Simultaneous charging dis-similar batterys..

Submitted: Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 08:40
ThreadID: 51978 Views:3114 Replies:16 FollowUps:19
An interesting feature on 4WDTV the other evening about parallel charging dis-similar batterys (ie high CCA cranking battery & (so called) deep cycle batterys.
I think most of us use a isolator/relay/solenoid or some other device to charge a dual battery system?? Apparently the charging rate required by different types of batterys using such devices can either undercharge the aux. batterys whilst over-charging the cranking battery- due to the different cell construction & charge rate requirements.
Apart from a set of knife switches and/or complex circuitry- what options to safely charge a dual system??

Reply By: Redback - Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 08:52

Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 08:52
If they do then i'm in deep $h1t, my batteries couldn't be more dis-similar.

Cranking battery is a 870CCA Calsium/calsium and Aux is a 60AH Fulriver AGM Deepcycle battery.

AnswerID: 273709

Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 09:12

Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 09:12
Yup- that's almost the exact scenario they were using as the example !!
The charging rate of the (thicker & fewer plated) deep cycle is about a sixth of the cranking battery. So if the deep cycle battery has been extensively used and requires a long charge- this may óvercharge' the other battery, causing it to 'boil'...
Conversely, if the cranking battery is fully charged- the system may not fully charge the deep cycle !!
I'm definately no expert on this, but with the cut-away examples of the 2 types, and a simple explanation, it did get me wondering !!
FollowupID: 537126

Follow Up By: Redback - Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 14:56

Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 14:56
OMG look at my spelling of calcium der!!

Yep, so far i have had no problems at all in 2 yrs, but, the battery i had before the Fullriver was an Excide 620 deepcycle battery and i had boiling probs with that from the outset of installing it, although after installing the Traxide Tronics SC40 smart charger it did stop it slightly.

I got rid of the Exide because it's not recommended having lead acid batteries in TD5s.

It might be true, but i'm no expert so i don't really know.

FollowupID: 537149

Reply By: Gronk - Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 09:12

Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 09:12
A deep cycle prefers a 3 stage charger BUT it will still handle just about anything you can throw at it..

If after driving for a couple of hours the voltage out of the aux batt is 12.8V plus then thats just about fully charged and the beers will be nice and cold........so you can sit back, relax and forget about the batts !!!!!!
AnswerID: 273711

Follow Up By: Member - Mainey (wa) - Friday, Nov 30, 2007 at 13:27

Friday, Nov 30, 2007 at 13:27
Any conventional 6 cell 12v battery will be 12.66 Volts when fully charged, if it's a 'deep cycle' or 'cranking' or 'marine' or heavy duty' battery makes absolutely no difference to the "fully" charged voltage.

If the voltage is higher than 12.66v it's only the partial 'charging' voltage still being read and it will settle down to 12.66v in time.

However. . . yes an AGM battery is very different !!
FollowupID: 537957

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 09:30

Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 09:30
"what options to safely charge a dual system??"

Use a "smart" battery Isolator. One that will only swap over to the auxiliary battery after the primary (starting) is fully charged.
This will happen is a very short time, if the primary is in good condition and hasn't been drained down.

This is the big difference between a "simple" solenoid installation and a "smart" Isolator.

The simple solenoid will just link the batteries together. If one battery is below par or faulty, it will "drag" the other one down to it's level, possibly shortening the life of a battery in otherwise good condition.

The smart Isolator will keep the two batteries electrically separated and they will charge and discharge independent of each other, thus having no impact of the other battery's operation or lifespan.

4WDTV......Baa!!!

AnswerID: 273713

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 15:20

Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 15:20
I've never seen a Battery Isolator that can detect when a battery is fully charged - it has to measure the current flowing into the battery to do that - and I haven't seen any that do that.

Isolators that advertise that they start charging the Auxiliary when the main is charged "xx%" are indulging in marketing hype (i.e. bull bleep ) to get you to choose their Isolator.
FollowupID: 537150

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 17:52

Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 17:52
Well, I'm not going to argue with you Mike, but a smart Isolator does what you haven't seen.

The Piranha DBS150S that I have has an indicator light showing when it has detected the starting battery is charged sufficiently and has swapped over to the auxiliary battery circuit.

FollowupID: 537165

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 18:12

Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 18:12
But in your original post you said "One that will only swap over to the auxiliary battery after the primary (starting) is FULLY charged."

