Compliments of the Season to you all and CYA later

Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 15:15
ThreadID: 52686 Views:3002 Replies:31 FollowUps:31
Yerrr..... well, it's that time of the year again. Xmas parties, good wishes and goodbyes. You even smile at some whom you love to hate....lol.

I have spent too much time on the net this year but what else is there to do? 10 weeks or thereabouts was taken up with 4x4-ing with a big trek to Darwin and back and another one to the Gold Coast and back. Two trips to Warraweena, Flinders Ranges SA. First one was for a Painting Expedition where I was the location driver and the other was Warraweena ExplorOz National Gathering. Later the Victorian Gathering at the Pyrenees was a weekend of fun and games. I put new faces to names and caught up with old EO mates during these excursions. I managed to use up a few parts on the GQ which kept the bank balance low at times but the old bnus is still purring sweetly.

Next year is an unknown quantity as fuel prices are going to dictate how far we venture from our camp. I have another painting trip on in April and then a hard core off -track adventure in mid May into the bowels of the Northern Territory. I will be leading a convoy of around 7 vehicles on an adventure to somewhere east of Lake MacKay. After that I will have to save up for another big trek to the northwest of WA in 2009.

We leave for the East Coast tomorrow via bushtracks and wil hover around the outskirts of the BIG Smoke(Sydney) and then travel back west across the mountains early in the new year.

So CYA all later and take care out there.

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 15:22

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 15:22
have fun Mr.. detour via melb, pickup that Tirfor!!!
AnswerID: 277417

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 19:06

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 19:06
Hmmmmmm
FollowupID: 541435

Reply By: Member - John T (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 15:22

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 15:22
Willem

We have not yet met but I am hopeful to do just that at Innamincka next July. That said - All the very Best Wishes for the Festive Season. Safe travels and come back to again entertain the EO family in 2008.

John T (Lifetime Member)
VKS-737 Mobile 2619
Selcall 2619
"Argue for your limitations and sure enough they're yours" - Richard Bach in "Illusions"

AnswerID: 277418

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 19:07

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 19:07
Likewise John. See you at Innamincka

FollowupID: 541439

Reply By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 15:27

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 15:27
CYA Willem

Have a great trip mate , and all the best for chrissy and the new year

Cheers.....Dave
AnswerID: 277420

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 19:08

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 19:08
Thanks Dave...no worries

FollowupID: 541440

Reply By: Footloose - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 15:31

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 15:31
Have a safe and happy holiday Willem.
AnswerID: 277421

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 19:08

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 19:08
Thanks Footy. You take care too

FollowupID: 541441

Reply By: Old Dave - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 15:38

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 15:38
Willem

You take care and have a good trip,

Look forward to see you back on the FORUM in 08

Regards dave
AnswerID: 277424

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 19:09

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 19:09
Cheers Dave
FollowupID: 541442

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 15:39

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 15:39
Hi Willem,

Thanks and all the best for the festive season to you as well. We may run into each other on the outskirts of the big smoke as I am visiting family at Emu Plains and Luddenham - leaving Saturday.

It is great to reflect on the past year and reflecting on the things achieved and enjoyed. I hope you can continue your trips in the future.

I'll keep an eye out for a well used two tone maroon GQ.

Theo

AnswerID: 277425

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 19:11

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 19:11
Hi Theo

My GQ is very distinct with dints in the bodywork denoting the odd senior moment....lol

FollowupID: 541443

Reply By: Des Lexic - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 15:46

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 15:46
Best Wishes to Judith, Jedda and yourself in that order. LOL
Travel safely and keep well.
I'm sure that there is a free campground in Mittagong too if you needed one.
Catch up again next year.
des
AnswerID: 277428

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 19:12

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 19:12
Thanks mate and the same for you and Elaine.

Yes, a lunch stop at Mittagong has been arranged.

FollowupID: 541444

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 15:51

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 15:51
Merry X-mas and a Happy New Year to yourself, Judith and Jedda.

K & D

PS

You never did say what was the final outcome on the 12V issue with Waeco.

AnswerID: 277429

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 19:14

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 19:14
Thanks Lucy. Merry all to you and yours.

No outcome of Waeco problem not been resolved yet, but am convinced it is a crook car battery. Will advise in the new year.

