Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 18:33
Ron173
G'Day all,
Some time ago, a long time ago I purchased a set of tyre pliars, to take along for those just incase situations.
I always meant to familiarise myself with their use at home before having to use in anger.
I never seemed to get around to it, however my van had a slow so tonight I decided to 'fix it myself' aherrrm!
Well, my word, whilst I'm sure they are a fine piece of kit, I shall prob never use them again except in a real life and death situation.
I sit here after enduring the joys of "mechanical advantage", a quivering wreck, sweating profusely, and barely able to type, after wrestling with this beast for almost half an hour, every muscle in my body is aching!
I did win the round though, and the tyre eventually succumbed to my super human efforts, and just popped (i use that term loosely) off the rim.
Maybe I'm not doing it right but I followed the instructions to the letter, and I shall always make sure I carry tubes, as that is all I will ever be able to do, even then, the joy of paying money rather than sweat sounds appealing from now on.
I can see them not seeing light of day again, unless the last resort.
Phew!! I'm off for a radox bath, I'm stuffed!!
Ron
Reply By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 18:44
Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 18:44
Gday Ron
I've used
mine a few times now, but I know the trick!....
You must continue to drive on the flat until the tyre has partially disintegrated and the bead is broken, then it isn't too bad!
Seriously though, the aove bade it easier, but ia have found it better on the 16 inch rims off the car than on the 13 inch rims on the trailer....the bigger rims and tyres seem to be easier than the littlies!
$23.00 for a puncture repair in town is cheap compared to the sweat, but I wouldn,t travel without the pliers, and occasionally if I feel I need to earn the right to open the beer fridge, i'll have a practice rum (I won't correct that, very fitting typo!) in the yard on the spare.
Cheers Andrew
Reply By: GRAEME. - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 18:56
Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 18:56
Hi Ron, are you really 173 years old?
No wonder you're stuffed.
I use
mine all the time and while they're not that hard to use I still work up a bit of a sweat at times.
Remember, practice makes perfect, or something along those lines.
Follow Up By: Ron173 - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 19:14
Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 19:14
Yeah!
So have respect for your elders!
Reply By: brummie pete - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 19:00
Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 19:00
I had to laugh at this thread as it reminds me so much of myself .I purchased one of those fandangled super duper beadbreaker thingy magigers from the four wheel drive show in
perth many years ago ,and i have only ever managed to get a tyre off a rim and i cant help but think how easy the guy at the show made it look ,then again hes been using the same old tyre for ten years i reckon .
Follow Up By: Ron173 - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 19:15
Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 19:15
yeah that would prob be right! LOL
Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 20:02
Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 20:02
Mate I bought a set of them as
well after watching the bloke whip of the old Cooper tyre as if it was made of franger rubber.
Tried at home before last years trip and I damn near threw the damned thing out the garage door and across the street. Good job the neighbours kids didn't hear me.
Ended up setting my lap top up beside me and watched the instructional DVD as I went. Had to keep pausing it every so often. If you follow the instructions to the letter it's not to bad but unless you're changing tyres every day you forget.
Now take my lap top and DVD with me whenever I pack the tyre removing gear.
Touch wood never had a puncture with this car. YET!
Reply By: Robin Miller - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 19:02
Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 19:02
Big fan here Ron , so much so that friend copied
mine and made copy weight 1 kilo less. Love effective products so I swapped and use the copy.
Every now and then I see a rusted on tyre and its hard to get off but really they have got me out of trouble more than once and there small pack up size means I always carry them.
Follow Up By: Ron173 - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 19:16
Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 19:16
Robin,
I agree with almost all your theories, but you can keep these mate!
Ron
Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 19:05
Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 19:05
It never ceases to amaze me that people still buy Tyre Pliers when you have a product like the R & R Bead Breaker on the market.
R & R Beadbreaker
My 12 yo daughter can break the bead and remove a 16 inch BFG AT with this tool.
No affiliation other than a very satisfied consumer.
Follow Up By: Ron173 - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 19:19
Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 19:19
I broke the bead quite easily, it was gettin it over rim that was the drama.
I'm sure r an r are fab, but trust me I'm not about to run out n spend more $$
I know if I carry tubes I can get out in an emergency.
Prob a lot to do with technique, but I can do without the slipped discs while learning! lol
Follow Up By: brummie pete - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 19:19
Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 19:19
blimey your 12 year old daughter can do it ,i must be a right wimp i have nothing but trouble with the thing .The problem for me is getting it back on .pete
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 19:29
Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 19:29
The tool only requires the screwing of one nut up and down with a spanner easy as one hand will do it.
Also you can sit the wheel up on a tail
gate or a table and work on it at height so no real bending over which is a killer on the old back for most of us.
Follow Up By: brummie pete - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 19:57
Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 19:57
i might have to give it another go ,id like to master the beadbreaker as i think its a useful tool in the right hands .
Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 20:04
Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 20:04
John do you mind if I borrow here then for my next trip? Just in case I need to use my Bead Breakers. LOL
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 20:17
Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 20:17
No worries Duncan she moaning about how long its been since the last 4wd trip anyway :-)
Oh!! yeah shes bush trained and even sets up her own swag without complaint :-)
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 00:26
Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 00:26
Too Slow!
When the suns going down and you need to fix 2 flats while cooking tea and before you can crack a coldie you really apprecate the no mucking about wack wack wack couple of tyre levers and its off simplicity
Reply By: brummie pete - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 19:23
Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 19:23
i think the beadbreaker /tyrebreaker are only any good as a weight loss device for the missus .Mind you she cops
the hump when i say it to her .pete
Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 21:11
Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 21:11
I have read the above posts a number of times and do believe I am missing something very important.
I have and use the tyre plier kit with the greatest of ease.
(1) The tyre pliers are bead breakers only.
(2) The tyre levers in the kit take a second or two to get the tyre over and off the rim.
(3) Also use a decent rubber mallet when appropriate.
However I normally just 'plug & pray' and leave that tyre as the spare for 24hrs before re using.
More than one puncture then its 'plug & pray' as you go.
Tyre Pliers - luv them (absolute piece of 'P')
Reply By: stocky - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 21:12
Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 21:12
I use my Tyrepliers *fairly* regularly up bush - most times don't even bother taking the wheel of the ute - just pop the bead, lever one side off the rim, stick a gator on the hole and maybe stuff a tube in!
Gets me to where i'm going - and to where I can PAY someone to do a proper job :-)
Still a bugga of a job on a hot day!
I have seen the R&R's - in fact the bloke who sells/makes them is just a road from me - but never used one to compare
Stocky
Reply By: Member - Paul S (VIC) - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 21:12
Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 21:12
G'day Ron,
Very amusing post. However, I also have a set of 'tyre pliers' made by the company in Sunbury Victoria.....possibly the same as yours. I picked up a tek-screw whilst travelling through Outback Queensland recently and as I had a 2nd spare, did not bother to attempt the repair job, that is until I had asked at every mechanic/garage in a 500 kilometre radius without success.
Appears any able-bodied bloke with the slightest mechanical know-how is working in the mining industry, mostly Mt Isa Mines. The Outback is starved of skilled & semi-skilled labour and the local motor mechanic businesses can't compete; I assume its even worse in WA.
Anyhow, I found the 'pliers' did an outstanding job and with the aid of a rubber mallet (in 40 degree plus heat, I might add) had the tyre off in a few minutes.
My main beef is the fact that the kit only has temporary plugs in it and the directions state the tyre needs to be repaired 'professionally' as soon as possible. When I eventually found a tyre retailer that could perform the work, he said it was no problem for him to remove the temporary plug, ream the hole out to a standard size and plug it with a matching rubber plug.
Appears the reaming
tools and plugs are only available to professional tyre repairers. Perhaps other members/visitors know of a supplier that sells retail. Failing that, a tube would be the only other option for a permanent repair.
Reply By: Member - Jack - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 21:18
Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 21:18
You might find this a little easier for breaking beads.
Link
Then you just need a bit of practice with tyre levers and a rubber mallet. I have had both and find the tyre levers easier, as
well as allowing me to let off a little steam.
I have also used a second vehicle to slowly drive over the tyre to break a bead on a couple of occasions and, if done carefully, works
well too. Probably not recommended for alloy wheels though.
Jack
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 21:44
Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 21:44
I used a scissor jack for many years as a beadbreaker.
Later I adapted the Toyota jack as in the link above.
Now the only beadbreaker I bother with is the high lift jack. Its a lot easier than even the R&R.
It should be rarely needed. In my experience, tyre plugs are the best solution to outback punctures - can be going again in 10 minutes, and get it fixed properly or replace the tyre back in town.
And if you're having trouble levering the tyre off the rim, try lubricating the bead and rim with some detergent, so it slides easily off the rim. The Mumme levers are good.
Reply By: obee - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 21:49
Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 21:49
My bead breaking kit consists of a couple of bits of angle that I drive between the wheel and the tyre with a hammer. I just work my way around the rim and it takes little effort. I was told this by a mate who changed a lot of truck tyres this way and it works a treat. You cant go to the 4wd shops and spend a lot of money on them which takes the fun out of it. Just have to get the hacksaw out and cut them two inches long.
Owen
Reply By: Member - Jiarna (NT) - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 22:14
Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 22:14
Hi Ron173
I have both the Tyrepliers and the R&R Beadbreaker, and both are very easy to use for what they are designed to do, which is break the bead. Were you using the Tyrepliers to remove the tyre from the rim??? For that you need some soapy
water and a pair of tyre levers, AFTER using the Tyrepliers to break the bead.
