Is this the height of government madness

Submitted: Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 16:54
ThreadID: 52969 Views:5559 Replies:18 FollowUps:47
Opened up the paper today and read this:

"Trout could be banned from Victorian waters under a plan to eliminate the state's rivers of foreign fish".

There's not much that sets me back in my chair, but this one did. In fact I couldn't believe what I was reading.

I don't have a problem in getting rid of carp, but trout?

Some sheila who heads up the Murray Darling Commission is behind this, and she needs to be given a fair boot up the rectum for even considering it.

Needless to say there was an emotional response from tourism and fishing organisations throughout the State.

If a man and his kid can't sit beside a river and spend some time together trying to catch a trout then something is wrong.

Kim

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 17:24

Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 17:24
Besides the facr that they're a better eating fish, why should trout be treated any differently to carp in our river systems. They're both introduced species that compete with native species for the same food resources.

As for the sentimental father/son bit, catch a yellow belly instead.

AnswerID: 278982

Follow Up By: porl - Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 21:36

Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 21:36
I'm with Al, walking up sub-alpine peaks a few years ago and seeing our native fish in upper temporary creeks made me teary.

down below, no such thing, snaffled by trout in so many places. (gross generalisation on a forum but supported by research I can provide)

It was in 1985 that I embarked with numerous cartons of xxxx and a heap of mates and eskies in my datsun 1200 sedan (oh i desired the more esxpensive 1600 but not enough cash) on the TEP (Trout Eradication Campaign) inspired by a mate doing a PHD in zoology that grew up in Armidale. They are a trecherous species, bit like us, but I think we try to make space for some of the lesser dominant.

In those days if we got bogged we put a bloke on each corner and carried it through the bog.

So, shoot cats and trout, is my say.

FollowupID: 543107

Reply By: Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 17:26

Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 17:26
Kim,

I'd like to see them try and rid the river systems of Trout as they have done a pretty bleep house effort eradicating the Carp.

AnswerID: 278983

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 17:45

Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 17:45
Kev,

Getting rid of carp is not impossible

http://www.abc.net.au/land line/content/2004/s1162181.htm

Could'nt enter it as a link because Land line is "not welcome on Exploroz" or so the message states. Just remove the space from the disgusting word hahahahaha :((((
FollowupID: 543081

Follow Up By: Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 18:27

Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 18:27
Al,

But it cost around $4 million and they still can't guarantee that they have got them all and that is in a small system.

How much would it cost to do the Murray-Darling System??

Kev

FollowupID: 543086

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 19:02

Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 19:02
Sighhhhhhh !!! That's the problem, it's just all too hard is'nt it. Sounds like the 'local government' side of your brain has kicked in :))))))

$4 mill spread over 10 years is chicken feed. Councils spend more than that on bull bleep functions EVERY year.

While ever we hide from the problems they'll only get bigger.

FollowupID: 543090

Follow Up By: Jim from Best Off Road - Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 19:25

Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 19:25
Al,

Prior to your time on this site there was a chap called David who runs a business called land line (all one word) and caused such havoc he was banned.

He has been banned from more forums than you've had hot feeds. He reappears here from time to time under an alias and gets banned again pretty quickly.

He's best known around the traps as Ozi.

FollowupID: 543096

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 19:29

Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 19:29
Jim,

Ah hah. Thanks for that. I thought there must be a good reason for the message. I've heard of Ozi on a couple of forums now LOL

FollowupID: 543097

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 19:41

Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 19:41
Jim, I am still to work out what input your response has to this post.
FollowupID: 543100

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 22:12

Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 22:12
Fred

Jim's response is that Grumps could not hyper link the word Land line because it's a band word on EO.. (I pretty sure)

FollowupID: 543117

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 22:12

Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 22:12
He was explaining why the word land line (one word) isnt allowed on EO

FollowupID: 543118

Reply By: The Explorer - Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 17:42

Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 17:42
Hello, Sounds like a good idea to me, though at this stage its just an investigation - may prove to be impossible/impractical to achieve for several reasons. We will have to wait and see.

AnswerID: 278985

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 17:45

Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 17:45
It is obvious that there are still complete cretins working in places of power

AnswerID: 278986

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 18:58

Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 18:58
Oiii!!!!

