Taking the dogs? Opinions please

Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 11:59
ThreadID: 52473 Views:3273 Replies:22 FollowUps:44

We are planning a round oz trip in a year or so. We want to take our two dogs but would like to hear some opinions or experiences. We have a staffy x mastiff who is very well behaved and a spaniel x beagle who is still young and cheeky. They are generally both good dogs though and we don't like the idea of leaving them behind. I understand there are places such as national parks you can't get into with dogs, but that aside...

Reply By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 12:01

Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 12:01
Do a search. Topic has been covered extensively in recent times with much debate about the pro's and con's.

My personal opinion is leave em home.
AnswerID: 276204

Follow Up By: KSV. - Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 12:42

Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 12:42
Second to support – way too much nuisance.

Serg
FollowupID: 540116

Follow Up By: CLC50 - Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 21:11

Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 21:11
these are a two Web pages that have all the places you can stay with dogs

Place to stay with your Dog

http://www.k9.bounceme.net/
FollowupID: 540200

Reply By: Wizard1 - Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 13:49

Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 13:49
Do a search this has been done to death and not only on this forum.

Seems there are lots of other people that can't make their own informed decision without asking the opinion of a forum.

We just hit the road with ours and work it out along the way with caravan parks guides, etc. You'll get the idea after a while like all things in life.

We didn't ask anyone before we did it, we just did it...
AnswerID: 276221

Follow Up By: Wizard1 - Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 13:50

Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 13:50
PS Our dogs are part of our family, would you leave your kids behind?
FollowupID: 540126

Follow Up By: KSV. - Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 14:05

Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 14:05
Are your kids animals? Or probably you are parents of your dogs?

Other way around - would you allow to cut out your kidney to safe your dog life? How about your kid's life?

I am sick of this cliche "Dogs are part of our family".

Yep, I do have a dog and only way I will bring him with us is to have my children come with us rather then they staying home with dog. Never other way around.

Serg
FollowupID: 540127

Follow Up By: Jimbo - VIC - Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 14:20

Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 14:20
Serg,

Forget about your kidneys, I think you need to get the chit off your liver first.
FollowupID: 540132

Follow Up By: KSV. - Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 14:27

Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 14:27
Jimbo,

I have not got what do you mean. Would you like to explain, please :-)

Serg.
FollowupID: 540134

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 15:31

Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 15:31
My little dog was very much part of my family; I’d have killed anyone who deliberately hurt her just as I would if anyone hurt my children.

Give her a kidney? Probably. She gave me one hell of a lot during her life.

FollowupID: 540137

Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 16:14

Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 16:14
At least dogs don't ride mini-bikes!
FollowupID: 540143

Follow Up By: KSV. - Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 16:32

Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 16:32
Mike Harding,

I still not convinced and recon all of you “Dog is part of my family” camp lying to yourself. May I ask you this question – will you allow your son to willingly risk his life in attempt to save his sister from say fire? How about him risks his life to safe a dog (or even the dog)? First action would be called brave while second stupid.

IMHO it is ridiculous put a dog - even very much beloved pet, but still just an animal - on the same level as member of your family.

Serg
FollowupID: 540146

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 16:45

Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 16:45
Love is where we find it Serg. If you cannot feel it for an animal perhaps you need to ask yourself why that is?

>just an animal

An animal to you perhaps but a sensitive, loyal and caring friend to me.

People don't have a monopoly on feeling - many animals exhibit emotional traits.

FollowupID: 540149

Follow Up By: KSV. - Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 17:26

Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 17:26
Mike,

You, as many “Dog is part of my family” camp making huge mistake. Dogs very selfish creatures, they cannot love and do not show loyalty to anyone. They just animals. They do not understand morale and what is good and what is bad. They never can be teach do not pinch cats food by talking to them about “it is immoral” or “it is bad for your health”, because this is their nature – pinch food whenever they can.
What seems to you loyalty, friendship and love, from dog’s point of view no more then proper hierarchy in herd he belongs to (i.e. your family). He does not love you, but obey and adore you just because you staying higher on hierarchy stairs then him. If treated properly from pappyhood, dog will properly learn that you are master and must be obeyed, thus becoming good companion – cheerful and playful. If treated improperly (i.e. too much “love” leading to allow anything) dog may became a master and it will lead to huge problem especially with big and powerful dogs – they became demanding and obey very poorly. Being in herd and follow hierarchy is dogs nature, their blood and destiny of their lives and it is your responsibility as a dog owner make hierarchy right for dogs own happiness. As one dogs vet told me once “If you like to have a good dog, then treat him … like a dog”. 100% agree.

