Lights protruding from bullbar - legal or no?

Submitted: Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 22:24
ThreadID: 52750 Views:7573 Replies:15 FollowUps:22
Good evening all,

My old LightForce 240's stick out past the front of the factory nudge bar. I have driven around for a while like this and never been pulled over (in Vic). Have just fitted a SmartBar and again, they stick out too far. I do have a set of Nite Stalker lights that would fit no problem.

We're off next week for a 6 month trip around Oz and am wondering if anyone is knowledgable on what the laws regarding this are in SA, WA & NT?

Would love to have the LightForce on but don't want to be fined on the trip.

Mark.

Reply By: Shaker - Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 22:32

Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 22:32
Maybe you should ask a licensed Roadworthy certificate tester.
In my opinion they shouldn't protrude, but I would think the likelihood of getting booked would be very slim, particularly as you see vehicles with fishing rod holders on the bull bar.
AnswerID: 277895

Reply By: MAVERICK(WA) - Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 22:34

Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 22:34
from some deep recess of the brain i seem to remember that the lights are not supposed to protude beyond the front extremity of the bar - they are also supposed to be equidistant in offset from the centre line..........so you can't have 1 or 3 or 5 but you can 2 or 4 or 6 or..........whatever as long as they are equals. as for getting fines - generally if you don't stuff up or attract attention life isn't too bad. last year i did a 6mth trip around Aust. and took all the rear seats out and kept my 4 poster bar and even with some people warning of sire consequences if caught - nothing......zero.....zilch. maybe just went to very nice places or just maybe the old brown maverick is too boring to bring down the wrath of the law. just go for it and if challenged be nice and explain how it is a holiday and you'll out of there soon and make sure you post where and when it happens and we can all avoid it like the plague. have a nice time on your trip. rgds
Slow down and relax......

AnswerID: 277897

Follow Up By: Shaker - Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 22:43

Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 22:43
I think you are only allowed 4 driving lights.
FollowupID: 541883

Follow Up By: mike w (WA) - Saturday, Dec 22, 2007 at 11:40

Saturday, Dec 22, 2007 at 11:40
in WA- max of 6 forward facing driving lights, including original headlights. So yes, for most 4 spotlights, but those vehicles that have the twin headlight highbeam thing, only 2.
FollowupID: 541931

Reply By: Member - BIGDOG G (WA) - Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 23:13

Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 23:13
Gday Mark, You know the answer to this, of course its illegal , so is driving with your elbow out the window. Dont draw attention to yourself and all is well.

Cheers..............BIGDOG
AnswerID: 277901

Reply By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 23:20

Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 23:20
I don't think you'll have any issues what so ever. Coppers aren't looking for people in well maintained 4x4's with a few decent accessories. It doesn't set the "suspicious" radar off. Now if you were driving an early model Hi-lux ute sporting a fair whack of panel damage and no tailgate, a 14" lift with tyres that looked like they were swiped from a 120 tonne haulpak, enough lights above the roofline to roast a roo at 250 metres, the throaty roar of a V8 petrol engine with "P" plates displayed front and rear and the adolescent urge to light all four up when the signals turned green.....they may be interested!

Cheers. Mick

Disclaimer!
This post was based on no actual forumite alive or otherwise. I can't be held responsible if your rig resembles any of the above remarks.

AnswerID: 277903

Reply By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 23:27

Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 23:27
Yes Mark, it is illegal to have anything protuding from the front of the bullbar. And so is having spotlights facing forward from the roof. you are allowed to have them facing to the side from the roof.
I have 4 on the roof of my ute and did a 2 1/2 mth trip to WA from sydney and never got pulled over once.
I wouldn't be too worried as long as you don't draw attention to yourself and have a bloody good time.
peter
AnswerID: 277904

Follow Up By: Member - Glenn D (NSW) - Saturday, Dec 22, 2007 at 21:35

Saturday, Dec 22, 2007 at 21:35
Hows it going Peter,

The last rego check I had done the guy was carrying on about all the things he loved knocking back on modified 4wds , he happened to metion roof mounted lights being his favourite . He didnt have a definitive answer when I asked about a model of jeep that has these standard fitted into the stock roof rack , if it comes standard it has to have passed compliance checks .

Glenn.
FollowupID: 542012

Reply By: Member - Mark H (VIC) - Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 23:45

Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 23:45
Thanks everyone,

If I have room left in the vehicle I may even screw them off during the day and help the airflow, which would help in 40+ days towing. Not planning on much night driving but murphy's law...

