Diesel shortage

Submitted: Saturday, Nov 24, 2007 at 15:54
ThreadID: 51929 Views:1978 Replies:5 FollowUps:4
Diesel appears to be out of stock at a few servos in the Tweed Heads area.
Is there a supply problem in SE qld?
Regards.
Vince

Reply By: DIO - Saturday, Nov 24, 2007 at 17:34

Saturday, Nov 24, 2007 at 17:34
According to some market reports, there are ever increasing world shotages of diesel fuel. Guess Austraia is just catching up. A real worry for owners of diesel powered vehicles.
AnswerID: 273483

Reply By: Pezza (Bris) - Saturday, Nov 24, 2007 at 18:40

Saturday, Nov 24, 2007 at 18:40
The shortage should only have been with the caltex/mobil sites, they had a slight manufacturing hiccup that was sorted by the end of this week (nov 23rd) Supply should be back to normal early to mid next week.

Pezza
AnswerID: 273490

Follow Up By: Member - Vince B (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 24, 2007 at 23:02

Saturday, Nov 24, 2007 at 23:02
Pezza.
I noticedtonight that both caltex & mobil had diesel for sale.
Regards.
Vince
FollowupID: 536930

Reply By: TD100 - Saturday, Nov 24, 2007 at 20:12

Saturday, Nov 24, 2007 at 20:12
Victoria(around melbourne anyway)had a similar problem a few weeks ago but now seems sorted.cheers Paul
AnswerID: 273496

Reply By: Member - Cruiser (NSW) - Sunday, Nov 25, 2007 at 17:48

Sunday, Nov 25, 2007 at 17:48
According to todays paper, new diesel powered vehicle sales increased by 41% in the last 12 months. By the time new vehicle sales are diesel in the majority, we will have all just accepted the price. I think we are slowly being educated.

Still dont know why we pay so much more for diesel than unleaded when it is still a by product of the refinement process of petrol. How can they only do 70% of the refinmenent and charge anything up to 20c litre more.

I know, I have heard all the arguements about OPEC being tied to the price of the Singapore crude as well as the supposedly higher tax on diesel in Australia over petrol, thge Aus$ against the US$, the Nth hemisphere is going into winter, China is taking all the diesel for its expansion program etc etc etc.

The fact is it comes down to supply and demand, and this is no more evident than in places like Mt ISA where with all the machinery/transport is diesel powered and the volume of diesel sales versus petrol sales in Mt ISA sees the price of diesel being up to 15c per litre cheaper when I was there in August this year.

We diesel users in Australia are being ripped off in most parts of the country.
AnswerID: 273633

Reply By: Hairs - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 19:48

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 19:48
I've watched closely the price of diesel in Grafton for a couple of months now.
current price $1.47.9 BP. I've a 91 80 series TD. the old girl runs better on BP Diesel than other brands.
Current oil price is about $88 a barrel, it's fallen about $4.00 in the last week, yet the pump price is still rising
What doesn't make sense is. Several months ago when the price per barrel went up to $84.00, The pump price went down a few cents to about $1.24.9
But it does not make sense. on current ratios to the barrel price the pump price should be closer to $1.60. Shh if it's suppose to be higher don't tell them.
And that's my two cents worth.
AnswerID: 275678

Follow Up By: Hairs - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 19:59

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 19:59
I forgot to add, What gives me the S@%$* is when people say,
Compared to Milk, Coke and other products it's cheap"
I don't put 50 liters of coke in my truck a week.
FollowupID: 539452

Follow Up By: QLD Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 20:03

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 20:03
The Shell servo at Half Way Creek is still the cheapest around the Grafton area

FollowupID: 539455

Follow Up By: Hairs - Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 09:26

Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 09:26
Unfortunately, I'm not going to travel 63km each way to save a few cents per liter. I live 30k's north of Grafton and come to town once a fortnight
I could use my shopper dockets and get 4 cents off at Caltex, but than the old girl runs like crap and my economy disappears.
I found it interesting a few months back that Grafton was cheaper than most in Sydney. So the old argument about transport cost don't wash. Just like at the start of the year there was bugger all difference in Broome WA to here in Grafton.
I read this morning in the Sunday Telegraph that labor wants to regulate fuel, so that they can't push the price more than 3 cents in a 24 hour cycle. As if that's going to work.
I regularly use the fuel prices tool on this site to get an idea of what it's worth around the country. Again 6 months ago it was cheaper in Grafton than Springwood, QLD where a mate lives.
And with Christmas fast approaching, just watch it sky rocket. I bet a lot of people will have to change their travel plans this Chrissy.
I guess I'll have to pick a night of the week that we don't feed the kids this week. ;-)

Why do we say 55, 44, 33, 22, but we don't say tendy one.
FollowupID: 539559