Thanks Al and Lyn, I now have Darkie at home:))

Submitted: Sunday, Dec 23, 2007 at 20:16
ThreadID: 52806 Views:4714 Replies:10 FollowUps:18
I arrived home this afternoon after travelling to Romsey to pick Darkie up. The trip down was pretty uneventful but it seems I bought the rain to downtown Romsey and the rest of the eastern seaboard LOL

Al helped me fit the side steps on Wednesday afternoon and I also transfered all the stuff from under the seats in the triton into the drawer under the tray of Darkie. It was quite suprising how much was under those seats :)

Darkie got the green light from the Engineer on Thursday morning and that afternoon we changed the loan tyres over to the good ones. Not long after that the heavens opened and a light shower of rain dumped about 40mm in 20 mins.
The creek at the back of Lyn and Al's soon flooded and their 2 kids and the dog were out playing in the water.

I had a relaxing day on Friday, I took Darkie for my first drive and refuelled him ready for the trip home. I could have left Friday but I wasn't sure if anyone was comming to the open invite Lyn had posted. I ended up leaving at 3am Saturday morning with it still raining.

I made good time to the border considering the weather and the fact it was the 1st weekend of school holidays. I turned off the Hume Highway onto the Olympic highway and made my way up to Molong then onto Wellington. The rain seemed to be getting heavier and I missed the turn to Gulgong so took the next turn to Dunedoo. That road is sealed for the 1st 60km then is a gravel/dirt road. After comming around a blind lefthand sweeping corner I had to hit the anchors as the powers to be had blocked the road at a causeway. It had about 1 foot of water over it and was flowing reasonably quickly. The causeway was 2 lanes wide and concrete, so I tried out High range in Darkie and drove through it. A few miles down the road I came across an oncoming 2wd and flagged him down to tell him that he wouldn't get through.

I stopped at Coolah for a coffee (Driver Reviver gotta love em) only to find out that the road between Willow Tree and Premer was closed and that B Doubles were not getting through, so another detour up to Gunnadah was needed. I arrived in Tamworth about 5pm yesterday afternoon. All up I did 1150km in a day and it took me 14 hours.

Today I met up with Kiwi and her clan as well as John T in Tamworth at about 7:30am. After a bit of a chat I hit the road again and arrived back in Woolgoolga at around 2pm.

Darkie averaged about 18L/100km or 5.5km/L of Diesel. He is a bit of a slug going up hills but is what I expected of a non turbo 4.2 1HZ. The Finance minister has approved funds for the turbo already LOL Just need to convince her about needing to do the exhaust upgrade at the same time ;)

So for all the effort and waiting I must admit that it well worth it. It would not have happened without the great assistance from Lyn and Al. So Thank you to both of them.

And Lucky can you tell me how to get rid of dog drool and hair from the inside of Darkie ;)

Cheers and Merry Christmas

Kev and Darkie

Reply By: Dave B (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 23, 2007 at 20:24

Sunday, Dec 23, 2007 at 20:24
I can almost see the smile on your face from here Kev.

Happy Christmas

'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

AnswerID: 278166

Follow Up By: Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Dec 23, 2007 at 20:29

Sunday, Dec 23, 2007 at 20:29
Dave,

You have no idea LOL

The dirt section of the trip was the most satisfying, it was good to be able to drive in the pouring rain and mud, and not slide all over the place like the Triton did a few weeks ago on the trip up to Calliope.

FollowupID: 542183

Reply By: jdwynn (Adelaide) - Sunday, Dec 23, 2007 at 22:05

Sunday, Dec 23, 2007 at 22:05
Kev
It's a sweet looking thing (even for a yota!!) - enjoy. Good luck with everything and have a great Xmas - we'll catch you in the New Year.
Cheers JD
AnswerID: 278182

Follow Up By: Kev & Darkie - Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 08:05

Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 08:05
JD,

Even Missan owners are now lusting over him LOL

I hope Santa comes and gives you a Toy-ota ha ha

FollowupID: 542217

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 07:25

Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 07:25
Kev,

Now that you have a Toyota driver you will receive your official Toyota owners membership to the "Club".

From your post a good GPS might be the next investment so that you can find your way home in the rain.
Just because B Doubles can't drive through a bit of water it should not stop a Toyota. Should not say that, you did the right thing and enjoyed a part of the country that you might not have seen before.

Have fun with the new vehicle and be prepared to be stopped and asked about the modifications. The wave will be different now as Toyota drivers will show some respect and you will get the full wave or better still the "Toyota Nod"

Have a Merry Christmas and Toyota New Year.

AnswerID: 278199

Follow Up By: Kev & Darkie - Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 07:57

Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 07:57
Wayne,

A good GPS is on the cards, I just want to fit Darkie out a bit more first LOL

Hope to see you in January at the West Kunderang gathering.

Merry Christmas and safe travels in the High Country.

