National ExplorOz Forum Gathering 2008
Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 08:08
Willem
Well, seeing as there seems to be a bit of dithering with a proposed National Gathering for 2008, I will organise it.
My preferred site for the next National Gathering is
Innamincka
1. It is equidistant for most Eastern and Central Staters but a long way from WA
2. There is plenty of
camping space
3. It is on a river
4. There are long drop
toilets at the
Camp Site
5. There are Hot showers and Flush
toilets at
Innamincka
6. There is a Pub
7. There is a Bush
Shop with fuel supplies.
8. The
camping costs should be minimal
9. Lots of
places to visit nearby such as
Cullyamurra Waterhole,
The Dig Tree, Coongie Lakes,
Bore Track, Minkie
Waterhole,
Walkers Crossing and maybe we can organise a tour of Moomba.
I should also be able to organise entertainment and a supply of wood.
What I would need from interestedparticants is a time for this event.
Mid April has good weather but rain could be a problem. School Holidays are more or less in sync.
Mid July... Cold and dry. School Holidays
Late September. Warmer, more flies, possible rain, fits in with School Holidays.
Let me know your thoughts please
Reply By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 08:22
Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 08:22
Good thinking Willem, by the sound of it you do a good job at organising them!
We more than likely wont be able to come but if there is one in 2009 then I reckon I could convince Bucky and the rest of the gang to join in on our way to Alice - CSR.....as long we're travelling around that time......
Mid July is good out there - but my opinion dont count...I wont be there!!
Laura
Reply By: QLD Kev & Darkie - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 08:23
Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 08:23
Willem,
I would be totally at the mercy of my new employer (depending on which one it is LOL) but either the July or September dates would be my preference.
After missing this years, I am determined to make it to the next one.
Thanks for starting the ball rolling.
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Reply By: Member - Ed. C. (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 08:30
Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 08:30
You da man!!
Any time which suits the majority suits SWMBO and me, though I'd suggest April might make sense for many, as it could be the stepping-off point for a longer trip....
When are the fish most likely to be bitin'??
| Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"Member My Profile Send Message |
Follow Up By: QLD Kev & Darkie - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 08:32
Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 08:32
They will bite when there is
water in the river LOL
But then again the less waterin the river, the higher the chances of catching one as there is less
water between them and the hook :))
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 08:34
Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 08:34
Probaly Yellow bellies or your toes while ya cool off in the
water, Ed C
Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 08:48
Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 08:48
Good onya Willie...... I have organised 2 weeks of my holidays for the July school holidays with a view to doing a Simpson crossing and/or a visit to Innaminka.
So, FWIW, my "vote" goes to the July school holidays......
Follow Up By: Peter McG (Member, Melbourne) - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 10:35
Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 10:35
We're also planning a Simpson trip for next year at about the same time. Taking the Ultimate this time.
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 20:15
Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 20:15
G'day Peter,
Our trip plans are a bit up in the air at the moment.....especially now that Willie has put this post up here!!!
We were originally thinking of a trip from here up to
Oodnadatta, Dalhousie etc, then across the Simpson (not sure which route), then from
Birdsville to Innaminka via
Cordillo Downs, down the Strez and back home.
Now, depending on the dates of the possible get together, we may have to refine our plans to coordinate......
Follow Up By: Nick R (VIC) - Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 19:32
Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 19:32
Hey guys, we are planning to cross at about that time too, may have to vary the route now to fit in the gathering before as we planned to do west to east then on to innaminka after
birdsville.
We were planning something like yours roachie but due to time constraints we can't do the crossing before the 9th
NickR
Reply By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 08:52
Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 08:52
Hi Willem,
The QLD mid year school holidays are from 30 June to 14 July, with 14 July being a pupil free day, so either the weekend of 5-6July or 12-13July would suit us canetoads best.
Innaminka would be good as it was on my itinerary for the first gathering but as you know things got a little damp that year.
Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 09:06
Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 09:06
Good on ya Willem.
Missed the last gathering in South Oz because we have a business and that first week or two in july is busy sorting out year ending.
Our kids are old enough that school holidays are no longer an issue, but not that long ago that we can't remember what it was like trying to organise around them, so yes, it does seem that it has to be july or September.
Have been to
Innamincka in July and September, and July is better without the flies, and a bit colder to snuggle up in bed. :o)
September may get a few good warm days, but suits us time wise.