Isolators start to charge the Auxiliary Battery when the Main Battery voltage rises to some preset level - the battery state of charge at this voltage can vary greatly. It certainly doesn't switch when the Main is FULLY charged.
FollowupID: 537171

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 18:25

Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 18:25
I think you are just playing on words Mike.

From the Piranha Web Site:-

"The electronic unit will ensure that the main starting battery is charged before connecting the auxiliary battery. It does this by monitoring the voltage in the main battery. When the voltage in the main battery reaches a predetermined threshold (approx. 13.5 volts ), it starts to charge the auxiliary battery. It will also disconnect the auxiliary battery from charging if the main battery voltage drops below that of another predetermined threshold (approx. 12.8 volts)"

As you can see, the Isolator monitors the VOLTAGE on the primary battery, not the current flowing into it, as you thought.

So the "smart" Isolator is continually monitoring the primary battery and gives priority to it if required.

I have no need to doubt this statement.

FollowupID: 537173

Follow Up By: Member - Mainey (wa) - Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 11:48

Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 11:48
We are only looking at "advertising blurb" here, play on words etc....

reason being:
the Alternator starts to charge the Cranking battery almost immediately the engine starts, it's then (supposed to be) maintained at a 'nominal' charging voltage of between ~13.8v and ~14.2v by the Alternator regulator, depending entirely on the vehicle manufacturers regulator settings, NOT by the battery OR batteries being charged.

The "smart" isolator can only sense the “CHARGING” voltage at the battery, delivered by the Alternator (which is NOT the true battery voltage) it CAN'T measure the battery VOLTAGE because it's being charged by the Alternator.

That's why you can hear the 'smart' solenoid "click" as they engage and disengage the Aux battery into the charging circuit.
The first 'click' can be heard only seconds after the vehicle starts, the required (13.5v ?) Charging voltage is 'read' at the Cranking battery, this does not mean the Cranking battery is 'fully charged' but simply that it's receiving a charge that will eventually fully charge it.

While the Cranking battery is being charged by the Alternator the only battery voltage that can be measured (at the battery) is the "charging voltage" and not the TRUE battery voltage, that's the technical reason you have to wait ~3 hours before measuring the voltage of a battery to get it's correct 'rested' voltage.
FollowupID: 537282

Reply By: Robin Miller - Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 12:55

Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 12:55
I watched that segment to Signman.

The issues they raise are potentially real but I think they overplayed the issues.

It is more likely in practise that the batteries lifetime will be reduced and that because of the imprecise nature of these things that the user may not even realise a problem, because at the end of the day the charging system is still mainly a short term constant voltage which drops on alternator heat up.

AnswerID: 273730

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 13:43

Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 13:43
My rig has 3 batteries on board. Two of them are permanently hooked together in parrallel (both Supercharge 760cca starter type).

The 3rd is a 120a/h Fullriver and that receives it's charge via an Arrid Twin Charge (20amp).

It all seems to work pretty well thus far. The only improvement I could make would be to charge the Fullriver via the 15amp 3 stage (240 volt) charger (which I also have permenantly mounted and hardwired), via an inverter. This would ensure the Fullriver does not get overcharged I guess, but I think the Arrid does a pretty good job anyway.

AnswerID: 273738

Reply By: Ozboc - Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 14:26

Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 14:26
I also seen that segment in the Tv show , and i am now a little concerned, my Aux battery is a Marine calcium battery ( different to cranking battery) then the Battery in the caravan is a deep cycle battery that is charged when hooked to the car via the aux power point of the 7 pin trailer cable.......

will keep an eye on things a little closer now

Boc

AnswerID: 273741

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 14:36

Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 14:36
With my head in the sand Dave, I "charge on" with fingers crossed - the new conveyance came with one of these Surepower thingies installed by ARB [ http://www.surepower.com/separator.html ] - 2 crankers are paralleled in the Cruiser and the aux is a calcium cranker of some sort (the 9000 Warn is wired to that) - might find out one day if the whole setup is happy that way :-o).
AnswerID: 273742

Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 14:41

Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 14:41
G'day mate
The 'real' elections are going to be interesting !!!
(Are ya gunna keep the bastards honest !!)
FollowupID: 537146

Reply By: Member - Mike DID - Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 15:25

Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 15:25
Car Alternators put out a fixed voltage - ANY battery connected to it will draw whatever current it needs at it's state of charge.

If any of your batteries doesn't overcharge when it's the only battery connected to the Alternator, then how on earth can it overcharge if you connect an extra battery in parallel with.

