Where are all the Highway Patrol Police

Submitted: Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 09:19
ThreadID: 52170 Views:3853 Replies:8 FollowUps:15
Just had a quick trip from Newcastle to Melbourne and back to pick up the new Jayco. Left Wednesday and got back Saturday morning.
I am yet to see a police car. Not one on the whole trip. I don't know if that's good or bad, but I am leaning to bad.
Mind you I saw plenty of fixed speed cameras, and a few of the usual highway idiots we just shake our heads at.
I must say I was impressed by the curtesey and consideration shown by all the truckies, and there were plenty. Highway curtesey is a wonderful thing when everyone practices it.
Plenty of roadworks from south of Yass to the Ettamogah Pub, with lots of delays.
Stopped over at Wangaratta on the way back and found a great caravan park in town called Painters Island if anyone is looking to stop in the area. Great shady bush setting, excellent amenities.
Cheers all, from Fred.

Reply By: QLD Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 09:28

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 09:28
I noticed the same with my trip to Calliope and back to Sydney last week. I did not see one patrol car except for those parked outside of the local cop shop LOL and that included election day.

AnswerID: 274644

Follow Up By: Member - Franga (QLD) - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 09:34

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 09:34
G'day Kev, Where did you end staying and did you get much of a chance to have a butchers at the area.
I suppose the main item is was it worth while.

Franga
FollowupID: 538241

Follow Up By: QLD Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 16:32

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 16:32
Franga,

I stayed at the Why Not Motel in south Gladstone on the Sunday Night and free camped on Monday night (well a few hours anyway).

I had a good look around Gladstone, Calliope, Boyne Island and Tannum sands. I did around 250kms on Monday before the Job Interview and that included having 2 houses to inspect as possible one to buy.
The interview went for about 30 mins so it felt like a long way to go just for 30 mins LOL

I have been offered the job as well as one in Roma so I am now waiting for both to give me the formal offers including salary and will make a decision from there as to which to take. I am keen for the Calliope job as there is some great fishing in the area and plenty of work.

FollowupID: 538305

Reply By: Jimbo - VIC - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 09:35

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 09:35
Visual prescence of coppers on the road deters speeding.

Take the coppers away, hide lots of speed cameras, people speed, cameras catch them, equals increased revenue for Govt.

Sound cynical? Bet your goolies I am.

AnswerID: 274645

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 09:43

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 09:43
You got the point Jimbo. I am more than happy to see plenty of mobile patrol cars "Patrolling" the highway.
The name Highway Patrol doesn't seem appropriate anymore.
FollowupID: 538245

Reply By: johnnic - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 11:01

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 11:01
I've never quite understood the argument that suggests speed cameras, etc are simply "revenue raisers" and ergo, a bad thing!

In my view, whilst a visible police presence may temporarily slow down those speeding, it tends to wear off quickly and soon enough, they're speeding again.

Personally, I'm in favour of the police playing every "sneaky" trick they can come up with if it deters speeding motorists. I would go so far as to favour the use of technology such that each and every one of us who breaks the speeding rules is detected and subsequently fined (or worse if we continue to offend).

If, as a corollary, it also raises government revenue, all the better. If it reduces my taxes or improves my public services, I'm a happy camper (metaphorically and literally).

AnswerID: 274659

Follow Up By: DIO - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 11:21

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 11:21
Here, here. A sensible, constructive and realistic response/attitude. As for the absence of visible Patrols. Who really knows. Most Forces are dramatically understaffed and resourced. Frequently members on leave are not replaced and Traffic Patrols are often called upon to fulfill functions of even more stretched General Patrols. Not much different to Hospitals (shortages of Doctors and Nurses), Schools - lack of Teachers and resources, Building/Construction Industry - shortage of Tradies etc, etc. A 'sign' of out times !!!
FollowupID: 538266

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 11:56

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 11:56
John if you are waiting for speed camera revenue to reduce your taxes, or improve your public services, let me tell you it aint gonna happen. I spent 11 years in a suit of blue, and I have some idea of what I'm talking about.
I don't have a problem with speed cameras at all. By all means let them relieve the speed freaks of their obviously "not so hard earned " cash, but they only deal with one offence and I have yet to see a speed camera deal with the many other dangerous offences that can only be detected by a mobile patrol. Unmarked cars work a treat if used consistently, and the visual presence of marked cars can never be underestimated. A dangerous serial pest can be taken off the road immediately by them, and not receive a notice in the mail weeks later. In a perfect world, all road users would feel safer knowing everyone else is going to do the right thing everytime we go out on the road.
The one great pity is, there will always be the habitual pest on the road, simply because no amount of law enforcement will educate an idiot.
Safe travels always...Cheers from Fred.
FollowupID: 538269

Follow Up By: johnnic - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 12:29

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 12:29
Fred, fair points. I'm in favour of anything that reduces the number of idiots on the road (including the encouragement of self nominations for the Darwin award)!!

If that is best done by a police presence, then I'm for it. Certainly, I have always liked the unmarked car concept as I think that is significantly more effective than the marked police car sitting and waiting with their speed camera poised.

I think it comes down to the principles embodied in effective crime and punishment. If, as for example in 18th century England, the likelihood of getting caught is small, then crime will continue to flourish regardless of the severity of the punishment, eg transportation for life for a relatively minor offence but with only a very small chance of being caught.

If, however, the likelihood of getting caught is very high, then the incidence of crime will fall significantly even when the punishment is not quite so onerous. In that vein, I support the use of technology that will increase the chances of catching the speeding motorist, whatever that might be.

It's an interesting discussion.

