Generator or Solar power

Submitted: Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 08:57
ThreadID: 51901 Views:7760 Replies:25 FollowUps:44
Im about to purchase some power for my camper trailer. I have a deep cell battrey on the trailer, and its great for a couple of weeks of lighting, charging mobiles etc. But heading to fraser again in a couple of weeks and I realy want the engel to run off some powerered thing, plus it would be good to run the pedestal fan on those odd stuffy hot nights/mornings.
'
I am leaning towards the yamaha 1000 generator at the moment, but would be pleased if someone could provide some extra info on what they have found works well and what doesnt. portability and easy lifting is paramount...and I am not spending anymore than $1.3k if thats possible.

ps. can i charge the deep cell battery with this type of generator and how long would it take?

Reply By: Wizard1 - Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 09:12

Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 09:12
Just a few of my thoughts.

Generators still run on cloudy days.

Generators can be used any where. A solar/battery sytem is stuck with the trailer/van it is fitted to.

Generators can provide power at home during storm blackouts.

Generators aren't lost when you sell the van, or you have to undo all the wiring to retreave it before sale.

Generators don't need to be constantly trickle charged when not in use for long periods.

A generator can still charge a battery as well as provide power at the same time.

Generators don't need the batteries replaced every now and again for 100s of $$ at a time.

Solar can be as expensive as some generators and have limited applications.

Downsides.

They need fuel

They can be smelly

They can be noisy and peeve people off.
AnswerID: 273287

Follow Up By: lynxxy - Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 09:26

Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 09:26
thankyou for that

you have just informed me of a few things that i didnt know.

ill start pricing them today.

perhaps i can run a long cord in the hope that i cant hear the noise whilst asleep
FollowupID: 536609

Follow Up By: Member - Mainey (wa) - Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 14:12

Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 14:12
You have learnt what ?

. . that solar power is far more EFFICIENT than a petrol generator ?

Obviously new solar technology has some people unsure of their facts :-))

FollowupID: 536638

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 15:26

Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 15:26
Just my thoughts.

Solar power is silent.
Solar power is cheap.
Solar power doesn't wear out.

Lynxxy,

Even if you can't hear the generator, you can safely bet that someone else will and not be too happy either.

A 100 watt solar panel (or combination of smaller ones) is still much cheaper than an inverter type generator. (aka Honda, Yamaha) which is what you would need in an attempt to keep some sort of peace at the camping grounds.

Go the solar panel option.

FollowupID: 536652

Follow Up By: lynxxy - Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 23:02

Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 23:02
so you think i would need 100 watts...I priced the 20w solar panels and apparently it cost 240 dollars.

my friend who is a scientist told me that it causes more greenhouse gases to make a solar panel than what you could eva save if you used solar for you only form of electricity for all your life...

I heard they were as fragile as a pane of glass, and once they crack they are useless.

I also heard that replacing bits and pieces cost an arm an a leg and not covered by any warranty...

im thinking that huge tax on the greenhouse gas whilst they are being made must be why the govt hasnt forced us to have them installed....
FollowupID: 536762

Follow Up By: Grungle - Saturday, Nov 24, 2007 at 08:27

Saturday, Nov 24, 2007 at 08:27
Hi Lynxxy,

Making a generator also produces comparable amounts of greenhouse gases to making a solar panel but they continue to polute throughout their working life.

Solar panels are not fragile at all but are very robust. We build solar powered repeater trailers for mines and pipeline/rail work and have seen them aboslutely tortured. They will also work (although marginally less) when the glass has bleep tered - I have 2 in my workshop from a trailer that was hit by rock during blasting. They are however suceptable to moisture once the the glass is cracked which will corrode the cells.

Solar panels have between 20 and 25 years warranty. If the regulator fails you can connect the panel direct to the battery for charge (as long as you monitor periodically).

Most people carry the panels as opposed to fixing them to a van / camper as they can site them for optimum efficiency.

The 12V DC output from a generator is very poor and not a good source for charging batteries so a 240V AC charger is highly recomended.

Both types of charging sources have their place in a camping environment. I run both types (160W solar suitcase, 90W+60W Bifacial panel, Honda EU10i 1000W inverter generator and 2 x 30A 240V AC smart chargers for both the car and camper).

I prefer the genny as it is quicker and several other fellow campers can use it at the same time (when group camping alone). Also it is good for short trips where we drive for only a few hundred kms then setup overnight on a regular basis. I regularly use the the solar panels as well though if setup for a few days in the one spot.

You won't be disappointed either way as long as you size both systems according to your needs.

FollowupID: 536814

Reply By: Member - Fred L (NSW) - Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 09:28

Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 09:28
Hi Lynxxy,
Aren't generators 'forboten' on Fraser - as is in all national parks in QLD?
Fred
AnswerID: 273289

Follow Up By: lynxxy - Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 09:37

Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 09:37
yeah that would be right

i know i saw a sign on moreton recently, but it was directed to those staying in the wreck camp site

i better check it out....
FollowupID: 536612

Reply By: Robin Miller - Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 09:32

Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 09:32
The battery charging voltage isn't that good or stable on gennies Lyn.