Car Alternators DO NOT SENSE THE STATE OF CHARGE OF BATTERIES CONNECTED TO THEM.
AnswerID: 273747

Follow Up By: ob - Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 15:59

Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 15:59
IMHO correct me if i am wrong (and i often am) but i was under the impression that batteries produced current and therefor couldnt draw it.
Also alternator regulators increased charging voltage in reaction to the state (amount of voltage) in the battery. I stand corrected if this is not so.

FollowupID: 537158

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 17:54

Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 17:54
Can you explain how the Alternator senses the state of charge of the battery ????
FollowupID: 537166

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 20:10

Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 20:10
Hi Mike,

It never fails to amaze me that there are so many people who would rather believe some snake oil peddling companies advertising literature then accept the simple facts of how an alternator works and why the vehicle manufacturer put it there in the first place. I have yet to find a three stage alternator :-))
FollowupID: 537188

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 20:36

Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 20:36
>I have yet to find a three stage alternator

Good one :)

FollowupID: 537191

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 21:28

Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 21:28
Well I didn't see the show in question, but from the description posted here, they seem to have way overstated the issue.
I'd hazard a guess that over 90% of vehicle dual battery systems use dissimilar batteries. How come so many people get years of good service from their system?
As Mike DID has said, the amount of current a battery draws in charging is determined by the battery, not the alternator. They are pretty dumb devices (as are most isolators). As a battery charges, it's internal resistance increases. With the increase in resistance it draws less current, until when fully charged it's resistance is such that it draws no current at all.

In a standard set up, with the aux running a fridge overnight, when you start the engine the next day, the aux will have a lower internal resistance the the starter. If you don't have a voltage sensing isolator, the aux will draw more current than the starter initially. This is generally only an issue if you do multiple short runs with a run down aux. In this case, you could flatten the starter by repeated starting before it can get a decent charge.

There is very little chance that (as someone said above), the discharged aux will draw current from the starter and flatten the starter. With an isolator (even a simple solenoid), the two batteries are only connected when the engine is running. It is very unlikely that the aux will draw so much current that it will take all the alternator can give, and then take current from the starter as well until it is flat.

I've run dissimilar batteries for years. Currently the original Hilux starter, with up to 3 AGMs (one in Hilux, 2 in CT). All AGMs are in parallel when CT is connected. Isolation is via a simple solenoid. Had the current set up for close to 3 years. Next time (probably not till next vehicle) I will use a voltage sensing isolator (Redarc for example) as additional protection, but in the meantime my system (and thousands of others like it) work just fine. If I was going to stuff my starter through overcharging, I think it would have happened long ago.
I suspect this segment was sponsored by someone trying to sell something. As we all know, sex sells. But fear probably does as well.
AnswerID: 273797

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 21:52

Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 21:52
Norm,

I think a little correction is appropriate here for the non electrically minded people.

"Isolation is via a simple solenoid"

A simple solenoid doesn't isolate, it just links the batteries together in parallel. And in many cases the two batteries are not only connected when the engine is running.

People tend to control the solenoid by a manual switch and if one forgets to disconnect, the batteries can remain connected together and a fault in one battery will have a negative impact on the other. If that battery is your starter, you could be "up the track without a spark".

Cheap installations may work, but there is a higher risk of failure.
I wouldn't be confident in the outback with such an installation.

FollowupID: 537203

Follow Up By: V8 Troopie - Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 23:08

Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 23:08
"As Mike DID has said, the amount of current a battery draws in charging is determined by the battery, not the alternator. They are pretty dumb devices (as are most isolators). As a battery charges, it's internal resistance increases. With the increase in resistance it draws less current, until when fully charged it's resistance is such that it draws no current at all."

That does not make sense at all. Think of it, IF, as you say, a batteries internal resistance "increases" as its charged it would assume infinite resistance when fully charged. You cannot draw any current from a battery wit infinite resistance.
Forget the internal resistance thing when it comes to battery charging - it only matters on OLD batteries which have an internal resistance too high (eg. sulphated) to accept a decent charge.

The reason the current flow eases off and eventually stops is because the alternator output voltage approaches and then equals the battery terminal voltage. No voltage difference - no current flow.

I hope that clears this furphy up :-)
Klaus
FollowupID: 537223

Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 08:53

Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 08:53
'Morning Norm
"I suspect this segment was sponsored by someone trying to sell something. As we all know, sex sells. But fear probably does as well."