Serg
FollowupID: 540155

Follow Up By: Jimbo - VIC - Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 17:41

Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 17:41
Serg,

BOLLOCKS
FollowupID: 540157

Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 18:49

Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 18:49
It's hard to believe some of the childish "hair splitting" that goes on in this supposedly adult forum!

Saying a dog is part of the family is understandable, asking if you would send a child into a fire to rescue it is inane.
FollowupID: 540164

Follow Up By: On Patrol - Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 20:02

Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 20:02
KSV you are not in tune with your fellow creatures, or you associate with the wrong sort of B I T C H E S. My dog gives me more love than MOST humans can possibly do. You would never understand that sort of bond because you are just a person. A dogs love is unconditional and I have physically emphasised the point that when one of mine has died and some insensitive Pri@k has said "it was just a dog". Get a life KSV, get a dog. No dont, you could never give to a dog, so how can a dog give back to you?
FollowupID: 540183

Follow Up By: KSV. - Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 10:23

Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 10:23
Shaker,
You was not following my logic properly. This is hypothetical example to proof that nonsense “dog is part of my family”

On Patrol,
It is endless and fruitless debate. I do have a dog and he what you would say “loves me unconditionally to the death”. Just get some readings. What I post above is not my invention by any means, but rather conclusion of people who been study dogs behavior and motivation whole their life. If all owners would properly understand dog’s psychology instead of insisting about “love” and “loyalty” and treating them as “part of my family” it would only leads to happier dogs around.

Serg
FollowupID: 540279

Follow Up By: Member - Gavin B (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 10:38

Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 10:38
KSV, you should not be allowed to own a dog.
FollowupID: 540284

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 10:49

Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 10:49
Serg: your logic is flawed and so extreme as to have no useful meaning.

Example: A parent was in the Auschwitz concentration camp and forced to choose which of his two children medical experiments would be conducted upon. If he doesn’t choose all three will be killed – if he chooses X does that mean Y was not part of his family or not loved as much as X?

Examples such as this have no meaning in the normal world and are merely presented in order to try and spuriously win arguments.

Love is just love – either one feels it or one doesn’t. I certainly don’t have a scale of love – he rates a 4 – she rates a 7 – the dog rates a 2… it just isn’t like that, at least, not for me.

FollowupID: 540285

Follow Up By: KSV. - Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 11:05

Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 11:05
Mike, it is appears like we will not have consensus on this matter. I would say that your logic is flawed because it is impossible to choose what of your kids you love more. But it is *VERY* different love feeling to my kids and to my dog. Does not matter how difficult it is, if required I will betray my dog in favor of my children, but I cannot betray my children because of dog. Dogs actually very right here – there should be strong hierarchy. You can argue that my love to dog not “real” or whatever, but in return I will argue that your parental love not strong enough if you hesitate even split second between dog and your child.

Sergiy.
FollowupID: 540287

Follow Up By: cityslicker - Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 11:43

Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 11:43
Regardless of whether your logic is right or wrong, the fact is there are a great deal of people who love their pets and feel they ARE part of the family.

I'm not sure why this worries you, but kindly suggest you need to get over it.
FollowupID: 540290

Follow Up By: KSV. - Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 12:15

Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 12:15
Cityslicker,

It does not worry me at all even you setup your bed in your dog’s kennel. Or make dog's kennel from your bedroom. I am just curious trying to understand how other people thinking.

Have a lovely day
Serg.

