Whats been your favourite vehicle??.

Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 25, 2007 at 19:42
ThreadID: 52850 Views:4503 Replies:18 FollowUps:17
Mine was a 1967 dodge valiant ute . It had 15,000miles on it when i bought it, was one year old, and the price was the grand sum of $1100.00. 15yrs later and 300,000 miles indicated i sold it for 500bucks. Not bad depreciation!!..lol . The motor had never been touched apart from normal servicing but as i remember she was getting a bit fummey.

Reply By: Member - Stephen F (VIC) - Tuesday, Dec 25, 2007 at 20:05

Tuesday, Dec 25, 2007 at 20:05
Mine would have to be my first Subaru WRX 1998, before this they where just work company cars, nice and fast no work ever on the box just a little on the brakes and steering. Ended up keeping it in the family as my sister needed a new car so i gave it to her. I would one day love to rally it imagine the bush going past a 100k an hour.

Cheers....Stephen
AnswerID: 278388

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Tuesday, Dec 25, 2007 at 20:14

Tuesday, Dec 25, 2007 at 20:14
Rally wins, certainly put the WRX on the map eh!.

I reckon the day the brakes went on the landy, i saw the bush go past at a 100k an hr.....lol

FollowupID: 542426

Reply By: Louie the fly - Tuesday, Dec 25, 2007 at 20:18

Tuesday, Dec 25, 2007 at 20:18
BMW 318is Msport. Blew the doors of a HSV Clubsport. Pretty happy with my Cross8 wagon these days though.
AnswerID: 278390

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Tuesday, Dec 25, 2007 at 20:30

Tuesday, Dec 25, 2007 at 20:30
The BM"s have allways done well in motor racing here and overseas.

FollowupID: 542428

Follow Up By: Louie the fly - Tuesday, Dec 25, 2007 at 20:39

Tuesday, Dec 25, 2007 at 20:39
Twas a great car. I live in the Adelaide Hills - perfect for up here. When in the mood for some fun, like thru the Gorge Road (Adelaidians will know it well) I drove it really hard and without using the clutch. Mmmmmm(sport). It handled like it was on railway tracks.
FollowupID: 542431

Reply By: Member - Doug T (FNQ) - Tuesday, Dec 25, 2007 at 20:24

Tuesday, Dec 25, 2007 at 20:24
Axle
I still think about the 1969 Cortina GT , It was a great car to drive , The Troopy I have now I would class as the the one I have kept the longest, and done well over half a million Ks in it ,

AnswerID: 278392

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen F (VIC) - Tuesday, Dec 25, 2007 at 20:36

Tuesday, Dec 25, 2007 at 20:36
Doug, not too shaw what it is but, this Troopy i've got i don't think i could ever sell i feel sorry for the poor family member that ends up with this one
FollowupID: 542429

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Tuesday, Dec 25, 2007 at 20:37

Tuesday, Dec 25, 2007 at 20:37
Those cortina GT"s could go Doug!, mate had one ,could not catch him on my ex police 650 Triumph bike!, Gaaaawd!, we were mad buggers then.

Axle.
FollowupID: 542430

Follow Up By: furph - Tuesday, Dec 25, 2007 at 21:41

Tuesday, Dec 25, 2007 at 21:41
The one I wish I still had, 1966 Renault R8 Gordini. Went like the clappers, 55000 miles without a problem.
Sold it when the first born came along, had a succession of Pugs after. Reliable as all get out, but basic and safe family transport.
Friend had a 1964 Alfa Julia Super who sometimes loaned it to me. Now that was a car with some character and go.
Ended up with a series 1 swb Landy. What a comedown..
These days have a Toyo trayback, Disco tdi, Hyundai Elantra. One way or another I reckon they will have to see me out.
Thanks for the memories blokes, somehow glad you only mentioned cars, not bikes!
furph

FollowupID: 542435

Reply By: On Patrol (East Coast) - Tuesday, Dec 25, 2007 at 20:28

Tuesday, Dec 25, 2007 at 20:28
My current car is great.

Previously my 1961 VW Beetle. I did a few things for the first time in and with that car, I will say no more.
Colin.
AnswerID: 278393

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Tuesday, Dec 25, 2007 at 20:42

Tuesday, Dec 25, 2007 at 20:42
" C'mon, Col" spill the beans!....:))))).

