Bloody wife does it again

Submitted: Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 08:32
ThreadID: 52145 Views:3088 Replies:3 FollowUps:4
Wife and I have to be in Darwin next April as it appears where about to become first time grandparents. Always something to get in the road of a trip :).

So as the wife is not a camper I figured I'd drive, wife can fly, and I can do a run after all the gooie stuff, along the Savannah Way doing my own thing.

So my mind wonders and I see a 6 + week trip building wife not know about my longer planned trip LOL yet. I had mentioned before I'd take 10 days to get to Darwin from Brisbane so was in no hurry. Wife did say she would drive with me, I just NEVER took her seriously (my first mistake). Yesterday I said we have to sort this trip to Darwin out asap and wife confirms she still plans on driving with me "BUGGER".

Now I'm going to have to really plan things as I want it as comfortable as I can in hope I can get the wife back out camping more. That of course will cost me a new vehicle and caravan, that will come later, I can live with that.

I'm guessing the best chance I have is a couple of great camp spots with amenities along the way. I'm only planning to tent it two or 3 times on way up, rest will be in cabins / units, not my liking but a compromise I hope. Wife most likely will want to stay in cabins the whole way :(

Wife has said she would most likely fly back..... PHEW ...... maybe I should let her know I plan on taking 3 - 4 weeks to get back LOL.

So any ideas of some camp spots not sure which way I will go but will be heading towards Roma - Longreach and will stay there at least a night. I plan at this stage 700 - 800 klm's the first day and after that around 300 klm a day this should be a comfortable trip not rushed and will allow plenty of time to site see with heaps of rest stops for wife to stretch her legs.

Of course daughter will just to spite me (LOL) have the kid early and we both will have to fly and no dam* trip.

Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 08:51

Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 08:51
What can one say !

RIPPIT RIPPIT RIPPIT

Will there be room for the lovely wife with all your "Friends"

Cheers Pesty
AnswerID: 274490

Reply By: Footloose - Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 11:07

Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 11:07
Your wife need not worry. There are plenty of places to stay along the way that don't involve dirt and dust. They probably cost as much as your proposed trip back, however:(((((((
AnswerID: 274517

Follow Up By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 12:39

Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 12:39
LOL yes i'm sure there are footy .......... and I'll be trying to not show her any of them :):)

FollowupID: 538111

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 12:18

Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 12:18
Brian,

I think you are having a whinge "tongue in cheek" mate.

I'm sure you are privately thrilled that your wife is taking an effort to try the camping thing.

A good mate of mine has recently returned from a trip to the NW (Broom), through the Kimberley to Darwin, and back down to Adelaide checking out all the "tourist" spots and camping along the way. The trip was some 5 weeks or so.
It was his wife's first camping experience and she absolutely loved it.

Now they can join the rest of us when we travel the outback. That will make two Jacks and a Mitsy.

He has a grin from ear to ear.

AnswerID: 274525

Follow Up By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 12:37

Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 12:37
You are spot on Sand Man .............. If could get the wife back out camping I'd be thrilled I just KNOW it will cost a caravan with air con at the very least which would then require a vehicle to tow it.

If that's what it takes to go bush with the wife and enjoy the outback...... its a cheap investment as I see it.

Of course going camping with the wife IE tenting would be in the past and fair enough deserve some comforts.

FollowupID: 538110

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 16:06

Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 16:06
I'm just lucky that my bride likes to "get a little bit grubby" now and again.

Dunno how she does though......I do all the work:-))

FollowupID: 538147

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 02:02

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 02:02
Was similar here SandMan, Brian H.
Finally got The Boss back into the world that actually matters, and handled 95% of the workload.(She washed up).

Recently, it's morphed from 95:5 to 80:20.(She also buys the drinks now.)
And it is Sooo much easier.
So hang in there Brian-not-from-Cairns. She'll be rite, mate.
Jeff.
FollowupID: 538221