What would you pay for a private campsite??

Submitted: Thursday, Dec 06, 2007 at 10:26
ThreadID: 52289 Views:3885 Replies:14 FollowUps:10
The bloke in the factory next to me is buying a property of about 150 acres and won't be using a lot of it. I reckon if he set aside 20 acres for 20 campsites, then they would all be well spaced.

I suggested to him that I would happily pay him $1000 per year to have access to a little spot where we could leave the van, maybe put up a tin roof over the van to protect it and fill a water tank.

I'm sick to death of overcrowded campsites full of bogans. If he only let them to decent people, with the threat of eviction if they misbehave, it could be a haven.

Whaddya reckon?

Reply By: Member - Mark E (VIC) - Thursday, Dec 06, 2007 at 10:50

Thursday, Dec 06, 2007 at 10:50
Sounds like a really great idea until you look into the insurance implications, management of the site, maintenance, roads/tracks, etc... I think it is nice to have a private little getaway (I do :-) ), but to run it as a commercial buisness would be difficult.

Just my .02

AnswerID: 275245

Reply By: bware - Thursday, Dec 06, 2007 at 11:04

Thursday, Dec 06, 2007 at 11:04
Hi Jimbo,

I just worked out that our favourite camping spot costs us $35 per night (and that's after paying an annual National Parks entrance fee) which would only get us 28.5 nights for $1000. :-(((

I think the idea is great. Personally, there would have to be some criteria met. If I was paying for a secluded spot I wouldn't want the the access road to the different campsites to come near my site; I wouldn't even want to be able to see the other campsites etc but I think that is what you're suggesting. Sounds perfect.
AnswerID: 275247

Reply By: howie - Thursday, Dec 06, 2007 at 12:03

Thursday, Dec 06, 2007 at 12:03
if the $1000 was kept cash and it would be friends & decent people only, sounds ideal.
trouble is, one word in the wrong ear and the council would be down on him like a ton of bricks with a ton of rules & regs and maybe court action.
good luck though.
AnswerID: 275257

Reply By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Thursday, Dec 06, 2007 at 12:10

Thursday, Dec 06, 2007 at 12:10
To answer your question Jimbo.

Tour operator can lease a camp spot in certain camp areas of Kakadu, the lease is $1000 per annum on top of their $500 permit fee, they also have to pay $5.40 per person per night.

Cheers Steve.
AnswerID: 275259

Reply By: Moose - Thursday, Dec 06, 2007 at 13:21

Thursday, Dec 06, 2007 at 13:21
G'day Jimbo
Why 20 campsites? - just one for you sounds better to me :-)
You'd need a written agreement to avoid any future disputes. May be best to see a lawyer. You don't want a situation where he could potentially lock the gate and keep your van, tank and shed if you have a disagreement.
AnswerID: 275269

Reply By: Plantman - Thursday, Dec 06, 2007 at 13:47

Thursday, Dec 06, 2007 at 13:47
Ask him how much he wants for and acre to buy. Then you'll have a nice spot just for you with up to 149 acres of land surrounding. Save all the legal pain there seems to when reading the other posts.
AnswerID: 275272

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Friday, Dec 07, 2007 at 00:03

Friday, Dec 07, 2007 at 00:03
The cost of sub dividing off an acre, if it was permissible in that area, would be huge.

FollowupID: 539139

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 06, 2007 at 14:49

Thursday, Dec 06, 2007 at 14:49
>> I'm sick to death of overcrowded campsites full of bogans

While I agree with you, arent there enough billion acres out there to camp in the bush that are $0.00 a yr?
AnswerID: 275275

Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, Dec 06, 2007 at 18:48

Thursday, Dec 06, 2007 at 18:48
>> While I agree with you, arent there enough billion acres out there to camp in the bush that are $0.00 a yr?

I couldn't agree more, but why is it that when we find a nice secluded spot in the "billion acres" of High Country, somebody will want to camp within spitting distance?
FollowupID: 539042

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 06, 2007 at 19:35

Thursday, Dec 06, 2007 at 19:35
John R came up wiht the cure for that. BUDGIE SMUGGLERS...

or walk around naked.. usually works for me.. and if they say and are blind and female you may just happen to get lucky... which never happens to me.
FollowupID: 539056

Reply By: Member - Kim M (VIC) - Thursday, Dec 06, 2007 at 16:16

Thursday, Dec 06, 2007 at 16:16
Jimbo

If it's a quiet little spot tell your mate I'll pay $15 a day to camp there (providing litttle dog can run around a bit).

What area are we talking about?

Kim
AnswerID: 275293

Reply By: Member - Howard T (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 06, 2007 at 16:44

Thursday, Dec 06, 2007 at 16:44
Jimbo
I agree with Moose. Forget the other 19 and enjoy. However draw up some guidelines first so its know where each other stand.
I have a mate who is done exactly that, right next to a creek that houses barra and mangrove jack and muddies. He has been there about 20 years. What more could you want.

