Anyone traded their wagon for a dual cab?

Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 15:50
ThreadID: 52868 Views:3939 Replies:8 FollowUps:9
Any regrets or the opposite ?

Reply By: Notso - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 16:14

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 16:14
I traded the Patrol for a Mitsubishi Triton twin cab. Used as tow vehicle with caravan.

Happy as, but I never did fill the wagon up like some do. So I find the twin cab with hard cover works for me. Also the evakool fridge fits nicely under the hard cover.

AnswerID: 278484

Follow Up By: porl - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 16:41

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 16:41
Thanks for the quick reply. We have a second small car I do all the shopping & commuting with, so find myself filling the back of the wagon, when not camping, with straw bales, rolls of turf, planks and stuff. I think when camping the stuff I'd fill the wagon with will fit in the back of a dual cab. Point is I reckon I can get enough for my wagon to pay off my mortgage (no not much of a mortgage left) and get a 4WD more suitable to what I usually use it for most often, but retain the 4WD capacity for occasional low range work off the track. Could get a trailer but you know everything is a compromise and wife doesn'tn want a trailer lying round.
FollowupID: 542499

Reply By: briggzee (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 16:26

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 16:26
Traded my 4.2TD wagon and my petrol work ute for a Dual Cab 3.0lt diesal rodeo. Mostly happy but I do feel as though I have lost my "real" 4wd and now have a compromise. I have a tray back on it and there is heaps of room but on the flipside I cant carry the engel fulltime like I used to in the wagon. All in all the dual cab is a lot better to drive around town, a lot lighter and more zippy and more economical. While I dont have to tow anything heavy It is the right choice for me.
AnswerID: 278486

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 18:00

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 18:00
you should take a look at Al's (of Al and Mrs Al fame) 100 series conversions. Real 4x4's with a dual cab flavour

FollowupID: 542508

Follow Up By: Kev & Darkie - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 19:20

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 19:20
Bonz,

You took the words right out of my mouth LOL

I justupgraded from a wagon to a dual cab and didn't lose anything except the cost of the conversion :))

I went from this

To this

And it feels like the same vehicle to drive ;))

It is the best thing I have done so far to a vehicle.

FollowupID: 542527

Follow Up By: briggzee (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 20:24

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 20:24
Kev, nice conversion. Gave the idea some thought but decided the patrol was too old (1999) to warrant the cost. Maybe I should have researched some more
FollowupID: 542536

Follow Up By: Kev & Darkie - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 20:41

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 20:41
I thought long and hard about it and took nearly 6 months to find the vehicle to chop. Al did a fantastic job with the conversion at a very competitive price ($13k) when compared to the other conversion mobs. Darkie is his 11th conversion so he has it down to an art form now.
I had a few additions done at the same time so my cost was slightly higher that shown above but IMO it was well worth it.

It sure beats the hell out of a factory dual cab room wise even though his conversion looks factory ;))

FollowupID: 542539

Reply By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 17:17

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 17:17
I went the other way trading the well equipped Navara STR for a Patrol. I towed a Tambo camper trailer with the Navara and it did it with ease. I found the only problem with the utes being they suffered in continuous hard 4x4 travel.Kimberley, Canning Gunbarrel and others just took it's toll (4 fuel tanks, 2 bullbars, one set of shocks and the chassis cracked twice). It was the same with Hilux and Prado's. Went over to the Patrol for that reason. It can pack a hell of a load, is near unbreakable in the drivetrain and suspension and take that pounding that comes with a lot of outback travel (Same for the cruiser). Bur general towing on outback roads, the Navara was a great car.

Cheers. Mick

AnswerID: 278492

Reply By: Steve - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 18:04

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 18:04
traded LC100 for Defender dual cab. Better in every aspect for us.

Reliable, tough, 10 liers/100ks, peerless offroad ability with room to burn. Only downside is the engine noise in the cab which I'm hoping to address with some sound proofing material this week
AnswerID: 278499

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 18:12

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 18:12
Yep! After having owned 3 Patrol wagon, I finally got smart last year and got a Patrol dual cab. Best thing I've done as far as 4x4s is concerned. I couldn't envisage going back to a wagon again....too many limitations.
AnswerID: 278500

Follow Up By: Steve - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 19:20

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 19:20
Nice all-round rig Roachie - was looking at the Ultimate with the chef the other day

I take it you're happy with it? Looks a good combination of capability & comfort

FollowupID: 542528

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 21:16

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 21:16
G'day Steve, Yeh, very happy with the whole set-up at the moment. Have owned the Ultimate since early 1999 and have been to Cape York with it twice as well as a Simpson Desert crossing and numerous other trips to the Gulf, Birdsville etc etc

It's a very capable trailer....

FollowupID: 542546

Reply By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 18:41

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 18:41
Yeah, what Roachie says appliies to me. I went from a 2000 Pajero to a 2001 Triton dual cab, and put a canvas canopy on it, and put LPG on it as well. Set it up for caravanning, best thing I ever did. Plenty of gear goes in the back on trips, like fuel, eskies, generator, chainsaw, and I even carry the annexe on board, rather than in the van. Tinny rack on top.
No, I have no regrets, I find the dual cab so much more useful than the wagon, when travelling, which was the whole idea.
AnswerID: 278502

Reply By: Jim from Best Off Road - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 19:51

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 19:51
In the throws of doing the same myself. Need a Ute for work and I reckon it will make a better touring vehicle as well.
AnswerID: 278521

Reply By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 06:28

Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 06:28
Maybe I should jump on the bandwagon here,
I want ,, I want ,, I want

AnswerID: 278566

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 11:05

Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 11:05
You've already GOT a dual cab!!! (and you've been thinking about going the other way; to a wagon!!! hahaha)
FollowupID: 542617

Follow Up By: Kev & Darkie - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 11:33

Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 11:33
Roachie,

He wants a real "Dual Cab" now LOL

Kev

FollowupID: 542619