All Terrain (AT) Tyres Feedback
Submitted: Sunday, Nov 25, 2007 at 17:43
crusier40
I have just completed a 4 month run on b.f. goodridge a/t and they performed excellent,this included towing an off-road dove through the Kimberly's ,tyres still have a good 10-11mm of tread left and still look new.
on this trip I met quite a few travellers who chose coopers and with all the punctures these different guys had I was glad I chose b/f's.
my kimberly section went from
Fitzroy crossing to
gibb river up to
drysdale river then across to
wyndham and kununnara. had some good and some rough roads ,travelled on average between 60-80 kph .tyre pressure was at 32psi on patrol 3.0 and van.
great 4 months
Reply By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Sunday, Nov 25, 2007 at 19:03
Sunday, Nov 25, 2007 at 19:03
Yep - with care they seem an outback winner - your experience has been
mine too, on BFG's.
Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Sunday, Nov 25, 2007 at 19:20
Sunday, Nov 25, 2007 at 19:20
After our 16600km trip last year my BFG's A/T's looked a bit worse for wear due to the terrain we travelled and totally disgusting roads at times and never had a puncture. Met a guy in El Q who had Coopers and he'd had 9 punctures in about the same time as we had been on the road.
Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Sunday, Nov 25, 2007 at 19:23
Sunday, Nov 25, 2007 at 19:23
Duncan
If that had been me, I would have piffed them right then and there and replaced them with BFG's
Follow Up By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Sunday, Nov 25, 2007 at 21:02
Sunday, Nov 25, 2007 at 21:02
Dunc,
I did 40,000km that year over rougher terrain than that Dunc towing the camper trailer on Cooper S/T's and didn't suffer a puncture. That included The flinders and Gammons, Googs, Anne Beadell, Canning and Gunbarrel (without the trailer but heavily loaded), Kennedy Ranges,
Kimberley, Gulf, Fraser etc etc. I saw the reverse experience to yours in the
Kimberley with heaps of shredded BFG's. Had BFG's over the years but their sidewall failures prompted me to try Coopers. Horses for courses. I'm happy.
Mick.
Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Sunday, Nov 25, 2007 at 21:39
Sunday, Nov 25, 2007 at 21:39
G'day Mick. I've never had Coopers but I agree that in many cases it will be driver error as opposed to the product they are using. It's just of late that the people I communicate with are having problems and also from my personal observations. Bit like fridges and cars we all have good and bad experiences.
Follow Up By: Member - pot hole (SA) - Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 23:46
Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 23:46
Yeh the BFG are good we have them on a work ute the only thing that might stop me from fitting them to the Paj is they seam to pick up a lot of stones, my driveway is 600 metres long and by the time I drive in and out and hit the black top stones are flicking out every where.Don't follow me when I'm in the Rodeo.
Anyone tried the Mickey ATZ all terrain tyres.
17" A/T265 X 70 tyres for Pajeros and Paydo's not a lot of choices.
Cheers pot hole
Follow Up By: Member - pot hole (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 23:05
Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 23:05
Anyone tried the Mickey Thompson ATZ all terrain tyres.
is what I ment to type in the other night it was late OK.
Follow Up By: Lee Brooker - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 15:05
Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 15:05
I have a GQ Patrol 4.2 with 370000 on the clock and the third set of BFG's. The truck started with Dunlop Grand Treks!!!
Never had a problem with the BFG's on all types of running. Would not be without them - but- have heard that Michelin now owns Goodrich and are sourcing some tires from China. Beware that what you buy is US made.
Had a bad experience with Chinese Michelins on my wife's car, only got 20000 from them on a Lantra doing the shopping.
Follow Up By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 15:37
Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 15:37
Goodrich sold their "tires" division to Michelin about 15 years back - its an old story - Michelin make tyres in a number of globally scattered plants of course - my 245/70R16's have always been made in the USA (over the last 8 years anyway) - other sizes have been made in other plants ! Bit of a lottery - but I'm sure BFG would claim that their tyres are made everywhere to a strict standard :-o)
Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Sunday, Nov 25, 2007 at 19:21
Sunday, Nov 25, 2007 at 19:21
Damn! those Coopers are at again.
I think we ought to vote them off the
forum.
What sort of a swing do you thing would be required to send them into the rubber 'shredder' - taking into account the 'two tyre preferred vote'
I suppose a conclusive result would depend heavily on the distribution of Independent tyre preferences.
Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Sunday, Nov 25, 2007 at 19:53
Sunday, Nov 25, 2007 at 19:53
Lucy from my observations their A/T's have problems and it looked like side wall damage each time. A trip to
the beach a couple of months back saw a
young bloke with pretty new Coopers wreck a perfectly good tyre due to a side wall puncture just above the rim.
