GREENDOG'S follow up on the Engle running but not cooling

Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 20:41
ThreadID: 51859 Views:3303 Replies:7 FollowUps:13
Well i had R.A.A around today with all the meter's and it seem's i have a very crook cell in the deep cycle so that would explain why things were'nt running normal,Now tell me what do you all recommed for my next deep cycle batt,what are you all buying. cheer's GREENDOG

Reply By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 20:45

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 20:45
This is not the reply you are looking for but...
I was wondering if is perhaps a better financial option to buy cheap and replace every few years rather then buy expensive and be very disappointed if it crap...s out just after the warranty runs out. Anybody done some calculations ?
AnswerID: 273009

Follow Up By: GREENDOG - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 20:50

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 20:50
Kiwi i priced a Fedral batt 96 amp at 249 dollars a Remco is 349 just depends on the finance's.cheer's GREENDOG
FollowupID: 536335

Reply By: fisho64 - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 20:57

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 20:57
surely if the Engel is running then it isnt the battery?
Its either running or it isnt. If it isnt its the battery, if it is running its the refridge system?
AnswerID: 273014

Follow Up By: GREENDOG - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 21:03

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 21:03
Fisho i i turned the fridge on last thursday friday it was nice and cold came saturday me beer was hot( now that's not good ) the fridge was running i tested it on 240 and it worked fine it's only the 12 volt side of things i'm tryin to get to the bottom of.cheer's GREENDOG
FollowupID: 536340

Follow Up By: GerryP - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 21:24

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 21:24
With a normal compressor fridge, that would be the case as it would either stall or cut out on low voltage. However, the engel uses a unique "swing motor" which more like a solenoid rather than an electric motor. This means that with low voltages, it simply doesn't move the piston as far against the compression stroke, hence reduced capacity, but still appears to be running without proper cooling results. Hope that makes some sense...
Gerry
FollowupID: 536344

Follow Up By: GREENDOG - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 21:36

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 21:36
Gerry call me slow mate,but what does that all mean
FollowupID: 536346

Follow Up By: GerryP - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 22:02

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 22:02
Greendog, it was a reply to Fisho basically agreeing that with any other brand of fridge, if it's running then it's probably not the battery. That is the case where the compressor is a normal electric motor driven rotary piston type compressor.

However, the Engel is very different and uses a system where the piston is on the end of a solenoid kind of arrangement where the electrical side simply "pulls" a piston plunger up and down. With this arrangement, a low voltage simply reduces the travel so it sounds like it is running but may not be moving the piston all the way up and down. Hence running but not cooling too good.

Without pictures it's really hard to explain and I'm not much of a sketch artist.

Hope that helps mate

Gerry
FollowupID: 536353

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 23:12

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 23:12
I understand how the Engels swing motor works, but it still has a low voltage and low pressure cutout doesnt it, so it should stop when voltage is too low to operate (usually 11.5 Volts or so). Otherwise you would virtually destroy your battery each time you ran it down on the fridge. It would keep going slower and slower til every last electron was gone and the plates knackered.
FollowupID: 536366

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 13:13

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 13:13
From memory, the current series Engel won't run below 10.0 volts. The earlier models would run the voltage down much lower.
FollowupID: 536450

Reply By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 21:00

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 21:00
i get a new one every 2 yrs...cheap insurance for cold beer
AnswerID: 273016

Follow Up By: GREENDOG - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 21:05

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 21:05
Which one do you buy or recommend
FollowupID: 536341

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 07:25

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 07:25
Exide
FollowupID: 536391

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 21:46

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 21:46
Greendog,

If you are just running the fridge and a couple of lights why get a deep cycle.

I use chloride batteries and have been getting about 4 years out of them. Very reliable, no maintenence and the last one 850CCA cost just over $200.00

AnswerID: 273030

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 03:20

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 03:20
Stick with a deep cycle battery Greendog.
This type of work is exactly what they are designed for.

What replacement battery you buy will depend of a couple of things.

1. What size (footprint) battery will fit in the cradle?
An AGM deep cycle is the best but has a larger footprint for a given A/h rating when compared to a standard wet cell deep cycle.

2. How much are you prepared to pay?
An AGM battery is more expensive to buy, but charges quicker and you can cycle lower than a standard wet cell deep cycle.

Regardless of the battery you decide to invest in, my recommendation would be to protect it with a low voltage discharge protector as an accessory. Something like a Projecta ODP500 costing about $40 from Kmart, Repco, etc.
The Engel is a good fridge but will suck every last milliamp of current out of your battery before it stops running. Result, one "dead" battery. Do this more than a couple of times and the battery will be cactus.

I destroyed two batteries (one an expensive orbital) before installing the ODP500.
Cheap insurance.

My battery of choice would be the Remco.
The RM12 is an 80Ah AGM battery that provides a reasonably small footprint 258x165x208 that will fit in most cradles and can be bought for around $289 from Whitworth's Marine.

If you can't justify the cost of an AGM, Supercharge release a very good "budget" priced wet cell battery.