Will try and work with either.
We travel
Brisbane to
Innamincka in two days, stopping one night in Cunamulla, so it is not that far to go, and the bitumen is being extended west from
Thargomindah every year. Mire the pity.
Reply By: Member - Alastair D (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 09:09
Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 09:09
Willem,
Excellent idea. I would prefer earlier rather than later otherwise it will clash the East-West crossing being organised by another ExplorOz member in July - August. April would be good for us.
alastair
Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 09:26
Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 09:26
July sounds like a good month. Of course no matter what month is assigned some people will miss out due to other commitments.
JULY JULY JULY :) :) :) naturally this also allows time for people to ummmmmm save some $$$$$$$ to do the trip :)
I'll bring the camera Trevor :) just in case something crops up lol
Thanks also willem for putting the hand up to organise.
Reply By: Dean - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 10:12
Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 10:12
Willem,
Missed the last one due to being elsewhere. July holidays would be best for us, but the kids can be dragged out of school if need be.
We are hoping to do our first simpson crossing this year, may be able to tag along with others doing something similar.
Dean
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 10:19
Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 10:19
Great stuff Willem, and good location.
My preference is May/June, but I'd expect thats unsuitable for the many explorozers who have school aged kids. If its in school hols, I probably can't make it - the people at work with school aged kids get preference when we dish out holidays. Gets pretty crowded at
Innamincka then too.
No doubt it will be organised to your own lofty standards...
well done for taking it on again. I'll send you the name tags :-)
phil
Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 10:48
Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 10:48
"... a long way from WA".
Is that considered a good thing?
Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 13:41
Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 13:41
No, that wasn't the intention of what I said. It is just a matter of fact.
If we had the gathering in WA then most Eastern Staters would be precluded unless they happen to be on a trek through the state. But no one from WA or elsewhere has put their hand up to organise this event so I've considered the options and have decided that this one could be easier than the last one I had a hand in and so my hand has gone up.
Reply By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 11:38
Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 11:38
Hi Willie
As
Innamincka is one of my most fav
places, then I'd be very interested, only issue with me is Uni, got an offer yesterday that I"m accepting and still waiting to hear from two other uni's, I"m not sure on what the timetable will be.
Lyn
Follow Up By: Member - barbara M (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 15:19
Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 15:19
Hi lyn,
What uni did you gat an offer for and what course do you want to do
barb
Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 17:58
Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 17:58
Hi Barb
I'm doing a Grad Dip Ed in Primary Teaching and I've been offered a place with
Ballarat Uni - which i'll accept - and if I get an offer from either La Trobe or RMIT in the new year I'll consider my options.
The place I've been offerred is a CSP spot, which will reduce my HECS fees by about half.
Lyn
Reply By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 11:41
Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 11:41
PS....we don't mind pulling kids out of school...and the school encourages travel so it won't bother of us if it's not in a school holiday time...
Follow Up By: QLD Kev & Darkie - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 11:44
Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 11:44
Does that mean your kids are ratbags like
mine?? he he
| Russell Coight:
Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 12:09
Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 12:09
my kids are
well travelled who astound their peers and teachers with stories of outback
places..
and they can be a pair of ratbags.....
Reply By: Member - MUZBRY (VIC) - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 11:50
Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 11:50
Gday Willem
The bottle washer just said that i can come to the gatherng as long as it dose not interfer with work.So i said, who is the worker here? now i can just leave anytime. I think i might have missed something .
All will be ok when the pills cut in .
Murray (muzbry)
Reply By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 11:58
Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 11:58
Hey Willem.
April would be good for me, with a 95% chance of making it.
Cheers Steve.
Reply By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 12:24
Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 12:24
Either one Willem, with a slight preference for July.
Would be magic to put faces to some names.
Good onya.
JeFF.
Reply By: AdrianLR (VIC) - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 13:33
Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 13:33
Hi Willem
Sounds great.
July would be our preference with hopefully fewer flys and lower winds than September
All the best,
Adrian
Reply By: George_M - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 13:33
Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 13:33
You're a thrill seeker, Willem!!
Good choice of location - April or September would suit us.
George_M
Reply By: Member - Howard (ACT) - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 13:34
Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 13:34
Willem,
agree with proposed location.
w/e of 5,6,7 july is school holidays all states but Tassy
I am suposed to leave
cairns on 5th july for return trip to cape
but would definitely consider a delay to allow detour via innaminka on the way to attend another get together..
after chistmas I have lots of time( like forever) but swmbo is still teaching for a couple more years.