I resemble that remark...hahaha
FollowupID: 543089

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 22:16

Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 22:16
Not in a month of Sundays could you even attain the rank of cretin Sir William. Even your claimed role in the Finance Industry doesnt get close.

Its upstart dumb-ass id10T's who think for some inane stupid disgustingly morose or totally thick reason that they have a sliver of power and use that small glimmer to distinguish themselves and complete and utter morons that I refer to here

Any thought you had that your adventures give you any status like that are completely nullified by your good wifes choice of husband.Well done Annette

FollowupID: 543119

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 09:31

Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 09:31
and its those cretins who usually get their own way cos we dont stick up for what we want
FollowupID: 543176

Reply By: Member - John T (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 17:47

Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 17:47
G'day Kim,

NSW has historically stocked brown and rainbow trout into many of the colder mountain streams and, in doing so, has created a very strong fishing industry in these areas - the Snowy Mountains fishing industry is worth lots of $$$ each season.

In many cases (read streams) in NSW and I suspect Vic too, the only way that there are trout in them is that they get stocked by the government or fishing clubs each year. I know in my part of NSW (New England North West area), if DPI stopped stocking the streams, in a few years all the trout would be gone.

If a government agency today (in any state of Aust) decided that they wanted to stock an "alien" species into the waterways, there would be all hell to pay - apart from the costs of the EIS and the consultation etc and after all of that expenditure the answer would be a resounding NO WAY. The trout (and for that matter all the other ferals) were released in a time when no one thought of the impact on native species and it's only in relatively recent times that those impacts are being proved with the science to back up the conjecture.

In hindsight, the trout and all the other "alien" species we have released into this country (rabbits, foxes, deer, pigs, camels etc)should not have been released, but then again hindsight is always 20/20 is it not.

The RSPCA in SA a few years ago tried unsuccessfully to have fish hooks banned because of the cruelty to fish.

Seems we are going to have to work harder to keep the things we hold dear.
John T (Lifetime Member)
VKS-737 Mobile 2619
Selcall 2619
"Argue for your limitations and sure enough they're yours" - Richard Bach in "Illusions"

AnswerID: 278987

Reply By: spudseamus - Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 17:58

Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 17:58
well well how the worm turns lol Fly fishermen were the main proponent in the banning of recreational dredging in Vic. over 30 yrs ago -- i suppose they will want support from the P.M.A.V. and B.U.G. in their fight ?? and N.S.W. is having a look at restricting fossiking for gold and gem stones so much it wont be worth while to scratch a bit of dirt . So it looks like to hit a jackpot will have to be done at a licensed gambling depot. Bah! humbug!!!
AnswerID: 278988

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 18:07

Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 18:07
I fully suport the eradication of trout in victoria
theres BA in western australia except a couple in the Sw so if we dont have em neither should you.

Seriosly I always thought it was bizare you should need a freshwater liscense to catch what is after all an introduced fish?!?
AnswerID: 278990

Reply By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 18:17

Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 18:17
Kim, I can't ever see that happening, with all the $$$$ involved in the industry. Probably just another new poli on the scene flapping her gums wanting to create controversy. Wouldn't you think that the brains trust of this country could better put a concerted effort in to get water back into the Murray/Darling system. Wouldn't that enhance the survival of our native species, not to mention the agricultural benifits.
AnswerID: 278991

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 18:24

Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 18:24
Well said Fred.
Willie
FollowupID: 543275

Reply By: Member - Kim M (VIC) - Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 18:38

Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 18:38
Buggar me dead. I knew there was a reason why I pack up Damn Dog, put the fishing rod and rifle into the car and go bush.

Tassie, look out....I'm coming back, where a man can roam free without all this nonsense.

I'd defy anyone of you to stand in a 12ft dingy and not get hysterical after catching a 10 pound trout in a beautiful lake or river at dawn.

Kim

AnswerID: 278995

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 19:03

Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 19:03
Sh#t Kim, all this talk of fishing has got me twitchy, and now I've decided to wet a line on New Years day, but my best option will have to be on Stockton Beach, and get amongst the bream, whiting and flathead....bugger.
FollowupID: 543091

Reply By: Member - Barnesy (SA) - Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 18:47

Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 18:47
Surely there is a fish species native to Vic that could take the place of trout? Restock the rivers with local fish and catch them.

