Rear window protector

Submitted: Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 20:55
ThreadID: 51796 Views:7411 Replies:13 FollowUps:29
Having tried all kinds of methods to prevent stones bashing hard against the rear window of the wagon whilst towing the trailer(including duct tape, 100mph tape, silicon rubber and suction cups, I came up with the idea of using a clear plastic sheeting and bulldog clips. I cut the plastic to the size of the window and including the top bit of the rear doors and then clipped the bulldog clips on to the door frame removing the clip handle on the side of the door rubber.Then I clipped the remaining handle down on the plastic. This method worked well on my recent trip to the Pyrenees. It may not work on all models of vehicles though as it depends on the configuration of the rear doors. Back home the clips are removed and the plastic washed and stored for the next trip. Takes about 10 minutes to install.

Reply By: Member - Littleborgy (SA) - Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 21:20

Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 21:20
Good idea Willem... You don't have a Patent on it, do you? I might have to use it one day... What thickness is the plastic you use? I would think 5 - 6mm should be enough?

Cheers, Brad
AnswerID: 272607

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 21:34

Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 21:34
G'day Brad

The plastic sheeting is about 2mm thick. It is the same stuff they use for outside curtains.

FollowupID: 535869

Follow Up By: Old Nick - Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 22:58

Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 22:58
I used the same curtain sheeting as you Willem and under it I put half inch foam carpet under lay and stuck it all down around the edges and sealed it with duct tape.

Worked magic - and cheap and doesn't get ripped off in serious off road trips. Wash it when I get home and ready for the next trip.

Regards Nick
FollowupID: 535902

Reply By: Member - Doug T (FNQ) - Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 21:36

Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 21:36
Willem
My idea I used back in 97 on my Rocky was more high tech than yours , 100mph tape and 2 XXXX cartons

AnswerID: 272612

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 21:41

Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 21:41
There you go....now why didn't I think of that. Pity you couldn't see through the xxxx cartons...lol

FollowupID: 535871

Follow Up By: Member - Pixie - Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 22:17

Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 22:17
But what on earth would you do with all that XXXX?

If it was drinkable then I would understand...

;)
FollowupID: 535885

Follow Up By: Member - BUNDY BOY (WA) - Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 22:20

Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 22:20
aaahhhhhhhhh Doug...ive used wax fruit boxes...for a little water proofing
FollowupID: 535889

Follow Up By: QLD Kev & Darkie - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 06:06

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 06:06
Doug,

I'm sorry but I have to agree with Pixie, You should have used Bundy Cartons LOL

Kev

FollowupID: 535920

Follow Up By: 96 GXL 80 series - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 01:16

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 01:16
Do the Bundy ones absorb the shock better than the XXXX ones?
FollowupID: 536182

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 09:21

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 09:21
"Do the Bundy ones absorb the shock better than the XXXX ones?"

No but the stuff in a bundy carton is drinkeable, you can only wash so many pairs of socks in the other sheite.

FollowupID: 536216

Follow Up By: 96 GXL 80 series - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 13:27

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 13:27
Hi Geoff,
even the ocean has trouble accepting the XXXX from the Brisbane river and on the rising tide pushes it all back.

That explains why a lot of people in QLD don't wear socks, it becomes to expensive.
FollowupID: 536259

Reply By: Des Lexic - Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 21:52

Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 21:52
G'day Donuts, I looked at your setup at the Pyranees and wondered whether the bulldog clips would chaff on the doorframe when it was all covered in dust. JMHO
AnswerID: 272619

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 22:19

Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 22:19
Yerr Uncle Des. Maybe, maybe not. But in the scheme of things is it much to worry about?????
FollowupID: 535888

Follow Up By: Nick R (VIC) - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 09:35

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 09:35
I hope you returned those clips to their rightful owner!!!

Des is right, it could start a terminal rust problem that could wreck the vehicle sometime in the next 80 years......

After seeing how you did it I looked at the patrol, It wouldn't work on a GU....

