OT!!!!! Dont read if not interested!!

Submitted: Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 03:23
ThreadID: 52353 Views:4411 Replies:18 FollowUps:43
Why is it you get an award for being indegenous...????

Ive just finished talking to a lady who asked me the question??

Why is it you get an award for being indegenous.

Shouldnt everyone be equal?

Id be interested to know............

Reply By: Member - Barnesy (SA) - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 03:33

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 03:33
What award? None of the Aboriginal people I know have been given an award because of their ancestry.

Do they get a cool award like a cash prize, or simply a crappy little plastic trophy?
AnswerID: 275578

Reply By: Bega Photographer - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 05:03

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 05:03
As I understand it, whatever is done special for the Aboriginal people is positive discrimination. It's an attempt to bring them up to par with the wider community.

The stolen generation was an attempt at positive discrimination. Didn't work though.

Saying sorry is an attempt at putting things right. I doubt that it will make any noticeable difference to the lifestyle of the indigenous Australians, but it needs to be said.

So, for those interested, what is the answer for the original Australians?

Laurie.
AnswerID: 275581

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (FNQ) - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 07:48

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 07:48
Laurie.
The answer would be to ignore the radical trouble makers from Redfern and Burketown, go back to the days when Aboriginals were a proud race of people, and by saying that I mean take away the rights the bloody do-gooders got for them by allowing rights to drink alcohol legally, today nearly all the yound men are useless alcoholics just wasting their lives away, it is such a pitiful site to see when travelling through outback towns the groups sitting under trees wiping them selves out arguing and fighting.When travelling through NT in the 60s I didn't see as it as you see it today, white mans money, booze and do-gooder civil rights idealists have stuffed up their lifestyle big time.

I might add the white youths of today are not better with drugs ,nightclubs and no disipline, the future don't look to bright unless the pollies get tough on regulations, our future leaders will be a mob of brain damaged Morons.

#

FollowupID: 539337

Follow Up By: bruce - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 10:07

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 10:07
If and when any Government says sorry is that not an admission of guilt for something that this generation of people is not really responsible for..and that is if it can be proved that an injustice has been seen to be done..why should I say sorry for something that I have had no control over...and if and when it does happen...just watch out for the compensation claims...the legal eagles will have a ball and taxes will sky rocket to pay for it all...hope you all have plenty of money..cheers
FollowupID: 539355

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (FNQ) - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 11:02

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 11:02
bruce
You share my thoughts.

#

FollowupID: 539358

Follow Up By: Bega Photographer - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 13:03

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 13:03
Well, Bruce,

You raise a number of interesting issues. Glad you raised them, Mate.

If the legal system establishes that the indigenous people are legally entitled to compensation, then so be it. Are we to deny Aboriginals legal justice because they're black or because it would cost a lot?

I'm nearly 60. I was in my teens when Aboriginals got equal rites. There would be plenty of members on this forum who were young adults, who voted, and who had access to politicians, when black children were still being forcibly removed from their families. So it's important to avoid the crap about not being responsible.

Sometimes we forget just how short is the white fella history of this country.

It's a national guilt and it's a racial thing. It's about reconciliation between two cultures that need to coexist.

If we can achieve reconciliation, all Australians will reap the benefits into the future.

We, as a nation, have no voice, no credibility, internationally in human rights issues. We have no voice in Guantanamo Bay, East Timor, Fiji.

Last Christmas I spent a fair bit of time sitting around the campfire with an Aboriginal fella, at Aragunnu in Mimosa Rocks National Park, NSW.

We chatted about a wide range of things, mostly about Aboriginal history. He told me about how his mother wouldn't let the kids play out on the street. They always had to be in the back yard. He didn't understand this till later in life.

One day, the kids were in the front yard and the Aboriginal protection people came and spoke to his mother. They were about to take the kids.

After letting this go on for some time, his father, who was white, came out of the house. The Aboriginal protection people backed off and that was the end of it.

However, he says that family always remained on the books. He is currently working with a researcher, using freedom of information, to get facts about his family history.

This bloke is probably a bit younger than me. Therefore, our government, on our behalf, needs to say sorry to these people for the national and personal guilt that is inseparable from us all.

