Where to get a new (406Mhz) EPIRB?

Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 18:11
ThreadID: 52278 Views:4120 Replies:10 FollowUps:14
g'day folks,

we are Swiss planning to travel throughout Australia by 4WD next year.
For that purpose and to give us peace of mind in the remote areas we would like to buy a EPIRB (406 Mhz). currently i have no clue where to get such a device.

can anybody give us a hint where to get such a piece reasonably priced?

looking forward to hearing some advice!

greetings from the other side of the planet - lukas

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 18:54

Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 18:54
Hi there Lucas,

The best place I have seen for the 406Mhz EPIRB is at Whitworth's Marine located in all States of Australia.
These are available with or without a built-in GPS.

GME MT410 Accusat

GME MT410G Accusat with GPS

AnswerID: 275171

Reply By: ExplorOz Team - Michael - Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 19:06

Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 19:06
Hi Guys,

The 406Mhz EPIRB is something I am looking to stock in the ExplorOz Shop. I will give my supplier a call first thing tomorrow and find out what units/prices are available.

If all goes well I will have them in the ExplorOz Shop by the end of the week.
AnswerID: 275174

Reply By: Member - Oppikofer L (Int) - Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 19:30

Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 19:30
g'day Michael,

...that sounds like good news!

greet from Switzerland - Lukas
AnswerID: 275178

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 19:31

Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 19:31
Suggest a Sat phone is of more use than an EPIRB.
An EPIRB is only for absolute life or death situations when nothing else will do.
If you use it for almost anything not deemed to be that you could be up for all search costs whatever they be. Like several $100thou perhaps.
I have an HF radio and an Epirb ( which I sincerely hope I will never have to use)
A Sat phone like a Motorola 9505 can be used with a Telstra Australian SIM card that is internationally roamed and you will only be charged for the calls you make at Sat rates. You can even call back home with it if you are so inclined at $3+ a minute
They are available on Ebay for about $1000 au and can be readily sold when you finish your trip.
AnswerID: 275179

Follow Up By: Himble - Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 20:07

Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 20:07
"Suggest a Sat phone is of more use than an EPIRB.
An EPIRB is only for absolute life or death situations when nothing else will do."

Quite true Graham H, (and your post gives valuable info) but nonetheless Lukas is coming from another country and planning a trip round Oz - he MAY...I repeat MAY...NOT be fully aware in a "first hand" way of the remoteness/distances etc. that Aus. throws up. It even catches US out from time to time.

Better to be safe than sorry.
FollowupID: 538863

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 20:16

Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 20:16
And that why I explained the differences in the two.
He may not be aware of the cost of hitting the button on the Epirb if hes run out of spare tyres.
Will be a lot more than the cost of the tyres thats for sure. Whereas a $10 call on the Satfone will get him what he wants. And I agree we get caught out but I think what I said is very relevant and good advice.
Better something than nothing but its a "LAST RESORT" option when the phone is more versatile
FollowupID: 538869

Follow Up By: Member - Oppikofer L (Int) - Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 20:21

Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 20:21
g'day Graham, g'day Himble,

first of all thanks for your input.

regarding Sat Phone: we intend to bring one along in addition to an EPIRB.

we been travelling down under for 5 weeks last year and had a sat Phone with us working on the Globalstar satellites. we were quite disappointed with the availability of a usable connection! several times we had to wait for about half an hour or so to get a connection at all! so we have in mind to bring a Sat Phone working on Iridium in the hope to get better connectivity!

here my question to Graham: the mentioned Motorola 9505 with a Telstra SIM Card is it using Iridium or Globalstar?

and no worries folks: i am fully aware that the use of an EPIRB is the last resort only in case of a life threatening situation!....will sure not use an EPIRB to get help in case of a flat tyre!

but what you try to say is that once one has a Sat Phone a EPIRB is not needed in addition?

cheers - lukas
FollowupID: 538871

Follow Up By: Stu050 - Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 20:53

Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 20:53
Lukas,

The Telstra satellite network is Iridium, so if you were to bring an Iridium satphone, it should work no worries.

FollowupID: 538882

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 21:45

Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 21:45
Well you can carry one I have one cos I kept it when I sold my boat so it didnt cost me anything. The 9505 Is an Iridium phone. Look on the Forum about Globalstar. Its S**t to put it mildly. Hopefully you will never get in a situation to need an EPIRB but u never know. If you travel in the winter when everyone mostly does there should be someone not too far away hopefully. A UHF or an HF radio is also worth having. UHF for short distance, HF for long and for Flying Doctor. All up to personal preference really
FollowupID: 538890

Reply By: Member - Kim M (VIC) - Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 20:08

Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 20:08
Gidday Lukas

If your intending to visit remote areas in Australia it would help if you nominated where you intend to travel and, more importantly, the time of year.

Summer in the Outback is when we have problems with lost and damaged overseas visitors.

Send a bit more information and I'm sure you'll receive good advice from a lot of people on this site.