I looked at the STTs at the 4wd show and the tread looked impressive but the side walls again felt very soft when you depressed the tyre. Having said that I have heard though that the STT isn't a half bad tyre. Would even consider them if I was looking for a muddy.
Reply By: Member - Doug T (FNQ) - Sunday, Nov 25, 2007 at 20:14
Sunday, Nov 25, 2007 at 20:14
Good to see some are beginning to learn what's best
Reply By: WillyWish - Sunday, Nov 25, 2007 at 20:24
Sunday, Nov 25, 2007 at 20:24
Did 50,000kms on Cooper A/T with only one puncture from a screw in my driveway. Done plenty of offroad driving and I don't hold back....my mates also drive coopers and we've only had one stake in 4 years. Have done the same roads as you mention plus many more, though probably sit on 80-90kms on those you mention. No van however. Having said that I'll be trying new another brand on my new rig just for the hell of it, maybe Micky T's or BFG's. It's all very subjective this tyre thing....
Follow Up By: Member - Raoul (Snake) H (QLD) - Sunday, Nov 25, 2007 at 22:35
Sunday, Nov 25, 2007 at 22:35
Willy Wish,Am about buy a set of Coopers so will be carefull not to have a screw in my driveway.
Reply By: Outbacktourer - Sunday, Nov 25, 2007 at 21:02
Sunday, Nov 25, 2007 at 21:02
Been running BFG AT's for many years, seen other brands come and go as flavour of the month but will stick with them until such a time as I have a problem. Find them tough, good all round grip, available and sometimes on sale at Bob Janes.
OT
Reply By: HGMonaro - Sunday, Nov 25, 2007 at 21:27
Sunday, Nov 25, 2007 at 21:27
Stories about which tyre has or hasn't made it across the Kimberly are wide and varied. My experience was with Bridgestone D694's. We did the reverse of you but included the trip up to
Mitchell Falls as
well. No punctures then or for the other 19,000k+ (mostly blacktop but did include Merrenie loop, Chamber Pillar and Bungles) of our trip. My father-in-law was with us through the Kimberly and Bungles and he didn't get any punctures either... on Dunlop AT20 GrandTreks, which are pretty much universally rubbished. He did pick up screw between
Broome and
Port Hedland which caused a slow leak.
Cheers, Nige
Reply By: jonl - Sunday, Nov 25, 2007 at 23:00
Sunday, Nov 25, 2007 at 23:00
I had a set of cooper ATR's it cost me about $1200 to go 8000 km
2 had to be replaced
We went down the plenty h/way to Alice then across the Simpson.
Sold them (3 that were still good) and got Good year with insurance.
Reply By: Gerhardp1 - Sunday, Nov 25, 2007 at 23:40
Sunday, Nov 25, 2007 at 23:40
I've had excellent results with run flat tyres.
No punctures, no sidewall damage. So far have travelled 345,000ks on them and they haven't worn the t!ts off yet. Very pleased, and only $35.00 per tyre. Fitting cost was high, though, at $350.00 per tyre.
The other excellent thing is the clip on mud treads - turns the 33" into 35" and fits on in a similar way to chains. Excellent in the slippery low grip stuff.
Wouldn't bother with BFG's again
I'm expecting the tread to last till all the people who rant on here about tyres have died of old age.
Reply By: Member - Ged M (SA) - Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 22:32
Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 22:32
Just to throw another spanner in the works I just replaced my BFG ATs with the same before doing the
Robe beach run and Southend to
carpenter rocks in SA.
I had read that road tyres can be better than AT,s on soft sand and was a bit worried as I thought I my dig into the sand too much and possibly cause a bit of track damage in the process.
Turned out the BFG's were brilliant and did not spin or throw up nearly as much sand as the two vehicles travelling with me who had road tyres, they also got through and over everything with more ease.
(some pics of the trip on my rig for anyone interested)
Reply By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 05:01
Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 05:01
Mt Cooper ATR's are still going, 98,000 on them now.
2 Outback trips, never a puncture, ( touchwood ) still got heaps of tread on them,, go the rotation every 5,000 km.
But, they are rough riding tyres, and If I eventually get around to sell the Navara, and get a 6 cylinder Patrol, I will seriously look at BFG's.
Equal to the Cooper's, if not better with a lot better ride. So I am told
Cheers Alll
Reply By: Member - Cameron B (WA) - Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 21:19
Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 21:19
Hey Cruiser40, Am booked into Bob Janes on Monday for a set of tyres. Discussed my requirements with the bloke at the counter and he immediatley recommended the BFG A/T. We are also doing the
gibb river, without van, and then on around the block indefinatley. Mostly on the balc stuff though. My only concern is road noise. How is the tyre for road noise? I have a 100s.
Follow Up By: Outbacktourer - Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 21:45
Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 21:45
For an A/T tyre, road noise is good, better than you would think looking at the pattern.