As for the line 'the height of government madness' it's being a little dramatic. Governments do some pretty stupid and dishonest things sometimes. Wanting to have a state's river systems stocked with native fish doesn't seem like one of them to me.

Barnesy
AnswerID: 278996

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 19:04

Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 19:04
Yellow belly for the Murray-Darling basin.

FollowupID: 543092

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 19:17

Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 19:17
Yeah, ya right Al, but first we need to get some bl##dy water back into the bl##dy system. Has anyone seen the bl##dy Darling lately. Do they still have them humungus pumps up there near Mungindi that pump the water back into Qld for the cotton.

What native species could we replace the trout with in Alpine streams? I can't think of any.
FollowupID: 543094

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 19:22

Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 19:22
Fred,

Low water levels might be a good time to clean out carp ????

Yes the pumps are still operating to suck the water back into Qld. Bugger all gets over the weirs and into NSW.

FollowupID: 543095

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 19:34

Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 19:34
At the rate it's drying up it won't be long before even the carp run out of mud holes, but the buggers just keep on surviving. I've heard of farmers draining their dams fed by rain run off water every so often to rid them of carp. How do they get in there??

FollowupID: 543098

Follow Up By: Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 20:07

Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 20:07
I'd say the river system would be a little full ATM with all the rain in western QLD/NSW ;))

Kev

FollowupID: 543101

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 20:48

Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 20:48
Let's see how much water enters the Menindee lakes in a few weeks time Kev, I'll have a quid on bugger all significant difference.
FollowupID: 543104

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 22:18

Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 22:18
'the height of government madness' is completely apt.

Lets spend money on removing trout from the waterways, dont be too fussed about education or anything important, sheesh they should be saving for the massive claims likely to come their way......

FollowupID: 543122

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 22:37

Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 22:37
good call Bonz...
FollowupID: 543131

Reply By: David from David and Justine Olsen's 4WD Tag-Along - Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 19:05

Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 19:05
wonder why they haven't banned cats and honey bees?
AnswerID: 278997

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 22:39

Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 22:39
and rabbits

FollowupID: 543133

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 22:42

Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 22:42
didnt reaize how bad honey bees were till I saw an article on them
not something you think of
FollowupID: 543134

Follow Up By: David from David and Justine Olsen's 4WD Tag-Along - Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 23:01

Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 23:01
unfortunately the bees are essential to our current food stocks, devastating to natural flora. Perhaps they needed a long time ago to ban white fellas from this continent :-)
FollowupID: 543139

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 09:53

Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 09:53
speaking of cats....one of our foreshore suburbs has a problem with feral cats living in the sandhills, which because of their sheer numbers are entering private residneces and do what cats do...spray cars, fight with owners pet cats, deficate in gardens etc etc etc....and we have this stupid organisation called C.A.T.S. which appears to have convinced local Gov and State Gov's that funding is needed to catch, steralise and release these ferals back into the sand hills .....i dont understand......?????

maybe we can do that with the trout so that i can still go fishing...

better still can some one get some funding to set up some cateries (fox's and goats as well?) to breed them , steralise them and then relase them back into into the wild so that i can keep doing my feral eradication hunts for the NPWS.....
FollowupID: 543181

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 12:42

Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 12:42
Those cats up at largs (I think) have been a problem for ages if they just put a few cat traps around all would have been solved instead idiots feed them
FollowupID: 543213

Reply By: DIO - Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 19:53

Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 19:53
Just goes to show how clever some of these (P/S) Dept. Heads can be. She has succeeded in getting your attention and stirring up your anger and frustration on the subject. Obviously you are not a wake up to such tricks. The real agenda for the head of the Murray Darling Commission should be in seeking Govt support and finance with a view to restoring the environmental flow to the Murray and other dying river systems. Just like a smart a...e politicain she has managed to divert yours and others attention. Don't fall for it. There's no way she or anyone would succeed in removing trout from our river systems. just a 'pipe dream'.
AnswerID: 279000