Kim
AnswerID: 275187

Follow Up By: Member - Oppikofer L (Int) - Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 20:34

Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 20:34
g'day Kim,

well, thanks for your advice....

may be i have to add in advance that i am not a full green horn once we talk about travelling in remote areas: have been in the Taklamakan Desert in China and have crossed the Sahara desert on me way from Europe to Dakar in Senegal.

but none the less i am happy about any input that may be of help.

we plan to arrive in May 2008 in Perth and take the Canning from there, visit the Rudall river NP, the Mitchell falls in the Kimberleys. then go up north to the Cobourg Peninsula, traverse the simpson desert and go see the Cape York. ..... this is just a very rough itinerary.

cheers - lukas
FollowupID: 538879

Follow Up By: Member - Kim M (VIC) - Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 21:16

Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 21:16
Lukas

Thats a good time to visit. From Wiluna it'll take around 18 days to travel the Canning to get to the Aboriginal community known as Billiluna. Don't just drive past. Spend a couple of days getting to know the people.

The Canning is well travelled at that time of the year. So unless you have a medical problem, or wish to divert from the route, a UHF unit and rented Sat phone is all you need.

Finally, if you want to visit an Australian cattle station in the Southern area of the Canning, let me know and I'll see what I can arrange.

The rest of the trip you describe is very easy. If you want further information, e-mail me at kimmc@satlink.com.au

Kim
FollowupID: 538887

Follow Up By: Member - Dick (Int) - Thursday, Dec 06, 2007 at 01:44

Thursday, Dec 06, 2007 at 01:44
Lukas

Will you be doing the trip alone or in the company of other vehicles? What will you be driving?

Dick
Dick

FollowupID: 538920

Follow Up By: Member - Oppikofer L (Int) - Thursday, Dec 06, 2007 at 02:09

Thursday, Dec 06, 2007 at 02:09
g'day Dick,

we have friends who will join us on the CSR. the rest of our trip i.e. the other 10 months we will be mostly on our own.
we have an equipped HZJ78.

cheers - lukas
FollowupID: 538921

Reply By: aroundwego - Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 20:09

Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 20:09
Best price I am aware of is at GPSOz
www.gpsoz.com.au/epirb/index.htm
AnswerID: 275188

Reply By: Member - Ed. C. (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 20:45

Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 20:45
have a look here

Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

AnswerID: 275192

Reply By: japmel - Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 23:08

Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 23:08
Prestige Communications would have to be the cheapest I have found for Epirbs and UHF Radios.

Click Here

You could order it and pick it up when you get to Perth. I think Prestige are in Perth.

AnswerID: 275210

Reply By: Member - desray (WA) - Thursday, Dec 06, 2007 at 09:55

Thursday, Dec 06, 2007 at 09:55
You could hire a sat phone from WA CB when you are in Perth also have EPIRB ...http://www.wacb.com.au/satellite_phones.htm
AnswerID: 275240

Reply By: howie - Thursday, Dec 06, 2007 at 12:16

Thursday, Dec 06, 2007 at 12:16
"Analogue 121.5 MHz distress beacons will no longer be detected from February 2009
Digital 406 MHz distress beacons are detected faster and more accurately than analogue 121.5 MHz beacons"
so if finances are stretched, for a one-off trip in 2008, you could get a 121.5 epirb, which would be a lot cheaper.
just a thought

AnswerID: 275260

Follow Up By: Member - Oppikofer L (Int) - Thursday, Dec 06, 2007 at 16:59

Thursday, Dec 06, 2007 at 16:59
g'day howie,

same thought crossed my mind. just knowing us this trip will most probably not be our last visit to Australia! It's too beautiful a place! and hey, you still got space down under!

but thanks for the hint anyway! - lukas
FollowupID: 539024

Follow Up By: howie - Thursday, Dec 06, 2007 at 20:17

Thursday, Dec 06, 2007 at 20:17
i am required to carry a PLB for a trip next july 2008, so i hope the prices will have dropped by then.
i would wait till nearer the time and we will point you in the right direction in perth.

PS do you know any of the swiss crowd in perth?
FollowupID: 539067

Follow Up By: Member - Oppikofer L (Int) - Thursday, Dec 06, 2007 at 20:52

Thursday, Dec 06, 2007 at 20:52
g'day howie,

what the heck is a PLB? same as an EPIRB just a different name for it?
and Swiss crowd in Perth? don't know of any!

cheers - lukas
FollowupID: 539074

Follow Up By: howie - Friday, Dec 07, 2007 at 00:26

Friday, Dec 07, 2007 at 00:26
PLB = personal locator beacon
same as epirb but usually smaller.
the unit will fit into my flying suit so if i survive a crash the PLB is on my person, not 200 yards away in the debris.
at present, 406 units can be hired at $5 a day or $400 to buy.
that will change.
good friend of mine is from Einsiedeln, but we don't hold that against him.
sometimes you only have to wave a toblerone around and suddenly there's people wearing lederhosen doing swiss wrestling and blowing alp horns everywhere! LOL

FollowupID: 539141

Follow Up By: Member - Oppikofer L (Int) - Friday, Dec 07, 2007 at 00:37

Friday, Dec 07, 2007 at 00:37
well howie,

i reckon then i should stuff any spare space with Swiss chocolate in the container that brings our car to Perth ;-))

cheers - lukas
FollowupID: 539142