Submitted: Sunday, Nov 18, 2007 at 16:29
ben_gv3
What is everyone's opinions on the colour of
water jerry cans? Should they be clear or coloured?
I seem to remember that clear is best as it doesn't promote the growth of algae etc? Is this correct, although this may be the case for caravan
water hoses?
The reason I ask is that the Willow brand is clear (or more opaque) whereas the Anaconda brand is "Army style" green
Reply By: Outnabout David (SA) - Sunday, Nov 18, 2007 at 16:36
Sunday, Nov 18, 2007 at 16:36
I prefer the dark green one as no sunslight means less chance of algae and tainted
water. Down side is that you can't see the
water level. Depends here you store them. If you are carrying them behind your rear
seat and they are covered then once again no sunlight = less chance of algae
Reply By: QLD Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Nov 18, 2007 at 16:36
Sunday, Nov 18, 2007 at 16:36
AFAIK algea needs light to grow therefore the clear ones would not be as good.
Caravan
water hoses are clear as they are out of the direct sunlight.
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Reply By: trolute - Sunday, Nov 18, 2007 at 17:59
Sunday, Nov 18, 2007 at 17:59
I use the heavy duty yellow 'willow' brand for
water - they are nominally diesel colour, but i only use black ones for fuel. The yellow willows are very, very tough, and don't disflavour the
water
just my choice!
Reply By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Sunday, Nov 18, 2007 at 18:19
Sunday, Nov 18, 2007 at 18:19
If it is for
drinking water, I would be checking as to whether or not the chosen colour has been extruded from food contact.Some manufactures use recycled raw material ( or at least a percentage of recycled ).
They make this decision on end use of the product they are producing.
Check with your retailer, are the various colours, red. yellow, army green etc all safe for decanting a product safe for human consumption?
Not a jerry can, but the
water tank in our van is manufactured from black polyethylene, I assume because a dark colour prevents the nasties etc.
Reply By: Jimbo from Best Off Road - Sunday, Nov 18, 2007 at 19:07
Sunday, Nov 18, 2007 at 19:07
I've got a vouple of the Willow light blue/opaque ones.
One sits in Jerry Holder on the back of the van in sunlight. Never has any algae form or any tainting of the
water, even after months.
Might also have something to do with the quality of the
water.
Melbourne water has always been brilliant.
Reply By: Ozboc - Sunday, Nov 18, 2007 at 20:02
Sunday, Nov 18, 2007 at 20:02
Myself , clear is for
water - so you can see inside the container - coloured is for fuels...... thus there is no confusion
Uv light hitting
water is also beneficial :)
Boc
+
Reply By: fozzy - Sunday, Nov 18, 2007 at 20:04
Sunday, Nov 18, 2007 at 20:04
clear-simply so i can see at a glance how much
water i still have
fozzy
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Nov 18, 2007 at 20:06
Sunday, Nov 18, 2007 at 20:06
I prefer the Willow clear - never had an issue with algae on trips of up to 6 weeks. I store them dry with their lids off.
Reply By: Member - Kim M (VIC) - Sunday, Nov 18, 2007 at 20:48
Sunday, Nov 18, 2007 at 20:48
Ben
I'm no rocket scientist, but I think all this talk about container colour is an urban myth. If your going away, chances are that the
water will be consumed in a short period of time.
Having said that, if your going into an area where you'll be picking up
Bore water, use different containers colours to distinguish between the
water quality.
As somebody else said here, empty the containers when you get
home. Give them a good flush with the hose then store them in the garage.
Kim
Reply By: obee - Sunday, Nov 18, 2007 at 20:49
Sunday, Nov 18, 2007 at 20:49
I prefer the five dollar ones from garage sales. Try not to keep
water for too long if a bit of growth concerns you. Personally I dont worry cos of my cast iron gut. there is stuff you can add to
water if it gets a bit off. I clean the cans out with chlorinated
water and let them dry out in the sun before storing them.
Camping shops carry purifier with instructions.
Owen
Follow Up By: QLD Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Nov 18, 2007 at 20:52
Sunday, Nov 18, 2007 at 20:52
If I haven't used the
water jerries for a while I give them a small dose of
Milton solution and have had no worries so far.
Kev
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Nov 18, 2007 at 21:06
Sunday, Nov 18, 2007 at 21:06
I got some algae in a plastic jerry once. Threw a couple of Puritabs in it and it cleared up soon. I leave the
water in the containers after a trip and then replace the
water when the next trip is about to happen. THere isn Oz there is not much waterwise that will make ya crook.
Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 01:11
Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 01:11
Me too Willem,
The dark green "jerry" style
water containers I have, sit in their racks on the camper for months sometimes without any problem.
When preparing for the next trip, I empty both them and the camper's tank (into the flowerpots, etc.) then refill with fresh
water. Never experienced tainted
water.
Reply By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 04:44
Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 04:44
Get the Dark green ones.
They are $20-25 from Big W, and do the job just fine.
I tend to stay away from the clear ones, as the
water seems to go off quickly. ( not sure about those light blue see thru ones.)
What I do, I run a sterlilzing agent thru everything before the
camping season, or before we head out... Just in case ....
It has been 4 months since we have had a chance to get out, because of either bad weather, or the wrong shifts, and the
water in the bottles was still fine, but I have just re-sterilized averything again.
CHeers mate
Reply By: Axel [ the real one ] - Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 08:45
Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 08:45
We have both colours , no real difference in
water quality that we can see or taste , the Anaconda style "army" has some advantages and disadvantages however , a + is that the large screw on lid also holds the tap , a - is the non flexible spout , cant use the plastic army style to refill our c/t
water tank , the most important is not the colour but to NOT have all your
water in the one container.