FollowupID: 541446

Reply By: Peter 2 - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 16:15

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 16:15
Willem
safe travelling, give us a ring when you arrive in the big smoke and we can catch up, we're on the outskirts too ;-))
AnswerID: 277433

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 19:16

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 19:16
Thanks Peter. Hopefully we may be able to swing a meet somewhere. Will keep you posted after Xmas.

FollowupID: 541448

Reply By: Moose - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 16:28

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 16:28
Willem
Take care on the roads - too many idiots out there.
Merry Christmas and may 2008 be kind to you and the family.
Cheers from the Moose
AnswerID: 277435

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 19:17

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 19:17
Thanks Moose and the best to you and yours.

Yes, I will be careful out there.

FollowupID: 541451

Reply By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 16:33

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 16:33
You gunna drop in ?
Willie
AnswerID: 277436

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 19:17

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 19:17
Yes
FollowupID: 541452

Reply By: equinox - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 16:37

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 16:37
All the best mate to you and your family.

I'll be way on the other side of Lake Mackay (Wilson Cliffs) mid next year hopefully.

Our paths may not cross until 2009 it would seem.

AnswerID: 277437

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 19:19

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 19:19
We will catch up one day....lol

You have a good one too.

FollowupID: 541454

Reply By: Member - MUZBRY (VIC) - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 17:05

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 17:05
Look after ones self and ones wife, Judith.
Have a real good Christmas and a happy new year..
Be careful of the no tollerence speed cameras.
See you at Innaminka in July

Murray

AnswerID: 277441

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 19:29

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 19:29
Thanks Murray. Hopefully I won't get fined for doing 20km/h below the speed limit....lol

FollowupID: 541457

Reply By: Member - Luke (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 17:18

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 17:18
Take it easy Willem.

Have a Merry Christmas and a happy new year to you and yours.

Hope to see you and Judith in the new year sometime, wherever it is

Cheers Luke
AnswerID: 277444

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 19:35

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 19:35
Thanks Luke

Should catch up with you in January some time.

FollowupID: 541459

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 17:30

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 17:30
Old bloke (hahahahahaha),

Compliments of the season to you and Judith. There's plenty of us on the outskirts of Sydney.

Travel safe.

AnswerID: 277446

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 19:36

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 19:36
Hahahahaha Gramps

FollowupID: 541460

Reply By: Jim from Best Off Road - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 17:49

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 17:49
Codiments of the Seasoning to you Willie.

Have you ever thought about writing some form of travel book?
AnswerID: 277455

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 19:40

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 19:40
G'day Jim

You have asked me this question before...lol

No, I am not enthused to do something like that. I get lazy and haven't done enough writing as it is.

FollowupID: 541461

Follow Up By: Jim from Best Off Road - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 21:08

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 21:08
Get off your old arse and do it.

There are so many supposed "experts" writing these sorts of books. Most of them wouldn't know their arse from their elbow.

Don't you think you know as much as Malcolm Douglas???

Those "Boiling Billy" people make a fair living travelling and camping and writing about it.

Why are you travelling for free?

Anyway, your choice in life. I just reckon you're doing yourself a gross disservice.

No offence intended, I just think you could travel for free, rather than having to save for it.

Buggered if I haver ever met or travelled with a better tour guide than you.

Jim
FollowupID: 541480

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 17:50

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 17:50
Willem,

Have a good one, watch out for the traffic in the big smoke, they tend to travel very fast here.

I am also in the outskirts but as usual not hanging around for long.

Hope to catch up again soon.

AnswerID: 277459

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 19:50

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 19:50
Thanks Wayne. I will take care.

FollowupID: 541465

Reply By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 17:57

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 17:57
Safe travels Willem.
AnswerID: 277462

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 19:52

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 19:52
Cheers Matt
FollowupID: 541467

Reply By: On Patrol - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 18:30

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 18:30
We are heading into the Blue Mtns over New Year for 4 days Mate. Willem you, or any one, wanna tag along?

Jenolan Caves, Kanangra-Boyd NP, Kowmung River, Dingo Dell and camping at Yerranderie for 3 nights (29th - 31st leaving 1/1/2008). Yerranderie

Have a great Christmas and I hope the New Year brings all that you wish for yourself.
Colin.
AnswerID: 277470

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 19:53

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 19:53
Thanks Colin.