Good for emergency charging only - so you need to get a better external charger and plug into that.

This will also shorten your charging time

AnswerID: 273291

Follow Up By: lynxxy - Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 09:39

Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 09:39
and what would you suggest?

and how much would this cost?

thanks for the information...i do appreciate it.

can I use my hairdryer/hair straightner with a generator...?
FollowupID: 536613

Reply By: vuduguru - Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 09:50

Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 09:50
Packing some foam around the unit ( or sitting the generator in a foam box ) cuts the noise significantly and a long lead helps.
AnswerID: 273297

Follow Up By: lynxxy - Saturday, Nov 24, 2007 at 07:35

Saturday, Nov 24, 2007 at 07:35
vuduguru,

what about one of those foam eskies? Wouldnt you need some holes for ventilation?
FollowupID: 536810

Reply By: Member - John T (NSW) - Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 10:18

Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 10:18
Morning Lynxxy,

I have a honda EUi0 (1kva generator) which I use very sparingly when away in my Trak Shak camper. Others have pointed out that NP's generally do not allow generators - some have special "battery recharge ares set aside - but I have had a Ranger standing with me chatting away while the honda was running it's little head off and nothing was said at the time - mind you the rest of the background noise was probably so loud that the Honda could not be heard anyway. the honda's and yammie's are very quiet and I have found that most folk do not object provided they are used during the day and not after dark.

I could have had solar panels fitted to the camper but decided that $1200.00 for the honda was better than the $4000.00 for the panels and the bits and pieces that went with them (regulator etc) and the extra $$ saved allows more diesel for me to travel.
I'm sure someone else has mentioned a soundproofing box for the gennie. Have a look at one o the traders on the EO page (Derek from ABR) and his rig pic's show a custombuilt box built into his van.
To charge the 2 x deep cycle batteries in the camper I havefitted a 3 stage battery charger. That allows me to charge the batteries fairly quicky and then everything then runs of 12v. the batteries in the camper will run the fridges and all the lights for about 5 days before I need to recharge

Lots for you to think about

Good Luck

John T (Lifetime Member)
VKS-737 Mobile 2619
Selcall 2619
"Argue for your limitations and sure enough they're yours" - Richard Bach in "Illusions"

AnswerID: 273302

Reply By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 11:28

Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 11:28
I try to bite my tongue every time i see this question raised so please do not take offence, my comments are not directed at you personally and it's your choice entirely ... BUT.... to me I find the use of generators appalling. From my viewpoint, the point of camping is to enjoy the solitude and outdoors - to experience a few days of life with the basics, without our mod cons and to not offend others whilst you do it. The generator is noisy, offensive, and contributes unneccessarily to use of fossil fuels when solar works just as well with some planning. From personal experience, having used by generators and solar panels for power when camping, we have found the solar panels to be more versatile and more efficient so for me and David, no matter which way we look at it, the choice is clear.
Michelle Martin
Marketing & Customer Support
I.T. Beyond Pty Ltd / ExplorOz

AnswerID: 273313

Follow Up By: Member - Mainey (wa) - Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 14:01

Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 14:01
Yes, the simple choice of SOLAR POWER also allows the happy camper complete freedom from never having to worry about what 'State of Charge' his battery system is, he always knows it @ 100% State of Charge during the day.

Solar is working ALL day, when it's needed most, when the fridge is running hardest, for no added cost and no noise, no pollution and no problems in ANY National Park in Australia, it's not something you turn on when the battery gets down on charge each night.

Batteries will remain fully charged during the day - simply because an "efficient" Solar system keeps them FULLY CHARGED all day and the 12v battery power is ONLY used at night and then replaced again first thing in the morning - too easy.

As to cost, Regulator ~$250 + Panel ~$1,300 = $1,550 "MAXIMUM"
How much is a 'good' generator ? 800 or 900
Then you have to be there at the camp to turn it on and off, buy, store and put fuel in it.... too many hassles for far less battery performance.
FollowupID: 536635

Follow Up By: Shaker - Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 16:05

Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 16:05
Sorry to burst your bubble ..... but a solar panel is useless when you are all packed up & ready to leave the campsite at 6.00pm, then go to start the vehicle to hook up the camper trailer & ....... yep, flat battery.

30 minutes & a cup of coffee later, the generator had the vehicle started.
FollowupID: 536662

Follow Up By: lizard - Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 16:08

Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 16:08
Solar ..... I have $2000 solar , my brother has $6000 , I run one 120 litre freezer , he runs two ~110 litres (Trailblazers) ...last year after a three days of overcast we were both forced onto my Kipor gennie .... either that or throw the fish out! We also have sat t.v etc in our off rd vans ..... a gennie will ALWAYS freeze your food ... Neighbours up from our camp had to run their 7.3 litre F truck to charge their van batteries - their solar wouldn't keep up , they refuse to have a gennie cause of the noise !!!!!!!
FollowupID: 536664

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 16:54

Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 16:54
Shaker,

Sorry mate, but that would only happen if you were stupid enough to run a fridge, etc. from the one and only battery.

Not good practice.

