Sand Driving

Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 18:48
ThreadID: 51820 Views:3533 Replies:9 FollowUps:8
Hi all, Im new to this but I have a 2002 TD Prado and I would like to get it out on the sand ASAP, could you advise me on the basics that I should have before going...

Reply By: On Patrol (Aust.) - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 19:10

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 19:10
Jock69

Friends that know what they are doing is the best thing to take with you..

They will help you before and WHEN you get stuck, because you will get stuck if you are a novice venturing out for the first time alone.

Do not go alone.

That friend can then advise you on the many, many things you need to understand.

http://www.exploroz.com/Vehicle/4WDriving/Default.aspx
Use the link to access driver training on this site.

Then, and only then, go on the sand and enjoy the thrill of getting to the top of your first dune.
Colin.
AnswerID: 272776

Reply By: Crackles - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 19:34

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 19:34
Read up on the basics of sand driving in mags or on thisSite .
For the first couple of times go with someone who knows the area, a friend, 4x4 club or tour opperator etc.
Pick up some basic recovery gear, an air compressor, tyre gauge, snatch strap, rated D, jack base plate and most importantly a decent shovel. Have Fun :-)
Cheers Craig....
AnswerID: 272783

Reply By: Louie the fly - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 19:46

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 19:46
Depending on where you are going as well - Ngarkat Cons. Park and Big desert are good sand driving and relatively easy I think for a learner. Beaches - different beaches need different 'care' (right word? dunno). Eg. I wouldn't drive below the high tide line at the Coorong in a fit but had no hesitations at Fraser Island. Just examples...

Reduce tyre pressures - 20 psi or thereabouts as a starter. Keep your momentum up. Don't drive in the salt water if you can avoid it - pretty obvious, but its amazing how many people do it.

Appropriate recovery gear is a must. As the others said, go with someone who knows what to do. Then they can pull you out. Dont forget to pack a big box of common sense. Its easy to get amped up with the fun of it all and come to grief. I find if you take your time and enjoy the scenery you are less likely to get into trouble.
AnswerID: 272786

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 20:00

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 20:00
All of the above.

Also;
Don't hoon at high speed - things can go very wrong very quickly if you swerve.

When on a beach;
I was on a beach a couple of days ago when what I thought was just another lump of seaweed reared up and moved towards the water quite quickly - a seal ! Seaweed may hide drift wood or rocks so keep clear or aproach with caution
FollowupID: 536079

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 12:42

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 12:42
That seal reminds me....don't drink and drive ;-)

FollowupID: 536247

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 13:44

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 13:44
Andrew, Check my photos, I have just up-loaded a photo of the seal. Person up front alerted us that there was on about so i had my camera ready. I did not see it till it reared up and started to move.
FollowupID: 536459

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 13:49

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 13:49
Thanks......some nice photos there. Where are they from? (NZ i take it). Looks like a fun trip/s!

FollowupID: 536461

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 15:35

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 15:35
Andrew the unlabeled photos are all South Island NZ. I can't seem to be able to label them once they have been uploaded. The mountain trip was near Omarama not far south of Mt Cook. The tunnels are on the West Coast of the Sth Island near Greymouth and were made by gold miners to divert a small river. As the miners dug down deeper and deeper in the dry riverbed they needed to keep lowering the bed of the diversion tunnels - hence the tunnels shape and height.
FollowupID: 536482

Reply By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 19:53

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 19:53
Jock, 1st principle of sand driving is let your tyre pressures down. Buy a set of Staun deflators if you don't already have a set. They are usually factory set at 18psi. This is usually a good starting point for sand driving. The type of beach sand, softness, time of year, tide conditions, prevailing winds, temperature of the day and previous days will have a big impact on the beach and your tyre pressures.

Get basic recovery gear such as a shovel, mates to use the shovel, snatch strap/s, load distribution strap if you don't have rated recovery points for and aft. Plenty of water and patience.Water is to drink and the patience is for when you get stuck.

Usually high range will be the go. If an auto start in 2nd and work up to drive once you've got momentum. When stopping don't break but come to a rolling stop. Don't drive over mounds of seaweed as you don't know what is hidden. Stay clear of the water as it will stuff up your car.

Seek local advice and as the other guys have said go with friends.
If you're new to 4wding do a course they aren't that expensive, are heaps of fun and you'll learn a lot more than the basics.

AnswerID: 272789

Follow Up By: Louie the fly - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 19:59

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 19:59
Good point about seaweed. When on Fraser in Oct. it was interesting to hear, then actually see, how, on the western beach particularly, seaweed can be covered by the sand on the beach. Fortunately the kids were only running and sank lightly into the sand. Imagine your new Prado doing this and nobody on the spot to help you.
FollowupID: 536078

Reply By: Axel [ the real one ] - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 19:59

All the above have some merit in their answers except for the fact that you have not told where you intend driving in the sand , each and every beach is different or are you planning to play in the sand aka the simpson ??
AnswerID: 272791

Reply By: Axel [ the real one ] - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 19:59

All the above have some merit in their answers except for the fact that you have not told where you intend driving in the sand , each and every beach is different or are you planning to play in the sand aka the simpson ??
AnswerID: 272792

Reply By: Member - Pixie - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 20:36

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 20:36
as above

have your own recovery gear

turning up to someone bogged on the beach without even a snatch'n'strap is frustrating
AnswerID: 272804

Reply By: Dave from P7OFFROAD Accredited Driver Training - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 21:18

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 21:18
Beach and Sandy Track driving is great fun. Take your time and enjoy where you are and you are half way to having a trouble free day.

As has been said lowering your tyre pressures will reduce the stress on you, your family, your vehicle and the track.

Carrying the appropriate recovery gear -and knowing how to use it, remember that there is no guarantee that the first on the scene if you do find yourself in trouble didn't learn from a mate of a mate who knew a bit- is essential.

MAXTRAX are your friend, they are simply the single most versatile and useful piece of recovery equipment that you can own.

you could also do a course...

AnswerID: 272820

Follow Up By: North Coast Bob - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 12:32

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 12:32
Agree with Dave on the Maxtraxs - we just crossed The Simpson (Rig Road)with 6 other vehicles, including 5 towing camper trailers and each time we got caught on a dune the Maxtraxs were a life saver.
We had winches, straps, etc but only used the Maxtraxs - a wonderful invention.

FollowupID: 536244

Reply By: Wizard1 - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 09:50

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 09:50
Please spare me, you can't possibly imagine that you can get all the tips on sand driving by asking on a forum then just go out and give it a go do you?

Join a 4WD club that teaches and does sand driving.

Find a mate that does sand driving and get them to show you the ropes.

AnswerID: 272904

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 16:50

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 16:50
I'd do a course... but not through a club. Also findin clubs that have access to sand to teach you in is hard.

I've pretty much gone off clubs.

My old one turned to crap, from going from 1-2 trip PER weekend to 1 per month is a good month...
Nobody running trips, over priced, and the only thing the people in charge appeared keen on was the club property and fixing farmers fences. Little to zero 4wding at all..

Better value in just doing a course though a private company.
FollowupID: 536494