over heating 1hz 80 series

Submitted: Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 22:17
ThreadID: 51893 Views:4897 Replies:16 FollowUps:21
has any one had a over heating problem with a 1hz 80 series fitted with a safari turbo ? I have fitted a new radiator, custom made water pump, new viscous hub and still have over heating problem when towing my boat on a warm to hot day . the boost is 8 psi and egt 550. desperate can any one help.

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 22:23

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 22:23
Do u have a vibration flex joint on the exhaust pipe still?? sometimes the baffle in the muffler can rattle loose if you take it off.then the exhaust cant get out and heat stays in
AnswerID: 273217

Follow Up By: tony - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 22:28

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 22:28
yes i have the flex join the exhaust system is a 3 inch and is brand new
FollowupID: 536560

Reply By: pop2jocem - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 22:28

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 22:28
tony

is the new radiator you had fitted a standard replacement or larger? assuming there is no internal problem with the engine you may need a larger one

AnswerID: 273218

Follow Up By: tony - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 22:33

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 22:33
the radiator is the standard replacement dont know if a larger one is available and the block internals look like new.
FollowupID: 536563

Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 23:12

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 23:12
the reason i suggested a larger radiator is that my son owned an 80 series and fitted an after market turbo (cant remember the brand) to do exactly what you are doing i.e. towing a 6mtr boat. he replaced the thermostat, viscous coupling, water pump flushed radiator and a host of other tests all to no avail. he was advised that because of the extra kws more heat was being generated and the standard cooling system just couldnt cope. he traded it on a later model without turbo

i hope this doesent confuse more than help

FollowupID: 536567

Follow Up By: tony - Saturday, Nov 24, 2007 at 00:24

Saturday, Nov 24, 2007 at 00:24
I am starting to think a pajero DID is looking good.
FollowupID: 536784

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 22:44

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 22:44
You say you have a new Viscous fan hub, does this mean you have squeezed more silicone in there than standard or just put a new hub on? Reason I ask, is my old 1HZ 100 series required the addittion of 3 tubes of silicone into the hub which then fixed my overheating issue I had with this truck (only happened for one hot week in Tamworth but silicone in hub solved it anyway).

Other thing to check would be thermostat??

Hope it helps.
Trevor.
AnswerID: 273224

Follow Up By: tony - Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 23:25

Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 23:25
Hi Trevor I've fitted a new genuine hub tested it today hot day in Perth it worked fine but still over heated . the thermostat is new and is genuine. buy putting more oil in the hub wouldn't it lock up and the motor lose horse power.
FollowupID: 536764

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Saturday, Nov 24, 2007 at 16:56

Saturday, Nov 24, 2007 at 16:56
mine was n/a 1HZ and I noticed no power loss with extra silicone in fan hub. (any less than standard power and I would not have been able to get up my driveway hehehehe!!!!!!!!)

Good luck with it.
Trevor.
FollowupID: 536891

Reply By: howesy - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 22:50

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 22:50
I run the DTS unit on my 1HZ and the most it will go under extreme load is 3/4 on the guage and when you are off load (down hill) it will drop back to 1/3 which is where it normally runs. Maybe suss out that its not leaning under load, do you ever see any black smoke in the lights behind you?. Hope this helps.
AnswerID: 273229

Follow Up By: tony - Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 23:33

Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 23:33
Mine goes just under the red, i back off before it goes any further in case it cooks, it normally sits half way. and i haven't seen any smoke.
FollowupID: 536767

Reply By: splits - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 23:13

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 23:13
Have you asked Safari? If this is a common problem when their kits are fitted to your model then they should be aware of it and have an answer.

I have never fitted an aftermarket turbo to anything so I am wondering if you have done anything to the fuel sytem. A turbo will force more air in so I would imagine it will need more fuel otherwise it will be too lean and this will increase the temperature.

Years ago I fitted straight LPG to a Gemini that I wanted to use as a high mileage commuter car to and from work. The car was in excellent condition but immediately started getting hot when the gas went in. A new triple core radiator and a bit of fiddling around with gas mixtures, thermostats and ignition timing made no difference. I removed the radiator and built a fiberglass fan shroud directly on it. It bolted on with a glove like fit and came in as close as possible around the fan. It fixed the problem immediately and the car went on for another 180,000 ks without any problems.

I don't know if you have a shroud or not but you may have to consider one if you don't.

