Sydney to Port Augusta

Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 06:58
ThreadID: 51844 Views:9595 Replies:5 FollowUps:12
When driving Sydney to Port Augusta which route is preferential, Wagga Wagga - Mildura or Dubbo - Broken Hill? Opinions please?

Reply By: Willem - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 07:46

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 07:46
Sydney.... Dubbo.... Broken Hill.... Peterborough....Port Augusta
AnswerID: 272879

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 18:48

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 18:48
Willem's route is a really good run. Should do Sydney to Cobar easy in a day, and Cobar Caravan Park is a good park, but pay to ring ahead, as busy halfway stop from B/Hill. Nyngan Riverside Caravan Park is very spacious bush setting on the Western side of town, near the Burke road intersection, and the park is run by a mate of mine, an ex brickie from the Hunter. Keeps a small menagerie of kangaroos, emus, ducks etc, running free in the park, and is right on the Bogan River. Wilcannia is a good fuel/food stop, and you will surely get to meet a lot of the local kids if you are stopped there long enough. Shower facilities at the servo, but everything is kept locked. Many good roadside stops this highway, and a couple of good roadhouses at decent intervals. I have seen the trees from both sides twice in the last 12 months this highway, towing a caravan, and quite enjoy the run. Never boring in the outback mate. Just remember there is a fruit fly exclusion zone just this side (eastern) of Broken Hill.
FollowupID: 536304

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 18:51

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 18:51
Actually the posted photo of my rig was taken at a roadside rest area right near the caravan park at Nyngan in Sept. this year.
Cheers and beers from Fred.
FollowupID: 536305

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 19:13

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 19:13
Willem's route should take about 17 hours plus stops.

Speed limit run from Sydney to Broken Hill is 12hrs 30min (plus stops) and its about 4hours to Port Augusta from there. (Unless you get stuck in the transit lounge.)

Plenty of good free camps off the roadside between Nyngan and Cobar but the Cobar caravan park is very good. Try to be on the side away from the truckstop. The sheep trucks add a distinctive flavour to the atmosphere.

If you make it to the Hill in one day, which is not all that difficult if you apply yourself, then I like the Lakeview caravan park on the Sydney side of town. You will get a great meal at the Southern Cross Hotel too.

FollowupID: 536311

Reply By: Garbutt - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 08:05

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 08:05
I'm with Willem. Most of the trucks use the Sturt hwy to Wagga route. Far more peaceful thru the Hill.

GB
AnswerID: 272882

Reply By: traveller2 - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 08:20

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 08:20
We've been going Willem's route for nearly 30 years now, tried the other way a few times and as has been said lot's of trucks which are heading for Adelaide rather than PA.
Also a bit easier to camp o/night although this is getting harder as most is fenced these days.
AnswerID: 272887

Reply By: Member - bushfix - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 08:35

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 08:35
you can take the dirt tracks via Condy/Ivanhoe/Menindee then over the border at Loch Lilly Station and into Peterborough via Terowrie. MUCH nicer way to do it and no longer timewise, unless you choose to poke about a bit. but that is just me, i don't like the tar, but I love the peacfulness of the tracks.
AnswerID: 272889

Reply By: Member -Signman - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 09:23

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 09:23
For a quick (boring ) trip- Sydney- Broken Hill-Pt Augusta.- Good overnight stop at Nyngan- wind the windows up and go straight thru Wilcannia.
For an interesting trip, try Parkes, Lake Cargellico, Ivanhoe, Menindee
AnswerID: 272899

Follow Up By: blue one - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 13:24

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 13:24
Afternoon,
Can you please provide details of the overnight stop at Nyngan.

FollowupID: 536258

Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 13:42

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 13:42
I think it's call the Riverside Caravan/ Camping. Has onsite vans if you don't feel like pitching the tent. About 1/2 km on the West side of town- on the left as your heading West.
Nyngan is about 1/2 way from Sydney to B/H.
FollowupID: 536261

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 14:40

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 14:40
Hey Signman

Whats your problem with Wilcannia?
FollowupID: 536274

Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 14:55

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 14:55
By your question Willem- I will assume you haven't been to/through Wilcannia !!
FollowupID: 536277

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 15:14

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 15:14
Been there many a time. In fact, I refuelled and bought some tucker there about a month ago.

I was waiting to see what sort of answer to my question you were going to post. But you have disappointed me and now maybe I will never know your thoughts.
FollowupID: 536280

Follow Up By: Dunco (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 17:50

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 17:50
I think because the Police Station is covered in chain wire and barbed wire...might give an indication...but it is a nice little place to drive through. Wouldn't stay overnight.

Did once in the truck and within 5 minutes there were at least 10 people on the tray of the semi going through 44 gall drums of nuts and bolts I had on. Started up and drove away with them...or did they jump off .... :)

FollowupID: 536294

Follow Up By: Member - Peter R (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 20:19

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 20:19
If you stay at Cobar caravan Park, ask for tickets for the local bowl/golf club.
It will entitle you to a free drink and discount off your meat at the chinese restaurant.
The restaurant is very good with reasonable prices.
The caravan Park is one where you select your own site, and some are drive through

Pedro
FollowupID: 536330

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 21:36

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 21:36
Dunco,

If you check out Police stations throught NSW you will find that they are surrounded by high fences topped with barbed or razor wire.

Part of a security upgrade across the state.

Broken Hill Police station is set up that way and I have spent many a peaceful night just across the road from it. Then there was that time a bunch of rough looking Victorians arrived in town....... but that's another story.

FollowupID: 536345

Follow Up By: Dunco (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 23:12

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 23:12
Duncs,

I don't think so about NSW Police Stations, but maybe Broken Hill as you say you live across the road. Last time I was there (2 years) nothing was amiss. The rest of them are OK by me mate.

But anyway...that is not the question...and I have 2 very good friends that work at Wilcannia.

travel well.

Dunco
FollowupID: 536365