A dual battery system of some kind is mandatory IMO.
Worst case scenario, if for some other reason, the starting battery dies, you have the option of using the auxiliary battery, even if it's a deep cycle, to start your vehicle and drive away.

Just common sense really.

FollowupID: 536673

Follow Up By: Shaker - Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 18:20

Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 18:20
Sand Man, don't try to judge my competence!

There are many ways that a battery can fail, I do have a dual battery set up, but because I hadn't run the generator or the vehicle the second battery was very low.

Now I have said this before ..... I camp in remote spots in the high country & Outback, I never camp near others, so if you want to infringe on my space & then can hear my generator ..... stiff bleep !
FollowupID: 536689

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 21:20

Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 21:20
I too am an advocate of the humble gennie (Yammie 1000 Inverter type in my case). These are VERY quiet and as others have said, you can put them away behind a tree etc.

I have had mine for a couple of years now and I reckon I've only used it for about 30 hours in total. The reason for that is that we tend to travel to new destinations every few days. The twin camper batteries in the Ultimate will run everything for about 3 days, unless it's up in the 40 degree range ambient.

As such, when I do actually switch the gennie on, it is usually only for several hours during the day (when most people are usually either away at the beach etc or are making so much noise with kids running around etc that the gennie can't be heard anyway).

Like some others have said, we also tend to try to camp away from the masses......usually on 4WD club trips with other people whom we know very well. What I have found is that when it gets to the stage when I need to start the gennie for my own purposes, there are usually 2 or more others who need a bit of assistance in the power dept too. As such, I tend to carry a couple of extra cords and a power board or 2. This means that I can actually "endear" myself to the others by offering to charge their batteries or run their fridges for them etc...... They are usually VERY grateful for the assistance.

On other occasions there have been 3 or 4 of us in the one spot who each have a gennie. Rather than each one of us running our own gennie, we take it in turns and each person provides power for the others.

I can still remember the 1st time I used our Yammie down by the Murray River near Murray Bridge. It was a hot Xmas 2005 and we had cords running down to about 4 vehicles. I was running Pesty's 110 litre Waeco, Brew69's 50 litre Waeco, my own 2 Engles (40 litre and 80 litre upright) plus 3 battery chargers. Even then, Mrs Pesty had her afternoon nanny nap about 5 meters (or less) from where the gennie was running and she never even knew it was running.

On another trip to Cape York, we had daramas with another bloke's camper trailer starting to fall apart. Mate pulled out his 1kva Honda and a big muvva leccy drill he was carrying and we were able to drill the necessary holes and bolt the trailer back together. I recall us talking at the time about how useful a solar panel would have been to us there......I haven't seen a solar panel with a 3 pin socket as yet. (OK, OK, OK,,,,,, I know you can hook up an equally big muvva inverter to your big muvva DC battery and run the drill off that too; but it's not quite the same IMHO)

Solar panel/s would be very nice to have to supplement the dual battery and gennie set-up....but where do you draw the line as to how much stuff to cart about?

Also, to be efficient, AFAIK you need to keep the solar panels pointed towards the sun. This means hanging around camp all day to move the blasted things every hour or so (and also to stop them getting knocked off). On those rare occasions when I do use the gennie, it is usually only for 2 to 3 hours , say between 4 to 6 pm in the evening before everyone settles down for some quiet time when the distant hum of the gennie might be considered imposing on some dudes.

Just my 2 cents worth (ok more like 50 cents worth on this occasion)...hahaha
FollowupID: 536733

Follow Up By: Member - Mainey (wa) - Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 22:56

Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 22:56
Miss-information abounds ……….

Shaker,
you have not burst my bubble, you have only given me the opportunity to correct your ‘post’
When you use a Solar system WITH a Solar Regulator, that's not an elcrappo Chinese knock-off of a decent product, I guarantee you will have a 100% FULLY CHARGED Aux battery system at 6.00pm each day, no compromise, no trouble and absolutely no doubt about it.

Therefore, if you have a “flat” CRANKING battery at 6.00pm you just start the vehicle off the Aux battery, only takes about 3 or 4 minutes to do, then you are soon going to where you want to go, not even time for a cup of coffee with solar holding the Aux battery at 100% fully charged most of the time and definitely all daylight hours.
Did I mention you use ‘jumper leads’ . . .

Lizard,
IMO both yours and your brothers battery systems must be way too small, and I suggest they are if they will NOT run your nominated accessories for 3 days, while CHARGED by a “quality” solar system.
If you believe the Solar system will not charge the battery, then can I suggest you that you were ‘sold’ an inefficient, inferior quality, elcrappo Solar system, by someone with-out any technical aptitude to know the limitations of the system.

Solar panels actually do work even in “overcast” conditions, well I will rephrase that statement, “quality” solar panels WILL still work in “overcast” conditions, maybe not 100% but even at only 50% you should have at least 8 Amps available from a $2,000 solar system (~200 Watts) and that is more than enough to run a Freezer!
As to the brothers $6,000 system, it should still give ‘megga’ Amps at only 50% capacity.
$6,000 would buy a ~800 watt Solar system, or well over 50 Amps.

