some ideas for camp trailer storage

Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 06:56
ThreadID: 51806 Views:4145 Replies:12 FollowUps:26
Hi everyone….. AGAIN
I know I'm hogging the forum and the limelight here but I need help with another dilemma.

I now need extra storage for my new camp kitchen that I have built and also a tool box that came with my camp trailer, and I'd like to be able to incorporate a 55L camp fridge. My idea looks something like the pictures I've posted below. I have an extended draw bar for my camp trailer and would like something I could protect and cover my camp fridge (when i get one) and something I could slip the camp kitchen into when transporting/not using it and be able to lock it and protect it from the weather

1. Does anyone know what this set up would cost me roughly?
2. Where would I find a really good place in the Sydney area to do this type of work - or does anybody have a better idea for me

Any advice on this would be much appreciated.

storage type

storage

storage

Reply By: QLD Kev & Darkie - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 07:09

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 07:09
Try

Dave Vella from Daves Metal Products at Wetherill Park in Sydney

google for contact details

His work is very good, he will custom build to suit your requirements

AnswerID: 272670

Follow Up By: garfield - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 18:09

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 18:09
Hi Qld Kev,

I gave Dave a call and explained sort of what I was after - he said I'd be lucky to get change from $1000.... I sh@t mysef LOL :-) its alot of money.

But at the same time he did explain that he'd be using quality fixings and ie, hinges, locks and stuff.
FollowupID: 536039

Follow Up By: QLD Kev & Darkie - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 09:44

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 09:44
If I was staying in Sydney for a few more months I was going to get Dave to build a removable box for Darkie. It was going to cost upwards of $5k but he does do very good work I must admitt.

He built Landy's canopy if you want to check his rig profile out.

FollowupID: 536416

Reply By: hobo bob - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 08:19

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 08:19
Good-day Just a small quere about your storage box on your draw bar When in transit your fridge working how do you keep dust and muck out of fridge motor I,m sure motor won,t last long with dust in it,s bearings Cheers Hobo Bob
AnswerID: 272681

Follow Up By: garfield - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 09:38

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 09:38
i geuss i'll just put some sort of dust protection strip or something like that on the lid.... hopefully that will work.
FollowupID: 535963

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 08:34

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 08:34
Just an idea I have seen on other CTs.
They have an inlet scoop, like a bonnet scoop on top of the box, and inside is an air cleaner element. Circular ones about 300mm dia and 50mm deep. Plenty of cars have these types of cleaners, like the XD to XF fords.
Filters outthe dust, but still lets cooling air in.
You will need an outlet near the bottom to let the air out, with a rubber flap.
Maybe you could use an air cleaner pad from your car, and put the not so dirty ones in?
AnswerID: 272684

Reply By: Scoof - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 09:18

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 09:18
Just a thought will the draw bar take all the extra weight it only looks like 75 x 50 RHS . Mine is 100 x 50 RHS and I know a K K is 150 x 50 RHS might pay to keep this in mind.

AnswerID: 272695

Follow Up By: garfield - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 09:40

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 09:40
Actuaqlly I'm not 100% sure, but i intend to look into it. The picture attached of the box on the draw bar is not actually my camp trailer, it was just a picture to use as an example.
FollowupID: 535966

Follow Up By: Scoof - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 10:14

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 10:14
Sorry I thought it was your drawbar in the photo.It's just I have seen a couple trailers in the bush with broken drawbars.
So make sure it's bullet proof.
Happy camping.

FollowupID: 535974

Follow Up By: garfield - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 10:48

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 10:48
Yeah i will. I'm not even sure if its the best method - or if someone may have a better idea. I just think it may be my best option though
FollowupID: 535977

Follow Up By: Scoof - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 11:21

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 11:21
Yeh know what you mean, your options for storage are limited just got to keep it simple, if you can.
I think the idea of a frig on the draw would be great if it can be worked out.

FollowupID: 535985

Follow Up By: garfield - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 17:36

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 17:36
I've actually seen it that way on a brand of camp trailer that escapes my mind at the moment, but yeah it made sense and it didn't look too shabby either :-)
FollowupID: 536027

Follow Up By: Scoof - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 17:46

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 17:46
garfield
was it a CUB Camper when I was on my last trip I seen 3 CUBs traveling together and 2 of them had boxes on the drawbar with a pipe and air cleaner type arangement on top of the box.

Don't know if it was a frig or just a box with a vent in it ???