LightForce it is.

Mark.
AnswerID: 277909

Reply By: Member - Doug T (FNQ) - Saturday, Dec 22, 2007 at 00:05

Saturday, Dec 22, 2007 at 00:05
Couldn't be any worse of some I have in my extensive travels, just go with the flow ,

AnswerID: 277912

Reply By: Dunco (NSW) - Saturday, Dec 22, 2007 at 00:51

Saturday, Dec 22, 2007 at 00:51
Yep Illegal.

You can put them on as some have said and hope you don't get booked...but ...depending on where you live you MAY have to get a roadworthy down the track.

And the worst thing...and why this law was enacted....is you might accidentally run someone over and cut them to pieces with your "extended" lights...and end up in Court....worse case scenario !!

Your choice old mate :)
AnswerID: 277915

Reply By: Matt(WA) - Saturday, Dec 22, 2007 at 01:09

Saturday, Dec 22, 2007 at 01:09
Hi Mark,
I wouldnt worry about it too much. Check out Bundy Boy's(Darren) WA Rig. He is a road pilot and works with the boys in blue all the time and he has no drama's Bundy's GQ
Matt

AnswerID: 277916

Follow Up By: Ray - Saturday, Dec 22, 2007 at 06:46

Saturday, Dec 22, 2007 at 06:46
Why would Bundy want all that crap on his car when he can only escort during daylight hours?
FollowupID: 541895

Follow Up By: Matt(WA) - Saturday, Dec 22, 2007 at 12:24

Saturday, Dec 22, 2007 at 12:24
Hi Ray,
Bundy does a lot of long haul up to the coast and if he hasnt got a job to bring back down the coast he comes back. Drives till he is tired, sleeps and drives some more. I have seen the damage that roo's have done to the front of his car, and have helped make a guard for his steering components to keep them in place. When you work foryourself the quicker you can get back for the next job the better I guess.
Matt

FollowupID: 541936

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Saturday, Dec 22, 2007 at 20:51

Saturday, Dec 22, 2007 at 20:51
Just had a look at his rig (Bundy) and the lights appear to be slightly behind or even with the bar.
FollowupID: 542005

Reply By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Saturday, Dec 22, 2007 at 08:31

Saturday, Dec 22, 2007 at 08:31
Spotted [pun] the coppers latest candy car [highway patrol] in town yesterday arvo, had the two spotties bolted well ahead of the nudge bar.

Also noticed the lack of indication when he went through a round-about

Monkey see...monkey do....lol.

I know most of the coppers in town and their not really interested in the average bloke, his rig or whatever accessories hanging off it. The ones they are after are the idiots, speedsters, drunks, hoons and me....hahaha.

Cheers.....Lionel.
AnswerID: 277936

Follow Up By: DIO - Saturday, Dec 22, 2007 at 09:23

Saturday, Dec 22, 2007 at 09:23
M'mmm sounds a boit 'norty'. However, as you weren't aware of the 'exact' cirumstances under which the driver may or may not have been operating, it is impossible to make judgement. Don't forget, EMERGENCY VEHICLES do not have to comply with 'road rules' when operating as such - regardless of lights/siren operating etc.
Re the protruding lights, if it is illegal, don't do it - regardless of what others might or might not do. Get pinched, go to Court and tell the magistrate that you only did it because every one else does. Bet it won't get you very far. Most kids grow out of that type of behaviour by the time the reach 12 - 14 (perhaps/hopefully) as they soon realise that by following others it will only get them into trouble.
Have a Happy and safe Christmas.
FollowupID: 541910

Follow Up By: Shaker - Saturday, Dec 22, 2007 at 12:46

Saturday, Dec 22, 2007 at 12:46
What indicating do you need to do, when going "through a roundabout"?
FollowupID: 541938

Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Saturday, Dec 22, 2007 at 14:48

Saturday, Dec 22, 2007 at 14:48
Dunno mate, Im totaly confused on this one. Apparently you have to indicate your intention as you enter the roundabout and also as you depart.
I can understand that, if you turn left or stay on the roundabout but Ive always been used to the old system where you go straight across you dont indicate, now you have to.

I see so many variations at roundabouts I just use common sense and the right hand rule. Kept me out of trouble so far...lol.

Cheers...Lionel.
FollowupID: 541951

Follow Up By: nickb - Saturday, Dec 22, 2007 at 14:51

Saturday, Dec 22, 2007 at 14:51
Not sure where you are but in WA the law basically says you have to indicate left 90 degrees before you exit a roundabout.