Laurie.
FollowupID: 539377

Follow Up By: richor - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 13:37

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 13:37
Bega Photographer,

Congratulations on your reply. I remember very well the ridiculous arguements that were going around when we had the vote on equal rights for aboriginals.

I had a good mate who died recently from suicide. He was taken away from his parents (both aboriginal) as a small child and he struggled with it all his life. We take for granted that we have parents, brothers and sisters, aunties, uncles, grandparents etc. and life can become hollow and confusing when they are ripped away from you.

I want our Government to say sorry on my behalf and if that means my taxes go up then I am happy to pay.

Congratulations again on your letter.

And he sees the vision splendid of the sunlit plains extended, And at night the wondrous glory of the everlasting stars. Clancy of the Overflow.

FollowupID: 539383

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 18:37

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 18:37
Don't hold your breath waiting for Rudd to say "Sorry". He may issue an apology but I doubt that five letter word will be in it :)))

FollowupID: 539436

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 16:28

Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 16:28
But Gramps hs is consulting with the Aboriginal elders to make sure his apology is the correct words and the compensation commission is all primed to sweep in once he says the word.

Just Like Kyoto, his promise will cost as all money.

FollowupID: 539602

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (FNQ) - Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 16:57

Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 16:57
Bonz
You too can see the writing on the wall with both issues stated in your reply 539602, Trouble is mate they been media brain washed by the do-gooders and they will just keep pushing ahead blindly until it's toooooooooooooo late , then they'll blame us again ,

#

FollowupID: 539605

Follow Up By: AdlelaideGeorge - Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 08:11

Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 08:11
Laurie (Bega Photograper),

your email displays insite, empathy and compassion.

Happy days

George
FollowupID: 539727

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 20:44

Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 20:44
Im with Bruce and Doug too... wait for the compo claims to come in..

OH did anyone see the 3 that raped a 10yr old girl but got off?
Bet I wouldnt have.
FollowupID: 539855

Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 23:20

Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 23:20
Doug and Truckster,

sweeping generalisations are disingenuous and bigoted and they do make my blood boil - if you can, please avoid them. We don't like it when all 4WDers are bagged for tearing up the environment.

Not all black fellas are drinking their lives away, nor should the misdemeanours of unruly people - of whatever race or creed, be the basis on which we judge the rest of that race or creed.

Perhaps we should all arrange to spend a week on a remote aboriginal community and started talking with the people there - the proud people; the interesting people; the beautiful people - young and old. I think we could achieve a lot more than any politician, words of apology, dollars of compensation claims or the like.

It would take some thinking about how to do it, and what to focus on positively doing when out there, but if anyone's interested I would put my time into making it happen.

Andrew.
FollowupID: 539890

Reply By: vuduguru - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 06:05

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 06:05
Strange question!
The way i see it, we are all immigrants or the descendants of immigrants. In some cases immigration occurred last week for others 30,000 years ago.
It is however, unfortunate that the descendants of those that immigrated a long time ago are not always shown the respect of and by those that immigrated more recently (and visa versa).
If we believe in and practice equality the issue will go away soon enough. Unfortunately life's not like that and I certainly don't have the answer but nor have the leaders of our country and our communities.
The sooner we embrace what it is to be Australian the better.
AnswerID: 275582

Follow Up By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 07:13

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 07:13
" The sooner we embrace what it is to be Australian the better"

This is not an attach in any way just a question ............. BUT am wondering ....... what IS it to be "Australian"

As for the award above I have no idea .......... I'm still getting over the grounds man "my place of work" getting an award for his outstanding services and I'm fairly sure it was an Australian award {cause it raised a few eyebrows at the time %issued a few off as well) $hit only was employed for a couple of years.

One wonders what I'm doing wrong after 30 years LOL. not worthy I guess lol.

To me it de valued the awards for all the worthy persons whom receive this award.

FollowupID: 539332

Follow Up By: Redback - Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 07:47

Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 07:47
This is what it is to be Australian

In the words of Peter Lawlor

We swear by the Southern Cross to stand truly by each other and fight to defend our rights and liberties.

FollowupID: 539716

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 22:48

Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 22:48
To be a unionist thats what the flag represents, the fight against the repression of the bosses, and the establishment...

