HOW CAN WE PROTESTS

Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 11:24
ThreadID: 52445 Views:3151 Replies:17 FollowUps:31
I heard on the ch 9 TO DAY show that the Japanese Whaling Fleet.
are heading into Australian Waters, to do there so called Scientific
Research Slaughter, 1000 whales will be killed, packed and presented
on the nations dinner tables in the name of research.
Just a thought, maybe our new Prime Minister could show the world
that he has balls, and send a stern warning to Japan, to do a U-TURN
and take the Whaling Fleet home, or maybe we will have to stop
buying Toyotas and Nissans ect.
I know its not a joking matter, any suggestions.

PS. I am not a Greeny or Tree Hugger, or God Botherer.

Daza

Reply By: Member - Brian A (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 11:43

Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 11:43
Hi Daza
Remember in the lead up to the election Kevin Rudd was talking about sending in the Navy and boarding the whaling fleet ships! It will indeed be interesting to watch what happens in 'Real Life'! My opinion, for what it is worth, is that we will do nothing as a Nation except issue the usual diplomatic statement, Australia regrets etc.... etc.
AnswerID: 276056

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 11:51

Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 11:51
Board their ships ROTFLMAO!!!
Dudd will do nothing to jeopardize relations with one of our biggest trading partners.

The same can be said about his non committal (read back down) on green house gas emissions.
He has no balls to go with the no experience.

Maybe you should go down to your local Labour MP's office and voice your concern??

FollowupID: 539947

Follow Up By: Jimbo - VIC - Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 12:11

Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 12:11
"Dudd" ????

"No balls, no experience"

That's the old Aussie spirit of giving a bloke a fair go.

Do we sense a little political bias and a lot of bitterness?

FollowupID: 539950

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 12:21

Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 12:21
No margin for error when your the PM.
The ramifications of getting it wrong are pretty big in my view and he has no experience in a leadership position (Ministerial or other) unless you call 10 months as Labour leader good enough??

Political bias?? Who me?? I voted Liberal so no bias there my position is clear and I won't be making excuses for Dudd if it all goes to $hit.

Bitterness??? Nope not my style, no time to waste on such a wasteful emotion.

FollowupID: 539953

Follow Up By: HowdyDoody - Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 13:25

Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 13:25
I recall Rudd did not say they would board the whaling ships, rather he would use our Navy for surveilance of the Japanese fleets so we had reliable and accurate data about their activities so he was 'armed' with information that can be used to argue the cause. At the moment, it seems the data only comes from Greenpeace etc, and I can understand the need for data that is fairly unbiased so that the argument can be taken to the next level.
FollowupID: 539959

Follow Up By: Kevndeb - Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 13:28

Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 13:28
All pollie waffle set aside...China is in front as trading nation at the moment...not Japan...

FollowupID: 539960

Follow Up By: madCrow - Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 13:55

Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 13:55
Member - John (Vic) posted:
No margin for error when your the PM.

Mate
Hate to say this John "dabooya" Howard certainly left "No margin for error when" he was PM (AWB- Money for Guns, Tampa - Children Overboard, Global Warming not according to our then PM, J.W.H., etc., etc..)

mC
FollowupID: 539963

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 16:23

Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 16:23
Kevndeb I did not say Japan was our biggest trading partners, I said it was ONE OF our major trading partners.

madCrow certainly no margin for error and those points are largely of no real relevance to the average person who is interested in a job to support themselves and their family.

AWB - Yeah well if we didn't do the deal then the Yanks and Canadians would have and our farmers would be the ones to suffer, but I guess that would be OK with you as its only the farmers eh??
And this issue cost you and me as tax payers nothing as AWB bore the brunt of the cost.

Tampa - So what??, or don't you think border protection is relevant??
And how did Tampa affect you?

Global Warming - Howard would not commit to the global warming issues until all detail was on the table and particularly how much it was going to cost us.
Also what the rest of the world particularly China was going to commit to and how many would be out of work because of those costs.
I see that Mr Dudd is now backing down on committing to cuts in green house gas emissions despite the pre election rhetoric.
Funny that suddenly he realizes the cost issues involved and how unpopular it will be in todays world, particularly with his union mates.
Oh and I see yesterday that Mr Dudd's expert has said that we will need 6000 more wind generators to come close to assisting with meeting the bare minimum 20 percent emission level cuts by 2020 good to see you will let him build a wind farm in your back yard just to help the planet.
But you obviously know this.

