A Parents Worst Nightmare ( dad i'm in a accindent come & help me )

Submitted: Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 09:31
ThreadID: 52148 Views:4024 Replies:26 FollowUps:1
I was down @ the water edge here @ Port Vincent on my break from work .Taking photos of windsurfers ( which i will post later .)
When i get a phone call from my youngest son George
Dad I'm in a car accient, the cars on its roof & i'm stuck inside i'm near Maitland. then the phone goes dead
I ring his mother & told her to keep trying Georges mobil while i drive up there, its 70 klm away from Port Vincent
All the way up there on the Maitland road i am seeing these black and red accident markers wondering what color my son's is going to be, a parents worst nightmare
I drove the whole of the Maitland road into Maitland & no George .So i ring my wife and ask has she gotten thru to him. No nothing only his message bank .I tell her to ring his girlfriend( who he was on his way to see) . She does & rings me back ,hes in the hospital @ Maitland the girlfriend informed my wife .So i'm only 100 yards away so i turn the car around & as i pull up to the hospital who's walking out with a police officer , my son George . A few bandages but no missing limbs etc
We drive back to the crash site & here is the local CFS and police with my sons car in the middle of a paddock on its roof
The CFS & the Police dont know how he got out alive let alone without any seriouse injuries
Well seeing he was fine & i had my D80 with 70-200 VR( Oh for a change i wish i had something shorter ) with me i thought id better take some shots
Now in all of this happening i forgot to take off the Circular Poleriser i was using for the wind surfers & these havent been PP only reduced for web
GREAT ADVERTISEMENT FOR SEAT BELTS( we drumbed it into our children from birth really & well its paid off big time
seeing i cant work out how to post a pic here
here is the link
http://aussichef.smugmug.com/gallery/3913419#227117481

Reply By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 09:36

Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 09:36
Some wreck mate! Just glad he is OK.
AnswerID: 274499

Reply By: Willem - Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 09:36

Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 09:36
G'day Warren

Good to hear that George has come out of it unscathed. Hopefully he has learned something. And you will have a few more grey hairs!!!

AnswerID: 274500

Reply By: QLD Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 09:41

Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 09:41
Here is the link

AnswerID: 274503

Reply By: Stephen M (NSW) - Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 10:03

Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 10:03
Hi aussichef, glad to hear George is ok and not a statistic thank goodness. The old VN series 1 S ehh, good old things probably paid off that he was in somthing with a bit of meat around him. All the best to him and hope he has no ongoing injuries, and yourself and wife's blood pressure is back down to normal after a stressful hour or so. All the best. Regards Steve M
AnswerID: 274506

Reply By: Member - barbara M (NSW) - Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 10:03

Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 10:03
Hi Aussie chef,
I know what you feel like have been there I think it takes longer for the parents to recover than our sons I know it has for me Iam so pleased he is ok our son still thought he was invincible for a while I think he still does a bit he left for Iraq yesterday with the army. This type of things makes us all realise how fragile life is if only we could put old heads on youg shoulders.
barb
AnswerID: 274507

Reply By: Member - Brett (WA) - Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 10:05

Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 10:05
So lucky mate, life changing experience!
AnswerID: 274509

Reply By: Member - steve H (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 10:45

Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 10:45
Very lucky boy!
I have two sons and both are car fanatics but neither have bothered to get their licence yet. that phone call would have aged you 20 years. Just two weeks ago my eldest son was on holidays in NSW seeing some mates and i had a call saying he had been bashed by sore loser at a dodgeball game . I thought that was a bad call but from him in the car upside down and phone cuts out "wow"

i think i just aged 20 years thinking about it

AnswerID: 274514

Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 12:30

Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 12:30
Pleased to hear all worked out and hes is ok. have to agree lucky to get out with only minor injuries.

Have had two of those calls now one from the hospital for my daughter and one for my mum about a month ago that info came from work mates on scene of the accident site.

Does not matter where it comes from still shakes you up big time.

AnswerID: 274529

Reply By: Member RayJen Paj05 (NSW) - Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 12:51

Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 12:51
Lucky boy, Aussiechef. What a relief to have him come out of that. We are happy for you: best wishes to you and family...RayJen
AnswerID: 274530

Reply By: Smudger - Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 13:25

Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 13:25
I empathise with you mate. Have had a similar phone call, all OK. But mates have not been so lucky.
You can't blame inexperienced kids, especially in the bush. I just wish to god that I could afford to put my kids in late model cars with airbags and anti-lock brakes while they're so vulnerable.
AnswerID: 274532

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 14:03

Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 14:03
George! you coota.

You promised to take me 'squid-ing' when I was next in Pt Vincent and now you go and do this.

You are one very lucky dude who needs to ' mothball' himself for awhile to let everybody get over the shock of it all, especially your mum and dad.

Warren

Pls pass this onto George and give him a verbal 'slap' from me for making my hair stand on end while I was reading your post. Frightened the bejesus out of me.

Yep! he is one very lucky dude indeedy.

By the way how are you and the Mumster bearing up to this 'life experience' of his.

AnswerID: 274539

Reply By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 14:16

Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 14:16
I guess his m8s will rename him "Roof"... as in Roof Lower.

Andrew who hopes he'll look after you better than this when you get old ;-)
AnswerID: 274541

Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 14:30

Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 14:30
Certainly is a parents worst nightmare and one I hope to never experience. Hopefully George will come out of it wiser and realise how lucky he was.

Did you hug him, thankful he was OK or slap him for his actions - or both?

AnswerID: 274543

Reply By: Redback - Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 15:07

Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 15:07
Hey Warren, glad he's OK, that looked very nasty.

