HIRING OF ROOF TOP TENTS

Submitted: Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 18:42
ThreadID: 52575 Views:9696 Replies:8 FollowUps:7

Does anybody know where I can find a place that hires roof top top tents? I am looking for one for my Hilux for a trip to the cape mid next year.
Morto

Reply By: Muddy doe (SA) - Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 18:46

Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 18:46
Would help if we knew what state of Australia you are in...

There is a place here in Adelaide that hires them but that won't be a lot of good to you in Sydney or Melbourne!

Muddy
AnswerID: 276805

Follow Up By: morto1701 - Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 10:35

Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 10:35
Hi Muddy

Especially if I am in Qld. Thanks anyway.
Morto
FollowupID: 540756

Reply By: Member -Signman - Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 18:56

Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 18:56
Yup- a general location would help!! There's a guy at Appin (NSW) hires all that stuff..
AnswerID: 276807

Reply By: Jim from Best Off Road - Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 20:59

Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 20:59
These things can now be bought for as little as $650. Hardly seems worth hiring.

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/BRAND-NEW-ROOF-TOP-TENT-CAMPER-ROOFTOP-RACK-TRAILER_W0QQitemZ110179357237QQihZ001QQcategoryZ123351QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

No idea how good they are.

I also had a customer in the other day who had bought an Apollo roof top tent which had a hard fibre glass cover/lid. It popped up in about 1 minute, canvas wasn't real thick but given that it had a hard roof I reckon it would work well.
AnswerID: 276816

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 21:23

Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 21:23
sorta like camper trailers though, if you only use your $30,000 trailer once or twice a year, its hardly worth buying one.
FollowupID: 540704

Reply By: On Patrol - Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 21:49

Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 21:49
morto1701
Ask yourself why do I want a rooftop tent???

1. To avoid Crocks.
Not necessary if you camp within the "crock wise" rules. These can be seen in Ron & Viv Moon's Cape York adventure guide, your bible for such a trip, a must have, along with Linda Rowe's book "paradise found"

2. Setup time.
A touring tent can be set up in less than 10min. still leaving time to have a beer before bed.

3. Convenience.
Try going out for fire wood with a tent on your roof.

4. Comfort.
Most are narrow and in the humid heat of the cape make some claustrophobic in a cramped bed. Also climbing over each other to get up during the night is not comfortable at all, to say nothing of the drop if you miss that first step.

I did the Cape in May this year and these were the questions I asked myself, I came to the conclusion to go with the touring tent option with NO regrets at all.

I am willing to bet the female of the pack has suggested the roof top for no other reason than the local lizards. Follow the simple rules and it is not an issue at all. Just ask my wife, she was paranoid about them untill she did her homework on crock habits and read the Moon's book.

Be'"crock wise" and have a wonderful trip.
Colin.
See my rig page for some pics of the Cape.
AnswerID: 276828

Follow Up By: jdwynn (Adelaide) - Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 09:19

Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 09:19
Colin

Just found this. Does it cover the croc wise advice in the Moon book?

croc wise

JD
FollowupID: 540738

Follow Up By: morto1701 - Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 10:38

Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 10:38
Thanks On Patrol. Love the Pics of your rig.
Morto
FollowupID: 540757

Follow Up By: On Patrol - Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 17:39

Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 17:39
jdwynn
Thats pretty much it. re Crock wise mate.
Colin

morto1701
Hope the info was of some help mate.
Colin.
FollowupID: 540803

Reply By: Motherhen - Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 22:03

Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 22:03
Hi Morto

My son bought a roof top tent from eBay last year. It is roomy and of similar quality to some of the brand names sold in Australia for heaps more dollars. He and his young lady have toured around the Kimberley and found it ideal. Also when they travel long distances (they are based a long way from their families), when tired they can just drive into the bush and home is ready in a few minutes.

When they can be purchased cheaply, why hire? Even if you don't like it and choose a trailer camper for next time, just sell it again and net cost will most likely be a lot less than hiring.

AnswerID: 276830

Reply By: Smudger - Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 10:50

Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 10:50
ARB make a good one, and our local ARB dealer in Sydney hires them. Try you local guy.
AnswerID: 276888

Follow Up By: morto1701 - Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 10:52

Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 10:52
Thanks Smudger.
FollowupID: 540760

Reply By: Ted (Cairns) - Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 00:13

Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 00:13
I just bought one (thanks Motherhen and others for the advice) from ebay for $499 plus $120 freight (Melbourne to NQ!!) and am very happy with it. One of the plusses is good crossventilation and being higher you catch what breeze there is. Very versatile, much more than a camper trailer, unless you stay many nights in one place.Mine lives 1, on the trailer; 2, on the back of ute; 3, on the roof of LC, depending where we're headed and what else there is to tow.
AnswerID: 277004

Reply By: Member - Rob P (NSW) - Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 19:33

Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 19:33
morto1701,
I know now that u live in QLD,but Shippeshape(NSW) do hire out their tents and I can speak from experience that they are of a high quality.Give em a ring because they are really easy to deal with,being a family business.Had mine since 2003,have done the wet in Darwin with no leaks. Been on my truck for 4 years and still doing the business.. hope this helps?
AnswerID: 277107

Follow Up By: morto1701 - Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 19:02

Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 19:02
Thanks Rob. I appreciate the tip.
Morto
FollowupID: 541219