New driving lights

Submitted: Sunday, Dec 23, 2007 at 22:34
ThreadID: 52809 Views:2674 Replies:10 FollowUps:15
Gidday fellow forum type people. I would really appreciate advice on new lights for the new prado. Have checked out Hella Rallye 4000 (not bad), or IPF make a nice lamp too. Any comment on any light set up would be great. Cheers

Reply By: Member - Doug T (FNQ) - Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 00:44

Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 00:44
These are very good, size 170mm is all you'll need

Lightforce

AnswerID: 278194

Follow Up By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 07:19

Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 07:19
Ditto - you'll be hard pressed to find disappointment in the Lightforces - I had the 170's on my Jack - great overall and the fact that each can be adjusted from pencil to spread, plus the range of clip-on covers makes them highly practical (I have no affiliation etc.)The company's good customer support has been flagged here by forumites quite a few times over the last couple of years. The base models throw a lot of light - your headlamps will compare as the proverbial candles in a jar - and as Doug said, hardly seems necessary to go the more expensive jobs.
FollowupID: 542213

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 07:53

Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 07:53
I will go with Lightforce too, but I like the 240s on my car. Don't ever call them unobtrusive though. The full frontal of Kath shows that below

FollowupID: 542214

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 25, 2007 at 13:46

Tuesday, Dec 25, 2007 at 13:46
Hey John R

That full frontal of Kath shows how much she needs some uplift on her front end.....such a shame that one so young need corrective surgery.... hahaha

Merry Xmas mate

FollowupID: 542401

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Tuesday, Dec 25, 2007 at 16:56

Tuesday, Dec 25, 2007 at 16:56
Maate, maate, she has her uplift at the appropriate moments. No need in every day events like going to the beach where she lets it all hang out. Its just a flick of the switch to get her uplifted or even go to limosine mode. Corrective surgery would be too expensive for my pocket. I just like her lustful size shiners, they give high beam a meaning ;-))))

Hope you have been having a fantastic Christmas mate with all the family. I shall be going to the first day of the Test tomorrow with your extended family. I hope they make you prosperous this next year mate
FollowupID: 542406

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 13:42

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 13:42
Hell John, Those mongrels must be ripping you off somethin' shocking!!!! You only get a guernsey for all these corporate box events if you are paying through the nose for what you get!!! hahahahaha (Don't tell Neil I said that or I'll be on the bloody dole!!!!)
FollowupID: 542474

Reply By: Member. Rob M (QLD) - Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 08:32

Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 08:32
Slowie,
My hella 4000 are nerly 9 years old and apart from one bulb are as original. I can't complain about quality or light output.
Rob M.
Rob M

AnswerID: 278203

Follow Up By: Member - Ed. C. (QLD) - Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 09:59

Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 09:59
Ditto what he said....

Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

FollowupID: 542237

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 15:57

Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 15:57
Have to give a vote to Hella 4000's too.

The body is robust, with sensible adjustment process. After a recent roo strike, only had to buy an insert, not the entire light.

Do a few globes but that's more the road conditions.

See lots of road trains with 4000's on 'em up this way too.

I found the Lightforce 170's good too, but expensive to replace what I'd call minor parts. They don't like gidgea trees.

Merry Christmas everyone,

Hooroo,

FollowupID: 542285

Reply By: Member - Tim - Stratford (VIC) - Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 10:38

Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 10:38
Slowie,

I've been using the Hella 4000's on my Cruiser for three years - no problems at all and a good light. I was running to pencil beams but have since changed to a pencil and a fog to throw more light across and up/down when off-road.

Have been running an HID conversion in the Hellas for the last three months - brilliant light with a blueish tinge. (6000k colour temp). Mates are using 55w HID with 4300k and getting a brilliant white light.

Tim
AnswerID: 278230

Reply By: Off-track - Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 10:50

Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 10:50
I just bought IPF900XS which are bright enough for me. I dont much care for anything brighter as when you dip down the world goes black for a few moments while your eyes adjust.

I had Cibie Turino's on the 80 beforehand and they were great. They are very similar to the Lightforce but came out earlier which makes me tend to think that they modelled their lights off Cibie.

Dont like the look of the Lightforces either, tacky, but they do provide great performance. IMHO.
AnswerID: 278231

Reply By: Rowdy6032 - Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 14:15

Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 14:15

I have just purchased the LightForce 240's twin pack for $380.
Fitting was $120.

Very happy so far. I thought they may look a bit too big for the Prado but I reckon they look ok. Protrude slightly in front of bar.

Suggest you have a look at Pradopoint.com. They have done the subject to death.

There are issues with the size of lights and the factory bar.

AnswerID: 278257

Reply By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 15:32

Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 15:32
Whatever you do , don't buy Hella HID Predator Lights .

They leak like a sieve . Even in quick creek crossings they fill to halfway up the lens .I have to keep bags in the car to cover them when I go for a swim . I had Cybie Oscars for 20 years and they never leaked .

Hella's management say that the only light in their range suitable for fording rivers , is their one model which is waterproof .

When I complained to Hella saying that they should not be sold in 4WD shops and advertised in 4WD mags , they told me that only a small percentage of 4WDs ever went off road , so they were not ripping people off .

I was told that the 4000 Rally do the same and have seen a pair in a picture in a mag which were half full of water .

Cheers ,

Willie .
AnswerID: 278271

Follow Up By: Mogul - Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 17:50

Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 17:50
Never had a problem with my Hella 4000's once adjusted never had to do it again.