AnswerID: 273059

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 22:11

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 22:11
I'm running 2 Supercharge Gold Series in my camper trailer as well as another 2 of them in the Chev to act as crankers. Then I have the Fullriver in the Chev for running the fridge, compressor, auxilliary lighting etc.

The Supercharge are, IMHO, the best option for Greendogs purposes, without going to the big budget batteries.

It is my understanding that Deep Cycle batteries are NOT the best option for a 2nd battery in a vehicle if it is solely to be charged by the alternator. They were/are designed for use in things like motorised wheel chairs and go-fors etc.....whereby they get fully charged-up overnight by a dedicated 240 volt charger and then can be run-down the next day in their daily duties.

In vehicle applications, it could be argued that the usage we ask of a DC battery is similar to the wheel chair type of use, but unless you can (and do) hook the battery up to a good 3 stage charger each night, then the DC battery will not be fully charged.

Even if the Supercharge (or similar wet cell , fully sealed) only lasts 2 to 3 years, I reckon you will still be ahead.

FollowupID: 536554

Reply By: Member - Mainey (wa) - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 16:00

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 16:00
I use the "type" of battery recommended by the battery manufacturer for the job they are actually designed to do.
Cranking batteries are designed for short "cranking" and Deep Cycle batteries are for long power drain

Look on any battery manufacturers website and take THEIR advise
After all they have designed a particular battery do a particular job.

EXIDE - Passenger car batteries

Then there is DEEP CYCLE batteries
located on a different web page
with vastly different technical specs

EXIDE - Deep Cycle battery

As can clearly be seen on the Exide website, "Cranking" batteries have very different technical specifications to "Deep Cycle" batteries.
Exide is a very good example, as on their website they nominate all their batteries with their designed recommended use.

(AGM Deep Cycle batteries are very different technology again, as the Exide website explains)

I presently use a 6 year old SLA Delkor DC27 (80 ah Deep Cycle) battery as my Cranking battery, only because the original Yuasha Overlander 700cca battery was about to die, and as I was getting new AGM Deep Cycle batteries anyway, I just replaced the Cranker thinking it would last for a while, well some ~2 years later the 'Cranker' is still (possibly) as good as new.

From memory it was about $180 so it has cost only $30 per year and with-out having any problems - that's what I call cheap !!
Exide Extreme's are ~$210 so if they last 4 years they will cost $50 per year.

If you use 'cheap' batteries and it 'dies' out in the bush...
* who do you blame?
* what do you do about the 'hot' beer?
* How do you replace it with a decent battery?

IMO it pays to use a battery specifically designed to do the job you need, not a cheap compromise battery, because as any technical battery web site will clearly explain, Deep Cycle batteries are for supplying power slowly over a long period of time, whereby cranking batteries will supply a large amount of power for a short period of time.

A Cranking battery when used as a Auxiliary battery has it's warranty halved, to just 6 months.
There must be a logical reason for battery manufacturers to do this ?

Yes, a normal car battery will run a fridge !!
Any Deep Cycle battery will just do it easier
However, you can't get better than an AGM

AnswerID: 273142

Follow Up By: Member -Dodger - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 16:54

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 16:54
Mainey has said it all, and is correct.
However I would like to add that if you are running a winch off the Aux battery then a cranking battery Would be better.
I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

FollowupID: 536495

Follow Up By: Member - Mainey (wa) - Saturday, Nov 24, 2007 at 03:13

Saturday, Nov 24, 2007 at 03:13
Yes, if you do have a winch it should be powered by the CRANKING Battery

NOT from an AUXILLIARY (Deep Cycle) battery, which is there to run low drain items like the fridge etc. as stated on the Exide website.

FollowupID: 536802

Reply By: GREENDOG - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 20:22

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 20:22
Thanks to every one that has replyed and taken the time to give me advice,i ca,nt afford to replace tha batt just yet with xmas caming up and all so it will have to what till after the new year.Thanks again to you all.cheer's GREENDOG
AnswerID: 273180

Follow Up By: Muddy doe (SA) - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 21:03

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 21:03
Hiya Greendog,

Pretty sure you are here in Adelaide so will share with you what I know.

Under the hood of the Prado I have a Trojan 27TMH wet cell battery as my second battery. It has been doing great for over 3 years and runs the waeco 40 litre for up to 2 nights in average conditions. It is a 115AH @20 hour rate battery.

There is a place at Glyde that has them listed on the web for $198. The place is Peter and Ricks Auto Shop and they have a website at www.batterydiscounters.com.au

I am looking at replacing mine soon after Xmas (in line with member number 1's policy of replacing it before it lets me down) and have been meaning to give them a call.

That is the cheapest price I can find for what I think is about the best battery for the job. Has performed without fault even though it has been run to near 11v a few times.

Good luck with it and let us know if you do contact them and if they have these things in stock!

If you are REALLY strapped for cash but need a battery pronto then we may be able to do a deal on my old one which will tide you over for a while and I will get my replacement a little early.

Muddy
FollowupID: 536523