L/CRUISER 100 4.5L FUEL ECONOMY

Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 20:20
ThreadID: 51826 Views:4396 Replies:15 FollowUps:12
Hi all, Have got a 100 series 4.5l and yes the fuel economy is bleep e to say the least. 17l/100 best so far. I fully expected this when purchasing as I couldnt afford the extra 10k for a diesel but really wanted a Toyota. However, I am now going to put in an extra 170l fuel tank in place of the std spare wheel as we have now got a 24ft van weighing 2500kg to take the kids around OZ. This will take me up to about 25l plus per 100km. Any ideas welcome on reducing fuel consumption. And no, I cant trade my beloved 100 or sell the van!!!

Reply By: Member - Mark H (VIC) - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 20:26

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 20:26
Maybe you should put it on gas, this will replace your back tank, and upsize your sub-tank. My old 60 series was set-up like that and yes that was a thirsty thing.

Other than that, reduced speed and smooth driving style are your best bets. Getting the air in and out quicker usually helps too via keeping air filter clean (maybe K&N, check LCOOL forum) and extractors/high flow muffler and larger pipe.

All the best on your trip, we're about to do it too with the kids.

Mark.
AnswerID: 272799

Reply By: Andrew(WA) - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 22:27

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 22:27
Cameron

Have a serious look at the gas 1st mate, you get a good rebate from the Govt to put it in and once installed, you'll be saving $$$ rather just carrying more petrol.

I've no experience with the 4.5's on gas but I bet I reckon it would be the way to go.

Good luck.
AnswerID: 272845

Reply By: Member - Cameron B (WA) - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 22:46

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 22:46
Thanks Mark & Andrew, I will seriously look into that. I was a bit concerned about gas a we want to do Gibb River and a bit of the Kimberley and wasnt sure of gas availability up there. We have just moved back to Perth from Port Hedland last week and gas isnt such a big deal up there. Thanks again, hope we might see you on the road. We have a 24ft Jayco Heritage. Its called "The Big Unit". I will post pics soon. Cheers
AnswerID: 272852

Follow Up By: Member - Mainey (wa) - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 10:23

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 10:23
Cameron, when I was last on the GRR in 2005, there was no petrol available at the only 'fuel stop' on the entire length of the Gibb, things may have changed, but there are not many petrol powered vehicles up there, everyone drives diesels.
FollowupID: 536229

Reply By: Go-N-Grey (WA) - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 23:12

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 23:12
I have a LC100 V8 Auto with 2.8 tonne off road 24' van.

April - Perth - Broome Auto in D, cruise control set 84km/hr 22 litres/100k Average.

May - Broome Perth, Auto in 4th,cruise control 85 km/hr 22ltrs/100k Average

Met guy in Port Sampson with same Van, Diesel Troopie, struggled to get to 80km/hr - 20ltrs/100k

Oct - Perth - Stirlings & Return, long weekend 95-100km hour (because of traffic) 29.5 ltrs/100km.

lesson don't go much above 80, enjoy the view, listen to some good music and save money.

10 Grand buys a lot of fuel, and "Oh what a feeling" when you have all that power in reserve and never feel that you stressing things (apart from the wallet) when you want to.
AnswerID: 272856

Reply By: Dunco (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 00:13

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 00:13
I just bought a v* LC100 and get 21-22l/100 towing my 1600kg van.

Around Sydney I get 14-15l/100km.

Take your foot off the accelerator mate :)

I love my beast and all in all a good buy. Saved 10K in not buying the diesel and saves me $14 everytime I fill up with petrol as diesel is so much dearer.

I don't care what people say, it is the car I WANTED and I love it !!!
AnswerID: 272862

Reply By: Dunco (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 00:14

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 00:14
I just bought a v8 LC100 and get 21-22l/100 towing my 1600kg van.

Around Sydney I get 14-15l/100km.

Take your foot off the accelerator mate :)

I love my beast and all in all a good buy. Saved 10K in not buying the diesel and saves me $14 everytime I fill up with petrol as diesel is so much dearer.

I don't care what people say, it is the car I WANTED and I love it !!!
AnswerID: 272863

Follow Up By: Go-N-Grey (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 09:09

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 09:09
Hear Hear!

I bought mine during a fuel price hike at the begining of the year and probably saved $15,000 with the WA oncosts.

Interest Only at 8.5% x $15000 =$1275

= 1000 Litres Petrol @ $1.27 = 6450 km Free p.a. @15.5ltrs/100k

If you dont do over 20,000km year you will never save money by buying the diesel version.

