Whats a MegaPulse??

Submitted: Monday, Jan 07, 2008 at 19:31
ThreadID: 53218 Views:3522 Replies:8 FollowUps:6
I know it's got something to do with battery conditioning !!
What does it do?? Does it work ?? Or is it just another ' snake oil' ??

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Monday, Jan 07, 2008 at 19:40

Monday, Jan 07, 2008 at 19:40
Signman,

Google is your friend.
The link below is from a completely independent source.

Collyn Rivers is a well known author on all things to do with 12 volt equipment.

Caravanandmotorhomebooks

AnswerID: 280332

Reply By: F4Phantom - Monday, Jan 07, 2008 at 20:40

Monday, Jan 07, 2008 at 20:40
Its a device which takes the power from the rechargeable battery and puts the same charge back into the battery but turns the current on and off something like 30 or 30,000 (something like that) times per second. This makes the plates of the battery vibrate and takes the build up off and extending the life of the battery. I have heard that is works brilliantly, fit it to loads of batteries and heard very good things back from customers, I have not seen difinitave proof though. I also think the battery charge is lessened as its using power all the time on the megapulse but this is offset by the fact the battery lasts a long time, I have read about batteries lasting 8 years of constant use.
AnswerID: 280343

Reply By: Member - Mike DID - Monday, Jan 07, 2008 at 20:47

Monday, Jan 07, 2008 at 20:47
I prefer to avoid the main cause of battery deterioration - sulphation - by ensuring my batteries are fully charged.

Here is a quote from Collyn Rivers "The effect is inherent and is harmless in batteries that are regularly and adequately charged and not overly discharged. But if the battery remains uncharged, even for a few hours, or is consistently under-charged, the sulphate hardens into larger crystals."
AnswerID: 280347

Reply By: Mainey (wa) - Monday, Jan 07, 2008 at 21:01

Monday, Jan 07, 2008 at 21:01
Yes, I believe the MegaPulse units actually work..

I used a series II MegaPulse on my Deep Cycle battery (which spent it's first few years as a DC Storage battery and now used as my Cranking battery) and then wired a series III MegaPulse onto my 2 x 115ah AGM's in parallel when I installed them.

Does it work... I can't prove it beyond all doubt, but then can the knockers prove beyond all doubt it does not, I don't think so.

I extremely happy and would use them on EVERY battery that has to be relied on in the future.

(an I'm not associated with them)

Mainey...
AnswerID: 280353

Follow Up By: Phillipn - Monday, Jan 07, 2008 at 21:51

Monday, Jan 07, 2008 at 21:51
I have two Megapulses, one is on the Prado and the other I move between the Triton ute The tractor and the electric fence batteries.

The one in the Prado has been their for four years, and the battery is working like a new one.

I got two batteries from my neighbour that would not start his tractor. I put them on a three stage charger with the megapulse connected for a couple of weeks then onto a solar panel for a further month. One is now in my tractor and the other is used on the electric fence and when I need a battery for the header it goes in it, starting it with no problems. [ 6 cylinder perkins diesel]

So you ask do they work, yes they do. 80% of batteries that are dumped will respond to a Megapulse. See Solar panel express`s web site

If you have two vehicles you only need to have one unit, swapping it between the two vehicles about every three to four weeks.

I am keeping one unit or the Prado all the time just to see how long the battery will last. They claim you can get up to five times the life with a well maintained battery.

Also see www.megapulse.com.au

FollowupID: 544588

Reply By: Derek from Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Monday, Jan 07, 2008 at 21:31

Monday, Jan 07, 2008 at 21:31
Hi Signman

Yes battery desufators do work and will pay for themselves over and over again as well as decrease the environmental impact of replacing batteries so often.

Have a look at these pictures of how they work.

1) New battery plates are soft and work well.

2) 6 months old. As the battery gets older the plates are crusted with deposits. This is where the sulfarid device works to break down the lead and acid deposits so the battery can perform better and last longer.

3) 11 months old with sulfarid or megapulse type product. Hard deposits broken down and plates are returning to normal.

Derek.
AnswerID: 280367

Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Monday, Jan 07, 2008 at 21:39

Monday, Jan 07, 2008 at 21:39
Do you carry- or can recommend- a ' desulferator' ???
FollowupID: 544580

Follow Up By: Derek from Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Monday, Jan 07, 2008 at 21:48

Monday, Jan 07, 2008 at 21:48
Both are good items and very similar in size and performance.

ebay is always a good source.

Repco stock Megapulse

Derek.
FollowupID: 544585

Follow Up By: Phillipn - Monday, Jan 07, 2008 at 22:00

Monday, Jan 07, 2008 at 22:00
Derek`s units are cheeper than megapulse but do the same job.

That will be a discount next time I buy somthing from you Derek.
FollowupID: 544594

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Wednesday, Jan 09, 2008 at 04:36

Wednesday, Jan 09, 2008 at 04:36
Strewth eh!!
Is there something similar for old and abused epidermal cells?
Gramps.
hahaha. not so.
Jeff.
FollowupID: 544785

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Monday, Jan 07, 2008 at 21:40

Monday, Jan 07, 2008 at 21:40
One million pulse's maybe
AnswerID: 280371

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Monday, Jan 07, 2008 at 22:24

Monday, Jan 07, 2008 at 22:24
or one very large one?

FollowupID: 544599

Reply By: Member - Longtooth (SA) - Monday, Jan 07, 2008 at 22:33

Monday, Jan 07, 2008 at 22:33
Two years ago had a battery deemed 'stuffed' after a load capacity test. Tried a Megapulse and still using the battery and it runs my fridge and lights better than when it was new.

I reckon it works.
AnswerID: 280385

Reply By: Peter 2 - Tuesday, Jan 08, 2008 at 17:59

Tuesday, Jan 08, 2008 at 17:59
I use a Solargizer which also charges the batteries albeit a very small amount.
The Humvee is 24v, the panel is mounted on the garage roof and I just plug it in when the truck is parked.
See this websitehttp://www.pulsetech.com/
AnswerID: 280491