FollowupID: 542432

Follow Up By: On Patrol (East Coast) - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 08:27

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 08:27
OK Axle you asked for it LOL
I got my first puncture in it, My first clutch failure (Cable broke), my first speeding fine (True, speeding and Beetles are not normally synonymous), it was the fist of many cars somewhat modified from what the makers specified. And yes, Ahhh Carol, how could I forget her, I was visiting the clinic for months after.
Colin.
FollowupID: 542444

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 12:02

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 12:02
HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!.
FollowupID: 542462

Reply By: Member - Littleborgy (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 25, 2007 at 21:29

Tuesday, Dec 25, 2007 at 21:29
G'day Axle, i'd have to say that my favorite car(s) would have to be my first one: a 1976? Toyota Corolla with a 4k motor & 5 speed box... Gave it a hiding & it still wanted more.

Also, my VS Commodore... Loved it, but it had transmission issues.

Then there was my VR Calais, transmission issues with that also...

Now that i've got the Patrol, i'll keep it for a while as it's the thing that can take me to do my most favourite thing... 4WDing.

Cheers, Brad
AnswerID: 278400

Reply By: Dunco (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 25, 2007 at 22:18

Tuesday, Dec 25, 2007 at 22:18
The one I have now is the best, but I must say that my first car...1961 Holden...was one I will always remember

AnswerID: 278407

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 13:18

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 13:18
Dunco, those model Holdens were the only car that you had to fully turn the wheels back again, when exiting a corner...lol.had the 1962 EK. it did a lot of trouble free miles.

FollowupID: 542471

Reply By: Member - Luke (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 25, 2007 at 22:34

Tuesday, Dec 25, 2007 at 22:34
I would have to say my favourite vehicle would have to be the Nissan I have today, although there is still a lot of things I would like to do to it :)

I've had a few cars and I quite often think about the TF Gemini I had about 6-7 years ago. Had a bit of work done to the engine. Used to go very well and handled even better.

Now I have a HK Monaro that I will eventually start working on..... Maybe if I didn't spend so much time here on EO it might one day get started, but that's another story LOL

Cheers Luke
AnswerID: 278408

Reply By: Mainey (wa) - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 00:37

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 00:37
I imported Mercedes Benz's for a while, had a 5Lt V8, 2 door coupe that would really blow the doors off 'kids' in their hot V8 Fords.
That was the fastest thing I ever drove, won't be tempted to nominate it's top speed as it's not legal and I was not in 2nd gear either.
A 911 Porshe twin turbo was the absolute fastest accelerating thing I've owned.

But those days just can't compete with the smells, sights and sounds of Kakadu and the far north.

The most "enjoyable" for me is the absolute heap a crap, by comparison to those I see on here. Bought new in '85, has 600,000+ on the clock, with both motor and gearbox rebuilds it runs like a dream, an hasn't seen inside a Toyota dealer since warranty expired.

It very often gets an oil change twice or even three a year, so it costs me nothing and is worth $1 as scrap metal.
But I've gotta put the Solar system somewhere and we can sleep in the back with the fridge and anything required for a trip to Kakadu is close at hand so we can just head north at a moments notice.

Spending so much time on or beside a beach is devastating to the bodywork of a vehicle (rust) and I would not replace this with another while I can get to where I need to be, till it shows detrimental external signs of metal cancer damage.

Girlfriend has a '94 Troopie, but we take the Van because we have everything available and it's far more economical and comfortable to drive.
Is just horses for courses!
Mainey...
AnswerID: 278412

Reply By: landed eagle - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 07:38

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 07:38
My favourite was my 1975 XB GS 302 V8 Panel Van.Had it for 9 years, and in all that time other than general servicing it only needed one set of brakes,one clutch and a waterpump. Never had the rocker covers off it!It was the most reliable car I've ever owned.Only sold it after kids were born to buy a Nissan insult (pulsar). Thankfully I've now gone back to the blue oval.
AnswerID: 278414

Reply By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 08:46

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 08:46
a 1938 Vauxhall Wyvern is where I found
AnswerID: 278416

Reply By: aka - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 08:50

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 08:50
f.j holden plenty of room in the back seat ( for sleeping)
AnswerID: 278417

Reply By: pepper2 - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 09:05

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 09:05
1965 jaguar 3.8litre manual in british racing green with triple laced wire wheels and electric overdrive great car
AnswerID: 278418

Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 11:16

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 11:16
Hi Peps....An excellent car and now worth a bomb.