Too right.... ;-)
FollowupID: 539881

Reply By: mfewster - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 07:11

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 07:11
Yes we should be equal. What our ancestors did to the way of life of their ancestors almost totally destroyed the fabric of their society and created the mess we now have. However imperfectly, we have been seeking to redress the situation. Morally and legally we are equal. Otherwise we have a way to go yet and so most Australians believe positive discrimination is warranted.
AnswerID: 275583

Reply By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 09:04

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 09:04
It doesnt appear to be a problem particular to Australia. Take for example, native American Indians, American Negros, NZ Maori, African Tribes, Pacific Islanders, Aboriginals....the list goes on....

These are all Peoples that at one time or another have had Western culture either, at worst, forced on them or, at best, slowly infiltrate their social networks.

I recall, a few years ago, an academic from some university over East somewhere who's research suggested that the darker the skin of a person the more they are inclined towards violent crime. He was quickly shot down and as far as Im aware, was lucky to retain his job. I personaly dont think I needed a professor telling me what I already knew, but hey, its a free country...!!!

Doug may be on the right track....hehehe....no pun intended.

A while back I was having a drink at the Last Chance Inn [South Hedland] and got into a deep and meaningful conversation with an aboriginal elder, or so he reckoned. After an hour or so we trusted each other enough to debate the "white-black" issues honestly and at times with much "rigour". His parting words were- The white fellas are trying to put a 21st century brain into a stone age head.

Just something to consider........Lionel.
AnswerID: 275591

Reply By: Member - Barnesy (SA) - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 09:38

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 09:38
"The white fellas are trying to put a 21st century brain into a stone age head". True. Previous government was pushing home ownership for traditional Aboriginal people, where did that dumb thought come from?

Many people up here in the Pilbara and Kimberley didn't lay eyes on a white man until they were teenagers.

They had lived as hunter-gatherers to that stage. They couldn't sustain living off the land because white man was encroaching and they eventually had to join missions. In many cases this only ocurred in the late 1960's.

If white people think that these Aboriginal people (and their children) can be changed into having white man's values then white people are the ones who are mistaken. In sober Aboriginal people the culture is alive and well.

Award? That is a bizarre post and one that really shows a lack of understanding.

Barnesy

AnswerID: 275594

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 09:54

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 09:54
>Previous government was pushing home ownership for traditional
>Aboriginal people, where did that dumb thought come from?

My understanding is that because of common (tribal?) property ownership individuals cannot use their property as security to raise business loans thus, often, preventing them from starting/growing local businesses.

FollowupID: 539353

Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 10:41

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 10:41
What proportion of aboriginal people would this apply to, and in what areas ?
Sounds like a load of codswallap to me.
The aboriginal people who desire and have the ability to start a business have plenty of white resources availiable to them, and have had for a long time. Geographically diverse examples of sustainiable aboriginal businesses are about, we just don't hear much of them unfortunately.
FollowupID: 539356

Follow Up By: Member - Geoff C (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 11:05

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 11:05
One thing that worries me about allowing home ownership and borrowing against that home is that if they cannot maintain the repayments they lose their land and we have dispossessed them again. I can't imagine them getting loans without some form of security/responsibility otherwise it's just a gift and will be valued accordingly.
FollowupID: 539359

Follow Up By: ob - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 12:27

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 12:27
White fellas and black fellas all live now in the 21st century. Wouldnt it be nice if we could return to a simpler and more innocent time, unfortunately we cant

Cheers ob
FollowupID: 539375

Follow Up By: Smudger - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 13:35

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 13:35
"Wouldn't it be nice if we could return to a simpler and more innocent time"

..what time would that have been? 18th or 19th century? Yep, they had some pretty simple answers to race problems back then. Generally the mob with the guns were in charge. No! OK, maybe the 20th century, a slightly more enlightened age, though still with a simple approach. ..take the kids away, assimilate them and the problems will ultimately die away.
There is no simple answer, if there was we wouldn't be having this discussion today.
But, I reckon we are now living in a more enlightened age.

