Inskip Point trip with Kids and No 4by!

Submitted: Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 08:19
ThreadID: 52881 Views:4108 Replies:1 FollowUps:0
Hi All, so far how was your Chrissy? I hope everyone has had a good time?

Well i did anyway, took my sisters two youngest kids to Inskip point for 5/ 6 days, i glad i can hand them back, i do love them dearly, and my beautiful wife. Now that i have the sr2 laser i have found that my new toy won't go where my 4by went! Yeah i know that's a no brainer!!!

Well i found out later one of my best mates would loan me his suzuki grand vitara for two weeks, found this out went i was two hours up the road and wasnt going back to unpack and re pack a car!

Oh well!!!

Got to sisters place after visiting friends in brisbane, unpacked car relaxed.

Big day, loaded car up with with the whole box and dice and had enough room that i could shoe horn the kids the wife and my big A55 into the laser, lets just say i didn't have roof racks and had no trailer or hitch for one.

On the way my navman running tom tom software decides to take me along pomona kin kin road, well i thought no i wioll go the gympie way, lucky i did, dirt road and fully laden laser, bad combination, (as i found out next day some guy with camper trailer hit soft stuff on side of road and lost the ct), so crusing along enjoying the scenic route, hit gympie chuck a few turns and on the way to rainbow beach and inskip.

Get to rainbow, grab a bite to eat for everyone, head off for camping grounds, no we went all the way up to the turn around and came back checked out all of the camping grounds, settled on the mv dorrigo campsite which was lucky for quite a few people, and drove the laser across sand with 42 psi in tyres , got to a point where i couldn't go any further and which was on grass and let tyres down to 15 psi, and crised over the rest of the place with out any hassles.

No the funny parts and the not so funny parts, first night there people from brisy up in a red corolla, got bogged and tried to use the accelerator, you guessed it bellied it deeper, next day i wander over and give a little bit of advise and say you could ask someone to pull you out or you may have to get spare out of boot and use it a a jacking point and put sand under tyres and let them down before driving away! Well they got lucky a kind samaritain with a 4by pulled them out but he did it in 2wd not 4wd and spun dirt and sand everywhere. so they got out and i have pics of vehicle in sand, second guy was a young bloke in a hilux 2wd ute, got in so far and was lucky he was smart, stopped when he realised he was getting stuck, let his tyres down and helped push him out, didnt need me as he wasn't in far thank you God, then he set up cam and we watched people come and go, next lot of people that got stuff was two Indian couples really nice people, same thing didnt lower tyre pressures got stuck, my BL, a mate of his and myself with one of the Indian guys pushed out there car, then we had a pajero with a trailer come thru in 2wd almost got bogged, which he did later after doing a great job of reversing backwards with trailer down hill, then he go it stuck, he was still in 2wd, so i jump in and bail him out in 4 low and after he tried to burn his clutch out in 2wd, it was his second time up the beach!!! S i had a little chat with him about stuff, said he was going to leave everything in 4low, i said get it into 4 high unless you need low and drop 10 psi in tyres, don't know if he listened!!!

Well the young bloke that camped next to us ( the wife the kids and myself, loved driving over sand and evrywhere that he thought he could and was showing off to the weekend warriors and urban cowboys that didnt let down there tyres and generally having a good time, so one person out of four who listened was good!

So we had a good time without a fourby but still missing my beloved steed.

See ya all on the flip side of life!!!!

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 08:35

Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 08:35
sounds like a fun time. Goes to show its not the 4b in the people, its the PEOPLE in the 4b that makes the difference.

AnswerID: 278579