Caravan Gas Bottle T

Submitted: Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 15:27
ThreadID: 52573 Views:9945 Replies:14 FollowUps:34

I have a 2004 Jayco Eagle.

What I want to do is put a T on the gas bottle - one end to the requlator and the other to a small companion gas BBQ - however I can't find a suitable T or anything that may be similar!

Has anyone got any ideas on what to do / or if they have done something similar, how they did it, and where they got the parts from!

Reply By: disco1942 - Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 15:45

Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 15:45
I'm not sure you can mix HP & LP gas systems. That is probably why you can't find a fitting to do it. I think it is best you consult a gas fitter. A gas fitter should do the job in any case.

AnswerID: 276786

Follow Up By: b.t. - Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 15:48

Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 15:48
They both use gas bottles - its just a pain in the ass having to take a spare 4.5kg bottle to connect - so they are both use LPG.

Its just one of those small round BBQ's with a small Companion burner.

Bunnings sells T's but only for after the Regulator - is it possible to get a burner (round) that is low pressure - or even a Small BBQ that would fit in the Jerry Can Holder?
FollowupID: 540659

Follow Up By: disco1942 - Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 15:59

Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 15:59
There are some caravans fittied with LP BBQs ask round some of the van accessory suppliers.

FollowupID: 540661

Follow Up By: b.t. - Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 15:59

Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 15:59
Sorry - stuffed up the followup above!

What I want to do is Tee off BEFORE the regulator - when it is HP - then run one end of the tee to the Reg, and the other end to the BBQ - however only one will be on at a time.
FollowupID: 540662

Follow Up By: disco1942 - Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 16:11

Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 16:11
I still say - get a gas fitter to do the work.

FollowupID: 540664

Follow Up By: b.t. - Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 16:16

Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 16:16
Probably should, but was going to see if I could do it cheaper first! =]

Thanks for you help anyway.
FollowupID: 540666

Follow Up By: Scrubcat - Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 21:21

Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 21:21
Perfectly legal, safe and ok I was told, available as a retail product at around $45.00. So I bought one. Please see my reply post further down.

Scrubcat
FollowupID: 540703

Reply By: Chris & Debbie - Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 16:54

Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 16:54
You can get a 'T' connections, they are available from camping stores such as Camping World.

AC12T 3/8” Dual Outlet
AC12T is a dual outlet tee to allow the simultaneous use of two Companion camping appliances. Suitable for connecting to a Companion or 3/8” LH LPG camping cylinder.

AnswerID: 276792

Follow Up By: b.t. - Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 17:34

Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 17:34
Camping World - where abouts are they - Would they sell this type of thing at Anaconda or Ray's?

Thanks!
FollowupID: 540672

Follow Up By: Chris & Debbie - Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 17:56

Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 17:56
b.t
Primus makes the adapter you are after and i see that Anaconda stock Primus so they should have it. The following is the same adapter that i have and is exactly what you are after.

PRIMUS - IGP14 Description: 3/8" LH cylinder to 3/8" LH double adaptor with control taps

If you have a gas bottle with the larger valve, POL, you will also need a POL to 3/8" LH adaptor.

You can see them here,
Primus Gas Fittings

FollowupID: 540682

Follow Up By: b.t. - Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 18:13

Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 18:13
Thanks heaps! Has all the parts I need!
FollowupID: 540687

Reply By: Member -Dodger - Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 17:24

Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 17:24
Think about it again as you will need to have a tap to turn this gas off n on for your barby and if the barby is not connected or there is no one around some idiot may open this tap and the result could be rather ugly.
Just a thought.
I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

AnswerID: 276796

Follow Up By: b.t. - Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 17:33

Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 17:33
That is what I was looking for really - a Tee with a tap on each outlet. I hear what your saying as there seems to be a lot of teenagers where we go, and being school holidays etc.
FollowupID: 540671

Reply By: b.t. - Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 17:40

Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 17:40
Ok, worked out EXACTLY what I am after:

POL Male to 2x POL Female Tee - is this possible to get?
AnswerID: 276798

Follow Up By: b.t. - Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 17:43

Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 17:43
Exactly what I am after is:
http://www.adamsgas.co.uk/Product.aspx?id=12&ProductId=820

Anyone know where I can get this is AUS?
FollowupID: 540676

Follow Up By: Aandy(WA) - Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 09:39

Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 09:39
Ray's have exactly what you need.
FollowupID: 540745

Reply By: Shaker - Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 17:45

Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 17:45
Why don't you just go to a plumbing supplies?
AnswerID: 276800

Follow Up By: b.t. - Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 17:47

Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 17:47
Like Plumbtec or something - I will give that a try - the BBQ shop was no help as he told me that nothing will run without a regulator and that I must have the only BBQ that doesn't need one
FollowupID: 540677

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 18:04

Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 18:04
The BBQ shop were in fact correct.

Nothing will run without a regulator.