Sorry?
Yeah I reckon us white fellas have got a lot to be sorry for. I didn't steal land or make discriminating laws, but I grew up with an attitude that I am sorry about. Society educated me, but as I grew and saw what those attitudes really meant, I have to admit that I am embarrassed about stuff that I once thought, and things I probably said.
Sadly, society is perpetuating those lessons. I can't imagine how I'd feel If my kids had to deal with the rejection that innocent little Koorie kids have to deal with even today.
Ultimately, hopefully, we will all learn to respect and trust each other.
FollowupID: 539382

Follow Up By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 19:21

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 19:21
I recently was privilaged enough to be invited to stay with a family at there outstation on my last trip west
Forgotton Artists
I learnt so much about the aboriginal values and the main point is they do not own the land and never intend to admit they do. They are "Custodians" everything is equal and they do not own anything. They share everything they have. They have no possessions and do not want any possesions. This mob were still nomadic to a certain extent and still practice traditional way. I now have alot more time for them than I had 12 months ago.
FollowupID: 539447

Reply By: Member - BIGDOG G (WA) - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 13:23

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 13:23
I just wonder how many who posted above know what they are talking about.

Cheers........BIGDOG (Kalgoorlie born and bred)

PS..SORRY! I have done nothing to be sorry for.
AnswerID: 275614

Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 14:16

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 14:16
Hey BIGDOG

Kalgoorlie born and bred eh !....no need to apologise mate...LOL.

Cheers....Lionel.
FollowupID: 539391

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 13:33

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 13:33

Barnesy.."Award? That is a bizarre post and one that really shows a lack of understanding."
Should I mention that the lady who asked the question is as black as the ace of spades? Its ironic (if thats the word) that you make a comment about lack of understanding about a culture when the question comes from a cultural person.
Ill make the question a little clearer....
At my daughters graduation the the other night there were certain awards were given out. There were quite a few awards along the line of "the indigenous achiever award"

From a white persons view....
I find it racist that my kid is eligible for some awards but not others but ab kids are eligible for them all because of their colour.
I think it will only start arguments and racial problems.

From a black persons view....
"Why is it you get an award for being indigenous...????"
My friend would like her kid to be recognised for his achievements not for being black!
"Don't you think he's smart enough to get an award on his achievements?.....only his colour.???? and why is your kid not eligible for this award?? they both grew up together in the same environment???"

"Putting a modern brain in a stonage man" or that type of thought??...................
If I adopted 2 kids, 1 black and 1 white and brought them up in the exact same environment do you really think they would be much different????

In the past a few people on this forum have labelled others (me included) as racists for there simplistic views on an apparently very complex situation. (who is making it complex)

So many people find blackfella jokes racist....
When really, accepting jokes about every other race except aboriginals is truely racist?

Did you hear the one about the aboriginal terrorists...
Dont panic!!!!! The cops have caught most of them!
So far they have got.....
Bin Drinkin
Bin Smokin
Bin Bludgein
Bin Fightin
The only one they cant find is Bin Workin...

Ah sheet here we go!!!
Its a joke!!! And sent to me via text message from a black fella
Because he has no problem with beeing black!

Ok..Im on a roll. Here is another one and again it come from the same bloke so it cant be (so called ) racist.

An aboriginal bloke was standing in his front yard one day when housing commision pulled up.
There was rubbish spread all over his yard...
The commision bloke just looked at him and said..
Maaaattte wheres ya bin?
The blackfella replied...Id bin to Kintore mister.
The commision bloke says....No, wheres ya Bin!
The blackfella says...Id been to Yuendamu.
The commision bloke says...NO! Wheres ya Wheelie Bin!
The blackfella says...Shh!! Id wheelie bin to jail, but dont tell the Mrs. She thinks Id been out hunting!!!

See its not racist to accept some one as equal. You can hang bleep on everybody equally. Why leave a group out of the circle?

Without starting an argument...Im interested to here from people who think Australia should be saying sorry, do feel obliged to treat indigenous people different and think we should be handing more land back?

AnswerID: 275615

Follow Up By: Smudger - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 14:10

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 14:10
Hairy,
I think that discriminatory awards are created to recognise achievement by someone who's started from a disadvantaged position. Yep, we are all equal. But, the playing field is not always equal. I suspect it's a way of helping to level the field. It also gives that persons' peers somebody to be proud of within their own community.

FollowupID: 539389

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 14:35

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 14:35
Smudger,
Yeh mate, I tend to agree with you, sometimes a kid needs a bit af a kickstart,and if a simle award is enough to boost self esteem Im all for it.
The question though comes from an aboriginal person who found it patronising.
maybe if they just called it an "acheivement award" and dropped the indigenous bit no one would be any the wiser.

