Triton GLX diesel auto

Submitted: Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 15:22
ThreadID: 52100 Views:2709 Replies:7 FollowUps:6
I am looking for feedback on the new Tritons especially the auto and how they would stand up to remote outback use.
Better fuel economy and going to an auto due to a dodgy left knee are the only reasons for considering a change from the L'cruiser.

Reply By: QLD Kev & Darkie - Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 15:31

Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 15:31
Tony,

Check out the new Triton Forum

AnswerID: 274236

Reply By: Member - Doug T (FNQ) - Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 16:16

Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 16:16
Tony
My Daughter got one in NSW . I had a drive, it's an Auto V6 , veryyyyyy nice , but I reackon the diesel would be my choice .
See the photo of it in my Rig & profiles

AnswerID: 274241

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 17:17

Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 17:17
I still think they are butt ugly!

Guy up the street has one and every time I drive past it, it looks as though it has "broken its back".

AnswerID: 274254

Follow Up By: Notso - Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 17:28

Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 17:28
Crikey some people are cruuuelll.

I reckon mine looks pretty good.

Diesel manual though so can't comment on Auto performance

FollowupID: 537775

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 18:46

Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 18:46
I agree, butt ugly.

Some styles "grow on you", but so far this one is growing off me :)

I guess Jackaroo owners have a conservative view on "style" :)
FollowupID: 537791

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 19:03

Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 19:03
Gerhard,

Yes, you are probably right there mate.

"Beauty is in the eye of the beholder"

FollowupID: 537800

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (FNQ) - Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 20:43

Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 20:43
Sand Man
You are suppose to look at the car, not the reflection in it ....

Ok I'm gone for the night ...

FollowupID: 537824

Reply By: Grassparrot - Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 17:32

Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 17:32
I have the GLX-R manual turbo diesel. Great bus. I have 3 small kids and love it. Im using 9l/100km at the moment and have done only 10,000km. Plenty of cabin room and tows well. I have not done any off roading yet but have a trip planned in the next couple of weeks and at xmas. I'm sure you wouldn't be disappointed for the price.
AnswerID: 274256

Follow Up By: Member- Tony C - Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 17:57

Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 17:57
Thanks Grassparrot.Fuel consumption sounds good,i think it would work out at about $6.20 saving per 100k over present use of 14.4l/100k.Purchase price is reasonable but soon increases after necassary all the accessories are added.
FollowupID: 537780

Reply By: higgo72 - Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 22:29

Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 22:29
I have the 07 Triton diesel, but in the 5 speed, very happy with it check out the newtriton.net site.
AnswerID: 274315

Reply By: Member - Brett (WA) - Friday, Nov 30, 2007 at 09:13

Friday, Nov 30, 2007 at 09:13
G'day Tony, that new site is a wealth of info, I've got the Auto turbo diesel and just love it. Got more than enough power, very comfortable to drive and is great on fuel. I also went from a 100 series L'Cruiser to the Triton and never looked back.

Before I did all the work to mine I was getting around 9.5 to 10.5 per 100km, now with everything loaded on, rooftop tent etc, I'm getting 12 to 13.5 per 100km.

There's pics in my profile link below. If there's anything else you need, just email me mate!

Brett

'Urshtnme"
AnswerID: 274352

Follow Up By: Member- Tony C - Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 21:39

Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 21:39
Thanks Brett.Reasuring to hear of you changing from a 100series with no regrets.Have been concerned how it would handle conditions compared to the 79series.I am planning a trip up the CSR and Anne Beadell Hwy during an extended trip during 2008 and am interested to know how the Triton would cope with these conditions especially if ground clearance is likely to be a problem.Iwould have a fair weight on the tray with canopy,camping gear etc.
I was going to change suspension to OME and was going to have air bags fitted in the rear as well.I was also going go for having the factory rear diff lock fitted.
I was interested to hear your fuel use went up to 13.5l/100 when loaded.
Do you think the Triton will handle what i want to use it for?
Thanks again for your help.
Cheers Tony

FollowupID: 538193

Reply By: Member - Brett (WA) - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 00:17

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 00:17
Tony, make sure you get something a little higher than 40mm lift. The OME's are great but I'd love to go up another 20mm front and rear. This can be done with spacers.

I reckon you'll have no hassles with her up the CSR and other areas, just make sure you have the right recovery gear and a winch.

Mate wish I was going along with you!! What a trip that'd be!
AnswerID: 274616