FollowupID: 539983

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 21:50

Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 21:50
Get off it John the little red waggon is gone all the wheels have fallen off it.. you will just have to learn to live with it..

The name calling? is it something to make you feel better for everybody calling John Howard, weeeeee johnny, little Johnny, liar, John Coward, just to name a threw.. LOL

they have been living off the coat tails of the World Greatest Treasurer, Now that the interest rate are rising to a high enough amount + 10% thats to the Liberals I should be able to earn some good returns on my investment to go 4WDing and not work or better still buy a business and get other people to work for me and just sit back and count-de-mornay... LOL

:-)

Give it time

FollowupID: 540043

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 22:53

Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 22:53
Hello Richard
Yes its always easy for the government of the day to blame their predecessor for the doom and gloom to come and so according to Dudd and Dillard it will always be Howard's fault of course.

Oh!! and when the name sticks you wear it, dud is a perfect fit for little Kevin. :-)

FollowupID: 540059

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 23:19

Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 23:19
No someone said the other day, is why do we get a PM that looks like a Character out of South Park... LOL..
they said if someone shoots Kevin can I be the first person too call out "someone Killed Kevin" LOL...

The dark side can allso :-)
FollowupID: 540067

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 23:31

Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 23:31
I sincerely hope that no one stoops to shooting our political leadership regardless of their political persuasion.

Besides which I tend to think he has more chance of being stabbed in the back by his deputy. :-)

FollowupID: 540069

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 00:08

Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 00:08
"shooting our political leadership"

Hmmmm not necessarily a bad way to improve the overall political gene pool :)))

But then again, it did'nt help the Yanks much.

FollowupID: 540071

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 01:30

Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 01:30
Gramps hasn't helped Australia ever for everyone that is killed or dies another bleep is born... :-)

John you haven't become scared of Shela's have we... LOL

that was a joke ie. someone killed kenney... LNOL
FollowupID: 540073

Reply By: robak (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 11:43

Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 11:43
I think part of the issue is that the "Australian waters" are only officially recognised by Australia and not by the international community.
AnswerID: 276057

Reply By: KSV. - Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 11:55

Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 11:55
In my humble opinion Australia alone can do absolutely nothing about this disgusting matter. Those animals have to grow 20-something years before they can give birth and they only can raise a single calf once per 3 years! They can be vanished from Earth with blink of an eye and this is exactly what bl00dy Japanese and Norwegian trying to do. Do you like hear it or not, but until Uncle Sam from president level lead very strict boycott of Japanese on this matter nothing going to happens.

PS even all of us sells out sheetmetal to Japwrecks it will make no difference because government still will buy them. Even if Australia totally stop buying Japan car, no-one even notice this – our market is nothing, absolutely nothing in global scale.
AnswerID: 276058

Reply By: Member - Doug T (FNQ) - Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 12:01

Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 12:01
Try this link to add your micro cents worth to the issue , I did,

Cast a Vote Here

#

AnswerID: 276059

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 12:08

Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 12:08
I think the whaling fleet would make good target practice for our newish submarines.

The Japanese have a stockpile of whale meat they cannot consume.
The youngsters do not even like the taste.

Sink the bastards!

AnswerID: 276061

Reply By: Member - Barnesy (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 12:33

Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 12:33
The thing that gets me is the whale meat industry in Japan was dropping. People weren't buying the meat. So the whaling industry spent a huge amount of money advertising whale meat.

It seems not many people in Japan would miss whaling, except the industry itself.

All of this talk about it being a national dish etc. is rubbish when the industry is required to push its product to sell it.

They can buy some more of our cattle if they want.

Barnesy
AnswerID: 276069

Reply By: Member - Barnesy (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 12:33

Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 12:33
The thing that gets me is the whale meat industry in Japan was dropping. People weren't buying the meat. So the whaling industry spent a huge amount of money advertising whale meat.

It seems not many people in Japan would miss whaling, except the industry itself.

All of this talk about it being a national dish etc. is rubbish when the industry is required to push its product to sell it.

They can buy some more of our cattle if they want.

Barnesy
AnswerID: 276070

Reply By: Smudger - Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 14:41

Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 14:41
Try this anti-whaling website. Includes a petition. They have to be stopped.

http://www.whalesrevenge.com/
AnswerID: 276082

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 14:48

Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 14:48
YAWN - the Japs etc will keep doing it because NO ONE has the balls to stop them.

Can you take this whinging to a more suitable site.