They have been swimming numerous times without a drop of water getting into them.
FollowupID: 542308

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 21:56

Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 21:56
Mogul,

A couple of years I drove through a flooded creek to get to Glen Florrie station in the Pilbarra . The owner looked at my flooded lights and laughed - he had a pair of 4000s and he said he had the same problem - they turned into fish tanks after a short swim . Hella just told him tough luck until he kicked up such a stink they replaced them . He didn't put the replacements back on his 4WD because Hella told him they were not designed to be submerged .

By the way , the ones I mentioned 4x4 Mag were Hella 1000s not 4000s .

If you want the truth , ring Hella . They say none of their lights are designed to be submerged ( except their special waterproof model ).

Willie .

PS Here is the email I received from Hella regarding my fish tanks

"Dear Mike,

Sorry for not getting back to you sooner but I have been away on business.

On the surface I would not say the lights are faulty, but to make a clear determination we would need to have the lights back so the we can inspect them. Would you be able to arrange for the lights to be returned to the NSW office and we will have our quality inspector in Melbourne look at them before determining if it is a warranty issue or not?

Please note that the Predator lights are designed to the highest standard, however they were not designed to be submersed. If you are looking at making river crossings where the lights will be submerged then we do have a light that has been specifically designed for this function called the Hydrolux.

If the lights are still working then they can probably been cleaned so that they before as they did prior to getting the water in them.

I will be away on holidays from today, so if you could have the lights returned to our Sydney office along with a record of purchase, I will have them sent to Melbourne for inspection. If you would like to speak with me regarding the issue, please give me a call on or after the 10th of October.

Kind Regards,

Robert Stevenson
NSW State Manager
Hella Australia Pty Ltd

Phone: +61 2 9891 6999
Mobile:  0402 323 072
Fax:      +61 2 9891 664
FollowupID: 542356

Reply By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) - Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 21:10

Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 21:10
I use and recondmend Hella Rallye 4000's as well, very strong and has the best mouting system around.

Go light output and can be converted to HID with no problems.

With Hella or Lightforce you can't go wrong.

And bigger is better.

Regards Richard
AnswerID: 278320

Reply By: Mainey (wa) - Tuesday, Dec 25, 2007 at 00:19

Tuesday, Dec 25, 2007 at 00:19
slowie, maybe another (cheap) option is to increase the current to your present high beam lights by simply replacing the existing wiring loom with thicker cable from the existing high beam lights direct to the Cranking battery, with a quality in-line relay operated by the original high beam switch.

Unless of course you require some really serious light, but I would consider wiring them that way anyway, but with a separate on/off switch in the dash just to give you the option of driving with normal high beam at times.

Mainey...
AnswerID: 278337

Follow Up By: DIO - Tuesday, Dec 25, 2007 at 09:43

Tuesday, Dec 25, 2007 at 09:43
Think you'll find that in all States it is a requirement to have an isolating switch (on the dasboard ?) to disable driving lights so that high beam can be operated without additional lights.
As for replacing exisitng wiring loom with thicker cable FROM THE EXISTING HIGH BEAM LIGHTS don't you really mean - replace wire from battery to relay and relay to lights?
FollowupID: 542385

Follow Up By: Mainey (wa) - Tuesday, Dec 25, 2007 at 23:35

Tuesday, Dec 25, 2007 at 23:35
I thought the line "with thicker cable from the existing high beam lights direct to the Cranking battery, with a quality *IN-LINE* relay operated by the original high beam switch" sorta said that, I'm glad you sorted it out for me.

Yeah, as I say you must have "a separate on/off switch in the dash just to give you the option of driving with normal high beam at times" because it's a real bugga driving round upsetting oncomming motorists.
Mainey...
FollowupID: 542442

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 13:52

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 13:52
Over the years I've had Hellas, IPF, Cibie Super Oscars and finally my current Lightforce (240 Blitz on previous rig, now I've got the XGTs).

I think I'll stick with Lightforce unless something better comes along.

As others have stated, the real problem arises is when you have really good driving lights, but still have craappy standard low beam. The better your driving lights are, the more accentuated the darkness level is when you flick back down to low beam. I've overcome this by fitting HID inserts into the standard headlights. They have a very good low beam spread, but IMHO they are still wanting when in high beam mode, thus the need for the Lightforce peepers.

The other issue to think about if you are a considerate driver, is the situation regarding oncoming traffic. If you have massive flame-throwers on your bullbar and want to "do the right thing", you'll find you'll need to switch them off sooner when you see approaching traffic..... that sort of defeats the purpose. However, to overcome that "problem", you can get into the habit of switching off the driving lights at their own switch initially (leaving you driving on the "normal" high beams) and then when the other car is about another klick closer, flick down to low beam. This is usually only necessary on long, flat, straight sections of road like the Hay Plain or the Stuart Hwy etc etc
AnswerID: 278466

Follow Up By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 17:21

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 17:21
Rochie there is something better....HID Lightforces or you could go the Hella's like mine!

Your lights are pretty bright when your comming towards us.

HID in your main lights and driving lights are the way to go.
FollowupID: 542505

Follow Up By: Off-track - Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 00:14

Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 00:14
Excellent post Roachie.
FollowupID: 542736

Reply By: slowie - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 22:33

Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 22:33
Thanx heaps people, obviously there is a fair bit of experience out there. Any comments regarding the option of IPF lights? What about "Cool blue" globes in the headlights? Cheers
AnswerID: 278675

Follow Up By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 22:37

Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 22:37
Cool blue globes have less light output onto the road then the white ones.

Regards Richard
FollowupID: 542714

Follow Up By: Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Dec 29, 2007 at 14:59

Saturday, Dec 29, 2007 at 14:59
Slowie,

I have just listed a set of IPF's in the trader, They are negotiable ;))
If Darkie didn't have driving lights already they would have been fitted.

FollowupID: 542953