AnswerID: 274548

Reply By: Member - aussichef (SA) - Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 15:40

Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 15:40
Emotionally will take some time
I am mentally drained
I told him as soon as i got there i couldnt care less about the car or anything in it but him
The police have classed it not his fault, as this time of year here in the country there are many grain trucks using the roads & it was a long slow bend where it happened & trucks & probably cars too have gone off the edge of the road & caused loose gravel onto the bituman corner
To stop any further action the police have charged him with failing to control a motor car. No lose of points or license.A $92 fine & yes i am sure he will take more care from now on as should we all & not just around xmas
Thanks for everyones wishes in this what i will call a very lucky break for my family
But as you can see i still had to take some shots of the incident lol
warren aka aussichef
AnswerID: 274553

Follow Up By: Member - vivien C (VIC) - Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 16:05

Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 16:05
Hello Warren,

I'm so glad for you, your wife and son that he is ok. To get a phone call like that is every parent's worse nightmare. Now you can celebrate Christmas with happiness instead of what could have been. I lost my mother in a car accident November last year and our Christmas was so sad. I wish you joy and health.

Best wishes to you all

Viv
FollowupID: 538146

Reply By: Member No 1- Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 17:54

Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 17:54
glad he is OK aussichef
AnswerID: 274561

Reply By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 21:53

Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 21:53
Gotta make ya heart miss a few beats hearing that phone call !!

Hope he comes home feeling a little bit more educated. Good to hear that finally there is a kids driving out there who has an accident and they arent "at fault".

Gotta make ya a thankful father, you've done the right thing and taught about the seat belts!

She'll be right mate!!

Laura

AnswerID: 274592

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 21:58

Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 21:58
Warren, it is always close being one of the EO family and so glad it wasn't a loss of one. Guess so many of us have had those experiences and so glad for you it was just frightening.

I remember the rollover I had as a 22 year old where every panel was damaged and the car, a Mazda 1800, was written off at under a year old. The boot against a tree and I was just so lucky to get just a bump and scratch. Guess the bump may be why I am like I am. LOL

Mate, some of us are luckier than others so I am pleased for you and George too of course
AnswerID: 274594

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 22:00

Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 22:00
Gday Warren,
Glad he's OK.
I've had that aweful feeling a few times now - pranged cars, knocked off bike, broken down in country etc etc.

I wonder how we can get kids through the "invincible" stage but I don't have an answer. Just something we as parents have to cope with, but the kids are usually a lot wiser from the experience.
AnswerID: 274596

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 22:18

Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 22:18
Recently came around a corner on a dirt road to see the car my young bloke had been travelling in sitting in the ditch at the side of the road looking pretty sad.

As we pulled up I was looking at the car, no one still in it, then I was counting heads all 5 boys were standing up and talking.

The hairs that went gray are still gray but like you say Ausschief, all you think about are the kids all the rest is just all the rest, so much that doesn't matter.

Glad to here George is OK. It is so scary though.

AnswerID: 274602

Reply By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 22:21

Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 22:21
Oh those dreaded phone calls, we have had a few of them (albeit not as bad as yours) so can understand how you felt, things that nightmares are made from, but we have so far come through unscathed up to this point in time. I don't think parents ever get through the "worry stage" as far as the kids go and when grandkids come along your worries just double.

Thank God that your post has come with a happy ending and I hope your son learns from his experience.

D

Simba, our much missed baby.

AnswerID: 274603

Reply By: Member - RFLundgren (WA) - Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 23:47

Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 23:47
Us as well like some of the rest of you have also had a similar call. Not too long after we moved to Perth from Lake Macquarie get a phone call in the early hours of the morning.

18 year old daughter had been in a car with friends travelling back up the F3 to Morisset after a night out in Sydney. They did have a designated driver and were all also wearing seatbelts.

Driving rain and came around a corner on the downhill to Ourimbah only to come across a few other cars bingled due to a fallen tree. Unfortunately they collected one of the young people who was checking someone in one of the stationary cars. He ended up through the windscreen and didn't make it on arrival to hospital. Driver was cleared of all wrong doing, but it is still something those kids have to live with for the rest of their lives, the image of this young early 20's guy that their car hit.

Glad all is ok aussichef, many of us do know exactly how you feel and what you are going through. I am already bald just about but I can tell you after that call any stray hairs that I do have definitely turned grey that night.

AnswerID: 274614

Reply By: jdwynn (Adelaide) - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 07:04

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 07:04
Im just really happy for you Aussichef. What a experience. My worst nightmare certainly. Here we are looking at buying a little sh*tbox to save fuel - which my 17yo would use - im thinking about that again after looking at these photos. Best wishes JD
AnswerID: 274629

Reply By: Waynepd (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 07:34

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 07:34
Hey Aussichef,
Thank god he's ok. He is a very lucky boy to get out in one piece.

This could have been one sad Christmas coming up and I hope George realises that.

My eldest is on his P Plates and I always worry 'til he gets home safe because he thinks he is a great driver but i know better.
AnswerID: 274631

Reply By: geocacher (djcache) - Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 22:34

Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 22:34
Hi Aussichef,

Having been to dozens of these and seen the ones that frequently don't end so well I'm glad George is fine.

For those that want to stimulate some thought in their kids, here's a link to some advert/short films that might get them thinking. They are made by young people for young people.

Make a Film, Make a Difference.

PS. As I type they are bashing fuel consumption of 4wds on Lateline.... :o(
AnswerID: 274868

Reply By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 00:30

Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 00:30
Hey aussichef.

Good to see the young fella is ok.

I have a 5 1/2 year old and hope I teach him the right way, there is not a day goes by I don't remember how many close shaves I had growing up.

It's only a mistake if you don't learn from it.

Cheers Steve.
AnswerID: 274883