AnswerID: 276084

Follow Up By: rockpiglet - Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 15:54

Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 15:54
Yawn stretch WAKE UP
Fair cop no one has the balls very true.

But must admit when I'm crossing the nullarbor in whale season, seems to be a lot of people who explore oz in 4wds having a look at whales???? But nothing in common with this site.

Have a look at the car parks at Hervey Bay, not many 4wd owners trekking on holidays paying to look at whales.

There she blows??
FollowupID: 539979

Reply By: Robin Miller - Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 15:43

Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 15:43
Hi Daza

I've always wondered why some consider it acceptable to kill roo's , cattle and sheep and not whales.

For the point of the discussion the Japs do not accept that any of these species are endangered, any many other places consider Roo's as endangered.
There will be different views on these point - but accepting that.

Why cannot whales be harvested as are many other species ?

I'm vegetartian so I don't have this conflict , but I wonder how others resolve this issue ?

AnswerID: 276091

Follow Up By: KSV. - Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 16:29

Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 16:29
Robin,

You right. Sort of. Look at my previous post – reproductive rates for whales are incredibly slow. Evolutionary they can afford it because no natural predators. Now with all this powerful fleet and electronically guided canons they can be doomed in no time. Roo, cattle or sheep reproducing themselves much faster and they not in any danger.

Apart of this reason I fail to see why we cannot kill whales if we can kill Roos.

Serg
FollowupID: 539985

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 20:48

Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 20:48
Perhaps Serg

But that still really comes down to the possibility of endangering the species.

Assuming that the species isn't endangered, there becomes no logical reason why they should not be hunted and the discussion really boils down to Japanese prefer whale meat to roo's and australians prefer roo meat to whales.

Pointless arguement really , leaving them all alone at least has some logical consistency.

FollowupID: 540029

Follow Up By: Crackles - Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 23:19

Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 23:19
"Why cannot whales be harvested as are many other species ?"
Good point. If the only argument is the the possibility of endangering the species then really the only question is how many can be harvested without reducing the numbers to a dangerous level and as whale numbers in general are on the increase it can be argued there is a sustainable number that could be taken. It's amazing the fuss many make over cuddly or spectacular animals yet wont raise a breath for less high profile ones on the brink of extinction. In fact more fuss is made over whales by many than for humans being starved to death in 3rd world countries.........go figure.
Cheers Craig.............
FollowupID: 540066

Follow Up By: HowdyDoody - Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 09:03

Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 09:03
Robin, I agree to a certain point. Endangerment issues aside, I have a real problem with the way the whales are killed. It is a slow inhumane death. We don't treat our dogs or livestock this way. Considering that there are many other food sources (meat and other) that can be got through much more humane methods I cannot understand why the Japanese persist. I cannot stand to see the suffering of any species - particularly when it is caused by humans for selfish reasons.
FollowupID: 540091

Follow Up By: KSV. - Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 11:05

Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 11:05
HowdyDoody,

Although I really hate cruelty (and unnecessarily in particular) I like to say out that your point is rather moot. Do you know how poisons for insects works? Humans take an advantage from fact that insect and spiders do not have skeleton, but rather rely on hard outer sell to stay together. Shell made of chitin and we just invent substance what can dissolve it. Apparently because mammals have not anything made of chitin this poison not much harm to us (and to cats, dogs etc). So how humanitarian is killing something by dissolving their shell? Or you not so passion to insects and spiders and believe that they deserve it because they primitive creatures and they are parasites and pests? And whales are different because they mammals or because they big or because you just like them? OK, rabbits are mammals, and very cute creatures; many people have them as pets. Yet we invented and spread disease to kill them. Again – no disease will be useful for such purpose unless it killing slow, allowing to be spread. Now think about those poor rabbits who been selected by God (or by us) for experiments with those disease. Com on – take you head from sand. They just did not invent as yet more efficient way to kill whales this is it.
So as for me there is only one reason why we should stop to kill whales – we can easy kill all of them in no time.

