You're not going to believe this

Submitted: Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 20:33
ThreadID: 52212 Views:3774 Replies:7 FollowUps:6
Over the last few days I thought I heard the mobile phone go off. Nothing.

Last night I was in the kitchen and the phone rang (swear to God), picked it up and nothing. Standing there quite perplexed looking at the bloody thing, then it rang again with the same result.

It was then I noticed the dog in the sun room barking at the patio roof.

Had a look, then the penny dropped (I'm a bit slow these days).

To test the theory I placed the mobile on the outdoor table, went back inside and rang myself. Sure enough the bird mimicked the tone on the mobile.

Anyone have a slug gun!

Kim

Kim

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 20:39

Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 20:39
Gday Kim,
Yeh mate..Ive got heaps of guns,
But shouldnt that be a last resort...lots of people your age start to imagine things!
Shouldnt you seek professional help before you resort to that!!!!

AnswerID: 274845

Follow Up By: Member - Kim M (VIC) - Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 20:51

Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 20:51
Gidday Hairy

I'll give you professional help ya young fart!

PS Merry Christmas to you and your family.

Kim
FollowupID: 538507

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 20:59

Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 20:59
Same to you Mate
FollowupID: 538508

Reply By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 20:58

Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 20:58
Shoulda posted this on Friday - this is hilarious!!

Never happened to me but this tops it!!

Laura
AnswerID: 274849

Reply By: Kevndeb - Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 22:04

Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 22:04
Got a pink and gray that does that...he also answers it and carries on a conversation....

His cage is out side the toilet window, so anyone in the toilet...gets the shock of their lives....when the phone rings and someone says hello....sure glad they are in the toilet......

AnswerID: 274860

Reply By: geocacher (djcache) - Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 22:16

Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 22:16
The elder of our two daughters teacher has a Cockatiel. It spends weekdays in class but goes home with her on weekends.

Aparently recently it's mastered the oven timer...

Reckon it's ready to roast now, and it'll even tell you when it's done! Won't feed many though.

AnswerID: 274864

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 22:29

Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 22:29
How did the bird get your phone number???

AnswerID: 274867

Follow Up By: Member - Kim M (VIC) - Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 22:36

Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 22:36
I couldn't figure out how this Bird picked up the ring tone, because I hardly use the mobile phone, and very few people have the number.

It then occurred to me that the Bird must have picked it up from a number of conversations I had with a mate while working on the camper trailer in the garage.

It's got to the stage that Bird wants to ring me as soon as I arrive home!!!!!

Such is life.

Kim
FollowupID: 538541

Follow Up By: vuduguru - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 01:35

Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 01:35
Crack me up! maybe you can teach it / him / her to replace the answering machine.
FollowupID: 538545

Reply By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 07:08

Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 07:08
Hi Kim, yep, amazing creatures them birds. We've got an old place where the toilet is semi outside with the laundry.

My morning ritual is always a coffee, ciggy and a visit to the loo.
As soon as I step out the door the pink & grey starts coughing his guts out.

Might be time to knock the coffee on the head...LOL.

Cheers....Lionel.
AnswerID: 274891

Follow Up By: Kevndeb - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 11:56

Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 11:56
My pink and gray calls the kids, the dogs and says a very whinny " OH Mum!'.... why not? " And imitate the water being poured into his water dish.

When we live in the old place, he did not like a particular dove that fed on the seed he chucked out, so he would scream, the dog would go out and chase the dove away and I would call the dog back, and there would peace until the dove came back....now all he does is call the dog, she chases the dove away....smart bird...leaving out the middle person....

We always know if someone is around, as he has call to say someone is around that shouldn't be. He picked that little trick up from my other cocky who passed away two years ago, she was my grandfather alarm, my grandfather couldn't hear anyone knocking, but he could hear Charlie screaming if someone was knocking....Nipper picked it up, and I very grateful that he did. Charlie was 55 year old when she died...we all thought she was a boy, but she laid a egg in her 21st year....she hated women and girls.

FollowupID: 538582

Reply By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 15:02

Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 15:02
Change your ringtone, that should throw it for a while.
AnswerID: 274968

Follow Up By: Member - Kim M (VIC) - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 17:43

Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 17:43
Matt

Did that today. Asked one of the girls to change the ring tone.

Kim
FollowupID: 538629