Gentleman Willie (no, the one from Epping!)
Submitted: Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 20:21
Member - bushfix
t'was a fella from Epping named Willie
the sort you'd offer your boiled billy
this fella to see
a gentleman be
and his character far from a dilly
his home he had offered
for we who had bothered
to chinwag with a couple from SA
the couple arrived through
sydney "shuck and jive"
and were welcomed with a warm G'day
the steak was beaut
bush talk to boot
and the bushtracker we gave the bo' peep
so if on the track
should you meet this chap
be sure to give him a toot
coz Willie of Epping
is not short of mapping
or a love for this country we need
but the fella is keen
and this now I have seen
a fair dinkum fella indeed
thanks Willie, good to meet you mate.
Reply By: Footloose - Saturday, Dec 29, 2007 at 09:23
Saturday, Dec 29, 2007 at 09:23
Crikey, and all this time I thought he was just a good bloke LOL
Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Saturday, Dec 29, 2007 at 12:40
Saturday, Dec 29, 2007 at 12:40
Boy Footie , were you ever wrong . Even my wife says I am a pain in the ar$e .
We had a nice lunch yesterday with Jeremy ( Bushfix) , Richard ( Richard W ) , Willem and Judith and Peter ( Peter 2 ).
The Bushfix toddlers have to be the nicest , best behaved kids I have ever met .
We crawled over Peter's Humvee with lots of oohs and ahs .
Nice day ,
Willie .
Reply By: Richard W (NSW) - Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 06:45
Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 06:45
Jeremy,
Love the poem.
Was great to meet everyone.
Reply By: Peter 2 - Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 19:30
Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 19:30
Yes it was great to catch up with everyone, even though I was late getting there.