FollowupID: 540294

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 20:04

Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 20:04
Leave them at home at every opportunity.
And yes i am a dog owner.
FollowupID: 540366

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 20:05

Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 20:05
Leave them at home at every opportunity.
And yes i am a dog owner.
FollowupID: 540367

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 21:15

Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 21:15
We don't own animals; we are merely their carers
FollowupID: 540391

Follow Up By: cityslicker - Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 21:47

Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 21:47
Serg,

I've spent a few nights in the 'dog house' but thats another story :-)

You may be just 'trying to understand how other people are thinking' but you appear to be doggedly (pun intended) taking the negative side when the original poster was asking for opinions.
FollowupID: 540402

Reply By: Steve - Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 13:54

Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 13:54
we have never been around the block but have been on several big trips with ours. Briefly, I'd say they're definitely an inconvenience in that you're limited regarding camping spots. We're taking ours to the Red Centre next year and I know we'll have to visit the Rock, for instance, in shifts, which means staying longer than we otherwise would. Alternatively, we could kennel him in Alice for a few days and grin and bear the additional cost. I wouldn't've even had a dog but was out-voted by the rest of the tribe. Now we do have him, I'm probably the softest of the lot of us with him and wouldn't leave him behind - but you have to make some sacrifices with camping. Having said that, I have been surprised at the amount of places that you can go - you just have to look a bit harder.
AnswerID: 276222

Follow Up By: Rossco td105 - Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 21:06

Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 21:06
G'day Steve,

We've been through the middle with both our Ridgebacks, if they're well behaved, you can leave the dogs out the back of the office of the caravan park at Yulara. (We camped there for two nights though).

I have no problem saying they are both part of our family, would do more to help them than some people out there.

We covered nearly 11,000km on our last trip and didn't have any problems (with places, people or travelling), like you say, there are plenty of dog friendly places out there, just have to make the effort to organise your trip with them in mind.

Ross and Jo.
FollowupID: 540198

Follow Up By: Steve - Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 21:27

Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 21:27
thanks for the tip Rossco - I wasn't aware of that. We did the same at Adel's Grove last year and I think he enjoyed the fuss he got from all the passers by.

I hope they'll extend the same service for us - or maybe they thought you just rode in on horses and put em round the back.

lol

Ours is a Jack Russell. If he'd only keep still they'd probably think he was a toy.
FollowupID: 540205

Follow Up By: Rossco td105 - Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 23:36

Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 23:36
You would be amazed at the number of times we hear that comment, really a couple of softies though...

Good luck with the trip as well.

Ross.
FollowupID: 540244

Reply By: swampy66 - Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 14:01

Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 14:01
The castles,

do your lap with the dogs, it you feel youve missed out on too many places due to having the dogs. do another lap without the dogs.

its a big island, there plenty to see.

have fun

AnswerID: 276226

Reply By: thecastles - Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 14:27

Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 14:27
Thanks for the replies for those of you with genuine ones. For the others, i'm really sorry if this topic has been 'done to death' but I am new to the forum and didn't know. But thanks, you made me feel SO welcome.

AnswerID: 276229

Follow Up By: Member - Wilgadene (Bundaberg) - Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 15:03

Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 15:03
Hi to the castles

Welcome to ExplorOz. Amongst the rubbish from some of the "contributors" on this forum there is also a wealth of information to be gleaned from some very knowledgeable people. Please don't let the minority put you off - I just smile and tell myself that it is a poor reflection of them, not me.

I bought a couple of books from the ExplorOz shop which have been quite useful - "Holidaying with Dogs" and "Bush Camping with Dogs".

Mrs Wilgadene
FollowupID: 540136

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 17:08

Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 17:08
Hi castles,

Just ignore the rude ones and listen to the sensible advice, from both sides of the argument. In the end, you know what you're prepared to put up with. Either way, have a great time. That's what it's all about.

FollowupID: 540151

Reply By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 14:33

Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 14:33
The dog is a PITA but very lovable, very loyal and wards off people who want to camp too close by......lol

Have snuck her through some National Parks but usually we avoid NP's anyway as everyone else is camped there as well.