In this case- NO. there was no mention or promotion of an alternative product or service, either blatantly or subliminally. Like you, I am well aware of 'product placement'...
FollowupID: 537262

Reply By: PradOz - Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 21:32

Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 21:32
I use a solenoid set up but only connect the aux batt for charging when it requires it by a flick of a switch. I monitor with a voltmeter (purchased from Derek who posts here very regularly) to monitor both batteries. I did this after stuffing one of my batteries following my dual setup, even though every1 seems to think this could not happen. Maybe the 4WDTV show is right????
AnswerID: 273798

Reply By: pop2jocem - Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 21:43

Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 21:43
can anyone explain to me how a battery which to my understanding is no more than a storage device can "draw"current
as far as i know the alternators function was to replenish the charge being consumed by starting and accessory requirements of the vehicle???

AnswerID: 273801

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 09:24

Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 09:24
As you suggest the charging system will supply the power for all the vehicle's electrical devices when the engine is running but consider the situation where the engine is turned off but, say, the lights are left on for a few minutes - power for them is now supplied by the battery alone which depletes the charge level of the battery by some amount. When the engine is restarted current will be forced into the battery by the alternator until the battery reaches full charge again.

It's really just a terminology thing whether one talks of a battery "drawing" current from a source (the alternator) or current being "forced" into the battery the end result is the same in that energy is passed from the alternator to the battery.

I hope my rather messy explanation clarifies things? :)

FollowupID: 537267

Reply By: gilghana - Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 05:51

Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 05:51
one option which I went for is a sterling power products battery to battery smart charger. I am no expert, but it should avoid such issues ( or so I am told )
Gil
AnswerID: 273835

Reply By: AdlelaideGeorge - Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 08:52

Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 08:52
Hi Signman

Just use Kirchoff's Laws/Thevenin's Theorum:

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

Kirchoffs First law.
The total current flowing towards a junction is equal to the total current flowing away from that junction. i.e the algebraic sum of the currents flowing towards a junction is zero

Kirchoff's Second Law
In a closed circuit the algebraic sum of the products of the current and the resistance of each part of the circuit is equal to the resultant e.m.f in the circuit.

Thevenin's Theorem.
This theorem is used to determine the voltage / current flow across / through two points say A and B in a complicated circuit which includes and number of sources and loads. The theorem states

The current through a resistance R connected across any two points A and B of an active network ( a network containing one or more sources of e.m.f. ) is obtained by dividing the p.d. between A and B with R disconnected , by ( R + r ) where r is the resistance of the network measure between A and B with R disconnected and the sources of e.m.f replaced by their internal resistance.

Consider a general network containing voltage and current sources. The network can be replaced by a single source of e.m.f (E) with and internal resistance r. E being the e.m.f. across A- B with the load disconnected and r being the total resistance of the circuit measured across A-B with the load disconnected and the e.m.f. sources replaced by their internal resistances.

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
Happy days
George
AnswerID: 273850

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 09:15

Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 09:15
Perhaps you could explain the relevance of Kirchoff's Laws and it's application to the original post?

FollowupID: 537266

Reply By: AdlelaideGeorge - Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 09:20

Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 09:20
It's called a 'joke' Mike - perhaps you should stick to promoting guns to Scouts????????

Happy days

George
AnswerID: 273857

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 09:31

Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 09:31
And there was me thinking you were just talking rubbish again.

>perhaps you should stick to promoting guns to Scouts?

Indeed! Shooting is an excellent hobby for a young person, it teaches them application, discipline, responsibility and a sense of achievement.

FollowupID: 537268

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 20:49

Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 20:49
All this battery theory gives me a headache. I prefer to keep it simple.

The way I think:
Toyota designed an alternator to charge wet cell cranking batteries. So I only use identical wet cell cranking batteries for 1st, 2nd or (rarely) 3rd batteries.

I don't use wet cell deep-cycle batteries - the battery companies know that alternators won't charge them fully, so they only put 6/12 warranty on them.

I don't use AGM and gel batteries because they cost a fortune, and I don't flatten my batteries. Most days I drive my vehicle, so it recharges, and all I'm running is a fridge and fluoros.

As for 4wdTV saying a car alternator can overcharge a cranking battery...................hehehehe
AnswerID: 273944

Reply By: sudsy - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 01:04

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 01:04
Both my batteries died with in 2 months of each other not long after I bought my GQ, One was a wet cell cranking battery the auxillary was some kind of sealed battery.

My auto electrician said that you'll shorten the life of BOTH your batteries if they are not the same type for the reasons stated before about charging rates etc.

Now I have an N70 wet cell cranker and a wet cell marine battery with some deep cycling capability as the auxillary.
AnswerID: 273996