FollowupID: 539394

Follow Up By: Member - Barnesy (SA) - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 16:37

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 16:37
Why do people get an award for being indigenous?
I'm white, does that mean I should get an award because of it? That's the way the original post sounded.

You really need to think before you submit posts Hairy.
Think and explian what you mean before making silly sounding statements.

The argument you are putting forward bears little resemblance to the original post.
FollowupID: 539408

Follow Up By: Member - Kim M (VIC) - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 18:22

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 18:22
Hairy

Stirring up the natives again are we?

I'll send a MM to you after you get back from WA, re something we could do for Abo kids through the Year Of The Outback Consortium.

Kim
FollowupID: 539433

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 19:19

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 19:19
Barnesy,
A bit sensetive hey.
You may read into my comment what whetever you like
(maybe that was the idea) to me it just shows a one track mind.
As for haveing little resemblece on the original post...posts will head on any direction people decided to take them.

Sorry my english is not up to your standard but the original post was to get a lot of different veiws from a variety of pepole. Certainly got that hey. HaHaHaHaha
FollowupID: 539446

Reply By: Lyds- Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 13:36

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 13:36
If everyone was equal then there would be no need for awards. People get awards for doing something that differentiates them from others (for better or worse).

A vague non-descript title with an unsubstantiated argument; are you out just to stir things up or is there a point to all this?

AnswerID: 275616

Follow Up By: Lyds- Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 13:39

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 13:39
ah, reply 8 answed my question.
FollowupID: 539385

Reply By: Bega Photographer - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 13:52

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 13:52
I've just now added an article to my community driven news website, Sapphire Coast News, because it demonstrates the vast difference that sometimes exists between indigenous and white Australia

It's not all one sided, ya know!

Laurie.
AnswerID: 275617

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 14:26

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 14:26
No, your right its definately not one sided.
But isnt that the problem?
I dont think there should be sides at all.
The reason I asked the question was because my friend said she was embaresd and felt patronised the way the awards were handled. We were talking about why the awards were divided and who really benefited from it.
I said I think its societys way of trying to recognise a problem but probably doing more damage than good.
She asked, do you think, most people think the cultures should be divided?
I said Id post her comment on here and show her the replies.
I sit on the fence with the whole debate, I can see issuses on both sides and just cant see the benefit in drawing a line down the middle.

FollowupID: 539392

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 13:57

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 13:57
Doing the POOR white man thing again H, if she wants to win the award... She Has To Be BLACK.....

You need to take off the glasses get a hair cut sit down and have a long hard think about your self..

I'm sure there are plenty of RN site for the white folk to grandstand on not this site..

AnswerID: 275619

Reply By: Shaker - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 14:22

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 14:22
There is another forgotten stolen generation, thousands of British children, taken from their families after WW2 & sent to Australia.

Also don't forget many 'white' children were, & still are taken from abusive family environments for their own welfare, this is also one of the reasons that many 'indigenous' children were removed from their families. One of my lifelong friends was raised as a "ward of the State".
Also don't forget that not so many years ago, female babies were unwanted & killed in their tribal situation.
So, am I sorry ...... not really!
AnswerID: 275624

Follow Up By: Shaker - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 14:31

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 14:31
Sorry, forgot to ask the OP, how would I know if I was interested or not??
FollowupID: 539393

Follow Up By: Redback - Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 08:05

Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 08:05
Sorry, but the majority taken from Indigenous families were not abusive families just had to be indigenous.

I grew up in Moree, in the days of Tin town, my father and mother also work on missions in NT, including Wave Hill, my mother was the Post mistress "for those who may have known her" she was OBO George on the radio!!

Had a thick Glasgow accent!!

Terrible times if you were Indigenous.

FollowupID: 539724

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 08:18

Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 08:18
This 'stolen' generation phenomena has been used in many countries based on race, religion or class/caste. Do we seriously think we're any different/worse ????