This link has all the roundabout rules, including pics. Page 65. May take a while to load.
Site Link
FollowupID: 541952

Follow Up By: Stephen M (NSW) - Saturday, Dec 22, 2007 at 18:39

Saturday, Dec 22, 2007 at 18:39
Firstly I have seen heaps of cop cars here (Penrith) where you can buy a bar about 40cm in length. You take your number plate off and this goes behind then put plate back onto the bar. Has two brackets facing forward of the number plate attached to the bar and this is where the driving/fog lights are mounted to. Well infront of any bumper bar. Available from Supercheap amd most spare part shops for around $70. I had one on my camry back in 94. As far as roundabouts go you are suppose to signal when exiting from the roundabout even when going straight ahead. Im with Lionel on this one. If going straight ahead you should just enter, exit. If turning either right or left off roundabout then indicator should be used. This crap of indicating when going straight ahead is bloody dangerous as some people have a habit of using the blinker when approaching making the other driver waiting to enter think there turning. Merry xmas to all. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 541987

Reply By: Member - Lance S (VIC) - Saturday, Dec 22, 2007 at 08:42

Saturday, Dec 22, 2007 at 08:42
Mark, when i bought the STR 3 years ago, i had the driving lights fitted to the Nissan bar by Nissan and they never said a word, so i pressumed that it was legal. The only PITA is that u can't push anything with the bar cause of the lights.

cheers,

Lance
Home Away from Home

AnswerID: 277937

Reply By: V8Diesel - Saturday, Dec 22, 2007 at 09:27

Saturday, Dec 22, 2007 at 09:27
I drove around OZ with a set of polished bull horns mounted to my bullbar. Plenty of laughs and not one problem.

Only got stopped once and that was for a fruit fly check on the
Nullabor.

Don't worry about it.

Here's another tip. Invest a few hundred bucks and keep it aside just for fines. Pretend it's already gone and that way if you ever get pinged......it's already sorted. Forget about it. Life's too short to let the PC fun police Nazi's get you down.

You never have to worry about them again. Easy!
AnswerID: 277944

Reply By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) - Saturday, Dec 22, 2007 at 10:17

Saturday, Dec 22, 2007 at 10:17
If you are concerned about your lights I would stop 4wding....most things on 4wd you will find is on the wrong side of the law, but then again most things we do in life is on the wrong side too.

Some of the illegal things are....

Antennas on bull bars.
Fishing rod holders.
Roof racks.
Tyre speed ratings.
Suspension kits.
After market seats or their mountings.
Roof consols.
Vehicle weight.

Things hanging of the dash like CB radios, GPS, computers and not forgetting toggle switches that don't n meet ADR approval.

So if the law wanted to get you they have many thing to choose from.

So hopefully I haven't scared you to much but the lights would be the last thing I would look at.

Regards Richard

AnswerID: 277947

Follow Up By: Shaker - Saturday, Dec 22, 2007 at 17:26

Saturday, Dec 22, 2007 at 17:26
The items that you have mentioned are not illegal per se.
They are only illegal if they have been fitted outside of roadworthy or ADR parameters.
FollowupID: 541973

Follow Up By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) - Saturday, Dec 22, 2007 at 20:20

Saturday, Dec 22, 2007 at 20:20
If you have a look at the proper ADR's then you will find yes they are illegal if you follow the ADR rulings to a Tee.

It is illegal to have anything protruding from a dash board, fishing rod holder are illegal for having sharp edges and protrude from the body work, roof consols you can hit your head on much the same as why roll cages are illegal.

People tend to carry to much weight on their roof racks...I think it is something like 100kg max (two 16 inch mags and tyres put you over).

Most 4wds are over weight when set up for touring or going away, our Hilux is within 50Kg's of being too heavy when loaded and we just have the normal stuff.

Any suspension over 35 to 50mm in most states is illegal.

After market seats are illegal unless ADR approved then you have to use ADR approved mounts for that specific vehicle.

Most people fit more aggressive off road tyres the there standard HT rated tyres; some off road tyres have a lower speed rating. it would not be hard and whilst on tyres most people fit larger diameter ones exceeding the 15mm max dia increase.

So if they wanted to get technical and defect you they will.

What about all the Nissan Patrol owners who block of there EGR valve...BIG DEFECT.

