fuel prices

Submitted: Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 17:43
ThreadID: 51994 Views:2511 Replies:12 FollowUps:9
hi guys

just wandering if the price of fuel will change peoples mind where and how far they will travel next year with the price of diesel in adelaide today at a $1.50 a litre and expected to be much higher
next year. normally i just pay what is being asked and don't worry
about it. but having second thoughts a bout the trip i was planning
approx. 15000k's. just having wandering how it is going to effect little towns that depend on the yearly migration of people won't be pretty the way i see it.just after your thoughts on it.

al

Reply By: KSV. - Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 18:01

Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 18:01
It sux indeed, but we in Australia still blessed to pay one of the lowest fuel price in all developed word. Surely government *MUST* do something about this situation – not only drop some taxes (heh, how about GST on fuel – in reality tax on tax!), but also setup some watchdog to monitor what oil company doing. Funny enough nor Liberal nor Labor has said anything about fuel price in pre-election campaign. So we have to be prepared pay more.
Serg
AnswerID: 273767

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 18:05

Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 18:05
in one word YES.
AnswerID: 273768

Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 18:48

Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 18:48
Nope......

every couple of months this topics seems to appear and at the end of the day, some will travel less, and some will travel on regardless. I seem to recall this being discussed last year with the expectation of prices hitting $2 a litre with some concerns.....it didn't.

I figure that i would shed other pastimes/hobbies/expenses first before giving up the freedom to explore Australia....

I realise that not everyone is in the same situation financially and would expect some travellers to have concerns over prices.

AnswerID: 273771

Reply By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 18:56

Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 18:56
G,day Al, yes its a bit of a worry. there's not much consolation far as I am concerned about diesel or any other fuel being cheaper in Oz. than any other part of the world. Can't see why fuel can differ in price by as much as 10 cents/litre in servos a few ks apart.

Fact is its a bloody sight dearer today than it was a few months ago & if we compare todays price with 18 months ago it makes us cringe a bit more. The Government wont do anything, higher the price the greater the GST take!!

I feel sorry for those people who are retired & depend on an allocated pension to enjoy the use of their vehicles & vans etc.
they are not able to get an increase in their weekly income to cover not just fuel but all the other costs of living.
AnswerID: 273772

Reply By: Willem - Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 19:13

Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 19:13
Running two vehicles on a pension takes some juggling now with higher fuel prices. I have already cancelled a major trip planned for 2008. Still have a specialist two week trip going ahead and have to do some serious budgeting for it.

I am pleased that I took the opportunity from the 70's to the present to see most of Australia, when fuel was less expensive

Decided to go diesel for remote fuel availability last time I upgraded my vehicle but that has proved to be quite expensive as the traditional low priced diesel is coating 5-10% more than petrol.

AnswerID: 273773

Follow Up By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 19:28

Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 19:28
G'day Willem, I guess thats the real hurt when it comes to having to cancel a trip because of the cost of that essential ingredient, fuel & more fuel.
I've ready many of your posts & know from them & comments from fellow members on this forum ( mostly good!!) that you have travelled extensively. I have had very little experience travelling with vehicle & van, but it frightens me that fuel costs nearly as much as grog!! But I love it ( the travelling & meeting people !!! )
I'am soon to retire, sort of, & look forward to a bit more travelling & hope I can find the way to finance the places we hope to see. best wishes.
FollowupID: 537182

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 20:14

Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 20:14
G'day Barry

Yes, its a worry. One has to pay a lot more attention to planning and budget requirements. Luckily I can now do special treks into out of the way places having done the 'round the block thing'...lol

FollowupID: 537189

Follow Up By: The Rambler( W.A.) - Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 22:03

Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 22:03
Hi Willem,
Yes I also was fortunate to see most of this country in the "good old days" and now that I depend on an allocated pension I too will be selecting my out of the way destinations as I hope to be able to do a trip every year as long as my health keeps up.The way I look at it is that by staying bush and not caravan parks as much as possible I can use the savings on fuel.
Cheers and keep travelling.
FollowupID: 537206

Follow Up By: Blaze - Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 00:05

Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 00:05
Barry don’t stress mate re: the fuel prices, when your retired if you take the opportunity the price of fuel can be seen as a bonus. It will make it that people doing large trips will have to take longer whilst either waiting for pension cheque or what ever to show up in the bank before they can move on.

My hope is it will slow some of these travelers down and let them smell the flowers instead of jumping in the vehicle on day 1 and being 700 k's down the road by that night and not seen a thing...

I hate listening to travelers who have done trips and you ask did you see the such an such...answer Nope and this I think quite a few will agree is a pretty common occurrence.....

Take your time and the trip that was maybe going to take 2 mths make it 3 :-)
FollowupID: 537234

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 19:19

Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 19:19
Well casting one's mind back to Kevin 07's promises before election day, taxes will go even higher now he's in.