Serg
FollowupID: 540105

Follow Up By: HowdyDoody - Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 11:28

Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 11:28
Serg I hear you, but I need to say that we do not use any insect sprays at home for that reason. I can't stand it. We catch spiders and put them out, flies hardly ever get in and quite often my theory is - well they wont eat much anyway.
I also need to point out that I did not personally invent diseases to kill rabbits so I am not going to give up on what I believe purely because others have done things that I disagree with.
My head is not in the sand, however I am aware that I cannot change the world. I will do what I can about the things I are about. I am not going to stand around and not do anything about one issue just because there is another issue somewhere else.
If we all gave up on our own small issues and causes the world could well be a far worse place than it is now even with rabbit diseases.
FollowupID: 540108

Follow Up By: KSV. - Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 11:44

Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 11:44
I understand and agree that it is not a reason do nothing for particular issue on basis that we do nothing on similar issue. Just like to point that there are heaps of other “more humanitarian” issues around then killing whales in “un-humanitarian” way - killing not much humanitarian by itself. Take for example people dying from starvation around the globe while you can throw away some food on basis that it does not taste good enough for you! Or shopping trolley with dogs/cats food supply on value enough to support whole family for a month. Or…. I think you have an idea.

Serg
FollowupID: 540111

Reply By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 15:51

Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 15:51
Nah, I agree - it's totally deplorable to think that they can still in today's age get away with slatter under the guize of "scientific research". I have never labelled myself either as Greenie, Tree Hugger or God Botherer) to borrow Daza words but there is no denying that some acts today surprise me and I'm starting to want to speak up more when things I disagree with are let to pass because we as a world, or community have not complained enough. My kids and I actually stood dumb-founded in front of the tele when we saw the News a few weeks back when the whalers left Japan and had the great send off. A sad day indeed and I can't believe I saw it in 2007! But then last night I watched a late show on the ABC about he 60s documenting this as the first generation that bothered to stand up and protest when they had something to say. Was that all for nothing if now just 40 years later we are too busy or too apathetic to have our say? Do we really trust our pollies to do what's right for the future generations or just for their shortterm political future? The protests of the 60s did change the world, so why not vote with our voices again and let our opionions be heard on matters that are important to our world - be it climate change, wildlife preservation or whatever. As people who love to ExplorOz - our platform is indeed relevant to discuss issues that affect us in our day to day, or recreational pursuits. Whaling our waters does indeed affect us - maybe just not as obvious as fuel prices! Save the koala, save our forrests, save the whale, save Ningaloo, save Leighton Beach etc! I'm with you Daza!
Michelle Martin
Marketing & Customer Support
I.T. Beyond Pty Ltd / ExplorOz

AnswerID: 276093

Reply By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) - Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 16:01

Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 16:01
It's simple, stop importing Japanesse vehicles into Europe, America and Australia and Im sure the whaling thing will stop pretty quickly.

All you would have to do is stop importing vehicles for a week and they would soon get it.

What about the live sheep trade, stoning and rape of women, political prisioners and take a look at our goverment...placing a curfew on David Hick a person how was charged with an offence before it was an offence.

The more I understand goverments the more I hate them!

Regards Richard
AnswerID: 276094

Reply By: Ozboc - Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 16:05

Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 16:05
Walk around with a spear gun - when you see a Japanese person , spear them - then tell the Authorities its just research ...... and you will cease all research when you have discovered what you need to know --- its up to you what you do with the meat :)

But in all seriousness - if they do it in our waters , why doesn't our coast guard or navy intervene?

Boc

AnswerID: 276095

Reply By: JimDi - Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 16:30

Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 16:30
Daza,
Without wishing to upset you because of your beliefs,I have to say that I doubt if any Aussie will actually do anything. And thats from the new PM down to the bloke in the street.

There are too many dollars/yen flowing between the two countries for us to just simply "punch" Japan in the nose. They will then accuse us of eating and slaughtering kangaroos. Which they have done in the past.
Can you imagine the reaction from our farmers? All that beef and lamb and nowhere to send it.The boycott of Japanese cars etc would last all of five minutes.

And for those forumites advocating sending gunships,thats a very easy comment to make. Whats the old saying,"dont watch what I do,just do as I say"

Jim
AnswerID: 276103

Reply By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 21:06

Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 21:06
Here's the response I received from Toyota when I took it up with them on the basis of their "Guiding Principles and Earth Charter". Clearly these are just rhetoric and do not guide Toyota who has no corporate conscience and will hide behind "their" government.

They will not be able to do this for long.

I encourage all Toyota customers to complain to Toyota (and Nissan to Nissan and Mitsubishi to Mitsubishi) about the fact that they have no corporate position on this and no corporate backbone willing to make a public statement that this is unacceptable.

In my case it is a consideration when deciding on future fleet vehicles.

Dear Carlos is probably still taking it up with the "International Whaling Foundation" (sic) rather than raising any ructions in Toyota Corporation.