Howard
Reply By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 13:37
Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 13:37
Willem - thought it was at Mt Dare next year? Andrew Wheller has started talking with Dave Cox there I believe. Spoke to Dave Cox about it just last week but he is pretty much in the dark and needs someone to touch base with him if its going to happen there. We are happy for you to take on the caretaker role of organising what where when with the crowds as you did such a great job last year from all reports. But please remember 2 things - use the
Trips and Gatherings system and it's not a
Forum gathering - it's an ExplorOz Members Gathering 2008 - picky aren't I ;-) LOL
Follow Up By: QLD Kev & Darkie - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 13:42
Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 13:42
Michelle,
Wouldn't be an ExplorOz Gathering not just an ExplorOz Members Gathering?? As Visitors would be just as welcome as
well as Members LOL
| Russell Coight:
Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 13:46
Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 13:46
yeah yeah - don't want to start something unsettling here, but this feature of the site was always designed only available for Members to organise, but yes anyone can attend however the idea is that those members would encourage more to become members. You'll note that the
Trips and Gatherings system is located under the Members menu to confirm this.
Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 13:52
Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 13:52
Ummmm....... Michelle.......
I added the
Forum in as an afterthought this morning because we had a number of visitors along at
Warraweena who have become Members since.
Have not listed it as
Trips and Gatherings as I have only struck my toe in the
water so far.
Young Andrew Weller has been on the
forum quite a lot recently but has not mentioned any progress with Mt Dare. The latter place is a good spot for a short stay but not for a gathering I would say, as there is very little to do closeby. Hence the coice of
Innamincka.
I will see where this goes but if Andrew wants to run it out to Mt Dare then I have no probs with that.
Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 13:56
Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 13:56
Thanks Willem - agree
Innamincka is a great location for all the reasons you've suggested and probably better for a longer stay than MD. Just wanted to be sure you knew that some discussion had already started re: Mt Dare so as not to upset anyone. Very happy for you to take this on. Many thanks :-)
Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 04:30
Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 04:30
Hi Michelle
Have conferred with Andrew and he is happy with me doing the legwork and the choice of
Innamincka
Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 19:36
Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 19:36
Great job Willem, thanks for sorting it out. Sounds like the majority want it around July so unfortuantely that will conflict with
Ningaloo trip that has been planned since we last went there in 2006 and now we have a small group going so can't change the plans sorry. It really is a good location for this sort of gathering so I hope you get a great turn out. I will obviously talk with you via email directly as there are some things I'd like to discuss with this one etc. If however the gathering ends up later in the year, say the Sept holidays then we could possibly come across but certainly don't worry about leaving us out. We are hoping for another run on the CSR for 2009 so a 2009 Gathering around the July school holidays near
Wiluna is what I'm currently proposing.
Follow Up By: Member - Luke (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 22:06
Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 22:06
Willem,
How many times are you going to go to Innaminka between now and July next year to organise this gathering, like you did with
Warraweena??
Would like to attend this one but ATM would have to say no to this one. Have a bit on next year with the wedding and honeymoon.
Till we meet again seeya
Cheers Luke
Reply By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 13:40
Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 13:40
Just might add that I'd like to see the 2009 gathering in WA - and have already started headway with the possibility of having it at a private property just outside
Wiluna in June/July school holidays - this gives even more reason for the 2008 gathering to be somewhere more to the east side - eg. Innaminka, or Mt Dare is fine.
Follow Up By: QLD Kev & Darkie - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 13:44
Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 13:44
Are you going to attend the 2008 one??
Kev
| Russell Coight:
Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 13:46
Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 13:46
We can't - already organised our 2008 trip in 2006.
Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 20:11
Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 20:11
Great idea Michelle I'll be in it. Do you have any tentative dates in July 2009. BTW Ninghan Stn wouldn't be a bad spot either.
Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 21:45
Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 21:45
Nice to hear your support for a gathering Michelle.
There had been rumours you had other plans for 2008 gathering and no one here seemed to support what I thought I was asked to do - organise it at Mt. Dare.
I'd just assumed interest had waned.
Innaminka or Mt. Dare - I don't mind.