Solar panels will still work laying horizontal on the roof of a bus, caravan or like mine on a vehicle, they just supply a few % less than full capacity, that is why you buy a few Watts more than you actually need, to rectify the situation, or move them around, I’m lazy and went for over specification.
Quality products will assist in maintaining battery charging performance.

Sorry guys if you think my reply is a bit ‘hard’ but I can only say what I believe to be correct.
I've installed many Solar systems and have never “over” sold a product, as I know of their vital importance in keeping the battery system fully charged when in the bush.

Can I ask what each system uses as it's solar regulator ?
If it was my system I would get the actual power output checked!

FollowupID: 536758

Follow Up By: lynxxy - Saturday, Nov 24, 2007 at 08:35

Saturday, Nov 24, 2007 at 08:35
Shaker,

Hey good point.

Im with you....Why would anyone want to erect their tent next to me...usually the kids noise would make them move...now I can use the noise of the generator to clear them off as well.

FollowupID: 536815

Follow Up By: wazzaaaa - Saturday, Nov 24, 2007 at 12:42

Saturday, Nov 24, 2007 at 12:42
One thing I will say about solar is they hold their value, when I sold all my Quality panels on my caravan as they could not keep up with what I was running, I did not lose much money. It allowed me to buy my first Honda and battery chargers and I have never looked back, the extra money needed for even more panels was not worth it when the genny and battery chargers do the job brilliantly for less money. Even run the genny in the annex when it is raining without a worry.

Wazzaaaa
FollowupID: 536859

Follow Up By: lizard - Saturday, Nov 24, 2007 at 22:36

Saturday, Nov 24, 2007 at 22:36
Hi Mainy , I know our set ups are inefficient - the panels sit flat on the roof , we are not about to "chase the sun"with my 3 panels and his seven..... I get ~8 amps at 13:00 hrs , nth of WA from May->Sept .... there are only 6hrs of valuable sun any way . My brother peaks at 32 amps same period. I run two 12v 120 a.hr batteries , my brother runs 4 big 6v batteries . Obviously we are energy hungry when we camp for long periods at our 'spot'. Freezers , t.v , satellite , washing machines - they all suck it up . What I have been intersted is wind generators ... cause the wind seems to blow at least 12 hrs a day , sometimes more ....but these also appear to be expensive options . My research suggested to me that to GUARANTEE I would not be left ïn the lurch", geniie was the cheaper option. The other benefit is I can run air-con in van on hot days (or coldnights ) before any do-gooder says anything about that - some people have health issues that heat aggravates
FollowupID: 536928

Follow Up By: wazzaaaa - Sunday, Nov 25, 2007 at 07:20

Sunday, Nov 25, 2007 at 07:20
Hi Lizard,
I also was thinking Wind as I camp at the beach a lot and wind is is not in short supply. The one I was interested in is the Air-X Marine 12 Volt Wind Turbine it is rated at 400w at 28 mph and start up wind speed of 7 mph. It is self regulating and very quiet ,price in australia is about $1350 but I was looking at a us site that has it for $699 US and with the exchange rate at the moment it is looking attractive.
Wazzaaaa

FollowupID: 536945

Follow Up By: lizard - Sunday, Nov 25, 2007 at 18:10

Sunday, Nov 25, 2007 at 18:10
wazzaaaa , bloke near where we camp had a wind generator (as well as solar) his comment to me was that he was disappointed in its performance - he reckoned it was more expensive per delivered watt than solar - and took some time setting mast up etc .... don't know what make it was ... I thought they would be good - especially as the wind sometimes blows all night & would top up batteries . Interestingly with all his gear he still had one of those Christie 12 volt battery chargers as back up (alternator etc) .
FollowupID: 537024

Follow Up By: wazzaaaa - Sunday, Nov 25, 2007 at 19:36

Sunday, Nov 25, 2007 at 19:36
Hi Lizzard, as the generator and battery chargers work so well I am stil undecided as to spend the extra dollars for the wind turbine but it would be good to have the extra charge.
Wazzaaaaaa
FollowupID: 537043

Follow Up By: Member - Mainey (wa) - Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 15:23

Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 15:23
Lizzard, what capacity (Wattage) are these three panels in total ? ? ?

FollowupID: 537152

Follow Up By: lizard - Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 18:20

Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 18:20
Mainey , mine only total 200 watts (1*120 , 2*40)
FollowupID: 537172

Follow Up By: Member - Mainey (wa) - Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 10:30

Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 10:30
lizard,
you say ""I get ~8 amps at 13:00 hrs , nth of WA from May->Sept .... there are only 6hrs of valuable sun any way""
The relevance of the term "8 Amps" is not stated, so I assume it's the maximum produced by the solar system, because it's in the centre of the peak time for solar captivity.

I also have only ~200 Watts, however I get ~12 Amps maximum, I have a pic showing 11.9 Amps on my 'rig pics' and the panel only lays horizontal on the roof rack.

As I say 'panels ain't panels' some work more efficiently than others, as to the hours, yes the 'peak sun hours' is short compared to 'daylight' hours, but the more efficient panels will work for much longer hours producing Amps, some of which is not even required.
I checked my system at 7.05 PM on the weekend and I was still producing 1.9 Amps, with only 0.8 Amps going to trickle charge the battery system, because it was fully charged and running a tv and the fridge, well the fridge was 'connected' but possibly not 'running' I don't remember.