Nick
Carpe Cerevisi

FollowupID: 535961

Reply By: Eric Experience - Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 22:10

Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 22:10
Willem
The trick with trailers is to deflect the stones away before they hit the trailer, what works realy well is to attach an upright to the draw bar about half way between the hitch and the trailer body, then attach a piece of shade cloth about 2 metres long to the front of the trailer around the upright and back to the other side of the trailer, the shape is like the front of a boat, the effect is to ping the stones out sideways and reduce your fuel consumption. Eric
AnswerID: 272627

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 22:18

Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 22:18
Yeah Eric, I have seen those. To me they just seem cumbersome and in the way.

I also have clear plastic sheeting covering the front of my trailer so should a stone get flung on to this part of the trailer the rebounce should be less forceful. The bit on the rear window is just extra protection. I have had some stones bounce on to the rear of the wagon as evidenced by the chip marks on the rear door but they are few and far between.

FollowupID: 535886

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 09:29

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 09:29
What about rocks hitting the paint work without a shade cloth deflector ?
FollowupID: 535957

Reply By: Member - Mike DID - Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 22:22

Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 22:22
In 1991 I did 19,000km through Central Australia without a single stone chip to the rear of the Pajero.

I attached a sheet of shadecloth to the front of the trailer above the drawbar and attached the front to a steel tube which was then clipped onto the Rear Bumper. Ocky straps on each side allowed the sides to remain horizontal while allowing for cornering.
AnswerID: 272631

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 22:26

Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 22:26
I have a mate who has that setup on his trailer. Trouble is I tend to go to places where the tracks are either overgrown or are non existent. When blazing a trail then a device such as yours has to be removed and stored somewhere. It works well for the normal run of the mill gravel roads etc though.

FollowupID: 535890

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 22:49

Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 22:49
When you don't want to use it, you just roll it up and store at the front of the trailer.

I made simple screw attachments to the rear bumper so it's a one-minute job.
FollowupID: 535897

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 22:29

Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 22:29
Willie,

Get on to Big Al and ask him to cut the back off your truck; make it into a dual cab....no back doors to worry about!!!

And/or......

Buy an Ultimate Camper ....the shape of the nose cone deflects all stones and other chit off to the sides!!!!

Too easy!!!! (maybe a bit expensive though)

hahahaha ;-))
AnswerID: 272634

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 22:38

Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 22:38
Bill....hmmmmmm...food for thought.

Maybe you can suggest where I may be able to get a loan for either venture.......lol

FollowupID: 535892

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 22:45

Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 22:45
Sorry mate, I don't know anybody in the finance industry!!!

Anyway, "good bank manager" is an oxymoron.......
FollowupID: 535896

Reply By: Mal and Di - Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 22:50

Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 22:50
Recently did the Birdsville track( and other places) and prior to leaving did the same thing, cut some clear plastic and taped it around the edge of the rear window. With the spare on the back of the Prado there were times when you had a bucket full of stones of all sizes sitting on the spare. One day there was one as big as my fist, hate to think what may have happened if the plastic wasn't there. Or maybe I was just lucky!
The shockers on the AVan were not so fortunate as they were that peppered the leading edge flattened that much one of them sprung a leak. I had to ring Brisbane for replacements to be sent to Normanton. Full marks to the ALKO team in for the service .
M.
AnswerID: 272642

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 23:03

Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 23:03
This is what you need.

I use one of these when towing the CT.

Not a rock or stone chip over all sorts of South Australian terrain, including the Flinders, Googs Track and other rocky, stone, gibber laden excuses for roads.

Don't dare say what speed/s I traveled at for fear of bringing the 'forum scrooby-ites' out of their burrows.

I will admit that the under side of the CT was sand/rock blasted nice and shiny.

Down side: Absolutely disastrous in mud. Any sign of rain that will turn the terrain into mud, then you need to remove it immediately.

Don't need it in the mud anyway.

AnswerID: 272645

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 23:10

Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 23:10
No doubt about it Lucy, you only have the best!!!!
FollowupID: 535906

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 23:56

Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 23:56
Evening Willem.