FollowupID: 542216

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 17:15

Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 17:15
Your official Toyota membership comes with free fleecing for parts and servicing for the life of the vehicle, note NOT for the life of the driver cause you'll be paying off borrowings into your estate hehehehe

Damn peeved I mist out seeing you Kev, maybe next time

Have a good one mate you and yours

FollowupID: 542303

Follow Up By: Kev & Darkie - Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 17:32

Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 17:32
Bonz,

I am still trying to get the dog smell out of Darkie LOL

That Droopy would be a good place for spares I think;))

FollowupID: 542306

Reply By: Rock Crawler - Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 08:06

Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 08:06
Glad you got home safe , we have been under water here also in a big way , finally got a list damages finished last night.

Sorting you out today also

AnswerID: 278200

Follow Up By: Kev & Darkie - Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 08:30

Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 08:30
I think a Snorkel would have made life a bit easier, as his flippers were pretty good in the wet ;))

FollowupID: 542218

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 08:09

Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 08:09
G'day Kev,
Pleased to read about your safe arrival after having thoroughly checked that Darkie's windscreen wipers are in good working order.
Cheers mate and have fun fitting him out with all the "necessary" gear.
AnswerID: 278201

Follow Up By: Kev & Darkie - Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 08:33

Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 08:33
The wipers got one hell of a workout, a few minor additions to go on as soon as possible and we may be able to get away off road in some comfort.

Merry Christmas
Kev

FollowupID: 542220

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 08:59

Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 08:59
Good to know you are home safe Kev. Sorry I hadn't got there for a beer or three mate
AnswerID: 278209

Follow Up By: Kev & Darkie - Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 11:07

Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 11:07
I could have helped fit the rear bar for you. I reckon that I could be pretty handy with the grinder LOL

Have a good Christmas and New Year

FollowupID: 542248

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 16:08

Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 16:08
Hahhaha, Kev, had you practiced on Darkie I may have taken up the offer. I reckoned Al, having taken off the bar, would know all the tricks getting it on Kath's bottom end. LMAO
FollowupID: 542290

Follow Up By: Kev & Darkie - Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 18:40

Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 18:40
John,

I have dabbled as an accessory fitter before, i reckon a rear bar would be a tad heavy ATM. I reckon that I could have found a spare set of wheels instead though to get Kath a bit dirty ;))

Kev

FollowupID: 542312

Reply By: Des Lexic - Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 10:03

Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 10:03
Good top hear of Darkies safe arrival home. You have me drooling too.
Looking forward to checking him out some time.
AnswerID: 278223

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 10:29

Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 10:29
Hey Des, Bring the 50 over here and I'll supply the 4" angle grinder, the disks and the labour.....we'll get you into a dual cab too....... hahahaha

Avagoodun
FollowupID: 542242

Follow Up By: Kev & Darkie - Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 11:05

Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 11:05
Roachie,

If I can read between the lines from Mr Lexics reply to Lyn's christmas post, his 50 is booked in for the chop in May LOL

I wonder if Al will be able to have it completed before the National gathering ha ha

FollowupID: 542247

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 12:57

Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 12:57
Kev, Still trying to weigh up the options re the "Cut"
I'm refering to the Outback challenge at Busted Hill. Al is a competitor this year.
FollowupID: 542259

Follow Up By: Kev & Darkie - Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 16:07

Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 16:07
That will be if the comp truck is ready LOL
Lucky has been working on it under supervision of his ailing mutt:))

FollowupID: 542289

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 17:17

Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 17:17
ohhhh wouldn't that be fun, signing your name on Des's bonnet with an angle grinder hehehehehe, I shall just go and see if it'll work on the inverter hehehehe and wait till next year hahahahah

FollowupID: 542304

Reply By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 10:12

Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 10:12
hey Kev
yep we drool over darkie and would have done it if bessie was diesel....

Good to hear that the turbo is still going on.....hehehe!!

anyway...gotta go...help the mil

Laura
AnswerID: 278225

Follow Up By: Kev & Darkie - Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 11:08

Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 11:08
You could have done an engine swap as well as the conversion and still be in front IMO

Was good to catch up again.

Have fun in QLD as you won't want to go back to cockroach land :))

FollowupID: 542249

Reply By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 14:44

Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 14:44
Hello Kev, we turned on the poor weather conditions as we didn't want you to leave New South. Glad you are happy with Darkie. All the best for the festive season.
AnswerID: 278260

Follow Up By: Kev & Darkie - Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 16:12

Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 16:12
Barry,

Bad weather just makes me want to get out of cockroach land even more LOL

Have a very Merry Christmas and hope that Sants gets you a new beer fridge that doesn't zap you ;))

FollowupID: 542291

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 22:40

Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 22:40
can ya send me photos from each angle of the car, and anything you think would help, Im doin up darkside website for Al, and need more photos..

would like some with a clear background if possible.

thanks
AnswerID: 278330

Follow Up By: Kev & Darkie - Tuesday, Dec 25, 2007 at 07:16

Tuesday, Dec 25, 2007 at 07:16
I can do Truckie,

I just need to give him a bath first LOL

FollowupID: 542379