FollowupID: 538275

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 19:58

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 19:58
Yep get pulled over for speeding and the first thing that happens is the bag comes out. You get asked if its your car. possibly an outstanding warrents check. Quick shine of the torch round the car.Depending on the car/person maybe a close inspection for defects and maybe a look in the boot.
would like to know haw many stolen cars, drug deals, outstanding warents, stolen goods etc etc come from a simple speeding stop or in WA just a random liscense check.

FollowupID: 538319

Follow Up By: Phillipn - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 21:43

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 21:43
A few weeks ago while driving from Toowoomba to Brisbane their was a speed camera set up on the west bound lanes on the Gatton bypass , a long way off the road behind a hill. It was impossible to see when driving west.

On the way back I knew where the Toyota was parked , had I not seen it their on the way to Brisbane I would not have seen it on the return trip.

I do not have a problem with police doing their job, but this incident was just a revenue raising exercise.

Any one who may have been speeding could have killed some one before they got their ticket in the mail.
FollowupID: 538335

Follow Up By: Member - John G- Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 08:31

Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 08:31
G'day John,

On balance I agree with you. My interest lies in the question of double demerit points on holiday periods. If they are really effective, and I've never seen any evidence to that effect, then why not introduce them as the standard?

John G
FollowupID: 538557

Reply By: Andrew(WA) - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 11:22

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 11:22
Fred

You should post your concerns on the QLD/NSW police website. I'm sure they would have an Email link.

The problem these days is all the coppers leaving the job. Numbers are way down here in WA. I think it's the same all over the country especially WA NSW and QLD. If you know anyone looking for a job...tell them to apply for the WA coppers...they're in!
AnswerID: 274660

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 11:58

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 11:58
G'day Andrew, I did my 11 years, too old now.
FollowupID: 538271

Follow Up By: Andrew(WA) - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 19:05

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 19:05
I wish I had only done 11...one powerball....
FollowupID: 538314

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 19:13

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 19:13
I know what you mean...son-in-law has 18 up and nothing has changed (not for the better anyway). Safe travels mate.
FollowupID: 538315

Reply By: Crackles - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 22:19

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 22:19
Fred just because you didn't see them doesn't mean they didn't see you ;-)
Living on the Hume Highway in Vic I can tell you there is normally a pretty high patrol rate. On a 2 hour drive to Melbourne I would on average see 3 or 4. If a fixed camera catches anyone speeding they really aren't paying attention to driving the car and deserve a $$ wake up call.
Cheers Craig..............
AnswerID: 274714

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 20:41

Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 20:41
From what you say,they must have all slept in late, or too wet, the morning I went through, because plenty of ratbags evident on the run into town from Seymour from 5am onwards that morning, in drizzling rain no less. Or were the driving offences that concerned me not worthy of attention.(Tongue in cheek mate). Let's get real here. I assume the speed cameras were awake though, and yes, if you get detected by one of them, (I hate speedsters by the way, because I am always the one getting overtaken whilst doing the speed limit and apparently holding up traffic, with or without the van) you deserve more than the statutory postal fine, which takes this whole issue right back to my original concerns.
Interesting Topic Aye???????
Which one of us travellers does not want any road safe from RATBAGS.
Next time you get really offended by an offending motorist, forget the road rage bit, note the number, make, colour, direction of travel, and drivers description as much as possible, and use your bloody mobile to alert the authorities. They rely on information from the travelling motorist just as much as we rely on them. As we have seen from some of the responses here, their numbers are in short supply, and they cannot be everywhere.
Time to get serious with Serial Pests on our Roads.
In case you had not noticed, I am an old ex-cop, with road safety very close to my heart. I have had to talk to too many mums and dads and wives and husbands and kids late at night about their loved ones not coming home.
FollowupID: 538881

Reply By: Rock Ape - Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 07:08

Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 07:08
Here in the sunshine state they must be saving up there overtime for the Xmas break, Apart from the odd candy car I haven't seen them about either. Between Brownsville and the lovely city of Mackay I normally come across at least 1 flash car at night but lately nothing.

So all you drivers and travellers out there have your licences, logbooks ready for the Crissy onslaught. Oh! forgot to say keep the cruise control on or put a brick under the go pedal

There are big bucks to be made at Xmas
AnswerID: 274732

Reply By: Des Lexic - Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 09:51

Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 09:51
Here in the Riverland, We have 2 marked Highway patrol cars plus an unmarked one. They are always out on the road doing their duty. You couldn't wish to meet a finer group of blokes. just ask Garbutt.
AnswerID: 274745

Follow Up By: Blaze - Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 15:24

Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 15:24
Not sure about that Uncle Des,

I seen one of these esteemed officers the other day sitting snoozing near a roadwork’s area, wasn't sure who it was I believe he was in disguise.... LOL

FollowupID: 538426

Reply By: sparkythespacechimp - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 09:13

Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 09:13
I recently did a round trip in two days from SA to Bendigo. Only saw two 2 patrol cars the entire trip of 2000ks.
Funny enough, we were heading out of Swan Hill on the return leg home, when we were overtaken by a speeding P-plater with no license plates. "where are the all the police in Victoria?" we said. Out of nowhere a police car pulls out in front of us and gives chase and pulls them over.
They must be out there.... watching....waiting.
AnswerID: 274912

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 20:10

Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 20:10
I travelled Echuca to Mildura in Sept this year, via Swan Hill, (lovely place) What you saw was was that one in a million wish come true when we see such a ratbag, and we all have the same wish. From an old former Cop, let me tell you, that if you believe their is a highway patrol car hiding behind every tree waiting and watching to catch a ratbag, then you would be better off believing in Santa Claus, (sorry santa) I really have been a good boy, the tooth fairy, easter bunny, etc. But then again, if that is what you believe, the desired effect is in place, isn't it.
Many safe travels travels sparkythespacechimp.
FollowupID: 538865