Some appliances use a regulator close to the bottle, which sounds like your setup. (low pressure)

Others, such as the Companion BBQ are classed as "high Pressure" and use use the gas jets and a restrictor in the gas line to control flow.

If you have found what you think you need on the UK web site, why not order one through them?

FollowupID: 540684

Follow Up By: b.t. - Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 18:24

Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 18:24
Unfortunately they don't ship to Aus.

Yes, the BBQ shop said that a tee can only be put after the regulator though - and said that all the hoses would burst if used without a regulator first.
FollowupID: 540688

Follow Up By: Chris & Debbie - Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 20:02

Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 20:02
Your BBQ shop is wrong....some bbq as some camping gas stoves are high pressure and do not have a regulator they will have a jet or restrictor but no regulator and no you will not blow the hose, what do they think you run from the gas bottle to the camping gas stove?

FollowupID: 540695

Follow Up By: b.t. - Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 22:17

Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 22:17
Yeah, the guy there was pretty useless, when I told him what I had been doing (taking a small 4.5kg gas bottle) he said that it was "safer and easier" and basically wouldn't help me - won't be going back there soon!
FollowupID: 540711

Reply By: Member - Brian (WA) - Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 17:51

Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 17:51
Would proberly not be legal here same as the Macoupler.
try getting direct from them
AnswerID: 276801

Reply By: Mikee5 (Logan QLD) - Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 20:56

Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 20:56
Camping shops do sell low pressure round burners. You could run this from a tee after the regulator. You can also get a bayonet fitting to 'plug' the burner into, which, when unplugged cuts off the gas. Caravan suppliers sell the bayonets.
AnswerID: 276815

Reply By: Scrubcat - Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 21:16

Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 21:16
G`Day,
I bought exactly that, two weeks ago from "Bendigo Cylinder Testing", cost about $45.00. It screws direct into 9kg bottle,then the 3/8 Companion outlet and tap, then the female pol for the regulator to screw in. You can leave it there all the time as the gas to the c/van is regulated and the 3/8 companion outlet is for the portable bar/bee, or as I did, I used a gas light on an extension pole/pipe/thingo and had an all round camp light.
Just needs a cap over the companion thread when not in use, I used like what fits to bottom of chair leg only smaller.

Scrubcat
AnswerID: 276821

Follow Up By: b.t. - Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 22:15

Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 22:15
Thanks for your help! Do you have a contact number / website for this store, and know the name of the product?

Bendigo is not too bad for me, as my Aunty lives there and is coming to Melbourne for Christmas!

Thanks Heaps!
FollowupID: 540710

Follow Up By: b.t. - Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 22:20

Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 22:20
Does anyone know of Quick Release fittings for this type of system - The companion burner has a hose which on the end that plugs into the gas bottle seems to have a very fine hole to let the gas through - can I safely replace this with another hose or would it be easy enough to find a hose that fits onto this (this connection fits onto the small gas bottle - not a POL connection though) and to run into the tee or is this connection going to be just a standard companion fitting - im a bit new to what all the connections actually are called etc.

FollowupID: 540712

Follow Up By: Member - Terry F (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 23:07

Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 23:07
b.t.
Whatever you do re the LPG installation on your van make sure it conforms to Australian Standards 5601 Gas Installations
Section 6.2 LP Systems for Caravans and Catering Vehicles.

I suggest a Licensed Gasfitter, that way when the insurance company or the coroner are asking questions, it won't be you lost for words.

FollowupID: 540714

Follow Up By: b.t. - Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 23:15

Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 23:15
Yeah, a close friend is a plumber, so he should be fine to install / sign off on it =]
FollowupID: 540716

Follow Up By: Scrubcat - Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 14:05

Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 14:05
b.t.
I have thrown the packet away. The fitting has " TYPE GS 1" stamped on it.
I got it from, -- --

Bendigo Cylinder Testing,
179 Woodward Road,
Golden Square,
03 54416964

email me for more info if you wish.
scrub at exemail dot com dot au

Scrubcat
FollowupID: 540785

Follow Up By: b.t. - Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 11:16

Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 11:16
They said they might be able to get one in this week so I'm hoping for that - as the one listed below has been discontinued =[
FollowupID: 540904

Reply By: Member - Ed. C. (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 23:55

Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 23:55
Have a look here

Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

AnswerID: 276844

Follow Up By: b.t. - Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 00:06

Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 00:06
Do you by any chance know the location of the Melbourne store / cost of the products?

Anyway, Thanks!
FollowupID: 540718

Follow Up By: Member - Ed. C. (QLD) - Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 00:31

Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 00:31
No idea on either count, sorry:(

however, on the left of the page, at the bottom, you'll see a "contact us'" button.. you could contact them directly for a list of re-sellers in your area..
Alternatively, there is a "links" button (2nd from bottom), this shows a list of re-sellers nation-wide.. you could print the page, then take it to the nearest one of your choice, & I'm sure they'll see ya right;-))
FWIW, I've generally found my local Mitre10 branch to be pretty good when it comes to such matters:)

Regards, Ed C
Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

FollowupID: 540719

Follow Up By: b.t. - Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 09:04

Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 09:04
Yeh, I sent them an email - but totally missed the links section!

