Footloose
Years ago, an old Foreign Legion mate of
mine told me what to do if broken down in summer and
sand dune country.
He told me to take a white sheet along. If broken down, remove all items of clothing and wear the sheet...not forgetting the head of course.
He told me that the arabs in
the desert did the same in high temps. (I'll bet they put undies and socks and everything else on at night!).
He explained that the body wouldn't lose as much moisture in this get up. I've never tried it because the moment I became au natural I rekkon a 4wd convoy full of teenage kids would come along and start vomiting:))
Now is this a myth or does the sheet only approach really work ?
Anyone game to try it or does anyone wear a Kaftan arrangement in summer (yes I'm serious) :))
Reply By: Axel [ the real one ] - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 20:48
Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 20:48
Three words will give you the answer ?,
Lawrence of Arabia....
Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 22:41
Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 22:41
Lawrence only wore the traditional arab gear when with the Arabs, at other times he wore the uniform of a British army officer.
He was reputedly gay, and kept promising the locals their own autonomous homeland after they helped him to win the war; a promise he was unable to keep.
Now... tell me again why he wore the garb ? LOL
Reply By: equinox - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 20:55
Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 20:55
I don't see why it shouldn't work Footy.
The white will reflect the sun and heat to a certain extent, and your body will have a chance to breath and sweat and be cooled by the evaporation. The head sweats the most so that would have to be covered.
The whole idea is to conserve
water which if you are broken down would be advantageous to have a fair supply on hand anyway.
I never tried it though ;))
Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 22:44
Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 22:44
Thanks Dave. You don't break down so naturally you've never tried it but it sounds logical, doesn't it.
Reply By: Member - eerfree(QLD) - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 20:59
Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 20:59
Why are people so unkind!!!!
eerfree
Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 22:46
Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 22:46
Bexcause they can be ? :))
Anyway, he was Indian ? not an Arab, and judging by the skin colour wouldnt have a clue about staying out of the sun :))))))))
Follow Up By: KiwiAngler - Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 00:48
Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 00:48
Lawrence of Arabia was an Indian!!!!??? where on earth did you get that idea
1888, 16th August:
Thomas Edward
Lawrence is born in this house in Tremadog North Wales
Lawrence was born in 1888 in Tremadog, Caernarfonshire, North Wales. His Anglo-Irish father, Sir Thomas Robert Tighe Chapman, seventh Baronet of Westmeath in Ireland
Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 12:04
Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 12:04
Lawrence wasn't credited with the "why are people so unkind", Khamal was. Hence the Indian comment.
Reply By: F4Phantom - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 21:28
Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 21:28
I can confirm that it does actually work, when you posted this I went outside, took off my clothes........ come to think of it I never finished the experiment.
Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 22:47
Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 22:47
Does this mean that some female or females are now going to abuse me for giving you ideas ?
Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 21:37
Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 21:37
You have answered your own question, as soon as your goolies are FREE a busload of savers come over the
hill. QED
Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 22:49
Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 22:49
The problem is...if you came over the
hill to find a naked man holding a sheet would YOU stop to offer assistance ?
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 22:50
Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 22:50
I see no problem ;0)
Follow Up By: Member - Steve NT - Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 19:07
Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 19:07
It didn't stop Bonz knocking on my door when I was dressed with nothing but a towel around me.
Cheers Steve.
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 19:17
Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 19:17
sshhhhh what happens at your place STAYS at your place hahehehahaha
Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 22:08
Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 22:08
Footy,
Have never tried the white kaftan outfit, and after the LoA comment above, am never likely to try. Just imagine a wet kaftan contest???
Working out here where it gets very hot, often with ultra low humidity, it is usually cooler to work in long trousers, and long sleeve shirt, oh, and a hat. I have been banished from wearing white, as my wife reckons I'm a dirt magnet anyway, so have to bear with darker "Can't Tear-em" type attire.
No doubt, while wearing a kaftan, with the breeze wafting up around the family jewels, would be a different experience. No one would have to ask where you keep your dagger!
Hooroo,
Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 22:51
Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 22:51
Please dont wander around your missus wearing nothing but a sheet...my reputation is shot after this post anyway!
Reply By: Member - Brad S (SA) - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 22:32
Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 22:32
I used to work in the north of SA. The most comfortable thing to wear was white baggy overalls. Actually any colour was OK. They usually ended up reddish anyway.
Same principle as the white sheet if that was all you wore.
Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 22:59
Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 22:59
So you wore baggy overalls without any ...er umm...not a great mental picture :))))))
Follow Up By: Member - Brad S (SA) - Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 16:50
Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 16:50
I said they turned red not brown...so socks and jocks were the order of the day.
Reply By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 22:40
Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 22:40
A pretty pink sun umbrella would work just as
well :-))
Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 23:01
Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 23:01
It would go with ...err...something I'm sure LOL
Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 23:20
Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 23:20
Damm, senior moment - 'parasol' was the word not umbrella :-)) And yes, El
Lawrence used something similar.
Reply By: Nick R (VIC) - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 22:43
Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 22:43
Occasionally it gets warm here in southern Vic, when it does I find wearing white more comfortable than darker colours, I have 2 white long sleve T shirts that have had a good workout but now also have a couple of Hi Vis yellow ones, they aren't quite as good but are easier to get these days, problem also is that it looks like i work at a gas plant, not a
farm.....
the main thing I like about them is the SPF rating of 35+
Nick
Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 23:03
Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 23:03
Nick, is there some form of
farm "uniform" ? Crikey, never thought of that.
Must agree with the SPF rating ...wonder what the SPF rating of a sheet is....hmm...could end up with burnt ..errr...offerings ?
Reply By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 01:18
Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 01:18
The story I heard was that if you ever got broken down in the desert, take out a pack of cards and start playing patience.
In no time, someone will turn up, looking over your shoulder, suggesting the next card move.
Gerry
Reply By: Member - Chris R (NSW) - Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 09:01
Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 09:01
Haven't tried the sheet... But spent 9 days in jan 2000 at and around
Purni Bore - Colson Track. On return, Lynne at Pink RH said temps were up to 53 in Oodna.
Spent much of every day in wet clothes from Purni's (veeery hot) shower - refrigeration effect was
heaven and cut drinking water consumption massively.
Reply By: bware - Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 09:36
Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 09:36
Hi Footloose,
I remember watching an episode of Michael Palin around the world in which he crossed a desert on camel with the Bedouin who were all wrapped up in black or very dark colours. Apparently the Bedouin reckon that dark colours are cooler. I don't know about that; perhaps it's just a fashion statement or that they like to be surrounded by an aura of mystery.... LOL
Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 10:24
Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 10:24
Hi Footy,
It worked for Casper didn't it:-)))
Reply By: Neil & Pauline - Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 10:55
Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 10:55
I reckon it would be right. I was in the catering corp (better than flogging around the bush) and we were provided with heavily starched white trousers, jackets and aprons. In the
Northam army
camp summer when it was 40 outside it made working in front of wood fires bearable. At the beginning and end of
camp we had to use our jungle greens and then we realised the benifit of the over size whites.
Neil