AnswerID: 273234

Follow Up By: Davo_60 - Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 06:44

Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 06:44
Diesel is different to petrol. Lean is cool, rich is hot. He has an egt fitted and maxing out about 550 deg. so fuelling should be fine.
FollowupID: 536598

Follow Up By: splits - Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 09:11

Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 09:11
Thanks Davo, the diesel I recently bought is the first I have touched for thirty years so I am just catching up on the fine details again.

FollowupID: 536608

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 23:19

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 23:19
Tony,

my previous Cruiser was an 80 with exactly that problem:

going up a steady incline the needle would go into the red and then drop when I backed off or when going down the other side of the hill.

The under oiled viscous hub was a contributor but the cause:

the radiator hoses were old and soft and the lower, in particular, would suck itself thin when going up the hill and then relax when I backed off.

I replaced both hoses and the problem disappeared.

However I also had suspicions about the large Safari intercooler in front of the radiator.

But the new hoses were the answer.

Wish I could suck myself thin !!

AnswerID: 273236

Follow Up By: tony - Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 23:37

Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 23:37
thanks mate but I don't have a intercooler and the hoses are new.
FollowupID: 536769

Reply By: Davo_60 - Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 06:48

Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 06:48
Tony,

Worth checking the temp with a quality aftermarket gauge to get a real idea of what is going on. With the older 2H engines the temp sender tends to become more sensitive with age, not sure about the 1HZ. Perhaps look at restrictions to airflow such as intercoolers, lights, oil and transmission coolers etc.
AnswerID: 273266

Follow Up By: tony - Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 23:43

Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 23:43
I think the temp gauge is fine I've tried removing the spot lights didn't make any difference. thanks Davo.
FollowupID: 536770

Reply By: Tim Owen - Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 08:07

Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 08:07
I also had overheating problems recently in 1Hz. Had radiator checked (clear), replaced hub (made no difference), replaced thermostat - problem solved. Would have been much cheaper for me if I'd done the investigation in the order recommended in the manual (thermostat first!)
AnswerID: 273277

Follow Up By: tony - Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 23:44

Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 23:44
do you know what temp thermostat you put in.
FollowupID: 536771

Reply By: Member - Hughesy (NSW) - Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 09:11

Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 09:11
Hi Tony,

I've just finished fitting a turbo to my 1HZ in a 100series. Have you got an EGT gauge fitted which is telling you your not going over 550 deg C or are you taking the word of the installer??

If you haven't got one fitted I'd get an EGT gauge asap (I just bought one from USA for $150) and see what the actual temp is. I towed my camper (admittedly probably not as heavy as you boat) all the way to Brisbane and back last month and the only place the temp needle moved was trying to go up the Toowoomba range in 3rd. Stayed in 2nd and no probs.

I haven't touched my cooling system at all, before or since turbo installation and my vehicle has 270000km.

If its still overheating after doing all the things you've done I reckon its being overfueled and could be doing substantial damage to the engine cylinders.

The other thing to check is flow thru the radiator - do you have big spotlights, a winch and bug screen blocking flow?? Try removing these and see what happens cause thats all stiffening up your viscous hub is going to do (by adding more silicon)....suck more air thru radiator.

Good luck - these sorts of problems can be a real bitch to fix.
AnswerID: 273286

Follow Up By: tony - Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 23:48

Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 23:48
Done all that. thank you.
FollowupID: 536772

Reply By: Member -Signman - Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 09:12

Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 09:12
I think the standard radiator is a 2-core. We have a 3-core option in our 1hz vehicle- and towing nearly 2 tonne of trailer sailer up Macquarie Pass or Mount Ousley on a hot summer day- NO over heating probs...
Will be fitting an EGT gauge very shortly ...
AnswerID: 273288

Follow Up By: tony - Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 23:51

Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 23:51
I've got a 3 core as well and iam pulling 2.5 tonne. thanks Signman.
FollowupID: 536773

Reply By: KSV. - Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 09:41

Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 09:41
Do you mean your coolant in cooling system get too hot, ot it is just EGT?
Serg
AnswerID: 273295

Follow Up By: tony - Saturday, Nov 24, 2007 at 00:00

Saturday, Nov 24, 2007 at 00:00
The cooling system. today i tried distilled water with red line water wetter made a little bit of difference but still got hot. i have raised the back of the bonnet to see if i get a bit of air flow will try again tomorrow.thanks Serg.
FollowupID: 536777

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 10:00

Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 10:00
Tony,

all comments here are constructive but if your hoses are old, they will be the problem.