The other problem is 1080 poison baits which are distributed all over Australia by the State Governments to control Foxes, Dingoes and Feral Cats. A bait could be laid anywhere so you have to be vigilant and keep a close reign on the dog.

Travelling with a dog(s) is compromise travelling. We don't mind it so much these days because we have been to many places before. Sometimes we have l;eft the dog with kind friends to look after. Have never used kennels.

The final decision rests with you

AnswerID: 276230

Reply By: Ozboc - Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 16:22

Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 16:22
cant take them everywhere - thats going to be your main restriction - my question is -- how are the dogs?

do you have to throw them in the car ? or they go on there own .... example --

My rottie ( Lost her to a spinal condition) as soon as i said the words " go for a drive" she would run straight to the car ( back door ) and sit waiting waging her bum with pure excitement- she absolutly loved days out going to rivers and camping ..... even in winter time she was hard to get out of freezing cold water of the river we were visitng - she was almost like a cattle dog in a rotties body .... HAD no problems with long trips - and some dogs can suffer from motion sickness also ....

so how are your dogs -- will they be able to handly 8 - 10 hours at a time in the car ??? or will you have to stop every 2 hours for 20 min ??

Boc

AnswerID: 276244

Reply By: Member - Noldi (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 16:34

Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 16:34
Castles,

Don't be put of the forum, there are lots here who provide good usefull information and even if they just re-enforce what you think yourselves it good value.
Its a great way of accessing a huge stockpile of knowlege
I have a similar problem looming, I have 2 one does not travell well, the other is great in the car

Watch out for the baits though friend lost one of his withing the last 12 months

AnswerID: 276247

Reply By: Crackles - Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 17:28

Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 17:28
If your dogs don't chase wildlife when you have your back turned, don't mark their territory on wheels or tents, ride well in the car for long periods, will respond to your comand & you are prepared to pick up their droppoing then by all means take them, no doubt they will bring you much pleasure. Be prepared to drive by some of the main highlights & expect to be turned away from alot of camp grounds as unfortunately dogs are neither tollerated or catered for in many places. There are books that can help you with dog friendly places to stay and would take some of the frustration of trying to find them along the way.
Personally I would find it a waste to drive a few thousand KM's only to be turned away at the gate. Bungles, Ayres Rock, Kings Canyon, Simpson Desert just the tip of the not welcome here you will find. A tough choice.
Cheers Craig........
AnswerID: 276254

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 19:41

Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 19:41
Crackles

It is cheaper to be fined for having a dog in a National Park than leaving it at Kennels at home....:-)))

FollowupID: 540177

Follow Up By: On Patrol - Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 20:08

Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 20:08
Willem
A valid point mate, kinda like parking fine V Parking station Eh.
Makes sense to me.
Colin
FollowupID: 540187

Follow Up By: Crackles - Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 21:22

Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 21:22
May be cheaper but in the event it gets away it can be both cruel for the dog or the countless native animals it would go on to kill. Have picked up 7 domestic dogs wandering the high country over the years, several in the National Park. No doubt all the owners thought their dogs were under control moments before they started to chase a roo. I'm not sure the cost of a kennel should even come into it.
Cheers Craig..............
FollowupID: 540203

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 21:33

Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 21:33
What if?

Craig, I am surprised you even leave the house

FollowupID: 540207

Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 22:45

Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 22:45
The "dogs wandering the High Country" were most probably hunting hounds.
FollowupID: 540234

Follow Up By: Crackles - Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 23:02

Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 23:02
If one person comes accross 7 dogs lost in the bush then I wonder just how many must be out there? The "what if" may be more common than many think particually by the number of sheep taken around here. After a couple of arrogant resposes I had when returning their pets I doubt I'll be going to as much trouble in the future.
FollowupID: 540238

Follow Up By: Crackles - Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 23:08

Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 23:08
Shaker on 3 occations they were deer hounds but the others were all sorts from a pedegree Dalmation to a little foxy, all tired and hungry & not afraid of strangers at all.
FollowupID: 540240

Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 23:25

Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 23:25
They would quite likely have been 'dumped'.
I live on the edge of the High Country, & it's not uncommon for people to take their dogs on holiday, then find that they aren't allowed into the area where they are going, so they just drive into the bush & dump them!
I have also been involved in saving them & finding a new home.
FollowupID: 540241

Reply By: Mogul - Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 18:16

Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 18:16
The dog comes everywhere with us, she even came on our honeymoon to Tassie.

