Drop-down fridge slide.......

Submitted: Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 19:52
ThreadID: 52376 Views:14807 Replies:11 FollowUps:13
Just opened my latest 4WD Action mag (issue number 114) and found what I've been looking for for donkey's ages...... a drop down fridge slide (for the vertically challenged or for those with fridge mounted too high).

Only trouble is that the website they quote at the end of the article does not exist (www.platinumgear.com.au). Tried Googling it too, but to no avail.

All is not lost as they also quote a phone number (Qld I reckon), so I can give 'em a call next week.

Just curious if anybody has fitted one of these or knows what the correct website address is??

Reply By: QLD Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 19:58

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 19:58
It works for me :))

Look Here

AnswerID: 275679

Follow Up By: QLD Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 20:01

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 20:01
Read this thread

Kev

FollowupID: 539453

Follow Up By: Muddy doe (SA) - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 20:01

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 20:01
Hi Kev

Yeap , that's the one.
The site is under construction so that's more than likely why it only has what it has?
Also someone from WA(?) had purchased one and was waiting on delivery of it?

Thanks Kev for posting that.

Cya
Judy (Muddy on K. Is so I'm on on under his name)
FollowupID: 539454

Reply By: Muddy doe (SA) - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 19:58

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 19:58
Hi Roachie

07 is Brissy, does that help?
There was a drop down slide posted on here the other day. Not sure where to find it but sure as eggs someone will poiint you in the right direction, sooner or later!

Cya
AnswerID: 275680

Reply By: That Troopy Bloke (SA) - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 20:03

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 20:03
I just copied and pasted www.platinumgear.com.au from your post into my address bar, and it took me straight to their site.
Using Firefox, if that makes any difference.
Looks a handy bit of kit for the vertically challenged.

Glenn
AnswerID: 275681

Reply By: Max - Sydney - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 20:17

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 20:17

That one looks good, but I have one of those vertically challenged people for a wife, and when we set up the 80s she insisted that the fridge slide be at floor level. I rang the mob in Cairns, and they sold me a single drawer (instead of the two), and in place of the other one was a slide down low.

Has worked a treat for 9 years, and she has been able to get at the fridge with the aid of a little $3 stool from Woollies if she wants to get to the bottom, otherwise from the ground.

I don't know how prices compare, but it could be worth checking with other suppliers whether they would tailor one for you.

And as an aside, about 6 years later I rang 4WD Interior Accessories to buy a new set of screws for the deck over the drawer as I had butchered the heads - this they did at no charge. Reckoned it was all a part of the service.

Max
AnswerID: 275688

Reply By: QLD Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 20:20

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 20:20
Another thing Roachie,

I didn't think the 200 Series could be raised that much ;))

AnswerID: 275691

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 20:40

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 20:40
Yeh, but once I get the back chopped off and made into a dual cab, it'll be too high..... ;-))
FollowupID: 539471

Follow Up By: QLD Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 20:42

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 20:42
ha ha

Get a custom ladder incorporated into the tray and you wont have that problem :))

Kev

FollowupID: 539472

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 17:46

Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 17:46
the PRICE will always be TOO HIGH

FollowupID: 539620

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 20:44

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 20:44
and at $550 they wont sell many I can tell u...
the interest at 4b show was great, they sold 2.
AnswerID: 275696

Follow Up By: QLD Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 20:56

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 20:56
What do you need 2 for?? ;))

Kev

FollowupID: 539479

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 20:56

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 20:56
PS. there was a thread I started on them with the sales brochure scanned in with a specific URL fully detailed if I remember.

Good luck using search here to find it.
FollowupID: 539481

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 20:58

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 20:58
Only a fool would pay that much bux for one! unless it was Demtel, adn they threw in the second one
FollowupID: 539483

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 21:03

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 21:03
FollowupID: 539485

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 21:04

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 21:04
$449 not $550.. but still $200 too much compared.
FollowupID: 539486

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 21:08

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 21:08
that wasnt the link I was lookin for.. I quit.. too hard searchign with a 3yr old asleep on ya.
FollowupID: 539488

Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 22:28

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 22:28
Roachie,

I had a post on this about a week ago and I have spoken to the owner and had a good chat.

Yes they are in Brisbane in fact just down the road from me. From all accounts they are flat out like a lizard drinking. I do believe the only size fridge they can do at the moment is up to 60 L waceo /engels.

As I have a 80 litre trailblazer a model for that will not be available till march next year as its in the design / production stage.

I maybe mad to pay $ 500 odd but I feel that would be a CHEAP investment if only to get the wife out camping again.

Mind you if as indicated talks are in progress with 4x4 stores to sell the gear and if mark ups get out of hand then will not be an option.

The drop down is about 300mm and is designed as shown not to hit the tail gate of the vehicle.

I hope to buy direct.

AnswerID: 275708

Reply By: Dave B (NSW) - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 22:46

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 22:46
G'day Roachie, I thought geocacher had designed one some time go, so had a look in the archives.
Not sure how proficient you are with making one up, but I think the plans are on his site.
http://4wdstuff.davejones.com.au/

'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

AnswerID: 275712

Follow Up By: Vince NSW - Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 19:27

Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 19:27
Dave jones tilting slide is great. Give him an email and he will most likely give you the plans. I have one tacked together at the moment and am loking for a REAL welder, not like me, to do it the rif=ght way.
Vince
FollowupID: 539650

Reply By: Member No 1- Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 09:24

Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 09:24
good idea for short asses hey...... Roachie:))))
AnswerID: 275756

Reply By: Dave B (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 09:38

Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 09:38
What about putting a platform on your hi-lift jack?

'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

AnswerID: 275758

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 09:50

Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 09:50
Ah, dare I say it?.......Yes I will.

The problem is with the design of your vehicle Roachie.

I have dual drawers side by side and the fridge sits on a built-in slide on the top level.
The Jackaroo has a rear step also built-in. SWMBO merely steps up using the step and can gain access to the fridge without any hassle.

Maybe what you need is an alloy step or platform that can be attached underneath the towing hitch so Annette can do a similar thing.

AnswerID: 275761

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 16:06

Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 16:06
Maaaate....I think you're about 12 months behind the times. I now have the mighty dual cab with flip up gullwing doors and no access from the rear (2 315/75s live on the back of the box). The height of the tray means it is almost too high even for me (at 6'1") to see into the fridge. Annette and the boys have to stand on something. The box has a lip of about 70mm from it's floor, so I haven't even fitted a normal slide, as that would have meant the height of the fridge would have been that much higher again!

So, provided the distance the fridge can extend _beyond_ the point at which it rests, is at least 75mm, I should be okay. The 75mm will allow the fridge to extend out past the edge of the box and the tray, yet still be in far enough that it won't foul on the closed gullwing door when it's in it's "up" position.

Cheers mate and merry xmas....

FollowupID: 539600