FollowupID: 536031

Follow Up By: garfield - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 18:30

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 18:30
Mate from memory, I think it was a bloke out the back of schofields. I just can't think of te name of his business though.
FollowupID: 536046

Reply By: mfewster - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 11:13

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 11:13
Might pay to think about weight distribution when you are loaded up. It is starting to look a bit heavy to the front, Ideally you want to distribute weight so the trailer nearly balances at the axle with just a little weight to the front giving downwards pressure onto your towbar. Will you be carrying water/fuel in the trailer? Will these be located over the axle or further back giving balance to the weight on the draw bar?
AnswerID: 272705

Follow Up By: garfield - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 17:42

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 17:42
I've only got a jerry can for water on my camp trailer, a couple of 4.5kg gas bolttles and just the normal nassesities in the trailer. I know what you're saying about the weight on the draw bar though - i've gotta have it looked at. The weight of what i want to add to the draw bar would be approx Fridge 35kg - camp kitchen 25kg - current tool box 25-30kg
FollowupID: 536030

Reply By: Member - Mainey (wa) - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 12:31

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 12:31
garfield,
your not hogging the forum or the limelight here
as you say, you now need help with another dilemma...

back to your 'idea'
have you seen a fridge (obviously locked) in a sealed container on the draw-bar ??

Have you considered any the following (problems)
plenty of - Dust
plenty of - Heat
plenty of - Weight distribution problems
Plenty of - Movement (damage) of fridge contents caused by 'road bumps'

Lack of - CLEAN COOLING AIR MOVEMENT over (fridge) condenser, causing it to run hot & 'eat' battery power

Lack of - Practicality to actually open the fridge when it's raining because both you and all the fridge contents will get very wet.

You WILL have to open the fridge if it's raining, even if you choose to sit in the vehicle to eat a salad or drink a 'soft' drink.

Maybe if it was a genuinely feasible scenario with-out any inherent working problems some of the Camper Trailer suppliers would presently offer it as a fitment option.
You could then get some ideas from their method, if they don't offer it, maybe it's for a very good reason.

Pretty sure I would not want my fridge on the draw-bar for the above reasons!
AnswerID: 272710

Follow Up By: garfield - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 17:50

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 17:50
I sort of only really want the fridge in the box on the draw bar only during transit... While at home I'd more than likely keep it stored in the garage and when camping have it under the annexe
FollowupID: 536033

Follow Up By: Member - Mainey (wa) - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 18:28

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 18:28
Ok, it would only be "during transit" when it's raining, you and the fridge contents will get wet !
Also be affected by Dust, Heat, Weight distribution problems and possible damage of fridge contents caused by 'road bumps' and the Lack of - CLEAN COOLING AIR MOVEMENT over (fridge) condenser fins causing it to run hot & 'eat' battery power.
Other than those I see no real problems :-)

Is there a reason it can't be placed in the vehicle??

FollowupID: 536044

Follow Up By: garfield - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 18:42

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 18:42
Yeah.... two kids who want to take their bedrooms with them practically :-)
FollowupID: 536049

Reply By: Pomgonewalkabout - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 13:35

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 13:35
http://www.adventurecampers.com.au/camper_trailer_adventure_pilbara.htm

This Adelaide company manufacture their trailers with a 80 litre fridge mounted in a box on the drawbar.

I have one of their trailers but being as we already had a fridge went for the option of an empty box for fuel / firewood storage

AnswerID: 272717

Reply By: Moose - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 14:25

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 14:25
G'day Garfield
Best place for fridge is in the back of the vehicle - use a fridge slide if needed to make access easier.
I'm not familiar with what you have built as far as a kitchen goes so please ignore my comments if they don't suit what you have.
Best place for camp kitchen would be in trailer - slide out or attached to tailgate - whatever suits.
Sealed box on draw bar for odds and ends is useful.
Be careful you don't end up with too much weight on draw bar - I even removed the spare wheel from there because it was too heavy and always in the way.
Cheers from the Moose
AnswerID: 272725

Follow Up By: garfield - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 17:46

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 17:46
I want to try and avoid putting the camp kitchen and fridge in the trailer coz i'll lose alot of storage space in the back then..... that's sort of why i'm hoping to do it this way if possible.
FollowupID: 536032

Follow Up By: Moose - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 17:53

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 17:53
Mate - I didn't say to put the fridge in the camper - I said in the car.

And how much gear are you planning on taking? Don't forget that the more weight the more fuel you'll use. And all the more rubbish to ferret through to find what you need.

If you put the camp kitchen in the trailer then you'll have less room for stuff that you'll probably never use, so you'll have to leave it behind and you'll be better off :-)
FollowupID: 536034

Follow Up By: garfield - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 18:05

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 18:05
oh.... sorry :-) I thought you said the trailer for some reason.

Yeah I might have to explore something different, and at the end of the day the more i spend on this stuff now the less i'll have for my holiday in a few weeks - and i don't want that!!
FollowupID: 536038

Follow Up By: Member - Ray Mc (WA) - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 21:02

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 21:02
Where did you put your spare Moose?? Any hassles, under, over or on the back? You mention that it used to get in the way, how does it go now?