Will take a raincheck on that as my program seems to be fully booked....lol

FollowupID: 541468

Reply By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 19:04

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 19:04
Happy Christmas Willem & Safe Travelling to & your Family. I always enjoy reading your many posts & input. Hope you Don't mind & although we have never met I sometimes think of you as the "grandfather" of this here forum!! LOL & many best wishes.
AnswerID: 277476

Follow Up By: On Patrol (East Coast) - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 19:22

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 19:22
Well Opa Willem
how old do you feel now???????? LOL

Barry I understand what you were trying to say, I just hope the "Grandfather" does, He he he.
FollowupID: 541455

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 19:43

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 19:43
Hahahahaha... I am not the oldest on this forum. There are a number of veru senior cits imparting their knowledge from time to time.

FollowupID: 541462

Reply By: GREENDOG - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 20:19

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 20:19
All the best Willem to you and your family mate and keep it safe.cheer's GREENDOG
AnswerID: 277491

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 22:18

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 22:18
Cheers GREENDOG
FollowupID: 541499

Reply By: Martyn (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 20:27

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 20:27
Keep on Patrollin big fella, all the very best to you for the festive season, safe travellin. Hope Santa brings you a nice present other than the tirfor Truckster is talkin about..
Keep the shiny side up

AnswerID: 277494

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 22:19

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 22:19
Yes, Santa arrived early with a set of 500w lights for the shed. Gentle hint to go there at night instead of annoying people on EO ...LOL

FollowupID: 541500

Reply By: Nick R (VIC) - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 22:06

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 22:06
MC & HNY to the 3 of you, hope to catch up in March
N, S, L & W
Carpe Cerevisi

AnswerID: 277529

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 22:21

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 22:21
Cheers Nick. Dunno about March though, as it coincides with the Art Prize week. Will see how things turn out.

FollowupID: 541502

Reply By: Outnabout David (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 22:08

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 22:08
Have a good and safe break you silly ol bugger.

AnswerID: 277530

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 22:23

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 22:23
Yer not so young yerself yer silly fella.....lol

Have a good one.

FollowupID: 541503

Reply By: Member - Littleborgy (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 22:15

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 22:15
Have a good, safe trip Willem... Take it easy on the road, as others have said, there's too many idiots out there...

All the best to you, Judith & family for Christmas & the new year.

See you at Innamincka in July.

Cheers, Brad
AnswerID: 277533

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 22:24

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 22:24
G'day Brad

Yep, no worries. Have a good one too and see ya up north in July.

FollowupID: 541505

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 22:37

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 22:37
Cheers to you , Judith and Jedda
from Me , Robyn and Benney

Have a good one , and hope to meet again one day

AnswerID: 277542

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 07:09

Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 07:09
Cheers Richard

Maybe we can meet up in 2009 when I am planning a visit to the West again.

FollowupID: 541532

Reply By: Member - vivien C (VIC) - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 22:42

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 22:42
Willem,

Merry Christmas to you and Judith. I hope that you find many more "roads less travelled" during 2008.

All the best,

Viv
AnswerID: 277543

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 07:11

Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 07:11
Thanks Viv

Going off today on a road less travelled :-) Due east via some backtracks until we get to the Southern Highlands of NSW.

Take care
FollowupID: 541533

Reply By: Twintrail(W.A.) - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 23:52

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 23:52
hi willem.wish you a merry christmas and a happy new year,the rambler and i hope to spend more time with you when we next meet .coconuts are us .regards pedro.
AnswerID: 277564

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 07:13

Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 07:13
No, worries Pedro, you naughty bugger.....lol

Never know where a chance meeting will happen again.
FollowupID: 541534

Reply By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 04:06

Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 04:06
Hi Willem,
Safe travels and a good xmas to you too.
Sorry I won't be able to catch up whilst u are in my part of the world as I too am heading off on Friday for the Broken hill area.
Have fun and looking forward to catching up mid year
AnswerID: 277573

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 07:16

Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 07:16
G'day Peter

Oh well, thems the breaks.

Will keep you posted on developments in 08

Have a safe journey to BH

FollowupID: 541536

Reply By: Willem - Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 07:20

Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 07:20
Thanks to everyone for your replies.

We are out of here.

AnswerID: 277580

Reply By: In Good Time - Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 10:07

Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 10:07
Willem

All the best to you and Judith for christrmas and the new year.
Safe travels and you never know who you may meet along the way.

Pete.
AnswerID: 277606