each city.
If there was several thousand workers in each city chucking sickies for the full 30 days of test cricket per year to watch it on the telly, then it may get some bosses annoyed.
Barnesy
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Nov 17, 2007 at 15:56
Saturday, Nov 17, 2007 at 15:56
>> Considering the test is only 4-5 days per year in each city.
people who pay money would be extatic if they lasted 4 or 5 days in total a year ROTfLMAO
Reply By: Old Dave - Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 16:01
Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 16:01
Kev
I only work 2 days a week now and i can find much better things to do when not working than watch cricket LOL
dave
Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 16:20
Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 16:20
I would have to admit a 5 day test match is beyond my idea of exiting entertainment.
I have more important things to do....like anything!
I'm a big fan of both one day cricket and the 20/20 format which is anything but boring. I don't think the 20/20 format can be singled out as a "bash artist's" game. It encourages a different bowling skill set and batsman like Gilchrist and Simons don't play the game much differently anyway. Boy are they good to watch or what!
Follow Up By: QLD Kev & Darkie - Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 16:27
Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 16:27
From what they are saying in the commentary the Test matches as we see it now may be gone soon. They want to franchise the test teams and have multinational sides.
Why bother??
Kev
| Russell Coight:
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 23:24
Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 23:24
Why bother?
At least there would be a chance of some entertainment or competition.. MAYBE even a 5 day test where both teams COULD WIN!!!!! Yes, SOMETHING INTERESTING.
I grew up going to test matches every season with the old man and few others, i played shire and rep for 20+ yrs, love the game, but its very very bad way at the moment.
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Nov 17, 2007 at 17:27
Saturday, Nov 17, 2007 at 17:27
once again aust score 2390480293840239840298340298340238 runs, so there is no chance of any excitement in the game.
standard issue, declare last session at end of day 1, get 5 wickets, game over day 3... Yep... its healthy..
Follow Up By: QLD Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Nov 18, 2007 at 16:56
Sunday, Nov 18, 2007 at 16:56
Truckie,
The aussie must have heard ya, and didn't enforce the follow on. It might make day 5 after all
Kev
| Russell Coight:
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 22:16
Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 22:16
Kev.
I can only think they were told not to enforce it, to ensure another days
gate takings. look at what happened in QLd, a loss of thousands for them. apart from the fact, nobody knew the game was on!
Reply By: Louie the fly - Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 20:07
Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 20:07
According to the recent attendance figures (Brissie
test) not many people took a sickie. Something to do with the quality of the visiting teams this year? Now an Ashes
test is a different matter. Good thing they include public holidays or it would cripple the country.
I get dirty when I have to play a 1 day game.
Follow Up By: QLD Kev & Darkie - Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 20:15
Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 20:15
Everyone loves to see the poms get flogged, it is better than beating the Kiwis.
Kev
| Russell Coight:
Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 21:09
Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 21:09
this kiwi will beat you!!!
kiwi
Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Saturday, Nov 17, 2007 at 09:24
Saturday, Nov 17, 2007 at 09:24
Aw, don't mention cricket and Kiwi's together.
I'm still embarrassed at Greg Chappel's decision to order his brother to bowl an underarm on the last ball of a one dayer when the Kiwi's needed 4 to win the match.
That was certainly NOT cricket and I can't blame the Kiwi's for still being dirty about it.
Love the Kiwi's who have a very similar nature and sense of humor to the Aussies. They also have a cute way of talking, like "there are sux of us" and "fush and chups".