This was Toyota Complaint number 27012740. I quote:

Dear Mr Weller,

Thank you for your email received on 13 Mach 2007 by our Customer Relations Department and please accept our apologies for the delay in responding to you.

Our view is that this is a matter that needs to be dealt with through the Japanese Government and the International Whaling Foundation. Toyota's principles regarding the environment and society are clear in the Guiding Principles and Earth Charter that are referred to in the letter of inquiry.

Thank you for writing to Toyota and allowing us the opportunity to respond to your concerns.

Carlos De Azevedo
Senior Customer Relations Advisor
Customer Relations Centre
Toyota Motor Corporation Australia Limited
AnswerID: 276137

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 21:21

Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 21:21
Thats nice, at least they did reply in some form.
Probably more than Nissan customer service would do.

FollowupID: 540033

Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 21:27

Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 21:27
Nice - well, they might as well not have replied at all.

The response is trite and paternalistic - he mentions the "International Whaling Foundation" which is a misnomer and doesn't exist.

Sure - their view is the matter needs to be dealt with through the Japanese Government. Well, if that is the case, and it is an issue, they are in a real position to advocate with them for it. Their guiding principles are plainly disingenuous and they pay lip service to the environment - that is it. Of course Mr. Watanabe at Toyota would have the personal phone number of the Prime Minister Abe - it is time he used it on this issue and took a stand.

I have brought this thread to Toyota Motor Corporation Australia's notice.
FollowupID: 540036

Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 21:28

Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 21:28
oops - Prime Minister Abe is no longer - Prime Minister Fukuda
FollowupID: 540037

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 21:32

Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 21:32
I don't disagree with your points, I only make the point (tongue in cheek) that at least you got a response.
From what we read on here Nissan don't seem to interested in even bothering to reply to customers.

FollowupID: 540039

Reply By: Willem - Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 21:40

Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 21:40
Maybe we should hunt some whales and eat them too

Why not? We eat everything else. What is so different between a cuddly kangaroo and a cuddly whale?
AnswerID: 276145

Follow Up By: JimDi - Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 22:06

Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 22:06
Willem,
I tend to agree. But trust me whale flesh is not on my agenda. My concern is that most greenies etc would be amused at this forums efforts to save a whale. Four wheel drive vehicles and the like trying to save a whale would raise a smirk from greenpeace types to say the least.
Jim
FollowupID: 540044

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 22:16

Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 22:16
Yes, but this must be a first for 4wd vehicles.....lol

Greenpeace also uses polluting vessels to get their message across.

Its a strange world.

I tend to want to miss the Big Picture and concentrate on the little picture :-)

FollowupID: 540047

Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 22:20

Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 22:20
No. I think it is the Chinese who eat everything in the pig except the oink, and the Koreans eat that too.

But why not whales you ask? - Because they have a long life cycle and we are severely depleting their numbers and will not have any left soon, at the rate we are going.

Greenpeace types can have their views, but they too fly in airplanes and live in luxury houses making much greater dents on global warming than a little 4WDing - at least our 4WDing is appreciating our wide and remote land's beauty, hopefully, and by our awareness, helping to protect it.

Notice that Greencorps, Conservation Volunteers and most other land management activities in Australia need 4WD vehicles for doing their work.

Of course we should all be concerned about our impact on the environment and thinking through how to minimise it and how to support environmental efforts of any kind.

Andrew.
FollowupID: 540049

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 22:24

Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 22:24
Hmmm Andrew...very deep, my son, very deep.......

Andrew who wants to be a philosopher...ROTFLMAO

FollowupID: 540050

Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 22:30

Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 22:30
Hmm Ol Fella - It is hard to compete with someone that at times can be mistaken for Confucius reincarnate.
FollowupID: 540051

Follow Up By: Member - Barnesy (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 00:44

Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 00:44
Would anybody even be aware of Japanese whaling if it wasn't for Greenpeace?

I don't think we could make Kangaroos extinct if we tried. Very easy to make whales extinct, just do nothing.
FollowupID: 540072

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 20:10

Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 20:10
Thanks for all your comments everbody, very interesting, I have been
on a few whale watch trips in Hervey Bay, on several occassions, and
find it pleasing to see them come right up to our boat, and turn
slightly on there side, and see there eyes looking at you,
you get the feeling that they can communicate with the waving of
there fin and I FEEL PLEASED THAT MY GRAND KIDS HAVE SEEN THEM BECAUSE THEIRS WONT.

Daza
AnswerID: 276288