Have you 'tested' the panels individually to see if they all work correctly ?
FollowupID: 537276

Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 11:41

Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 11:41
I have looked at this a few times and still have not picked a path to run as I see there are positives and negatives in both.

Weight is also a consideration I have not looked at either between the two. I am interested in which you decide and why. So when you make the decision let us know thanks.

I also agree with Michelle I'm not a great lover of noise when I go camping but I see gennies have a purpose in there own right.

I feel a trip to ABR and have a discussion on what I am considering and price both out. This may sway me one way or the other.

AnswerID: 273317

Follow Up By: Shaker - Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 18:23

Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 18:23
It seems to me that generators are taboo, yet nobody whines about Glind or Twine showers, or running vehicles to charge batteries.
I also wonder how many of the anti-gennie brigade allow their kids to ride mini bikes, or have their music cranked up to the max!
FollowupID: 536692

Follow Up By: Member - Mainey (wa) - Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 23:02

Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 23:02
I think you will find in National Parks they are banned because of the risk of fire, not only the noise or the fumes associated with them.

FollowupID: 536761

Reply By: BorisK - Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 11:54

Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 11:54
Gday lynxxy, I have just been able to try out my whole camping set up for the first time at Blanket Bay where generators are not permitted either. While using the 12yo old honda gennie I asked the neighbours if they didnt mind. at 20m some replied they didnt notice it and the some could barely hear it over the light sound of the surf. Ive got a 4stage charger from Jaycar which can charge either at 6amp or 16 amp to speed things up and it only cost me about $150 new. Compare that price to the rest of the chargers out there in that amp range. I bought the Honda EX650 gennie second hand for $250. That would leave you change for some more battery power.
Cheers Boris
AnswerID: 273319

Reply By: Mark Taylor - Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 12:01

Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 12:01
Generators are OK on Fraser for beach camping! We take our GMC S/Box gennie and use it to run the Waeco during the day and recharge the AGM battery via a 3 stage charger. As soon as dusk comes, we always turn it off and rely on battery. Had Solar cells and they went walkabout one day while we were out exploring. The fridge and the gennie now go with us in the back of the landi when we're away from base camp.

Mark T
AnswerID: 273321

Reply By: Member - Brian (WA) - Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 12:17

Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 12:17
I have both. 1st option is Solar. Got the Yammie as a back up.
Camped in one spot for a month earlier this year.Running 2Engels,
a light and watching a DVD each night I only started the genie once, ran in for 3hrs to (well just to use it ).
No matter what you say about silent the Honda's&Yammies are
sit in the bush with no noise and you can hear a genie going 2 km
away. Brian
AnswerID: 273322

Reply By: prado-wolf - Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 13:07

Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 13:07
Mate,

camping is not meant to be uncomfortable and i give a dam about the greenies so i run my EU10 on 40m lead , i hear nothing at all and the 3 stage charger takes care of the two deep cycle batteries and they in turn take care of the steaks and the beer and the chocolote = happy and comfortable camping.

I recommend the EU10 from honda.
AnswerID: 273325

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 13:18

Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 13:18
Yep - apart from the noise issue (although it is very low with a quality inverter gennie) generators win for me because they can be used whenever needed. Solar is a backup for mine. Re the Yam 1000 inverter gennie - ours has been very good - light and easy to use. Shop around and you should get into one for the $1300. A couple of really cheap 30m extension cords from Bunnings can get the gennie right away and behind a tree or in a low spot. That low noise can often be eliminated (but padlock the gennie to that tree :-o).
AnswerID: 273329

Reply By: David N. - Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 14:49

Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 14:49
The vast majority of places I go ban generators. (Pretty well all National parks in Queensland, and most elsewhere.)

As for the noise issue, I have to agree 100% with Michelle. We go camping to get away, with peace and quiet.
I do have a generator as well as solar, but very rarely use the genny. When I do, it is in a very specially designed sound proof box.

Solar panels cost nothing to run. They are totally silent, and environmentally friendly. Looked after, they will last a lifetime. Even when fuel becomes astronomically expensive, they will still cost nothing to run. (You can still have 240v from an inverter.)
Solar is a LIFETIME investment.
AnswerID: 273337

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 17:59

Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 17:59
Solar Panels are NOT environmentally friendly for the occasional camper.

Until you have used a Solar Panel every day for two years (730 days), the energy used to manuafacture the panel, exceeds the energy you draw from it (see US Dept of Environment website)
FollowupID: 536688

Follow Up By: Member - Peter H (WA) - Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 20:10

Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 20:10
How much energy is required to manufacture and run a gennie.

FollowupID: 536717

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 20:40

Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 20:40
Now that would be an interesting comparison , the actual $ energy cost of producing a solar panel compared to prducing a gen set and then actual $ costing over say a 20yr period and then the cost of disposal /recycling , bet that if a starting "budget" of $2000 for each system that at the end of 20yrs the solar system would "cost" less than 50% than a gen set up.
FollowupID: 536726

Follow Up By: David N. - Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 22:13

Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 22:13
Yeah Mike.
You cannot talk along those lines unless you talk about the energy required to mine, refine, smelt, cast, machine, assemble pack ship etc the genny, and then the same with the fuel it burns......which goes on forever.