Ray Mc
FollowupID: 536106

Follow Up By: garfield - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 21:27

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 21:27
My moose????
FollowupID: 536131

Follow Up By: Moose - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 09:35

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 09:35
Where did you put your spare Moose?? Any hassles, under, over or on the back? You mention that it used to get in the way, how does it go now?

G'day Ray
Take care with the grammar there mate - I don't have a spare moose :-)
Seriously - I shifted it to under the trailer. It sits in front of the water tank and axle and being much closer to the middle it has reweighted the trailer nicely. I used an old Toyota winding mechanism (the one they use to hold the spare in the dumb underbody position - removed it when I installed the large auxiliary fuel tank). Tyre gets dirtier under there but it is out of the way. Doesn't affect ground clearance at all. So far it has worked well and I don't anticipate any problems.
Cheers from the Moose
FollowupID: 536415

Reply By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 17:27

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 17:27
I agree with Mainey & Moose..put the fridge in the vehicle for all
the reasons stated & one more...will the fridge have power when you go for a drive without the C/t ?. Will you need the fridge when going on a day drive without C/t ? The choice is yours.
cheers...oldbaz.
AnswerID: 272750

Follow Up By: garfield - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 17:53

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 17:53
I thought the fridge in a aloy box with like a seal around the lid would be ok....?
FollowupID: 536035

Follow Up By: Muddy doe (SA) - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 19:28

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 19:28
You can't just seal a fridge into a box to keep the dust out if you want to have the fridge running. It will soon heat up inside the box and probably overheat and be stuffed.

Fridge in rear of car is best:
-It is in there for Day trips (lunches/cold drinks)
-It is closer to the battery (less wiring and connections)
-The car is usually air-conditioned while driving so fridge does not have to work as hard
-Fridge gets supply of fresh air
-More secure in car when you are away from camp (unless you park car in bad spot!)
-More accessible when you need it (don't have to unlock box etc)
-Fridge is safe out of bad weather and dust

I would suggest having the box made up but use it to put in there some of the crap that would have otherwise gone in the car. Put in stuff that CAN be sealed up in dust proof box. Soft bags or pillows or stuff like that. There is heaps of stuff that takes up acres of space that does not weigh much.

Same amount of storage space overall but fridge will be running in a much friendlier environment and will last more than 1 trip!

Muddy
FollowupID: 536069

Follow Up By: garfield - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 21:25

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 21:25
do you think the fridge would still be alright in the boot of a car whaile traveling?
FollowupID: 536127

Follow Up By: Muddy doe (SA) - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 21:48

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 21:48
ok - most of us in 4wding are using wagons so ou got me there!

I have run a fridge in boot of Corolla no worries at all. What model car is it? Can you pop any part of the back seat open to help ventilate the boot?

As long as you don't tightly pack stuff around the fridge it should be fine. They need space to breathe!

Muddy
FollowupID: 536144

Follow Up By: garfield - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 21:59

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 21:59
It's a 2004 Toyota camry... You can't actually fold down one of the seats.
FollowupID: 536148

Reply By: garfield - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 18:02

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 18:02
Has anyone got some photos handy of their camp trailers? maybe some with how they pack their gear and if they have modifications made to them, like racks that can be taken off when not in use - or can be moved when the tent is opened.... ?

I saw a camp trailer when I was on the hunt for one, it had some steel tubing welded on the side of the camp trailer, and when needed another piece of steel tube (smaller in diameter) could be placed in it with a locking pin, so it could be put in and out with ease
AnswerID: 272758

Reply By: mfewster - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 18:09

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 18:09
Garfield, it isn't just the strength of the draw bar you need to consider. Far too many trailers have too short a draw bar, especially for off road use. Longer draw bars are quite a lot more stable to tow and easier to back. If you have stuff mounted on the bar and close to the trailer body (not close to the tow point), they also give less weight on the ball and are easier to manouver by hand, - the principle of levers at work.
AnswerID: 272761

Follow Up By: garfield - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 18:40

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 18:40
I'm starting to think the draw bar mod isn't such a great idea then....?
FollowupID: 536047

Reply By: mfewster - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 18:56

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 18:56
Garfiejd, I wasn't trying to talk you out of using the draw bar, I was just suggesting some of the things you need to consider
strength of draw bar
length of draw bar (longer is way better)
Make sure draw bar extends well back under the trailer (none of this welding on just to the front edge of the trailer)
Position anything you mount on the draw bar as close to the trailer body as possible
think about what you will be carrying and how you will pack the trailer - Aim at almost balancing trailer around the axle so that there is just a bit of weight on the ball after you have added your mods and packed the trailer..
AnswerID: 272769