GPS's everywhere.

Submitted: Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 22:27
ThreadID: 52973 Views:4243 Replies:8 FollowUps:24
Ok guys, I'm at a loss.
About 12 months ago I purchased (on ebay) a Uniden 501, because i wanted a GPS that would show me speed cameras, school zones etc. Works well, but no map.
My girlfriend wants to get a GPS with map plus all the functions.
Now that the market is flooded with them and you can buy them almost everywhere (prob coles/woolies soon) I'm completely bamboozled as to what to buy. Believe Tom Tom the top of range.
I was also told that the school zones don't come as standard and some of the updates are around $250pa. (Whereas my 501 is still free.)
Thought and comments appreciated.
Thanks. Rod.

Reply By: Member - Doug T (FNQ) - Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 22:46

Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 22:46
Rod
Try this for info

Garmin and POIs

AnswerID: 279011

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 23:04

Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 23:04
You are right about the updates Navman updates are around $285 or were when I went to buy one.
Tom Tom and Torrents go together And the more u pay the more you get. Tom Tom 1 perhaps!!!!!
Personally I use a Nokia N70 with Tom Tom Mobile 5 on it and it usually gets me there. U can plot a route and save it and travel it when u go. U do this by putting in addresses as waypoints and it follows them to your destination. Use a bluetooth GPS $90 off Ebay Had the phone Tom Tom off the net. Can get POI as well if u look around
Remember nearly all of these are street mappers ONLY
AnswerID: 279013

Follow Up By: F4Phantom - Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 01:06

Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 01:06
I 2nd that, I use tomtom with n73 and find it good, it has most stuff on it although when I go riding I find the lesser tracks are not there, but for normal road driving I have all of AUS and its also one less thing I need to carry around. Torrents & p2p? ........never heard of em.....
FollowupID: 543155

Reply By: The Rambler( W.A.) - Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 23:11

Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 23:11
Hi Rod,
I can understand wanting info on the best value GPS nav system ,but I can,t understand wanting a unit that detects school zones as a feature.Surely you are not intending to be speeding past school sites and if so I think you should consider the consequences.
AnswerID: 279014

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 23:19

Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 23:19
Rambler!! Do you really think your reply is at all reasonable??? Do you actually think thats why Rod wanted that feature for?? Michael.
FollowupID: 543146

Follow Up By: Joe - Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 23:42

Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 23:42
I think getting prompted that you are approaching a school zone is a great feature...so you can check your speed/time of day and slow if necessary.
FollowupID: 543149

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 08:02

Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 08:02
I thought that's why they invented the school zone sign? :-)

FollowupID: 543166

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 08:04

Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 08:04
Ignore my comments....i see others have discussed this issue below.

FollowupID: 543168

Reply By: gonebush SA - Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 23:37

Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 23:37
hi, i must admit that i have no idea on what one to get either and hubby keeps on about getting one, so i do the wife type thing and keep changing the subject (it seems easier) so what should we be looking at? there is obviously a great range going on the prices. i'm still trying to workout why we want one.
AnswerID: 279017

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 12:14

Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 12:14
G'day Mrs Bush, how's George today?
Every bloke needs toys and that's why he needs one. LOL
Seriously, A GPS is a great aid when your out driving in unfarmiliar territory and your just not sure which fork in the road to take. I use a HP iPAQ model rx5765 which incorporates TomTom and being a PDA it has Microsoft Windows which then lets you use Oziexplorer and you can incorporate the Natraster Maps which covers the whole of Australia.
The above model includes an inbuilt Bluetooth GPS and with the Oziexplore/Natraster combination in moving maps, it shows your exact location wherever you might be.
You can also have other maps of higher detail e.g. the Topo series of maps for SA to call on when the need arises.
If you google Hewlett-Packard and go to the HP Smart Office Catalogue and the iPAQ, it will show you the model. Costs on E-bay or shop around will get it for around $600. Oziexplorer and natraster are on top of that but someone may be able to share them with you. Westprint maps have GPS set as I've desribed available in their on-line shop.
FollowupID: 543206

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 12:18

Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 12:18
PS. I should have mentioned that I bought mine through Member Blaze. Check out his Rig page for contact details or ring me on 0427 100016 if you want more info.
FollowupID: 543207

Reply By: The Rambler( W.A.) - Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 23:44

Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 23:44
Yes I do think my reply was reasonable, as he specifically said that the school zones were not standard in the top of the range TOM TOM units, and why would you want that function when all school zones are clearly signposted on the roads--maybe for people driving with their eyes shut.
AnswerID: 279019

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 00:59

Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 00:59
HHMMM OK!!!
FollowupID: 543153

Follow Up By: Footloose - Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 01:05

Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 01:05
The aim of school zones is to make people slow down and anything that helps is good news.
I can think of at least two school zones that can catch the unwary. Both are over a rise and around a corner, and if following traffic doing 60km/h you can be putting lives at risk. I'm sure that there are many more.
Remember that there are drivers in all age /medical conditions on our roads.
We are all potential killers.
Units that warn of school zones are great if they help people to make the decision to slow down.
FollowupID: 543154

Follow Up By: hey_charger - Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 07:07

Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 07:07
I like the school zone feature as it is an AID to driving. I do not have school age kids and our local, country schools do not have flashing lights etc, only the lolly-pop lady. She does not man (pardon me) the school crossing for the total period of the speed reduction. ie she often leaves just after 9am, whereas the speed reduction is in force until 9:30am. My car clock, my car radio clock and my wrist watch are not accurate time pieces and knowing how the constabulary are great revenue-raises these days, I like an AID that does have a very accurate time piece to HELP me be aware of situations.
Rambler, I take offence to the suggestion that I've been driving with my eyes shut. I drive vehicles ranging from a Charger to a Mack B61 with a 20 speed gearbox. (You know, the ones with TWO gear levers and you don't use the clutch to change gears. A little bit of skill is required) and have not had a driving offence for over 42 years. Obviously your experience and driving record is far better than mine.
Rod.
FollowupID: 543160

Follow Up By: Member - Ian H (NSW) - Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 07:37

Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 07:37
Well said mate.
The object of the exercise is to keep our grandkids safe. It can be hard to pick school zones everytime and anything that helps is good.
FollowupID: 543162

Follow Up By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) - Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 08:28

Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 08:28
But officer I didn't know it was a school zone because my GPS didn't tell me.

Humans have eyes to see around them why do you need a GPS to tell you it's a school zone.

A kid runs out in front of you and you hit them....opps BLO%&Y GPS...should of warned me.

Regards Richar

FollowupID: 543169

Follow Up By: Joondalupgerry - Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 08:48

Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 08:48
The school zone warning is an excellent feature.We are travelling around Aussie and are usually driving in unfamiliar territory. Occasionally you miss one..as schools aren't always in obvious places..or you are busy lining the tug and caravan for a lane change or a roundabout etc and the GPS is a great back up.
I have a Mio C520 which has all the features I need, the SiiRF chip and windows 5 software anlong with the Sensis/Whereis mapset has yet to let me down...apart from the usual brief dropouts amongst skyscrapers.
Gerard and Anne

Mio Home Site
FollowupID: 543171

Follow Up By: age - Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 09:17

Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 09:17
Re Comments by hey_charger

The concept of school zones and having a GPS warning is not about being able to tell the time accurately - it is about slowing down for safety - the time bit is just the difference between getting fined or not

So the kid running 5 minutes late past the speed zone change time is infinately more at risk because your gps accurate timing says it is ok to increase your braking distance by now going 20km/h faster.

I get your other points totally, but this has nothing to do with knowing the time accurately.

A
FollowupID: 543175

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 11:21

Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 11:21
Aw come on guys!

What's all this crap about needing an electronic navigation aid to drive past a school.

Navigation aids are only a supplement to what you should be seeing with your own eyes, otherwise you shouldn't be driving.

In our State, Schools have zones around them. Any vehicle approaching a designated school zone with children present, MUST slow down to 25 kph and be observant of any child on the footpath, curb, or roadway. No ifs or buts and this applies 24 hours per day.

I use and enjoy the benefits of a navigational aid, but I sure as hell don't rely on it to keep me out of trouble.

Rod,
In my experience, your girlfriend would be best served by a dedicated stand-alone unit such as the TomTom, or Garmin range of GPS devices.

Which model in each of the product ranges would depend on the exact functionality required and the budget available, but the higher end product ranges will give more "bang for buck".

A reasonable unit will start at around the thee hundred mark IMO.