FollowupID: 539729

Reply By: Willem - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 15:43

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 15:43
Soapbox time again?....lol

Me Bin Staying-out of this one....hahahahaha

AnswerID: 275638

Reply By: icecold - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 22:11

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 22:11
Well I have something to add to this, i am a self employed painter i am of croatian heritage ( both Parents migrated here in sixties).
I have been brought up to accept all people and nationality yes even the serbs. now i had a call from a 31 year old man looking for a job i said come to the job tomorrow and we will talk some more. Apon meeting up he shook my hand and produced a card.
I said is this ur buisness card? he replied no its my indiginous card!
I was what the f*** is that?
He said if i hire him for 6 months i will get a $2500 golden handshake from the government.
I said i am not interested in any contracts with the government i just want a good honest worker.
Hence he lasted 2 weeks and just disapeared under a tree i guess.
havent seen him since, but mind you the 10 days or so he worked he did tell me he has 4 kids to 3 women and only has to pay them $6 a month. How pathetic how pathetic is this system?
AnswerID: 275706

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 22:23

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 22:23
So what is being the son of a croatian got to do with Hairy's kid not getting an award?

Richard Kovac
FollowupID: 539513

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 23:20

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 23:20
What's Hairy's kid got to do with it ?????

FollowupID: 539534

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 00:25

Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 00:25
Al

didn't think that you would be croatian... LOL

but if you read "At my daughters graduation the the other night there were certain awards were given out. There were quite a few awards along the line of "the indigenous achiever award"" into it then nothing !!!!!! ;-)

Richard Kovac
FollowupID: 539542

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 08:14

Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 08:14
Naaah, about being the son of a croatian.

FollowupID: 539552

Reply By: equinox - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 22:31

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 22:31
Heres a good news story that was in todays West Australian newspaper to change the tone a bit.

These young aboriginal men will be leaders in there own right. How proud must their families be??

Also link : Here

Young Aboriginals ambassadors for youth:

Tom Price Senior High School student Benjamin Limerick never shied away from helping younger Aboriginal students do their best at school.

The 17-year-old, the first student from the Wakathuni community to graduate from the Pilbara high school, was among 29 WA high school students named district ambassadors at a ceremony at Government House yesterday.

The award winners demonstrated a positive image of young people in the community.

Benjamin said he had always tried to be responsible and hoped the award had made family members proud. He had mentored younger students, passing on traditional knowledge as a leader at bush camp. “I am not shy or nervous and I just have fun and enjoy meeting new people,” he said.

With plans to start an apprenticeship at a mining company next year, Benjamin hopes to become a diesel fitter.

Tom Price Senior High School principal Alan Curtis said Benjamin was a trendsetter and a respected young leader to a growing number of promising indigenous students.

Mr Curtis said Benjamin had been so valued that the school had asked him to stay on for the third term as a paid Aboriginal and Islander educational worker after finishing Year 12 studies.

Fellow award winner, Richard Noddy from Mt Magnet District High School, came from a town troubled by substance abuse problems but proved to be a positive role model for other students.

The 18-year-old head boy is the first Aboriginal student to graduate from Year 12 at the school and plans to do an apprenticeship in gardening or carpentry at TAFE.

The Department of Communities Office for Youth awards have run for 10 years in a bid to tackle negative perceptions of youth. This year, there were a record 123 entries.

KAREN HODGE

AnswerID: 275709

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 22:35

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 22:35
Yes Alan

read it this morning good to see young people achieve

I,m 45 and still haven't done Jack... LOL

FollowupID: 539519

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 14:59

Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 14:59
I would REEEEEEEEEEly like to see more aboriginals like these guys being promoted as role models.
I get piddled off with the notion that the only aboriginal that can be a role model is a footballer
and the only way to succeed is to be a good footy player
what are the 99.9% of aboriginal kids that arnt so good at footy supposed to do?
FollowupID: 539593

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 16:38

Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 16:38
They do lots of things like we do but they don't get into the papers for being themselves, its the stereotypical representatives that get the headlines further propagating the myth that all are useless. sad really

FollowupID: 539604

Reply By: icecold - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 22:41

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 22:41
Ohhhh that is very easy, I want the award!
:-)
AnswerID: 275711

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 16:42

Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 16:42

Yes this post could have been a little misleading...but only if you have a preformed opinion. Yes the idea was to stir the pot maybe, but it gets the mind rolling.
If it read "Why is it you get an award for being muslim or Croatian...????"
No one probably would have given a rats! Or probably even given them a sledging.
That in my opinion would be racist , isn't the meaning of racist " to treat someone different because of their race"???

