Submitted: Sunday, Dec 23, 2007 at 20:53
Member - Kim M (VIC)
Anyone know how to
cook on those Teflon coated frypans in the bush without stuffing them?
For the last fifty years or so, I've always used a cast iron Frypan, and after the meal, cleaned it with Jex. Washed it off with a bit of
water then left to dry out upside down. No problem.
Then daughter came along and gave me a vigorous lecture on new age cooking implements. Toddled off to the store and bought one of these things that came with a lifetime guarantee.
I've never used it on an open fire, only gas. This "expensive mongrel of a thing" cost me a small fortune and is now stuffed within six months.
Took it back to store and they told me to get stuffed.
Gives credence to the old saying "If your onto a good thing, stick to it".
I'm not finished yet......!
Been all about town trying to find a store that sell's a single woollen blanket. Here is what I was offered by the dear little things:
1. A Chinese doona that wouldn't keep a Sparrow's fart warm.
2. Some new age thing with holes in it.
3. A complete designers bed kit.
Fair dinkum, does life need to be this hard.
Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 23, 2007 at 21:02
Sunday, Dec 23, 2007 at 21:02
LOL time you went bush.
Reply By: Member - BIGDOG G (WA) - Sunday, Dec 23, 2007 at 21:03
Sunday, Dec 23, 2007 at 21:03
Oh jee, lifes tough eh Kim .
Hey.....You know how nothing sticks to teflon... How does it stay in the pan ?
Oh
well ..Cheers...............BIGDOG
Reply By: Member - Axle - Sunday, Dec 23, 2007 at 21:09
Sunday, Dec 23, 2007 at 21:09
HAHAHAHAHA!, thats better than any friday funnie ive read,
Mate I'm in the chit at home with teflon fry pans, forget to use the plastic or whatever utensils with it...LOL.
HaHAHAHA !, the bed thing, to keep warm, MMMM!won't go there.
Merry Xmas
Axle.
Reply By: Navigator 1 (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 23, 2007 at 21:19
Sunday, Dec 23, 2007 at 21:19
Hi Mumble,
Check ouy Hillbilly
Camping Gear. I have only used their frypan but is is great. After cooking put hot
water in then wipe clean with kitchen paper - no detergent. The handle folds in for easy storage.
http://www.campingwithhillbilly.com/
Reply By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Sunday, Dec 23, 2007 at 22:08
Sunday, Dec 23, 2007 at 22:08
"For the last fifty years or so, I've always used a cast iron, and after the meal, cleaned it with Jex. Washed it off with a bit of
water then left to dry out upside down. No problem."
When you are on a good thing, stick to it!!!!!!!!!!!!! I refuse to use teflon, it apparently is not good for the health ( along with most everything else) LOL. If you have had such a good run with your cast iron, why change???? Good cooking!!!!!!
As for the woollen blankets, surely they can be obtained from any Meyers or DJs store, (at a price). I would have thought that most people of 'my vintage' would have a few stashed away in the back of the linen press. LOL
D
Reply By: Member - Stephen F (VIC) - Sunday, Dec 23, 2007 at 22:56
Sunday, Dec 23, 2007 at 22:56
Come on Kim, if some thing works
well don't change.
I'm also sorry to say your daughter as been bitten by the slick and catchy advertising bug, it can happen very easyley around christmas time, side affects are impulse spending and poor judgement.
I can think of two products that i am happy to
cook on one is cast iron and the second would be spun steel
(hillbilly) .
With your yuppy frying pan take it back to them and demand a refund.
Kim how long do you have to go before your ready for your trip?
Follow Up By: Member - Kim M (VIC) - Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 17:36
Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 17:36
It's been cancelled. I can't get the time off from work.
Kim
Reply By: bware - Sunday, Dec 23, 2007 at 23:32
Sunday, Dec 23, 2007 at 23:32
Sheesh,it's so obvious, no. 2 blanket is 'holy' and it is that time of year. You will reap a million years of good karma; don't be silly; buy it now!
Reply By: Zebra400 - Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 04:30
Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 04:30
Not sure I agree with her comments about a teflon coated pan being better over a campfire. I have one at home and they work fantastically
well over a controlled gas flame.
However, when in the bush, I use my cast iron
camp oven as a fyring pan. It doesnt get over heated and also retains its heat better when the heat of the fire suddenly changes.
As for me, I clean my
camp oven with a scotch brite and then I oil it with a very light spray of oil (the spray can uses much less than normal oil). I then wipe it with some paper towel and it is dry & ready for its next use. I find any moisture in the
camp pan is picked up by the oil, so it saves having to wait until the
camp pan is dry before packing it away.
Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 09:19
Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 09:19
Want a tip?
Do not clean your
camp oven with scotch brite, or use detergent of any kind.
Simply wipe with a piece of paper towel and coat with a little oil to stop rust. After continual use you should end up with a black coating that is better than "teflon" in stopping food sticking to the surface.
It's called "seasoning" and works especially
well on cast iron, but can also be used on spun steel.
Reply By: Member No 1- Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 08:57
Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 08:57
get the fire really hot and stick the pan in it for about an hour or unitill the pan is a dull red .....that should get rid off all the teflon and then be ready to use ...and dont forget to season it first before you start cooking on it...search the archives ..every one has their recipe to do this......:)
cant go past a wok in the bush
Follow Up By: disco driver - Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 10:44
Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 10:44
Wouldn't like to go on a twip wiff you, Member No1.
It would take ages.
Every time you see a wok we would be stopping for a look and maybe a kick or two.
Weminds me of a Geologist mate of
mine, same fing, stops at every interesting wock on the twack just in case it shows somefing interesting.
Happy Chwistmas to all.
Disco
Follow Up By: Member No 1- Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 12:52
Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 12:52
you must go see a speech pathologist Elmer
Follow Up By: Member - Littleborgy (SA) - Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 16:06
Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 16:06
I fort a wok was sumfing u fwow at a wabbit wen you haven't got a wifle to shoot it wif??? LOL
Cheers, Brad
Reply By: Louie the fly - Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 10:09
Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 10:09
I worked for a company that makes industrial machinery. One part of the range has an internal teflon coating on the moving parts (although there is no metal contact). They had to make a special version for the tobacco industry because they said "if the teflon comes off and gets in their product, when it burns it can cause cancer".
The moral of the story is - be careful you don't inhale the fumes from the burning teflon on your frypan while dragging on those ciggies.
There's a guy that does metal spinning for us that makes some really good ones. Here's his url
Spun Out In Lob'e
Reply By: Member - dock - Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 15:04
Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 15:04
As said above teflon frypans etc are rubbish on an open fire as you can't control the amount of heat that gets put into them.
Like you I searched for a single bed blanket to put in the swag for when the sleeping bag is too hot eventually finding one at Ray's
camping for $15. It is
grey in colour with a white stripe down one end and I reckon that is perfect as when I can't make out the stripe it must be ready for a wash. All the ones in target etc were too dear and too good to take
camping.
Follow Up By: Member No 1- Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 17:24
Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 17:24
there is nothing in this world too good to take
camping.....
Reply By: landed eagle - Tuesday, Dec 25, 2007 at 08:20
Tuesday, Dec 25, 2007 at 08:20
Good quality teflon pans require about one half of the heat to
cook with compared to a cast iron plate. Difficult to regulate over an open flame.I recently switched to a "name" brand pan for HOME use and will never go back to iron pans and grills.Cant beat the old stuff for the open fire though!!
Merry Xmas and SAFE travelling all.