I searched high and low for that stone mat when I was building the CT in 06 and couldn't find one.

I new of them and had seen home made ones and was resigned to fact I would have to make one myself, when Bingo! I found the people who R & D'd the one in the pic.

Had a chat to them and they agreed to sell me one of theirs that only comes in one one size and design - take it or leave it.

I had a think about adapting it (piece of the proverbial) and took a punt and purchased it (No return or refund).

Fitted it to the CT and the Troopy and all is good.

It will transfer to the JEEP and will also transfer to the the new Jayco base station when I get it. So it is a versatile piece of gear.

In my travels I had seen set ups like you and the others have described above and made my mind up that i would wait until I could get the stone mat.

As usual I gave the sucker a work out as only I can do. Got caught in the 5in downpour at Broken Hill during this years OBC and the filthy, feral river mud at Menindee ate all the chrome fittings to bits (now replaced with s/steel) and the whole shebang ended up a supturating mud laden lump in a garbage bag for the trip home.

Then on the Googs track foray I dragged the a-end of the Troopy through some very soft sand and caught the front attaching bar of the mat on 'something and bent it.

Managed to straightened ok, and on return to melbourne the 5mm mounting bracket was replaced with a 10mm thick mounting bracket. (dare that bitch to bend)

All in all - just a A1 setup.

FollowupID: 535912

Follow Up By: Wombat - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 11:24

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 11:24
That's the same set-up that we have on the Silhouette and it works a treat. Not a single stone chip on the back of the old Triton when we traded it.
FollowupID: 535986

Follow Up By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 17:08

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 17:08
Looks the goods Lucy, I made a similar style thing from 40mm
stormwater pipe, shade cloth & fishing line. Just screwed it together, taper front corners off to allow turning & attached with 2
bolts to A frame at front of storage box. Front rests on Treg
& nothing to undo to drive away. Not a mark on rear of Jack
after 13k outback touring. Doesnt look as flash as yours though.
cheers...oldbaz.
FollowupID: 536023

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 21:26

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 21:26
Lucy, is that a Nissan being used as a tow vehicle in that photo? and a 3 L one to boot, are you sure thats right???
FollowupID: 536130

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 23:30

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 23:30
Trust you to pick that up Richard. Thought good old Arfur BONZarelli would have been on to it like a flash. (LOL)

I 'borrowed' this pic from the manufacturers web site when I bumbled upon it, for later reference. Its most probably one that he has fitted to the new camper trailer in the pic which has been collected by the ordering customer.

From the Rego Plate I would have first thought from the NT, however I am sure I can see the word 'Queerland' down the bottom in the left hand corner.

Definitely not anything I own or drive.

Oldbaz:

At one stage i thought I was going to have to make one myself as well, however I found a ready made one, all R & D'd and works like a dream.

FollowupID: 536166

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 22:10

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 22:10
No what I really meant was how could a standard Nissan 3L tow anything?

Without fitting a Yank V8 diesel in it

cutting the back off your truck so the stones don,t brake the rear window..

I just can't see how it could be done.. ran the figures over the calculator and it comes up negative every time ..

anyway cheers

FollowupID: 536354

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 02:09

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 02:09
Willem,

I can't picture the bull dog clips.

What I use is the Velcro spots, about 22mm diameter.

You simply clean the window then attach the self adhesive spots to both the window and the plastic sheet.
When you don't need the window protector on, simply 'rip" it off and store.
All you are left with is a series of Velcro "dots" around the edge of the window.

I would recommend the "pile" spots (the velvety ones) be placed on the window and the harder nylon "loop" spots be placed on the removable sheet or screen.

Mine are the other way around at the moment and the loop spots tend to "collect" pieces of sponge foam when you wash the windows with a sponge.

Have had mine on for 3 years or so and have only had to replace one or two of the window ones.

They are available at most hardware stores.

Also one or two small clear plastic self adhesive 'bumper" spots can be mounted in the centre area of larger "screens" to keep a gap between the window glass and the protector.