Howard.
AnswerID: 275299

Follow Up By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 06, 2007 at 20:13

Thursday, Dec 06, 2007 at 20:13
Another mate ....... ME lol. hmmmmmmmm barra muddies :)

FollowupID: 539065

Reply By: Crackles - Thursday, Dec 06, 2007 at 18:13

Thursday, Dec 06, 2007 at 18:13
"Whaddya reckon?"
I reckon In Victoria there are litterally a million free camp sites & if you can't find one all to your self you obviously dont know where to look ;-) The trick for most is not telling everyone about it when you do find one.
No point complaining "of overcrowded campsites full of bogans" if one choose's to set up camp there. I'd have no problem finding 100 campsites with no one else in sight on a creek in the Vic High Country on the busiest weekend of the year. But don't bother asking where they are on a forum or there will be 100 less to choose from :-)
As for paying for a campsite there are plenty of small van parks close to the bush that offer that exact service, room for an onsite van used on a casual basis for a reasonably cheap fee.
After doing vollunteer work for farmers following the bushfires many clubs have struck up friendships with the property owners and are invited back to camp there. Free and a site all on your own.
Cheers Craig...........
AnswerID: 275303

Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, Dec 06, 2007 at 18:49

Thursday, Dec 06, 2007 at 18:49
Telling people of good camp sites, is like telling them where to get firewood, all you do is 'shoot yourself in the foot'!
FollowupID: 539043

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Thursday, Dec 06, 2007 at 19:00

Thursday, Dec 06, 2007 at 19:00
When RR first did the Rooftop maps I thought; "Great - these have really good info". Since they started to sell well I have been thinking "Damn! he's exposed a number of good campsites it took me lots of work and hard solo driving to find - now anyone with $8 has access to those sites".

Such is life - I still know a few good ones he hasn't found but you wouldn't get a caravan into them Jimbo :(

There is a lot of "Bogan Free" camping out there but you may have to search for it :)

FollowupID: 539046

Follow Up By: Crackles - Thursday, Dec 06, 2007 at 19:30

Thursday, Dec 06, 2007 at 19:30
Small 'Bogan free' campsites are still easy to find, it's the large sites that will take a convoy of 10 pulling in at 3pm that are difficult to find now. Along with the superior mapping, it's the Forums, improved bush signage, 'free campsite' & guide books that are leading to the sueeze. We have a local camp on the river that recently made it into a Free Camp guide. What was a quiet spot is now regually full with rubbish & human waste spread all over. As handy as these guides are, they are doing little to improve the camping experience.
Cheers Craig............
FollowupID: 539052

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Thursday, Dec 06, 2007 at 19:50

Thursday, Dec 06, 2007 at 19:50
Hi Craig

Agreed.

And the implication of this is that some (many?) 4WDs are people who should not be let out without supervision. Having recently done a remote 4WD trip here in Vic I was disgusted at the littler left by "Real 4WDs" (because no other vehicle could get there) in beautiful mountain areas.

I have no doubt some on this forum are to blame. They should learn more respect for our beautiful bush.

FollowupID: 539059

Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, Dec 06, 2007 at 22:10

Thursday, Dec 06, 2007 at 22:10
I am sure that quite a few here believe that "Real 4WDs" can do no wrong ..... although we did see 6 garbage bags of rubbish behind some scrub AFTER Eyre Creek when we were coming of the Simpson Desert, unfortunately we just didn't have the room to bring it all out.
The bogans that left it there only had a few more kms to Birdsville to dispose of it properly.
FollowupID: 539106

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 06, 2007 at 18:37

Thursday, Dec 06, 2007 at 18:37
I would be more keen to pay nothing and camp up the road a bit - Glenpatrick was great up the Pyrenees and free too.

I reckon i'd go to $20 a night if I had to

AnswerID: 275307

Reply By: nowimnumberone - Thursday, Dec 06, 2007 at 20:09

Thursday, Dec 06, 2007 at 20:09
we were very close to bying some land a few weeks ago.
20 bush great access for around $25000
45 minutes from here.
after thinking about it we decided not to for the simple reason it would mean we would pretty much have to spend all our time there when camping.
also nearly another thousand dollars per year for public liability incase some idiot got hurt.
bying a van now so we can go where we want.
cheers mate
AnswerID: 275329

Reply By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Thursday, Dec 06, 2007 at 20:51

Thursday, Dec 06, 2007 at 20:51
Jim, me being a Local Govt bureaucrat will tell you that your mate will need a stack of LG approvals + State Health Dept approvals and everything else under the sun approvals. Guaranteed if he doesn't a neighbour will dob him in as sure as eggs are eggs.

Half the time we see stuff but nobody's complained so we let it go but as soon as a complaint comes in you've got to act.

BTW a mate of mine has just bout a fantastic looking property with river friontage up near Bunderburg which would be fantastic for what you suggest.

Now back to your question - I'd pay about $30 a night for a good spot.

AnswerID: 275342

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 06, 2007 at 22:47

Thursday, Dec 06, 2007 at 22:47
>> Guaranteed if he doesn't a neighbour will dob him in as sure as eggs are eggs.

this happened to a bloke off here ... neighbour couldnt do it, and when dude here did, neighbour couldnt freight the council inspectors out fast enough...
FollowupID: 539123

Reply By: Member - Geoff C (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 06, 2007 at 21:22

Thursday, Dec 06, 2007 at 21:22
Ive got 280 acres of bush which I thought of doing something similar until I realised that it would no longer be my own little bit of paradise. I invite people up there on an irregular basis but I prefer the isolation where the only noise I hear are the birds and the noise I make myself. I get the company I need when I'm at home. It's got to the stage where the caravan I have up there is too small so I'm building a shed set up to be converted to a legal dwelling. Too many people where I live, need some solitude somewhere.
AnswerID: 275355