What we had been discussing was something that raised some funds for RFDS in memory of Ian Stabler... I had discussed this with Dave Cox a number of times and got more or less support - more for August, less for school hols ;-)
Cheers for now
Andrew who is always happy for Willem to organise things - he does a gr8 job.
Reply By: Member - Doug T (FNQ) - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 13:52
Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 13:52
Willem
Might have to give it some thought, I could possibly drag myself and Dusty out of the warmth to the cold winter nights of Northern SA ,
Michelle
Pull the Red Skirt down more to cover your LEGS.....??
#
Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 13:57
Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 13:57
Doug - its rude to call me a camel.
Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 15:03
Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 15:03
good grief...hopefully an apology in private if not public.
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (FNQ) - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 16:31
Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 16:31
bushfix
Michelle has everything under control , Including the Camel '
#
Reply By: Member - John T (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 16:40
Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 16:40
G'day Willem
Thanks for jumping in the deep end and at least suggesting a gathering place for EO and friends. I'm planning a trip out that way in September 08 so that would suit me best. Cannot get away from work in April or July and would, like so many others, put faces to names.
Just my $00.02 worth
| John T (Lifetime Member)
VKS-737 Mobile 2619
Selcall 2619
"Argue for your limitations and sure enough they're yours" - Richard Bach in "Illusions" Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Reply By: Gob & Denny(hampton park vic) - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 16:48
Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 16:48
goodday willem
any time after july 1 as we will be free agents by then and it would work
well with our plans in july
Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 17:28
Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 17:28
July School holidays would be perfect for us too.
FYI School holidays for the states next year are.........
SA, ACT, NSW,WA all have holidays from friday 4th July to Monday 21st july.
QLD & VIC 27th Jume - 14th July
NT 20 June - 21st July
TAS No July holidays :(
SO the majority of us would be ok for the 1st or 2nd weekend in July????
Reply By: CLC50 - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 17:46
Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 17:46
Well I ready to go let me no when,I am warming up the truck ,all I have to do let the brake of and I am on my way.
Reply By: Member - Graham K (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 18:00
Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 18:00
Hi Willem
If it's to be Innaminka have you thought of contacting the Land Rover Club as they have restored an historic farmhouse on the Coonjie Lakes road which I have stayed at last year when no-one was there. Maybe you know about it but if not I can look out some old trip notes with GPS co-ords and photos as it's a great
overnight stop with a roof over your head right on the river.
Graham Kerr
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 18:13
Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 18:13
Graham,
I'd guess you're talking about Kudrimitchie, and it is a project of the Toyota LandCruiser Club of South Aus.
TLCCSA Link here
Its just outside the Coongie area, so a campfire is still permitted. Best fishing on the Cooper according to some.
Follow Up By: Member - Graham K (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 18:53
Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 18:53
Yes that's
the spot. Thanks for the reminder of the name and the web link. I just thought it worth a mention as another place to visit whilst around Innaminka and certainly a credit to the Landrover Club of SA. It reminds me of the restoration projects of some of the
Snowy Mountains huts by bushwalkers and ski clubs about 15 or so years ago. Maybe we can find and adopt an EO hut restoration project somewhere some day some time?
Graham K
Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 19:28
Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 19:28
Looks like we'll have to wait to see if it's "the Toyota LandCruiser Club of South Aus" OR "the Landrover Club of SA" LOL
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 19:57
Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 19:57
Hi Graham,
You must be driving a LandRover Troopcarrier!!! :-)))
Al, Good suggestion - we need some experts from the
forum to work out the difference......hehehe
Follow Up By: Member - Graham K (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 20:27
Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 20:27
Ooops i just re-read my post and thanks for pointing out my typo guys. I seriously thought it was done by the rangerovers but of course how silly of me only a team effort by troopies could have got all those building materials in there. What other vehicle could handle such a tough task?
Graham K
Reply By: Mark & Jo, S/side, Bris - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 18:01
Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 18:01
Alright what is goin on?
Signman has posted it is in Victoria!
Jo
Follow Up By: Mark & Jo, S/side, Bris - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 18:05
Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 18:05
Apologies all, I should open my eyes when I read, he is refering to the 4x4 gathering not EO gathering!