Had a 67 E-type in factory condition back in '75. Swapped it for a ford zephyr with a 289 V8.

Young and stupid!!!!!! I still cry today.

Cheers....Lionel.
FollowupID: 542452

Reply By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 09:14

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 09:14
Fav car is certainly My current THE PATROL

Most expensive to keep on the road is a draw between My 84' subaru touring wagon and 90' cressidia

Most reliable would have been my 93' EB and 97' EL Falcons

Slowest would be my 94' barina (first of the opal ones)

ONLY one to make a profit from 77' corolla...bought for $600 sold for $2500

MOST FUN.....Has been the motorbikes
85' RZ250 bloody mental bike to learn on
81' Honda CB 750 Great touring bike
96' TTR 600 Belgarda...Got me into 4WDing

Cheers Stefan

AnswerID: 278419

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 09:16

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 09:16
A few favourites - wish I still had them all.

1964 EH Holden wagon (used for surfing trips)
1969 KE16 Corolla Wagon (used for first outback trips) - had bullbar, sumpguard, heavier springs and tropical roof!
1969 LandRover 2A SWB (had our honeymoon on Fraser Is in this)
1976 FJ55 (took the family of 6 bush)
AnswerID: 278421

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 12:05

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 12:05
Judging by all the answers given so far, I feel I must be the only bloke in Australia who only gets rid of one vehicle to replace it with a "better" one. I can honestly say that my current rig is the best one I have ever owned. That will only change when I buy my next rig, which will be purchased because it will be better than the current one.
Look at the list of vehicles I have owned, in order from 1st to current, and you'll see what I mean:
Datsun 1000 (1972 in PNG)
Austin 1800 mkI (1974 in PNG)
......back in Australia....Honda 350/4 (1974)
Honda 500/4 (1975)
Honda 750/4 (1975)
Kwaka 900 (1976/7)
Kwaka 1000 (1977)
Mazda 323 (back in PNG, 1977/80)
HQ Holden (1980)
Toyota Celica (1981)
Mitsubishi GSR (1982/3)
Ford Telstar (1984/5)
Ford Falcon "S" Pack (1986/7)
.......back to PNG in 1988 and had a Bank-supplied Nissan Navara till I returned to Australia in 1990
Ford Maverick (petrol, then dual fuel, 1990/5)
GQ Patrol 4.2 plus Safari turbo(my 1st diesel)....(1995/2000)
GU Patrol 4.2TD (2000/2006)
GU Patrol 6.5 Chev (2006 to current)

AnswerID: 278453

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 13:11

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 13:11
Hi Roachie. You certainly go straight to the top!!!...lol.

What!, no pommy bikes, Mate what you have missed, the sound comming out of a pea shooter muffler!, real chrome!, not to mention getting sprayed with oil, breaking down, vibrations, hahaha.

cheers Axle
FollowupID: 542469

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 14:27

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 14:27
No mate, no pommy bikes and no harleys etc either....hahaha (I might be mad, but I'm not THAT mad!!!! hahaha).

Probably the biggest disappointment with the above was the Kwaka 1000; the 900 was a better bike IMHO. But then again, I'd only had the 1000 for a couple of months when I got the call to go back to PNG, so I hadn't really gotten used to it and hadn't "personalised" it with bits'n'pieces either.......

As far as the 2 wheel drives I've owned, the Falcon was the best IMHO.
FollowupID: 542482

Follow Up By: Member - Luke (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 15:30

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 15:30
"I feel I must be the only bloke in Australia who only gets rid of one vehicle to replace it with a "better" one."

You went from a HQ Holden in 1980 to a FFFFFFFF (I can't say it) Faaaaalc (cant say that one either) 'S'___ Pac in 1986/7. I can't see how you think you were better off.