I too love mine and its the best vehicle I have ever owned!
FollowupID: 536214

Follow Up By: Davo_60 - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 11:39

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 11:39
You will however get back the extra you paid for the diesel version when you sell to some degree.
FollowupID: 536237

Follow Up By: Go-N-Grey (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 20:39

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 20:39
Thats true, but a $15,000 loan still at the best rate will still cost you $1275 year.

If you are lucky enough to a spare $15k laying around, you are still missing out on about $1100 a year income, still a lot of free fuel.

I didnt mention the extra service costs of runing a diesel, and make no mistake this is quite substantial, if you are investing $70K in a vehicle to last a long time you would be foolish not to service it according to the manufacturers recommendations.

BTW Diesel at some places in Perth today is 19.5c litre dearer than diesel, that is not to say prices in the more remote areas in the country are much closer if not slighlty reversed.

If you use a $20c lite discount voucher that difference buys a hell of a lot more petrol than diesel. i.e. the cheaper the cost per litre the more effective the the discount.
FollowupID: 536334

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 10:05

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 10:05
Those economy figures sound pretty darn good for the 4.5 I doght you could improve on that much
AnswerID: 272906

Reply By: Member - Mainey (wa) - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 10:10

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 10:10
Am I reading this thread all wrong, or are some people actually suggesting that a petrol 4x4 is more cost effective to drive while on "holiday" towing a van, than a similar capacity diesel ?
AnswerID: 272908

Follow Up By: Go-N-Grey (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 20:50

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 20:50
No, no-one suggested that the cost of putting fuel in the tank while on holiday while towing a van wit a petrol will be less, quite the reverse.

The cost of fuel is only one cost of running a vehicle. Most forget the capital cost of a vehicle which in most cases for a new vehicle far exceeds the cost of petrol or diesel.

i.e You either pay the cost in the monthly loan repayments of which you have no option unless you want your vehicle reposesed, or you have the option with a petrol of not using the vehicle for a month or so if you are suffering cash flow problems or not on holidays towing a van.

Money costs money whether you have it or not, that is why the banks are so profitable these days!
FollowupID: 536336

Follow Up By: Go-N-Grey (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 21:10

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 21:10
Oops,

I forgot to say I also have a Toyota Prius for town use.

The economics there are slightly different because unlike a diesel they give 50% saving on fuel against an equivalent petrol car of that size.

The difference though is very small if not negative in favour of a standard car, however given that I have a gas guzzling V8 petrol 4x4, I salve my greenhouse guilt with the Prius.

Ha Ha!
FollowupID: 536342

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 01:02

Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 01:02
Do your sums depending on how many Ks you do
I often have people ask why i dont buy a rice burner for city travel
- Its simple
the cost of a second car rego servicing stamp duty insurance etc
wouldnt go within coooe of just having the 1 4by
and BTW check out the whole of life costs of a prius I will think you will find they cost alot more than a corolla to keep on the road
FollowupID: 536572

Follow Up By: Member - Mainey (wa) - Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 11:15

Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 11:15
P L U S.....
if you invest the CASH you may have spent on the second car, including all running costs, in a managed fund for a reasonable interest return, you will soon see you would be going backwards by paying out for two vehicles, that are each only half or partly utilized.
However if you 'borrowed' to get that second car then your even further behind the eight ball, due to paying, instead of receiving interest.
FollowupID: 536620

Follow Up By: Go-N-Grey (WA) - Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 11:21

Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 11:21
I didn't suggest that one expenive to run 4 x 4 and one smaller fuel efficient car would be cheaper overall.

Its just we need two cars, my wife and myself both work full time and public transport doesn't fit shift work.

The service costs for a Prius are almost identical to a conventional 4cyl sedan. With the exception of the batteries there are no components in the electric side that require regular maintenance or replacement

The batteries now fitted are maintenance free and are supposed to last 10+ years, and mine will be long gone before that time, it on 3 year lease.

FollowupID: 536621

Reply By: Davo_60 - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 11:42

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 11:42
Those figurres are about right for the 4.5. The 4.7 V8's are more economical. You may save a little by fitting extractors and decent exhaust but basically they chew the juice. Other than that though they are a very strong engine with heaps of power.
AnswerID: 272922

Reply By: TerraFirma - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 12:24

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 12:24
Gas is the only way to go..! The V8 is much harder to GAS I am told, haven't seen many V8's on GAS for that reason.
AnswerID: 272930

Reply By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 19:16

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 19:16
If you are ever in Tassie call in and see me,I'll swap you any day.
I was all set to buy a 4.5 5 speed 100 series but got talked out of it because of fuel economy.So i bought a 1Hz cruiser,Its slow, gutless uses too much fuel for the lack of power and I wished ever since that i had got the 4.5.And still if i find the right one and get a good trade in price i still would trade to the petrol.
AnswerID: 272990

Reply By: Member - Mark H (VIC) - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 19:41

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 19:41
From what I have read here and elsewhere, you will only get economy benefits out of a diesel if it's a turbo diesel that isn't struggling like the 1HZ mentioned above. I have heard great reports of economy from friends with a 100 Series Factory TD and the new Prado D4D TD while towing, the 100 Series owner having traded his 100 Series 4.5 Petrol on the TD.