Serves us right.

AnswerID: 273774

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 19:21

Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 19:21
No I won't stop if fuel price keeps rising. Love what I do, I don't smoke or drink (much anyway LOL) so my vice's are few and if I gotta stop me 4wheelin I don't think many people would like my moods so better to go out and enjoy (still cost a lot less than a threrapist hehehe!!!).

Have talked to some retirees about this subject over the years and many tell me they have a fuel budget of x dollars, when this is half spent, they turn around and head for home and hopefully they make it home with the other half of their fuel budget. This method would give these people less km's to travel when the fuel prices are higher.

drop 10kph off your travel speed and you will be able to afford the full trip next year. Get in to it while you can!!!

Safe travels, Trevor.
AnswerID: 273775

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 19:44

Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 19:44
Yep!
AnswerID: 273778

Reply By: Member - Roger B (VIC) - Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 21:58

Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 21:58
I reckon people will still travel, especially if that's what they've always done. However lots of other business's will suffer due to the price of fuel. If a particular trip is going to cost an extra few hundred dollars for fuel I reckon we'll all stop having the odd counter lunch or cappucino. No more grabbing a coke and doughnut when you pay for fuel. Go without that new fishing reel. And dozens of other ways to save a dollar for fuel, at some other traders expense. So be it. Cheers.
Roger B.
AnswerID: 273805

Follow Up By: Go-N-Grey (WA) - Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 23:54

Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 23:54
Totally agree. Less spent on the tourist traps, and more bush camping. $30 day for a caravan site buys a lot extra fuel.

Slow downto 85km/hr or less and the fuel savings are massive.

I did some sums earlier this evening on my rig.

By slowing from 95km/hr to 85km/hr the saving in time on a 500km run at 95km/hr is just 42 minutes. The saving in fuel with my rig for that distance is approx $49 (at $1.40 litre), or in other words that saving in time is costing me in excess of $59 hour. That a a lot of beer or fuel!

I about to retire, and the journey is half the pleasure
FollowupID: 537232

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 08:51

Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 08:51
Same here.
10k off the speed and you save more than 10% in fuel.
Still planning the trips, but at a slower speed.

And to help pay for the fuel, might just have to keep working a bit longer, maybe not full time, but part time.

Will have to wait and see how the pension rules change with the new bloke in charge.
FollowupID: 537261

Reply By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 11:08

Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 11:08
In the interest of maintaining my hard earned reputation as a
tight, miserable old fart, I must remind you of a couple of things I have bored you with before....
Use less fuel by travelling light...ditch those heavy water tanks,
bull bars, multiple spare wheels & anything else with weight you can do without.
Travel slowly...I cut fuel use by 30% by keeping under 100Kph
while towing C/t. on sealed roads.
Pump those tyres up, running around sub 30lb is costing you
money. Get rid of that roofrack if possible too.
Yes, I know you have heard it all before, but these steps will save
you fuel, much more than the 20cent recent increase...oldbaz.
AnswerID: 273865

Reply By: Member - peter C (WA) - Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 13:27

Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 13:27
Some sensible replies here (hope I don't sound too suprised).

Most of us will have capacity to adjust our priorities - more free camping, lower speed, etc - but you've got to feel for those on fixed income who are already at maximum efficiency.

It's one of life's rules, the efficient actually get punished more than the wasters.
AnswerID: 273880

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 14:36

Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 14:36

Maybe we should demonstrate like they do in the third world countries,

burn effigies of the OIL COPANY EXECUTIVES,

Just joking, we would waste fuel on fires.

Daza
FollowupID: 537294

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 14:38

Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 14:38

Maybe we should demonstrate like they do in the third world countries,

burn effigies of the OIL COMPANY EXECUTIVES,

Just joking, we would waste fuel on fires.

Daza
FollowupID: 537296

Reply By: Garbutt - Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 17:34

Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 17:34
This might be a late reply, but just out of interest, on my first "Big Trip" at age 20 in 1978, I paid 13c per litre in Adelaide, for my old Nissan G60. When we arrived at Ayer's Rock the price was 33 c per litre, shock horror, I had enough in jerry cans to reach Alice Springs, (We had gone up through what is now the APY lands.) so we refused to buy any juice at the ridiculous price of 33 cpl. So I guess everything is relative, Uncle Des will probably tell us what he had to pay in his first trip north in the Model T.

GB
AnswerID: 273900

Follow Up By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 18:33

Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 18:33
Ahhh. Them were the days & unfortunatlety Iam old enough to remember them. Sound cheap, but we didn't earn wheel barrows full of dough back then did we.
But I guess your comment drives home a valid point : Cost of fuel in the seventies was an issue & it still is today. Cheers
FollowupID: 537313