Reply By: apriti00 - Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 20:15

Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 20:15
Great idea eradicating these introduced species, the amount of damage they do.
Do these people have dreams at night then open their mouths without giving much thought in the morning. With one great idea like this one the fishing industry and all the associated workers not to mention how much the trout farming and international fishing/tourism helps our economy we can set our country back in one great swoop.
Based on this persons thinking I guess sooner or later I will also be eradicated as my parents migrated here some 50 years ago and I fall under the "Introduced species" there is one hope however this so called "Sheila" will also be eradicated if she is an introduced species.
What's happening to this magnificent and welcoming country.
AnswerID: 279002

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 20:44

Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 20:44
Good'onya apriti00...My family also is an introduced species, as I am sure every single one of the respondants on this post so far are. Lets get our priorities right here. I don't see any of the Govt. tourist brochures admitting the Govt. has got it all wrong with why our major rivers in such a sad state, and yet still putting them as up as our iconic symbols. Yes, this "sheila" that's an Oz term of endearment by the way, is taking a cheap shot to divert attention from a much more serious issue.
FollowupID: 543103

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 10:10

Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 10:10
i think i still have some inherent breeding marks around my ankles from my ancestors....does that mean I'm introduced too?
FollowupID: 543185

Reply By: The Explorer - Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 21:30

Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 21:30
Hi, think you are missing the point. The intention of the "study next month into the impact of reducing numbers of trout, redfin, carp and oriental weatherloach in Victorian waters” is all about reducing our impact on the Australian natural environment, its not about forcing us to stop living and enjoying life. (NOTE:“trout" are only one of the species being investigated).

The decision to carry out such a study is unlikely to have been made by one "sheila" (correct me if I’m wrong). People are working on the more serious issues, this is just a discussion on one aspect of the Govt's (and other peoples) work.

AnswerID: 279006

Follow Up By: Member - Leave_enough_space - Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 21:36

Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 21:36
That's all alright, BUT it's our money they're spending on all this!
FollowupID: 543108

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 21:51

Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 21:51
Gidday - yes, you are right, which is why the decision to carry out the study was probably made by more that one "sheila' as I mentioned. A Minister (or one of his/her advisers/HOD's) elected by the "common people" has with out doubt given the go ahead. Some sort of democratic system apparently.

FollowupID: 543110

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 22:02

Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 22:02
are you for real The explorer,????? More taxpayers money going to some Bull###t study. This will be hundreds of thousands of $$$ spent for What??? More jobs for the Boys I would assume, and they will justify this with more bull###t. Let's get real.
FollowupID: 543113

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 22:18

Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 22:18
Hay Fred

I'm pretty sure you can't go around covering up you swear word with @#$#@@## David doesn't like it

keep up the good work

small kiddies can read it and get a bad idea
FollowupID: 543121

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 22:21

Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 22:21
Hello Fred, there are many taxpayers $$$ spent on "Bull###t studys" (no single one would be get 100% support from taxpayers). Has been happening since taxes were first invented. Wouldn’t get too upset about one new one.

It is obviously considered appropriate by those directly involved in conservation of native fish species and at least some of the public who utilise this forum. Matter of opinion involved so getting personnel is anti-productive.

Suggestion for those that like catching Trout – go for it (and dont throw the slightly undersize ones back) – it will keep both camps happy:)

FollowupID: 543123

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 22:23

Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 22:23
Richard, butter would not melt in my mouth...lol...hahahahaha
FollowupID: 543124

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 22:24

Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 22:24
woops, apologies Richard, you advice is accepted (missed your post) - I shall refrain from quoting expletives in future.

FollowupID: 543126

Follow Up By: Member - Raoul (Snake) H (QLD) - Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 22:32

Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 22:32
To save money perhaps we should get the ACCC to investigate the problem,they are diong bugger all else**(Just filled up with diesel at $1.49 a litre.
Cheers Snake
FollowupID: 543128

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 22:35

Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 22:35
I get upset about every study I know is B/S Greg. Spent too much time in the P/S perhaps? Don't read personal into it mate, never happen.
Happy New Year.
FollowupID: 543129

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 22:39

Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 22:39
No worries mate - the amount of money wasted by Govt (and my wife) need to be question at all times and I suppose thats whats is happening here. Good stuff.