AnswerID: 272665

Follow Up By: SCUBADOO - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 12:26

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 12:26
HI Sand Man

You have discovered one of the worlds best kept secrets -:).
I use these these Velcro dots in my Campervan for: buffers;
rear windscreen saver; cutlery seperators; curtain retainers; LED lamp holders; GPS & antenna fittings; sign retension etc. etc.
Neville

FollowupID: 536242

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 17:08

Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 17:08
Yes and I "discovered" them by accident.

The Obies Rear Window Saver is a great piece of kit, except for one flaw. The velcro strips that come with the original product last for oh, about 6 months, then expansion and contraction of the strips on the glass will result in eventual loss of adhesive capability.

I actually searched for waterproof type dots to no avail, then discovered I had no problem with the standard Velcro brand self adhesive dots available at most hardware stores.

Because the cross section of the dots is relatively small (22mm) sun and water don't seem to have much negative impact of them.

FollowupID: 536676

Reply By: Member - bushfix - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 07:26

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 07:26
G'day Willem,

I just use a big bit of cardboard. Tucks into the spare on the rear door and held down by the rear window wiper. I put a fold in the top to offset it from the glass. Takes 30s to install. Although, the design of my trailer appears to result in no stones hitting the rear window. But yep, bulldogs clips are good, I carry a bunch of big ones, handy things.

(your foot all okay now is it?)

kind regards,

Jeremy.
AnswerID: 272671

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 08:27

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 08:27
Hi Jeremy

Yes thanks.....my foot has recovered. Trip to Gold Coast drove the pain beyond its limits but like all things after a while they settle down and the recovery proces starts. Will be more careful next time.

FollowupID: 535941

Reply By: Moggs - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 08:02

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 08:02
I made up my own from polycarbonate. Easy to make and relatively inexpensive compared to the commercially available ones. Only thing I've changed is to use the 3M 'Dual lock' fasteners rather than the velcro dots. There is no way it will come off when offroad. Details can be found here if anyone is interested in doing something similar:

Home made window guard
AnswerID: 272678

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 21:21

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 21:21
Moggs Hi

Did you rip them off obiesoutback

Or did thay rip you off . :-)

FollowupID: 536123

Follow Up By: Moggs - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 07:26

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 07:26
lol!, I tend to make a fair bit of my own stuff. I look around at what is available and decide what works. Had a look at Obiesoutback as well as a few others. Also 'ripped off' a centre divider in the rear from Outback, rubber guards on the trailer from Kimberley, heat guard for the battery from piranha, reverse light from Kaymar etc etc etc.
FollowupID: 536188

Reply By: nowimnumberone - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 12:28

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 12:28
gday willy
we actually sell something like that at work
custom made for most popular 4bys
just new on the market
clear perspex cut to the window shape with a double suction cup to hold them on.
cheers mate
AnswerID: 272709

Reply By: Member - Robert E (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 08:40

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 08:40
Willem,

I recently completed a 16000 km trip around part of our great land. I too, was very concerned about rear window breakages, given the huge costs to replace them when in a remote location, and notwithstanding my camper trailer's (an Ultimate off road camper) good record for not throwing stones back on the vehicle.

Upon searching I came across "Obie's Outback", a manufacturer of a shaped lexan protector connected to the vehicle by velcro (therefore removable) and complete with small 'gel' spacers between the lexan and the window. The units are very easy to fit and remove. The spacing between the lexan and the window glass allows room to hose down if necessary and the lexan does not rub on the glass. The one very small drawback is that you cannot use your rear window wiper as it may scratch the lexan. The fit is good and you would hardly know they were there.

The cost of the Rear Window Protector for my GUII Patrol was $195 plus $35 courier (Melton, Victoria to Wollongong, NSW).

Address of manufacturer is:
Obie's Outback
44 Mitchell Road
Melton South VIC 3338

Website is www.obiesoutback.com.au

I am very happy with my purchase. I hope this helps.

AnswerID: 273080