After reading most of these replies I think my friend is right, a lot of people do think aboriginals are lesser people and do want to continuously put them on a pedestal, and their way of helping them is jumping to their defence rather than telling the truth.
I couldn't count how many kids I've seen go through courses, been given certificates purely on attendance and fallen flat on their faces when they get out in the work force because really didn't learn bugger all!!! (token certificates)

On a better note...I went to the casino last night and bumped into a few old students ( Yeah blackfellas ) all of them have been working and holding their jobs for over a couple of years and yep they were buying me drinks. not bludgin! ( not cdep either...Granites, Hospital interpreter, carpenter,welder...)
None of them got any certificates from me for being black, only for hard work and good results like anyone else. In fact one of them asked me out side on his first day for a blue and last night he dam near crushed me when he came up for a big hug.

Ill leave you to make your own ideas about the best way to treat people....

AnswerID: 275789

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 22:54

Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 22:54
Hairy.

what did you teach at school (or do)?

I'm only asking so I can get some sort of insight into the question you asked.

You know shine some light, type of thing.

Richard Kovac
FollowupID: 539884

Reply By: Camoco - Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 23:49

Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 23:49
This gets me thinking.
When I was young and at primary school, we had a mix of races and at the time I was fairly unaware that was the case. To me the other kids were just the other kids.
I played with them all, fought with them all, and ate with them all.
It wasn't until after school that I realised some of them were Aboriginal, some were Asian and I suppose there were other races as well. We were all different yet all much the same. We mostly came from low socio-economic backgrounds and a fair percentage were commission based.

It's funny to think back and remember the two kids particularly that won most of the foot races ended up being aboriginal. I could never work out why they were so fast. It became obvious that they were older than me when they started sporting moustache growth in year 7. That got me asking why would an older kid be with us younger kids for school? They simply started their education later and fortunately for them were generally only a little larger than us so they fitted in well.

As I have grown, I like to think I have held on to those naive values, but in reality it has gotten a little slanted. I put that down to the racial assistance creating the "them and us" thoughts.
Even now when I am with a group of folks, I regard them firstly for their attitude to me and friendliness, humour, and general conversation. Race is the last thing I think of.
Even though I am a little deaf, I hear accents before I "see" colour. I struggle with understanding some accents and as a result I don't always fit in to the conversations.

As a post earlier said but seemed to be taken out of line, I wish for the simple earlier days I had when race was not the issue but rather how we all got along. Ignorance is bliss and children without parental influence see through colour and recognise people for who they are. It is us educated older folk that recognise race and suffer because of it.

In reference to the original post, I agree that awards should be based on achievement first. Even a male/female differentiation is sometimes too much. It's a bit like the first female to do this or that, really who cares as it should be the first person to do this or that for this year, or this month or whatever. Be the best we can be without sacrificing our principles, whatever they may be.
And no everyone is not equal. But not based on race or society, but based on the individual. There are some lowlifes out there and there are some high achievers. I strive for mediocrity as I know I'm not the best and I know I'm not the worst but I still keep trying to be better.

I notice now the younger generation is getting lazy in general. They expect the same pay and conditions as older more experienced workers but don't want to put in the hard yards to get there. This is the same type of talk when aboriginals started getting heavy government assistance. Are we now breeding a society of welfare seekers. In our efforts to please everyone we are ripping the very core of our well being to support the minority with loud voices. If we want to be treated as equals we should all expect to be treated as equals and give respect back to those that deserve it. When filling in forms we should remove the sex, race checkboxes, and replace them with age. For it is age that sets most people apart and with age should come respect.

And no, I am not old nor young, black nor white, smart nor dumb, but I am male with an expectation for a shorter than hoped for lifespan (all males in my family have passed away young I have recently found out). But when I get to heaven, we will all be as equals there.

AnswerID: 275866

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 07:25

Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 07:25
Camoco,

Very well said.

FollowupID: 539712

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 18:25

Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 18:25
Well said mate!

FollowupID: 539836

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 20:13

Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 20:13
To quote a quote from a past post on this forum:

"It ain't the colour of your skin it's the colour of your heart what counts".

FollowupID: 539850

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 22:44

Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 22:44
Red?
FollowupID: 539879