I replaced EVERYTHING, radiator included and the issue persisted until I replaced the hoses.

AnswerID: 273301

Follow Up By: tony - Saturday, Nov 24, 2007 at 00:04

Saturday, Nov 24, 2007 at 00:04
what would you call old ? mine about a year old,still in good condition.
FollowupID: 536778

Reply By: Shane (QLD) - Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 14:51

Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 14:51
Tony,

I went through all this with a 2H with aftermarket Turbo Replaced everything bar the Sender. Guess what the Sender had fallen to pieces. Now never goes over 1/4 on the hottest day. For the cost of a Sender try it !
AnswerID: 273338

Follow Up By: tony - Saturday, Nov 24, 2007 at 00:07

Saturday, Nov 24, 2007 at 00:07
that's something i will look at but i think its working fine. thanks Shane.
FollowupID: 536779

Follow Up By: Davo_60 - Saturday, Nov 24, 2007 at 19:11

Saturday, Nov 24, 2007 at 19:11
Tony,

It sounds as thought you have done everything to ensure the cooling system functions efficiently. I would definately check the sender or try a quality aftermarket gauge to see what the real temp is, at least then you will know if there is a genuine cooling problem. The factory gauges are not always that accurate.

Good luck,
FollowupID: 536899

Reply By: 96 GXL 80 series - Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 17:01

Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 17:01
Run the engine until it's warm, lift up the bonnet and open the throttle or run the revs up a bit to where you think you would be pulling a load.
Keep an eye on the top and bottom radiator hoses and make sure that one or the other is not being sucked closed.

If it is, get some wire from a coat hanger and wind it around a bit of 25 to 30mm pipe like a coil and stretch it out until it is long enough to fit inside the hose.
AnswerID: 273356

Follow Up By: tony - Saturday, Nov 24, 2007 at 00:10

Saturday, Nov 24, 2007 at 00:10
did that today not getting sucked in alls fine. thanks anyway.
FollowupID: 536780

Follow Up By: 96 GXL 80 series - Saturday, Nov 24, 2007 at 00:22

Saturday, Nov 24, 2007 at 00:22
I can remember back about 25yrs ago, I came across a bloke having similar problems in Melb with a new Bronco V8, and he had it back to ford quite a few times and they could not get it sorted out.

I played around with a lot of fords in my day and pointed him in the direction of throwing the fan away and fitting a fixed one along with a top pulley 20mm smaller in Diameter (This made the fan spin faster and also the water pump}

As he pointed out that this is why he got the Bronco, was for towing only.

He changed them and we struck him some 5yrs later over in WA and he said that it solved his problems.

Might be food for thought.
FollowupID: 536783

Reply By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 17:15

Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 17:15
G'day Tony. Mate I was having the same dramas with my Patrol for about a year. I went through the system from front to back with limited success. Every expert had a different reason from cracked head through to radiator cap. In my case it was the plastic header bottle, it had a hair line crack which didn't allow the system to get up to full pressure. But only in high load situations. So when they did pressure tests it kept coming up fine. It drove me crazy. I was so close to either putting a bullet through my head or torching the bloody car!!!! GOOD LUCK and I really hope you get to the bottom of the problem.

Cheers Stefan
AnswerID: 273357

Follow Up By: tony - Saturday, Nov 24, 2007 at 00:20

Saturday, Nov 24, 2007 at 00:20
I am going to try and get a higher temp radiator cap to see if that will make a difference. thanks mate.
FollowupID: 536782

Reply By: Hux - Sunday, Nov 25, 2007 at 21:48

Sunday, Nov 25, 2007 at 21:48
Get a head test done. There are these paper strips like litmus paper that you dip into the radiator fluid and it tells you if there is a problem like a warped head.

When did the problem arise - was it after something major was done or ?????

I would suggest you have a look at all the ancillary hoses on the vehicle like the thermo wax pipe (runs between the engine and injector pump), the water cooling for the turbo and the other non genuine bits to do with the turbo installation.

Generally speaking the Toyota cooling system is over capacity and copes easily with turbo and non turbo installs. FWIW the factory turbo uses the same rad as the 1HZ which tells you a lot.

Only time I had a cooling problem was after a Levuka trip - the lower core was blocked with mud. Only found it when I pulled the rad to get at the viscous coupling.
AnswerID: 273677