The only truly economic and friendly environmental solution is to use no power at all.

Second best solution is solar!

FollowupID: 536747

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Saturday, Nov 24, 2007 at 11:32

Saturday, Nov 24, 2007 at 11:32
Mike , have look at an article on page 123 of the latest CampertrailerAustralia magazine , a honda eu10i that has what they call a massive 12,796 hrs run time in a 5yr period is ready for the scrap heap , serviced every week ,oil+filters ect , a solar panel in the same 5 yrs would have racked up almost double the "run" time at 21,900 hrs at a Zero $ maintenance cost and still be good for another 15/20 years. Not only that but the genny would have used at the very minimum 3200lt of fuel ..
FollowupID: 536844

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Saturday, Nov 24, 2007 at 18:01

Saturday, Nov 24, 2007 at 18:01
Nowhere did I compare a solar panel with a generator.

I was just pointing out that you are not helping the environment with non-polluting energy if you only use the solar panel occasionally.

Until you have used it more than two full years, you have paid the solar panel factory to use up more energy, compared with the amount of clean energy you have been getting from the solar panel.
FollowupID: 536894

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 10:35

Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 10:35
Given the amount of energy required to manufacture, run, service and, eventually, dispose of a four wheel drive automobile I cannot help but feel any argument concerning the energy efficient merits of solar panels and generators used for a bit of camping is a heap of dingo's kidneys.

FollowupID: 537130

Follow Up By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 10:43

Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 10:43
Amen Mike.
FollowupID: 537277

Reply By: disco1942 - Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 15:00

Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 15:00
If you don't have a good 3 or 4 stage charger in your camper, don't forget to allow $2-300 for one. The 12V output from the generators is said to be useful for battery charging - but that is as far as it goes - useful. The output voltage under load is not sufficient to recharge a deep cycle battery fully in a timely manner. It possibly will charge your battery fully if you have time - like 2-3 weeks with no load.

AnswerID: 273339

Reply By: Axel [ the real one ] - Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 15:18

Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 15:18
We have both solar + genny , as others have said in a lot of places you cant use the genny so a better investment is solar , remember that even if the sun dont shine enough for a few days you still have the BIG genny under the bonnet as a backup , tis amazing how many people complain about running a genny yet run the vehicle motor at a fast idle for hrs on end.
AnswerID: 273345

Reply By: Member - Peter H (WA) - Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 20:21

Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 20:21
Hi Lyn

I can only tell you about how we decided.
We have a Toyota Coaster bus. We looked at the pro's and cons of both systems and here is how we decided

Gennie
Honda 2kva $2049. portable BUT noisy (honda is quietest of all). cant have them in national parks. continual use of fuel and carrying same.

Solar
So we never run out of power we have 4x130w panels, 400amp/h batteries and regulator. cost $5000. But can be cut in half if cost is too steep.
Quiet. always on. You can also charge your start batteries by using a switch or an isolator so batteries never need to go flat. can be used anywhere and everywhere.

AnswerID: 273389

Reply By: Member - Mike DID - Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 21:42

Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 21:42
The "12 volt" output even from the most expensive portable generators is a very crude battery charger, and you risk damaging your batteries if you don't disconnect it when the battery approaches full charge.

The best-value 240 volt-input 3-stage 12-amp charger is this one for $99.
http://www.jaycar.com.au/productView.asp?ID=MB3612
AnswerID: 273404

Reply By: Motherhen - Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 23:17

Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 23:17
Hi Lynxxy

We have traveled with one 80 w solar panel and a deep cycle battery. No need for carrying bulky generator or fuel cans, no need for the smell of petrol in the car, no need to go to civilisation to buy more petrol. Silent, cheap, reliable and effective. We run an Engel and 12 v lights from the solar.

When we had a camper with a compressor upright caravan fridge, this system worked for us; just putting the panel out when we stopped in the afternoon, and facing east ready for sunrise each morning. If the battery was a bit low, the first sunlight in the morning brought it back up. Even stopping late afternoon and putting out the panel which was soon in the shade, the battery charged quickly.

We went camping in September with the same old panel on the roof of the canopy, and even when we had a couple of dull days and some rain, the battery was fully charged most of the time, running a 40 litre Engel and 12 v fluro lights.

Unless you are going to spend your time camping in wintry conditions, solar should be adequate.

AnswerID: 273416

Reply By: Motherhen - Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 23:17

Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 23:17
Hi Lynxxy

We have traveled with one 80 w solar panel and a deep cycle battery. No need for carrying bulky generator or fuel cans, no need for the smell of petrol in the car, no need to go to civilisation to buy more petrol. Silent, cheap, reliable and effective. We run an Engel and 12 v lights from the solar.

When we had a camper with a compressor upright caravan fridge, this system worked for us; just putting the panel out when we stopped in the afternoon, and facing east ready for sunrise each morning. If the battery was a bit low, the first sunlight in the morning brought it back up. Even stopping late afternoon and putting out the panel which was soon in the shade, the battery charged quickly.