I have both because the R&R Beadbreaker can't break the bead on a shredded tyre, as it relies on a stiff sidewall to work. Kind of difficult when there is no sidewall LOL. The Tyrepliers works directly on the bead, so it is good for shredded tyres. BTW, I only carry the Tyrepliers now, because the pack up smaller than the R&R Beadbreaker, and are quicker to use.
Hope the radox works :-)
Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 00:59
Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 00:59
Have had a set of Tyre pliars for oh, 6 years now and they are still "brand new".
The only
puncture I have experienced resulted in a decidedly 2nd hand tyre that was beyond repair.
However, I also have a tyre repair kit for slow/normal punctures through the tread area of the tyre and for that, you don't need to take the tyre off the rim.
The "Safety Seal" kit is a quality product and I would have no problem employing it to get me out of trouble.
ARB also market their own brand of a similar product.
As for my trailer, that still has split rims, but I've been "gunna" change over to standard rims and run tubeless.
Why?.........Buggered if I know really, but I don't thinkl I have a spare inner tube on board:-(
Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 00:59
Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 00:59
Have had a set of Tyre pliars for oh, 6 years now and they are still "brand new".
The only
puncture I have experienced resulted in a decidedly 2nd hand tyre that was beyond repair.
However, I also have a tyre repair kit for slow/normal punctures through the tread area of the tyre and for that, you don't need to take the tyre off the rim.
The "Safety Seal" kit is a quality product and I would have no problem employing it to get me out of trouble.
ARB also market their own brand of a similar product.
As for my trailer, that still has split rims, but I've been "gunna" change over to standard rims and run tubeless.
Why?.........Buggered if I know really, but I don't think I have a spare inner tube on board:-(
Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 01:02
Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 01:02
Well, look at that....stereo.
I clicked STOP immediately after submitting to correct an error, but ended up sending both.
See if you can spot the difference:-))
Reply By: Ron173 - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 07:39
Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 07:39
Thanks for all replies.
Was a bit of a laugh looking back on it.
Just for clarity, I know the tyre pliars are only to break the bead, and they did that quite easily, it was the rest of it I struggled with, actually using the levers to get it off the rim, which of course you need to use to complete any sort of repair.
I will carry them if going remote but hope I never need to use them.
Maybe I should have used some soap on bead to help............
but then again, could see that resulting in a tyre lever slipping out and whacking me in the face.
My tyre will be going to Good year for a tube and refitting.... I'm not even gonna attempt putting it back.
hoo roo
Ron
Reply By: Member - Ed. C. (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 11:29
Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 11:29
Don't feel bad, Ron;-))
I suspect you may have discovered (as I did a few years ago) that not all wheels are created equal...
It appears that some wheels have a very shallow "well" (you know, the groove that you push one side of the bead into, while the other side is levered off the rim), thus making the tyre very difficult to remove using normal tyre levers.. even harder to get the b@st@rds back on!!
I know this is certainly true of the Nissan (GU) steels.. I discovered this the hard way, while having to replace a tyre in the bush.. Having been employed in agriculture for 20+ years, I can confidently say that I "know a thing or two" about changing tyres, but boy-oh-boy, this one tested my patience!!
So now, if I'm going anywhere where there might be the remotest possibility that I might have to remove a tyre from a rim, it's Sunrasias all round! (no difficulty at all with these)...
Have fun;-)
Ed C
| Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"Member My Profile Send Message |
Reply By: Mikee5 (Logan QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 19:19
Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 19:19
I guess you don't have split rims. These are the easiest of all to work with in the bush.
Reply By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 10:20
Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 10:20
I got Tyre plyers ,,,
About a 5 minute job to rip off a stuffed tyre, and put on another good one on..
My first Cooper took 20 minutes, and I hated everyone,, then a real good lube up with Lux Flakes, 50/50 water mix , and a decent rubber mallet, got it down to 2 minutes put back on time, easy as
Mate has R & R Beadbreaker, and he loves it ,,told me I was a d---head for getting the Plyers, but I love them
Bit like the Holden a d Ford debate,, Ain't it ?
Bit more practice and you will find it easy ,,
Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 12:21
Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 12:21
Bucky's reply reminded me of the following incident that I was central to.
A few Outback Challenges ago I put a large piece of steel through a Cooper ST - through the tread and out the side wall - never did find that piece of steel even though it was on a much traversed
well maintained outback dirt road.
Anyway, had a replacement Cooper brought out to that days competition site and one of the Comp teams in the group of competitors I was managing told me to bring the trashed wheel and tyre over plus the new one and they would change it along with something they were doing to their tyres.
How good was that - so I did and watched them in action and timed them as
well.
They had the trashed tyre off using tyre pliers, levers and rubber mallet - new tyre on and aired up in 1.5 minutes. I kid you not.
That was my introduction to the endless air which I couldn't get my hands on fast enough.
I'm no where near that fast but I use their technique/s which I studied for the rest of the OBC.
Just amazing what you can learn from others, especially being able to see it done and able to ask a question or two.
The OBC is my learning ground every year. Always something new or better to see and adopt if applicable.