AnswerID: 279038

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 13:52

Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 13:52
I cant understand why the knockers are only picking on school zones only...why not the speed camera's etc etc and anything else which tells you your breaking the law????

for goodness sake we are only human and we do make mistakes...so anything that lessens our errors must surely be an aid...

why do we have cruise control, speed alerts, speed signs or any road signs at all mmm?
FollowupID: 543219

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 14:28

Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 14:28
Yep, I concur Nudie!

FollowupID: 543225

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 18:05

Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 18:05
25kph, you must be joking. Thats taking it all too far. I wonder why the speed is that low only in SA?? LOL!!!
FollowupID: 543271

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 18:32

Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 18:32
it is 25kph over here as our cars cant go much faster.....what did do do you think was why Michael:)))

and remember that we dont speed over here
FollowupID: 543276

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 09:43

Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 09:43
Why is it all of a sudden everyone has to have a GPS to rely on to tell them where they are and where everything else is.

Hello, Christopher Columbus discovered America without one didnt he and others managed to sail around the world without one and now we need them to go to the shops.

Whilst they are a worthwhile DRIVING AID they are not infallible and anyone who relys on one completely is a fool.
Nothing beats keeping your eyes open and observing what is around you.
In fact if you watch the screen instead of the road you may have more accidents.
In Queensland " The Smart State" ROFL we have set times for school zones and dont have to slow down at midnight. Most of our kids are out painting walls somewhere by that time so wont be around school. LOL
A Navigator with voice is best as you dont have to look at screen and is much safer.
I am not in any way against them but feel they have become the latest" must have" simply because the price has lowered.
They certainly help but are only as good as the maps in them and some are not the best. Also the cost of upgrading the maps is ridiculous, in some cases as much or more than the cost of the unit. Just something the salesman WONT tell you even if you ask as I did and got a very evasive answer.

My rant for the New Year over
FollowupID: 543326

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 10:37

Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 10:37
"Hello, Christopher Columbus discovered America without one didnt he and others managed to sail around the world without one "

People have forgotten how many people died every year while sailing to Australia, before the availability of lighthouses, weather forecasts, radio and navigation not dependant on a cloudless sky.
FollowupID: 543332

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 10:50

Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 10:50
True but was just making a point and people still kill themselves and others on the roads despite much improved roads, highly developed cars and all sorts of driving aids including GPS.

Basically comes down to attitude or lack of it, skill or lack of it and failure to pay attention by drivers who seem to think that driving is a part time occupation and do everything from reading the paper , sending texts, looking over their shoulder at the kids fighting in back seat or exercising their supposed right to " get there first"
FollowupID: 543334

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 15:31

Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 15:31
"My rant for the New Year over" ....glad we aint going to hear from you for the rest of the year then!...:))))
FollowupID: 543372

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 15:44

Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 15:44
Pardon me for having an opinion. I thought thats what this forum is about, without getting flamed for it.
AnswerID: 279203

Follow Up By: hey_charger - Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 21:35

Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 21:35
And all I was asking was ADVICE on purchasing a GPS!!!!
FollowupID: 543412

Reply By: Patrol22 - Wednesday, Jan 02, 2008 at 11:56

Wednesday, Jan 02, 2008 at 11:56
I find CoPilot to be excellent - use it on my ASUS 639N PDA. Comes at a reasonable price for the original and updates are less than $200.CoPilot
AnswerID: 279328

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Wednesday, Jan 02, 2008 at 18:56

Wednesday, Jan 02, 2008 at 18:56
To get back to the subject I would suggest you figure out which brand you want and go to the manufacturers web site and look thru the specs of the models.
Usually it will tell u if u can add your own POI's
I would try TOM TOM, MIO, Garmin and Magellan.
With TOM TOM u can get POI's off the torrent sites and add your own before installing them ( I think on most ) Also maps There is a whole DVD of all the world if you look in the right place
Only thing is they are for Pocket PC or PDA's
NAVman use their own maps which have to be initialised to the unit on Navman website and wont work on any other unit after that.
As Patrol22 says Copilot is good, I have it on my laptop and its better than the Tom Tom mobile 5 on my Nokia phone as far as navigation is concerned. I dont usually use POI's so dont know.
Hope this helps. Lots of the year to go yet. LOL
FollowupID: 543550