Go to a good bookstore and buy some of the camping with dogs type books. If you need to you can always leave them in a kennel for a couple of days.
AnswerID: 276263

Reply By: DIO - Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 18:20

Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 18:20
As an animal lover, particularly dogs, the thought of death of one from ingestion of 1080 poison is too much to accept. Yes to be apart for a lengthy period is difficult, more so for the human than the animal (in majority of cases). However to be parted for life all because of a poor decision by me the owner would be far worse to have to live with. Do a search on the Archives of this forum for lots of info and discussion on the subject. Good luck with whatever you decide.
AnswerID: 276266

Reply By: turbopete - Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 18:21

Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 18:21
i could not leave "cody" at home,,,I,d fret too much
AnswerID: 276267

Reply By: Kevndeb - Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 18:46

Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 18:46
We have two dogs and the oldest frets for us even if we are away overnight. She is very old ( 16 in June), she gets car sick, blind and deaf....but she has very happy life, sleeping, eating and going out to the toilet is about as much as she does now.

It was toss up whether we took our trip, but the trip is more of about celebrating a life ( my mother-in-law passed away in 2006 from breast cancer, she is the reason we are doing the trip, with my father-in-law) and very much a part of the grieving process ( closure) that we are taking the trip.

It was big decision for us to make going away, my dad had already put his hand up to stay at my home. My dogs are already wondering what is happening, the kids and I have pack our clothes, the van is sitting in the driveway and the dogs are looking at me as if say"mmm what is going on here then ? "...but would you enjoy you trip if you would worry about your dogs? Or know that they are with you..even though there is chance that you will miss "stuff"?

If that fails toss a coin....

Debbie< who has two days to go....

AnswerID: 276271

Reply By: Member - BIGDOG G (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 20:11

Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 20:11
I think one of the great things is that more and more c.p's are adopting the "No Dogs" policy.
As far as "sneaking" the dog into National Parks, just shows you how irresponsible some dog owners are.
There is a huge push at the moment here in WA to try to exterminate all fox's and ferrel cats. 1080 baits are dropped by plane everywhere, also crows will drop them where they are not supposed to be.
Leave Dogs at home.

Cheers ......BIGDOG
AnswerID: 276289

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 21:43

Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 21:43
You have a mind set mate. Dogs, cats and all animals are just part of our natural planet. We humans are far more destructive than any animal except for maybe 1000 feral donkeys in one place at a time.

In my view 1080 bait is the most stupid thing anybody can spread around the place. It kills more than feral animals.

'They' don't allow dogs in National Parks etc but allow humans who pollute the air and landscape, disturb the flora and fauna, defacate everywhere, leave toilet paper lying around, leave rubbish all over the place and generally stuff the whole place up. Management practices of NP's in every state of this country leave a lot to be desired.

Hope you are staying at home, BIGDOG!
FollowupID: 540218

Follow Up By: equinox - Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 22:29

Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 22:29
Agree Willem,

I remember when I took my dog for a walk (a 300km walk) along the Bibbulmun Track here in WA and I came across a couple, the female half being most (very, very) annoyed with me having my dog with me.

She said, "have you no feelings towards the native animals of the area, the scent of the dog will scare them away."

I thought to myself you s_____ b____ what about your smell, will not that smell scare the animals away too, but I held my tongue.

I said instead that I had Commonweath excemption, and kept on walking.

The poor dog died upon my lap two days later after taking a 1080 bait, but that is another story....

FollowupID: 540228

Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 19:05

Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 19:05
QUOTE: "I think one of the great things is that more and more c.p's are adopting the "No Dogs" policy."