FollowupID: 543132

Reply By: F4Phantom - Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 01:23

Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 01:23
I agree it is crazy. Its the straightening the deck chairs on the titanic approach. I think we should get rid of every single introduced species in the whole of Australia, however if your going to start that process why start with trout. Trout dont cause anywhere the damage that other species do. EG cats in my area have nearly pushed and are continuing to push the lyrebird to extinction, so it would be much easier, more effective and have massive impact to ban cats and shoot the lot of em with the 4 mil. If they got rid of every other species and trout was the last foriegner left, I would say throw the money at it today, but with more massive problems looming its completly moronic.
AnswerID: 279021

Follow Up By: Stiphodon - Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 09:42

Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 09:42
Just a quick comment - cats have never been directly linked as the sole cause to the extinction of a native species (in fact no terrestrial (land) vertebrate pest pests have). Trout on the other hand would have wiped out the Lake Pedder galaxias, and it was only due to the quick actions of a concerned biologist, that is it is still around today. The galaxias is now locally extinct in its native habitat due to trout, and it today it persists as a translocated population in the Western Arthur Range. I am not saying cats are not bad, they are, we just need to be careful when we make comparisons about these things. It is a tough subject, as I agree there is nothing better than introducing a kid to catching his first trout, and enjoying the environment. However can we ethically still support this to the detriment of native species? Put it this way, if we were introducing a desirable terrestrial species that people liked to hunt, but some soft and furry critter was being wiped out due to its introduction, there would be absolute outcry from the public. No one seems to care as much that some of our native freshwater fish are going through this exact same scenario due to introduced species. Maybe because they are not as carismatic as our the warm and fuzzy natives that live on land? Does this make them less important? Once a species is gone, it is not coming back. Just some food for thought
FollowupID: 543177

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 10:01

Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 10:01
"cats have never been directly linked as the sole cause to the extinction of a native species" give em time and they will

they are worse than fox's when it comes to survival eg fox's will eat crickets...never seen one in a cat stomach contents yet.....plenty of other fauna tho
FollowupID: 543182

Follow Up By: F4Phantom - Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 10:07

Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 10:07
I agree with what you say, it could be true that cats have not caused the complete destruction of a species but that is not a very good way of determining how bad something is. Probably the mistake I made was comparing different introduced species controlled by different gov departments, fisheries are not going to put cats/foxes etc.. in higher priority because they dont deal with them. That being the case they should completely irradicate carp first, stuff the other species as carp are probably the single worst new fish in the system. Sure they could get rid of a % of all introduced fish but if they got rid of 100% carp to start with, that would be an amazing feat well commended by everyone. Start with the big problems, then move down the list as you solve them, trout is way way down the list.
FollowupID: 543184

Reply By: Member No 1- Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 09:21

Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 09:21
e fin greenies

but i dont think it will happen....they will be shuting down a recreational activity and industry worth many miilions to the state...and besides we buy eggs from your hatcheries for hatching and stocking here in SA and what will i be able to go flyfishing for if it does happen...dont like carp ....

e fin greenies make me wild...yes they are introduced but they are a desirable species.....they are a good indictor of water quality. when did you last hear of a trout in the dirty waters of the murray

I think your fly fishing clubs, and including all fishing clubs will never let it happen ...not with out a big fight anyway...the worst that may happen i reckon is that some rivers may be prevented from being stocked while others will continue to be so...this will be a win win for all concerned
AnswerID: 279029

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 09:44

Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 09:44
Quite a few years ago A guy was in the paper for pulling a big trout (cant remember the size but maybe 5 pound) from the torrens
FollowupID: 543178

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 10:15

Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 10:15
it wasnt me... the first time i fished it I fell in.....

yep recall that .......it was not unusual for some double digit fish as well back then...(going by the clubs archives)

the dam wall (kangaroo creek Resevoir) put an end to that
FollowupID: 543186

Reply By: Scubaroo - Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 12:38

Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 12:38
Let me preface this post with the fact that I fly fish for trout.

Having spent endless hours trapsing about the bush up little creeks and rivers chasing the buggers, much typical trout habitat is NOT one shared by natives like Macquarie Perch, Trout Cod, Murray Cod, Silver Perch, Golden Perch, Bass etc. There are plenty of areas of overlap, but attempting to eradicate trout from the upper reaches of feeder creeks and rivers etc would merely result in communities deprived of income from a lucrative recreational industry.