I have owned both cars and I know which one I would rather drive LOL

Merry Christmas

Cheers Luke
FollowupID: 542497

Reply By: Dave Thomson - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 14:09

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 14:09
The most memorable for me was 1. a 1968 Volkswagon Fastback the most reliable thing I'd ever known if you looked at it the wrong way it'd start,
2. my 93 Hilux surf {yes thats right it went EVERYWHERE and then some still miss it}
3. My current Prado only had it 18 months so still early to say but so far shaping up to be as good as 1 & 2
regards,
AnswerID: 278469

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 14:55

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 14:55
If i remember right a VW (beetle) was planted in ice somewhere as to make a point on the fact that they would fire up in any conditions..lol.

FollowupID: 542488

Follow Up By: On Patrol (East Coast) - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 19:17

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 19:17
Axle
Volkswagen Beetle "Antarctica 1" in 1963 - "the first production car in the Antarctic". Better late than never! In 1962 ANARE, the Australian National Antarctic Research Expedition, were looking for cheap motorised transport to complement the costly heavy tracked vehicles at their scientific research base at Mawson, on the lonely windswept coast of MacRobertson Land. In November of that year, the incoming (1963) Expedition leader, Ray McMahon, exercised his initiative to request, from VW Australasia, the loan of a new Beetle to operate as general transport at Mawson. As the result of a recent directive from Wolfsburg to world markets to concentrate publicity effort on the VW in arctic conditions, the opportunity was welcomed enthusiastically by the Australian manufacturer. Ray McMahon says the sales person he made contact with, named Graham Maslen, scored the promotional coup of his life. After some minor modifications, the 1962½ model Beetle was shipped aboard Arctic supply ship 'Nella Dan'. The colour ruby red was chosen so that the car would stand out from the snowscape.

Official VW co-operation was thorough; the car was delivered with a box of general spares, spare wheels etc., as well as a quality Bolex cine camera with a generous stock of movie film. Ray McMahon sent a regular monthly radio telegram detailing 'Antarctica 1' progress.

The first VW, Antarctica 1, spent a year at Mawson, competing with dog teams and larger tracked vehicles, such as the Snowtrac. Subjected to smothering snows, bitter cold (-52°C) and knifing 200 km/h winds, it turned out to be excellent for running around the station and short traverses of the ice-bound country. Air-cooled, it never froze; tightly sealed, it was immune from drifting snow, which at Mawson was so fine it could blow through tack holes! Scientists called it their 'Red Terror' while VW proudly named it Antarctica 1 - "The first production car to visit Antarctica".

On its return to Australia after the year was up, it was replaced by a similar orange 1964 VW named "Antarctica 2" which served there through 1964 and into 1969, at the end of which it was returned to Australia. This second Antarctic-dwelling Beetle, upon landing back home, was circulated to various dealerships for display. In 1969, one of those outlets was Smith's of Ringwood, Melbourne. Kevin Edwards, then car sales manager of this establishment, remembers the Ringwood showroom was particularly suitable for such a role. He recalls, in addition, that that year Volkswagen Australia issued them with two unusual all-purpose VW utility vehicles for display, of a type not seen previously. One of the pair was sold through a sub agent in the Mansfield district of Eastern Victoria. Antarctica 2 was 'international orange', and like the red sister car had ANARE labels on the doors, as well as the special number plates. If it had been available for sale after that adventure, it should have attracted a premium to market value because of its history. Five years of concerted abuse must have depreciated it somewhat; the snow chains for instance, are reported to have flogged the mudguards to within a micron of their lives. Characters of the early 1960's ANARE fraternity, who either operated or performed mechanical service on Car #1 or #2, confirmed both cars received a most vigorous workout.

Colin.
FollowupID: 542526

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 21:06

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 21:06
Amazing history Col, It was a incredible little bug, loved and hated in the same quanity, Iwas always impressed the way in which it could handle rough going

Axle.
FollowupID: 542544

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 15:14

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 15:14
1978 Nissan E20 camper van I owned from 95-2000
Took it more places than many take there 4by and when it didnt make it back i had somwhere to sleep
AnswerID: 278475

Reply By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 15:40

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 15:40
1989 BMW E30 Coupe . Mitsubishi turbo ( boost between 11 and 19 psi ) , M3 clutch and diff , 11" front discs and M3 calipers , oversize alloy radiator, lowered and stiffened suspension , 7 inch rims ............225 KW at the rear wheels .

Road registered , but required concentration.

Willie
AnswerID: 278480