We went camping in September with the same old panel on the roof of the canopy, and even when we had a couple of dull days and some rain, the battery was fully charged most of the time, running a 40 litre Engel and 12 v fluro lights.

Unless you are going to spend your time camping in wintry conditions, solar should be adequate.

AnswerID: 273417

Reply By: lynxxy - Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 23:57

Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 23:57
Pheww....Guys What have I started....

This has become a somewhat interesting argument reminding me of a Rudd versus Howard debate

I really do appreciate all of your points and I thank you so much for sharing them with me.

I am a single mother of 3 children - 2 are teenagers and one is 10. When we go away - which is quite often - its hard bloody work and a little bit of comfortability is most appreciated. Our going away destinations differ between beach, c/van parks, central aust, desserts, gulf darwin, driving to melbourne and nights in the mountans.

sometimes the eldest Teenager helps me, but usually not. Yes i have thrown the hammer at him to get him to assist and yes that does usually work...but i do tend to prefer to just relax and have another glass of wine. afterall im on hols and I work really hard at my job with long hours.

I certainly dont need the hassel of the battery flattening. nor do I want to rely on others to help me. so to have a reliable power thing when in need is paramount along with the fridge staying cold and keeping our food good.

I never camp close enough to others - as said by someone the surf is always louder if friends are nearby...or the noise omitted out of the kids around the camps is so much louder than anything a motor could make..

If I wanna camp close Ill go to a caravan park and when there, its a different type of camping, and i pay for a powered site.

Im really leaning towards the generator, and i have been informed the yamaha is quieter. One of my neighbours can sell me one wholesale so thats where Ill be heading tomorrow. Shame the solar panels are so expensive, because the theory behind them is perfect. they should be a third of their price.

Im only usuing the generator to run the fridge, and a fan if it gets too hot. charging the battery will come in handy as well. but i will need to get that other thing first...that 200 dollar whatever it is to help charge

Michelle, I agree with you, and if I was away with nothing but a hunky bloke to cuddle up with my attitude would be so much different, and has been just like yours. But Im looking after myself and the kids and when you are out in the middle of Oz, when the weather is close to 45 or so, you have to be so careful and protect your kids the best way that is known possible, taking all precautions available to you...I guess you just think differently in different circumstances. Thanks for your comments but I really do believe our objectives differ.

As do many others who have written here with their ideas . a lot of people are camping for different reasons and protecting different things...which obviously influences our decisions and I guess if there is one thing I have learnt from writting on this web site is that the arguments for and against were all valid and I have read and analysed everyone of them

thank you.

have been camping for years and I am adamant that
AnswerID: 273420

Reply By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Saturday, Nov 24, 2007 at 00:32

Saturday, Nov 24, 2007 at 00:32
Given that the power made of 1 tonne of uranium is = to 14000 tonnes of coal, can you imagine how much toxic waste is produced to get the = amount of solar panels to produce the same amount of energy, then the waste they would produce once they are useless.

I have a gen set that once it is buggered it can be recycled.

When you can prove to me that a solar panel is less toxic and as recyclable than a gen set I will go solar.

Cheers Steve.
AnswerID: 273423

Follow Up By: Member - Mainey (wa) - Saturday, Nov 24, 2007 at 02:57

Saturday, Nov 24, 2007 at 02:57
I only use Solar power because it's far more efficient at keeping the 12v Storage battery system FULLY charged.

Check the Solar reg pics in my "members rig & profile" as all the proof required relevant to the performance of Solar power is available in those pictures to those who actually understand the fundamentals of electricity.

As to the problem of 'toxic waste' wonder what will they use to run the generator when oil is depleted in the (near) future ?

FollowupID: 536801

Follow Up By: lynxxy - Saturday, Nov 24, 2007 at 07:32

Saturday, Nov 24, 2007 at 07:32
Hi Steve,

I have to agree with you here.

I am not bagging the solar panels but Im thinking they are a bit of a soft option and I dont want that. (not to mention there expense) I need something that will work and with a warranty. I sort of feel if something goes wrong with the generator then there are always Spare parts. Now which one the Honda or the Yamaha.
FollowupID: 536809

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Nov 24, 2007 at 08:21

Saturday, Nov 24, 2007 at 08:21
Honda or Yamaha??? Not a struck match between them in terms of weight, noise, fuel economy, output etc etc.

My suggestion is to buy whichever one you can get the cheapest deal on.......

Good luck and take care........
FollowupID: 536813

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Saturday, Nov 24, 2007 at 11:14

Saturday, Nov 24, 2007 at 11:14
Want warranty and spare parts ?? what for ?? middle of nowhere and the genny breaks down pretty sure that the Honda / Yamaha service man will NOTcome out to fix it , nothing to break /wear out on a solar panel and no ongoing costs. $s per amp per 20+yrs use makes solar less than 10% of the cost of a genny for the same period.
FollowupID: 536841

Follow Up By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Saturday, Nov 24, 2007 at 11:28

Saturday, Nov 24, 2007 at 11:28
Want warranty and spare parts ?? what for ?? middle of nowhere and the genny breaks down pretty sure that the Honda / Yamaha service man will NOT come out to fix it , nothing to break /wear out on a solar panel and no ongoing costs.