As mentioned though, you pay a big premium for the TD, the same reason I bought a petrol Prado - at the time TD were 5 to 8 grand more expensive 2nd hand.

Back to the gas, there's some websites that show you LPG outlets around Australia like this

Mark.
AnswerID: 272998

Reply By: morgan - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 21:14

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 21:14
I need advice! About to buy a 2004 -06 Landcruiser. Requirement is to tow a 2 tonne van and I need to know if the petrol 4.7 has the same power as the TD diesel. What is the cost to put in an LPG tank, and if the diiscount of about $10k for a secondhand petrol model makes sense. I currently have a Jackaroo 2003 TD which I paId $35K 3 years ago and is now valued at $12-15k. Any truth in the statement that the petrol engine needs a major valve job at 100k or was this for earlier petrol motors? I am a happy camper but not an engineer..........
AnswerID: 273196

Follow Up By: Go-N-Grey (WA) - Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 23:33

Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 23:33
The V8 4.7 will have much more than enough power to tow your van at any speed you want, right up to and beyond 100km/hr if you want to pay the fuel costs at the higher speeds.

I can tow my 2.8t offroad van easily at 100km/hr with heaps of power in reserve, fuel consumption when driving at this speed however gets truly frightening - 30ltr+/100km is easily achievable (in a negative sense) at these speeds.

Stick to 80-90km/hr and you will use little (if any) more fuel than the non turbo diesel equivalent. 4200km to Broome and back 22.3ltrs/100km average at 80km/hr average speed. Sat on 85km/hr on the speedo.

Altough the LC100 probably uses more fuel (regardless of the fuel variant) than equivalent 4wd's from most other manufacturers, just remember it is in continuous 4 wheel drive and is an automatic.

The added traction, stability and safety from having 4 wheels continously driving through a centre diff, with an automatic transmission and ABS brakes, particularly when on dirt roads when towing a heavy van (or at any other time) gives an incredible feeling of confidence and capability and is well worth the penalty one pays in fuel consumption.

I still have a 2.5ltr Turbo diesel Pajero which I have towed a 17' van all over Australia. The Pajy always worked hard, and I always worried about "overstressing" the engine. I also had some interesting times in the Snowies high country mid winter with the van intow!

Dont worry about resale I bought the Pajy new for $32,000 in 1990. With less than 200k on the clock it is probably now worth less than $4k, still on the original brake linings and injectors.

FollowupID: 537228

Reply By: Member - Cameron B (WA) - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 22:47

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 22:47
Hey Morgan, my 100 series was 32k 4 months ago. It had 130k on the clock. Now due for 160k service. Wouldnt swap it or give it away. So what if it uses a bit more fuel than other 4WD's? I knew this when I bought it as I did my homework and was in my budget. I guess I have been lucky enough to have lived and ridden the ore boom in the Pilbara and am now enjoying the fruits, but all said and done, if I was to buy new I would go the new 200 series V8 Diesel, YES!!!!!!
AnswerID: 273225

Follow Up By: morgan - Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 07:55

Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 07:55
Cameron B (WA) and Go-N-Gray, many thanks for your observations, they make sense to me. I have reached an age where driving a bit slower and seeing more does not fuss me anyway, I will now have a better excuse for it with a LC100!

Now have the power figures too (TD 150kW @3400rpm vs V8 170kW @4800rpm).

Final question re GAS conversion - is consumption and power same as petrol? I would be looking at keeping the vehicle for at least 6 years so cost of conversion would be warranted I think.

Cheers and beers.
FollowupID: 537252

Follow Up By: morgan - Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 07:56

Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 07:56
Cameron B (WA) and Go-N-Gray, many thanks for your observations, they make sense to me. I have reached an age where driving a bit slower and seeing more does not fuss me anyway, I will now have a better excuse for it with a LC100!

Now have the power figures too (TD 150kW @3400rpm vs V8 170kW @4800rpm).

Final question re GAS conversion - is consumption and power same as petrol? I would be looking at keeping the vehicle for at least 6 years so cost of conversion would be warranted I think.

Cheers and beers.
FollowupID: 537254

Reply By: Member - Cameron B (WA) - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 22:49

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 22:49
BTW Morgan, price for LPG on my 100 is 4.5K. Tank in place of spare and sub tank. 2k rebate from govt.
AnswerID: 273228