The *only* reason I've visited places like Camperdown, Noojee, Buxton, Harrietville and numerous other small towns across the state is in pursuit of trout. Few rivers in such locations would ever support native fish that are suitable for sport fishing. Other places like Warburton and Marysville see about 50% of my visits because of trout fly fishing. Ripping the trout out of the upper Ovens won't see Harrietville become a yellowbelly or cod destination - the "river" is too bloody small to support these fish! The town would become a forgotten backwater.

Each visit to one of these towns sees purchases like petrol, snacks, lunches, sometimes overnight accommodation - all money flowing directly into the pockets of local business owners or employees.

There's far greater threats to the Murray Darling than trout - carp is an obvious target for eradication - it directly displaces "desirable" native species like cod and perch, contributes to water degredation, and I don't know of anyone who drops a couple of hundred bucks a weekend into local communities to go carp fishing. Sure trout have had a major negative impact on smaller species like galaxids, but you will never be able to eradicate them. Why concentrate efforts on destroying them when they can be managed as a sustainable resource (albiet not native), that brings positive benefits to bush communities, as well as direct improvements to water resources, such as providing motivation for willow removal which improves water quality and flows.

Focus on some bigger environmental issues like getting some bloody water for the river gums before they're all gone.
AnswerID: 279050

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 13:35

Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 13:35
I'm not sure how people have come to the conclusion this is the one and only thing the Govt is doing with respect to rivers. It is just one relatively small investigation, and attention is focused on some "bigger" environmental issues. e.g.

Current Projects - Murray Darling Basin Initiative

FollowupID: 543218

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 18:54

Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 18:54
Scubaroo, that is an excellent response, a copy of which should be given to you local member for referral to the instigators of this proposal. Maybe a copy of this whole thread should be given to them, so they might get the pulse of a small section of the public.
Well written mate.
FollowupID: 543281

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 14:16

Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 14:16
Ah Kim,

I think this "sheila" is an import from Tassie, tasked with the eradication of Trout in Victorian rivers and dams so the fishermen need to travel to Tassie to catch them.

Try telling the Taswegians to get rid of the Trout, because they are an introduced species. Ha!

Now carp are an entirely different thing. How anyone can "promote" this noxious pest as a tourist attraction beats me.
The last time I stayed in Mildura amased me.
We went for a drive and crossed the bridge into New South Wales. (Buronga?). There was a floating restaurant adjacent to the bridge where, for a buck or so, you could buy a loaf of old bread to feed the fishies. These slimy back, scaly, disgusting looking fish were so enormous and abundant that they were crawling over each other to get to the bread.
I wished I had a stick of gelly or two with me to eradicate as many of the mongrels as possible. Bugger the tourism.

Now I'm no environmentalist and have no direct knowledge of the Trout's impact on the local fish population.
But I'm bloody sure it could not even come close to the absolute destruction to the River Murray River system environment that the Carp has caused. Not only has it "dirtied" the water, but has caused a marked reduction in native species such as the Murray Cod and Silver Perch to the extent that they are now a protected species. (at least in S.A. they are)

It is illegal in S.A. to return a live Carp to the water and this law should be extended to the whole of Australia IMO.

Now, back to the Trout for a moment.
I had no Idea how many ways you can eat the flesh until my last trip to Tassie.
They are delicious raw.
They can be smoked, fried, grilled or baked and in any form are great eating. (Actually, I haven't tried them baked so I tell a fib there)
They are a thrill to stalk and catch, especially on fly gear.

And Victoria's "Powers that Be" want to eradicate them?
Tell them they are dreaming and would be committing suicide to the tourist trade.

AnswerID: 279054

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 19:07

Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 19:07
Good post Sandman. In NSW it is also illegal to return one to the water if you catch one. But before you can catch one you have to purchase a fishing licence HaHaHa(but that's another story).
We were where you mention this year, and isn't it strange that they feed and sustain one of the greatest pests in this country, responsible for vast destruction. What they are encouraging should be deemed illegal.
FollowupID: 543284