This argument may have credence if a solar panel was 100% un breakable.

I have 4 batteries charging off the car as I drive and the Gen Set is a back up.

Cheers Steve.
FollowupID: 536843

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Saturday, Nov 24, 2007 at 11:45

Saturday, Nov 24, 2007 at 11:45
Steve , no a solar panel is not 100% unbreakable ,but they are a lot tougher than most people think , you have no doubt seen them stuck up on poles supplying power for phones ,pumps ect ect , HAIL the size of tennis balls doesn't break em ,
FollowupID: 536845

Follow Up By: Member - Mainey (wa) - Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 14:38

Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 14:38
Steve, I've travelled hundreds of thousands of Klms since 1996 with a solar system on the roof rack, up and down the Gibb River road and some of the worst dirt tracks (roads) in Kakadu and to date have not had any problems with the solar system, they are capable of being used in this way if the roof rack is designed specifically to hold them.

You say "you have 4 batteries being charged by the Alternator as you drive" obviously you don't need any further assistance in charging these batteries, and it's good to read some people are prepared to set up a 12v power system capable of doing what's actually expected of it !!
FollowupID: 537144

Reply By: Member - Brian (WA) - Saturday, Nov 24, 2007 at 10:59

Saturday, Nov 24, 2007 at 10:59
So the end result is, Go the cheapest way, not the best.
AnswerID: 273458

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Saturday, Nov 24, 2007 at 11:05

Saturday, Nov 24, 2007 at 11:05
Would seem that way , yet we all jump up and down saying we must conserve our resources /bush areas and then take /need all the comforts of home , my solar panels keep my beer cold and the icecream frozen.
FollowupID: 536839

Follow Up By: wazzaaaa - Saturday, Nov 24, 2007 at 13:25

Saturday, Nov 24, 2007 at 13:25
Yep I agree the genny is the best, runs my grinder to sharpen the axe runs the micrawave, aircon, toaster oven, soldering iron, toaster, elec jug, hair dryer,elec drill if needed, tv, video, xbox, 3 waecos, 1 engle, elec frypan, as well as 2x 25amp 3 stage chargers to charge 4x100amp agm batterys with 2000w inverter for 24hr 240v in the caravan. After all a holiday is where you are comfortable so i'm told by my wife, so its bring all this or I don't get to go the beach and solar just does not cut it for my needs.
Wazzaaaa
FollowupID: 536863

Reply By: meandet - Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 10:11

Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 10:11
Hi Lynxxy
As usual your question has stirred up a hornets nest of pro generators/pro solar so I will chuck my 2 bobs worth in. We have a 40 litre Engel connected to a 55 amp/hour Optima battery through a dual battery management system and charge it via 2 x 40 watt solar panels. Each year, we stay at Cape Leveque in a beach shelter for a month and never run out of power. We have meat (cryovac) bubbly beer and all other needs. As some respondents have pointed out, even the quiet generators give some people the sh.... including us. We have witnessed some awful donnybrooks where generators are concerned even to the point where one guy was going to get his 30 (.303 rifle) out if the generator wasn't turned off. Another case saw a bloke who was going to throw the user and his generator into the Gibb River. As pointed out by others, most National Parks won't allow generators and nor will some roadside stops like Devils Marbles. Our 2 solar panels and regulator cost about $900, the battery and management system about $500 Best investments we ever made.
Good luck with your choice.
AnswerID: 273716

Reply By: Mike Harding - Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 10:44

Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 10:44
I've just returned from some time in the High Country two days of which were spent camped at 1000m altitude sitting under a tarp shelter watching the rain and wondering if the 8/8 cloud cover would envelope my camp. I suspect solar panels would have been little use in these conditions. Which is one reason why I run a gas fridge :)

AnswerID: 273720

Reply By: Redback - Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 15:46

Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 15:46
My setup, i run 3 to 4 lights and a water pump in the camper off the battery, this also charges the camera and laptop, i also have a gas hot water system and fridge.

I have a 12v fridge in the car, the second battery in the car also charges everything electronic including the camper battery, this is done while driving and when camped if it's cloudy via an inverter and charger overnight.

I can then take the car for a short drive the refreah the Auxillary battery.

Our solar panel is 10watts, and we can camp for 10 days no probs using the car and solar panel AND i don't have to run the car at camp either.

Never used or will ever use a generator, because i don't need too, i set mine up so i didn't have too.

Generator are annoying, smelly and noisey and a lazy way to go camping, spend some time on a good solar setup and you'll never need a generator.

Been camping like this with my 4WD and camper for 5yrs now, only flattened the camper battery once.

AnswerID: 273754

Follow Up By: Steve - Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 20:07

Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 20:07
Lynxxy,

Now you've decided on a generator, you need to start a new thread to see which one: a Yammy or Honda.

I'm sure the guys will all agree that......well, maybe not ;-)

It's fun really, though innit?
FollowupID: 537186