Thanks!
FollowupID: 540732

Reply By: Aandy(WA) - Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 09:45

Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 09:45
b.t. I've read through your thread and it's been interesting reading. I really think it muight be a good idea for you to get someone who knows how to do the job to do it for you as you seem to have a lot of questions. Incorrectly fitted gas appliances can be deadly!
AnswerID: 276877

Reply By: DIO - Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 10:34

Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 10:34
Many interesting and varied reples with a message common to many. FOR CRYING OUT LOUD, CONSULT A GAS-FITTER. Don't mess with high pressure LP as safety of family and others nearby is too important. Happy Christmas.
AnswerID: 276884

Reply By: Mick - Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 10:52

Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 10:52
Yes I agree - get a licenced gas fitter to tell you if it can be done and then do it for you. You will be able to find a gas fitter near you if you can negotiate a phone book. If that's not possible I suggest you go to the nearest plumbing supplies and ask for a lead. For information and advice on gas, electricity and plumbing it's better to seek the advice of qualified tradesmen - for the safety of yourself and your family.
AnswerID: 276890

Follow Up By: b.t. - Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 11:43

Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 11:43
I've talked to my plumber, who has advised me as long as I can get the correct fitting with a tap, it will be safe to do myself - and very simple as I will just run a long flexible hose from the tank to the BBQ.

Thanks to all for your replies!
FollowupID: 540764

Reply By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 11:59

Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 11:59
Come on you people , all he asked was if anyone knows where he can get a fitting that he has described....cant see anything wrong with that ...do you people call a plumber every time your gas bottle runs out??....I mean bloody hell it must be dangerous connecting that hose back up to the bottle again!!!!BEWARE we are talking about gas here!!!.......I cant see anything wrong with what your doing B.T. i mean you must have a bit of a clue , otherwise you wouldn't be doing it....

Sheesh!! if i had to call a plumber every time i done something involving gas , i wouldn't be doing any travelling , but the bloody plumber would be getting a nice bank account

Cheers........Dave
AnswerID: 276900

Follow Up By: Jim from Best Off Road - Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 12:10

Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 12:10
Couldn't have said it better if I tried.

FollowupID: 540765

Follow Up By: b.t. - Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 13:10

Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 13:10
Thanks for your reply Dave,

I agree with you - it is really not all that different from changing a bottle - just on extra thread!

FollowupID: 540774

Follow Up By: AndrewX - Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 13:20

Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 13:20
Borgy and bt maybe you asked too many questions for some people - like do they sell this - easy things to find yourself
FollowupID: 540775

Follow Up By: Scrubcat - Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 13:46

Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 13:46
I agree with Borgy, a gas fitter or plumber would more than likely just look at you and laugh if you asked him to fit this fitting, Geees it doesn`t even require a spanner, it has "wing nut " features so it is only hand tightened and takes about 10 seconds to fit.
Although 10 seconds @ plumbers rates could still be a fair bit of cash. LOL
Scrubcat.
FollowupID: 540780

Follow Up By: b.t. - Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 13:56

Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 13:56
Then they charge you for the call out fee, and charge you for a minimum 1/2 hour etc.
FollowupID: 540781

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 15:36

Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 15:36
Andrew X

For one mate i didnt ask the question, BT did , and as far as im concerned he or anyone else for that matter can ask as many questions as they like....isnt that part of what this forum is about???

"easy things to find yourself"..... if so bloody easy as you state , why didnt you get off your high horse and help the fella out??....or would that have been to hard for you.

FollowupID: 540790

Follow Up By: b.t. - Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 16:27

Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 16:27
These things aren't actually that easy to find - a search for POL tee and the like returned none of the results that I have had so far.

Thanks to all of you guys that helped me out, your help is much appreciated - this will make things much easier for us!

I'm going to call the local plumbtec tomorrow morning (listed as one of the suppliers) and see if they have /can get this in stock and how much it is worth.

Once again, thanks!
FollowupID: 540798

Reply By: b.t. - Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 15:25

Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 15:25
Everyone Thanks for your help!

Just writing to let you know what I have decided to do - for those who want to do it in the future.

The aquaknect Product (link above) is a discontinued line, so that wasn't an option.

I called up Camping world (mentioned above) and they informed me that they were out of stock, but told me to try Supagas.

Supagas told me that they can do it, and it will cost $40 - the guy there had a good idea and was helpful.

I also called Ray's; however they informed me that it would cost around $60 so that was out of the question.

I also called up the joint in Bendigo, however they said they sold their last one 3 weeks ago and could get one in by Friday - they said it would cost $55.

In the end I have decided to go to Supagas - mainly as they are close, and a bit cheaper than the Bendigo Company.

Thanks to all of you guys who posted!

Regards.

(Mod: This thread has run its course and can now be closed.)
AnswerID: 277067