Haha ... a friend of mine owns a dog friendly caravan park, when I asked him about his policy, he said that he "would rather people brought their dogs & left their kids at home, at least people train their dogs!"
FollowupID: 540359

Reply By: On Patrol - Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 20:12

Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 20:12
thecastles
Love your dogs? then take them. They will probably enjoy the trip as much as you. The rest has been well and truly covered above.

Happy Tails!! whoops I meant to say "Happy Trails"

Woooooooooooof
AnswerID: 276290

Reply By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 20:23

Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 20:23
I am not a dog lover or hater (they taste a bit like chicken!!) but anyway I believe dogs show an UNCONDITIOAL LOVE for those who care for them. Take them with you & just "feel" your way around. Best wishes
AnswerID: 276293

Reply By: Rossco td105 - Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 21:17

Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 21:17
Hi Thecastles,

We didn't have any trouble, they are always with us when travelling. As others have said, well behaved and properly trained dogs are a pleasure to be around, and won't cause you any grief on a properly planned trip. As Willem mentioned, keep an eye out for any areas that use 1080 baits, not pleasant for you and worse for your dog.

Ross.
AnswerID: 276306

Reply By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 22:50

Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 22:50
G'day Castles

If your dogs are small like our one is , you can just about get away with taking them anywhere.....we do....Check out my rig pics

Cheers......Dave
AnswerID: 276324

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 23:32

Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 23:32

You don't really call that thing a dog do you? LOL
FollowupID: 540243

Follow Up By: Rossco td105 - Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 23:50

Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 23:50
Love the pic with her on the dash! Classic.

Ross.
FollowupID: 540245

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 00:14

Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 00:14
G'day Richard

She has been called all sorts of things mate...lol....you should see her when she is soaking wet , looks like a drowned rat....When the missus first got her i remember saying "what the bloody hell do you want that thing for" now i wouldn't be without her, we used to have German Sheppard's all the time , after having the mini pommeranian, i wouldn't go back to a big dog again.

Ross

I used to carry my tinny on the roof of the Patrol and i think she used to like getting on the dash because of the shade it used to make, as for the hat , the missus put it on her one time and she seemed to like it , so now every time she's up there , the hat goes on ....lol

Cheers.......Dave
FollowupID: 540246

Reply By: Muzzgit [WA] - Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 00:06

Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 00:06
Paying a fine for having a dog in a national park is one thing but many national parks have regulations harsh enough that can see dogs shot if off the leash.

Leave them behind, and when you are driving back into town twelve months down the track, you can think back and reminisce about all the places you went that you wouldn't have if you had taken the dogs.

You'll be able to think about all the unnessecary stops you didn't have to make so the dogs could drink, pee, poop, run blah blah blah.

Just think, you could go out on a whim and stay at all the nice caravan parks by the beach that don't allow dogs. You could stop in larger towns and cities for lunch which you know you wouldn't do with the dogs.
AnswerID: 276335

Reply By: Stu-k - Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 11:00

Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 11:00
Just leave them at home as my neighbours do. Then they bark all night and day and they wonder why I wave to them with the finger.

Oh and why do you buy some of that 1080 bait? sounds like great stuff.

Enjoy your trip
AnswerID: 276379

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 20:13

Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 20:13
Our 4WD club has a no dogs on trips policy. I'm a dog owner and agree with it.
AnswerID: 276481

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 21:58

Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 21:58
Brew

In your Rig Pic

That kids not poohing on lake Gairdner?

FollowupID: 540405

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 22:36

Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 22:36
Opinions aside if you are going to see australia without risking falling foul of the authorities or spending a fortune on kennels and without risking your pooch
You will be very much limiting the more popular (and many not so popular) places if you take the dogs
Justt in my neck of the woods you would miss out on
Cave hill woodlines, rowles lagoon, goongarrie, Helena aurora ranges, Mt Elvire, cape Le grand, thomas rive, poison creek. thats not even starting
AnswerID: 276536