tyres

Submitted: Saturday, Jun 07, 2003 at 20:17
ThreadID: 5331 Views:3970 Replies:5 FollowUps:1
any views on hancock tyres . good bad or otherwise.also cost thanks

Reply By: GOB member vic - Saturday, Jun 07, 2003 at 20:56

Saturday, Jun 07, 2003 at 20:56
healer i run hankook at tyres 2nd set 1st set went about 80000ks only 1 flat so far ran over a stubbie outside herrmannsberg personally i reckon they are a good tyre cost you would have to shop around

89 nissan looking foward to august and more travelling
AnswerID: 22052

Reply By: Member - DickyBeach - Sunday, Jun 08, 2003 at 07:51

Sunday, Jun 08, 2003 at 07:51
Bluehealer,
The March issue of 4WD Monthly ran a tyre comparo of 17 ATs, and the Hankooks scored second to the Coopers.
On the strength of that I bought Coopers all round for our upcoming 3 month sojourn to and through the wild parts of WA (4 weeks to go), and some Hankooks for general use. Haven't had them on long enough to remark on their handling on Fire Trail or Gravel or Sand yet, but when I went to Ballina last weekend to collect my Kimberley Kamper the on-road handling was fine.
See if you can get hold of the 3/03 4WD Monthly and read their comparos for yourself.
I paid $238 a tyre at Brookvale Tyre Centre in Sydney.
DB
AnswerID: 22063

Follow Up By: Member -BJ (Sydney) - Sunday, Jun 08, 2003 at 15:37

Sunday, Jun 08, 2003 at 15:37
DickyBeach how's the Kimberley, we pick up ours Tuesday from Unanderra then to the Gulf. Regards Bob
3 Weeks till Gulf trip
FollowupID: 14501

Reply By: Member - DickyBeach - Sunday, Jun 08, 2003 at 16:13

Sunday, Jun 08, 2003 at 16:13
BJ,
We won't be using ours until 5/7 when set off to SA and WA for 3 months, but we used a friend's a couple of times as a result of which we bought one for ourselves. What further endorsement does one need?
KK's attention to detail and a "do it right the first time" attitude promises an enjoyable (short) holiday.
I'm sure you'll enjoy yours when you take it to the Gulf - we plan on doing the Gulf next year.
Db
AnswerID: 22068

Reply By: Member - Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Jun 08, 2003 at 22:13

Sunday, Jun 08, 2003 at 22:13
yep had a set of 235/85 's on my Mav took them off at 25000km's to puton sone BFG Radial trac edge - what a legend of a tyre!. After 35000 the BFG's had twice the tread of the hankooks and looked like getting 80-100000 out of them, the 'kooks were put back on to sell the car. Maybe would have got 40000 out of them - maybe! they were noisy, squirmy on the road but held on ok, and not bad off road,not as good as the BFG's though.

All the bestSo many places to go!
So much work to do :0(
AnswerID: 22090

Reply By: Suzuki Viagra - Monday, Jun 09, 2003 at 19:47

Monday, Jun 09, 2003 at 19:47
Using Hankook muddies. In the mud they're great - and there's very little difference in any of those mud patterns until you get to the competiton stuff (which is all illegal for road use and will void your insurance). I've used Hankook road tyres ont eh road cars before too with few complaints.

Had BFG's and they were a little better on the road (particularly in the wet) but at the price (Hankook's were nearly 1/2 the price) I wasn't gonna buy another set of BFG's.

Usually the difference in on road wet performance is due to silica content in the rubber - but the cost is heaps more. If you're after bang for buck offroad the Hankook is it. If you want a little extra insurance for on road, well tyres are probably one of the cheapest forms of insurance you can get and there are better onroad tyres.

Also I think the Hankooks are actually better off road than the BFG's for the sort of driving I do (maily weekend warrior mudbashing) - the BFG sidewalls don't allow as much flex till the pressure comes right down, then you've gotta pump em back up or at least stop at a servo on the way home.
AnswerID: 22139