Regards Richard
FollowupID: 542001

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Dec 22, 2007 at 23:02

Saturday, Dec 22, 2007 at 23:02
Richard,

With the notable exception of the fishing rod holders, my Chevvy is illegal in every other aspect you mention.

Add to that things such as:

1). 20mm more offset on my wheels than standard,
2). replacement of internal mirror with a "tv" screen for the rear-view cameras,
3). electrical gear that stays on even when the vehicle is switched off and keys removed
4). modified electric window circuit so that windows can be operated without the key being in the ignition
5). L_O_U_D air horns
6). Loud engine/exhaust
7). HID replacement of standard headlights (without being altered to being self-levelling &/or having washers/wipers fitted)

and you may as well handcuff me and frog-march me off to the calaboose and thow-away the key....... hahaha

This whole thing is total bull-sh_t.

FollowupID: 542027

Follow Up By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) - Sunday, Dec 23, 2007 at 09:47

Sunday, Dec 23, 2007 at 09:47
It would be safe to say any 4x4 that ventures off road is more then likely illegal in some form.

It is a load of bull-sh_t what the people in the know think is dangerous....it's the same thing with people in fast cars having boost gauge and a monster tacho mounted on the dash or "A" pillar...instant defect why because the police can as the vehicle does not meet ADR rules.

So who has a turbo timer fitted....bad on you another defect.

Thank god they don't enforce alot of these stupid ADR laws and turn a blind eye to it.

Roachie it's NOT illegal to have HID headlights aslong as you have auto leveling and washers fitted to them, thats why I carry a spray bottle to clean them and a screw drive to adjust them. LOL....

Heres another thing most of us would be done for including me is having a non ADR approved reversing light.

Regards Richard

FollowupID: 542083

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Dec 23, 2007 at 10:26

Sunday, Dec 23, 2007 at 10:26
Quote: "Heres another thing most of us would be done for including me is having a non ADR approved reversing light"....

Sorry, I forgot to add that one to my list: Guilty as charged x 2 (as I have 2 of these lights which I can switch on from the cab; great for shining a light onto the gate you've just passed through at 11pm).

Also have 2 gauges mounted on my "A" Pillar (in a pod). Strewth I'm a major crime-gang boss!!!! ;-))
FollowupID: 542087

Follow Up By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) - Sunday, Dec 23, 2007 at 11:25

Sunday, Dec 23, 2007 at 11:25
And to think we go away with a criminal or two or three or...... shame on you shame.

What about all your warning devices????

But as you know those nice people from the goverment are only looking out for our safety.

FollowupID: 542094

Follow Up By: Shaker - Sunday, Dec 23, 2007 at 11:31

Sunday, Dec 23, 2007 at 11:31
Turbo timer is not illegal, but walking away from the vehicle with the engine running is.
FollowupID: 542095

Follow Up By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) - Sunday, Dec 23, 2007 at 16:54

Sunday, Dec 23, 2007 at 16:54
And nether are HID lights sitting on the passanger seat but having a bald tyre on a rim in your vehicle or having lights fitted that have not been wired up are illegal.
FollowupID: 542136

Reply By: QLD Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Dec 23, 2007 at 17:28

Sunday, Dec 23, 2007 at 17:28
Mark,

Darkie just had his Engineer's Certificate done on Thursday, I have the Lightforce 240 lights and they protrude slightly from the front of the bar. Not one mention of them being illegal for both Vic or NSW.

AnswerID: 278133

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Dec 23, 2007 at 17:47

Sunday, Dec 23, 2007 at 17:47
G'day Kev,
Sorry, slightly OT, but have you had the GVM increased with the dual cab set-up? I'd be curious as to how much payload you will have now?

FollowupID: 542151

Follow Up By: QLD Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Dec 23, 2007 at 18:29

Sunday, Dec 23, 2007 at 18:29
Roachie,

The Engineer passed it without any issues and has posted the certificate to me as he likes to take his time doing them :((
So when I get it I will let you know what he has calculated

FollowupID: 542155

Reply By: Member -Walkabout(NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 09:18

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 09:18
Not sure about the legalities....but do you want your $500 spotties to be the first thing to greet the roos?
AnswerID: 278422

Follow Up By: Member - Mark H (VIC) - Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 15:32

Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 15:32
The idea of having such big lights is to NOT hit the roos in the first place! Even so, if they were behind the first point of contact on the bar, the roo's body would still find its way in to the lights as it deforms...nice thought.

As it turns out my driving lights now only poke out an inch or so from my new bullbar so I'm happy with that.

Mark.
FollowupID: 542797