Follow Up By: QLD Kev & Darkie - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 18:05
Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 18:05
Jo,
You are giving Queenslanders a bad name. The one Signman posted about has nothing to do with ExplorOz as stated in his post. It is the National 4x4 Gathering ;))
| Russell Coight:
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 06, 2007 at 21:26
Thursday, Dec 06, 2007 at 21:26
hahahahahahah bits of wee feel outta me when I read this hahahahaha
Follow Up By: Mark & Jo, S/side, Bris - Friday, Dec 07, 2007 at 08:00
Friday, Dec 07, 2007 at 08:00
I think you better make your computer chair a comode!
Reply By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 18:03
Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 18:03
Mid July would be good for me also as I'm out west again from early June and was coming home that way mid to late July. It would be great to put a few faces to the posts and profiles.
Cheers Mick.
Reply By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 20:13
Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 20:13
Willem any ideas when in July, the latter part would be ideal for me as I'll be half way there at this time and could extend my holidays?
Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 20:20
Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 20:20
Duncan, no idea at this stage. Just testing the
water.
Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 20:36
Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 20:36
Thanks I'll keep an eye out for developments.
Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 20:30
Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 20:30
Love the location Willem, I was dreading the thought of trying to drag my van across the simpson (Shhhhhhh it may cause a stir if I say it too loud) to meet up at Mt Dare. Would love it even more if it were in July school holidays. At least then I would have half a chance of talking Judy and the family into coming again, I promise she won't be 38 weeks pregga's this time LOL!!
Regards, Trevor.
Reply By: ZukscooterX90 (Qld) - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 20:42
Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 20:42
Onya Willem,great spot & would love to have a revisit of Innaminka.Sooooooooo for me it is a possible MAYBE.YaaaaaaaHoooooooooo.
Cheers Bob.
Reply By: Member - RFLundgren (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 21:24
Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 21:24
Willem
Would love to come and have mentioned to SWMBO that maybe we could extend out planned trip by say 3 weeks or so and head to
Wiluna from
Perth via
Innamincka. The response was not overly favourable I have to say but still working on the idea.
If I cant swing it due to the CSR trip then I guess I will have to wait till 2009 if it happens in WA.
Reply By: Outnabout David (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 21:37
Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 21:37
June through to September sounds great as the early part of the year has a lot going on with
Easter, Anzac and
Adelaide vup weekends.
Reply By: Member RayJen Paj05 (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 23:09
Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 23:09
Hi Willem - July would suit us and we think Innaminka a great place to meet. Cheers, RayJen
Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 10:11
Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 10:11
I thought that your SA Visa had been cancelled. LOL
Reply By: Dave B (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 01:23
Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 01:23
I reckon if you can jam it in somewhere between March and September, we will be there.
Onya Willie.
Reply By: Member - Fred L (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 10:15
Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 10:15
Good to hear that you are up & going again (even with the price of diesel hey boor!!!)
FYI
Boor - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia boor, a peasant or uncultured person; Laughing Boor with a Pot of Beer
I would love to make it anytimne July onwards.
Fred
Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 16:21
Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 16:21
I think that you meant BOER
young fella
>Boer (pronounced [bu ' r]) is the Dutch word for farmer which came to denote the descendants of the Dutch-speaking pastoralists of the eastern Cape frontier in Southern Africa during the 18th century as
well as those who left the Cape Colony during the 19th century to settle in the
Orange Free State, Transvaal (together known as the Boer Republics) and to a lesser extent Natal. Their primary motivation for leaving the Cape was to escape British rule as
well as the constant border wars between the British imperial government and the native tribes on the eastern frontier<
You have been away too long....lol
Follow Up By: Member - Fred L (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 16:35
Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 16:35
True - but I didn't want to spoil a good story. Nice to hear from you. Just make sure you bring a jug of mampur (it has been toooo long & that might be spelt wrong as
well)
Be gentle with me.
Reply By: GREENDOG - Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 21:14
Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 21:14
So does this mean Visitors to this sight are going to became
gate crasher's to the 08 gathering.cheer's GREENDOG
Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 21:30
Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 21:30
As you should know, Visitors are welcome. If you have read the all of the thread you will have found that out.
I am not sure why you are asking this question anyway.
Isn't it time you became a Member?
Follow Up By: GREENDOG - Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 21:46
Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 21:46
Hi Willem i was only stiring the pot mate about the
gate crasher's thing,and yes your right i'm on here enough i should became a member may be father xmas will bring me a
membership card and i'd love to be part off the 08 Gathering and meet same new friends,i do'nt know what i could do to help but if you think of any thing just ask and i'll see what i can do.cheer's GREENDOG