Happy as a pig in a swill pit tonight.

Submitted: Wednesday, Jan 16, 2008 at 23:40
ThreadID: 53567 Views:3277 Replies:4 FollowUps:12
All the long drawn-out hassles at work have come to a conclusion. I'll go down a notch, but still retain the same pay and won't have to put up with all the nonsense.

After 12 months of this, I'll finally be able to sit around a camp fire, enjoy myself, and not have that inherent thought that my working days are finished when I get back home.

I won't tell a lie. It was really getting to me.

Without a doubt, I've got the best staff a man could wish for. Prior to the change over, I want to take them to the bush and have one hell of a weekend. Anyone have a suggestions within a reasonable distance from the Village?

Kids will be involved, so I'm at a bit of a loss to pick an area which will cater for all needs...perhaps Rawson?

Kim

Reply By: Shaker - Wednesday, Jan 16, 2008 at 23:46

Wednesday, Jan 16, 2008 at 23:46
What Village?
AnswerID: 282024

Follow Up By: Member - Kim M (VIC) - Wednesday, Jan 16, 2008 at 23:52

Wednesday, Jan 16, 2008 at 23:52
Melbourne. It's the only Village in Australia.

Kim
FollowupID: 546495

Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Jan 16, 2008 at 23:58

Wednesday, Jan 16, 2008 at 23:58
I live between Tyers & Walhalla, as far as I can see most of the camp sites up this are either fire &/or flood damaged, or have been trashed by bogans!
FollowupID: 546496

Reply By: Matt(WA) - Thursday, Jan 17, 2008 at 01:16

Thursday, Jan 17, 2008 at 01:16
Hi Kim,
Depends on what you are after. There is(or used to be) a good caravan park/camping ground on the Mouth of the Powlett River. On the way to Wonthaggi. Fires were permitted and fun times for all with sand dunes at hand, estury and beach fishing and kids on pushbikes everywhere. I have been in the west for a while now and am not sure if its still about but could be worth a look? Hope this helps
Matt

AnswerID: 282028

Follow Up By: Prattie - Thursday, Jan 17, 2008 at 19:57

Thursday, Jan 17, 2008 at 19:57
hey Kim/Matt
the mouth of the Powlett River Caravan Park would be a great place off peak.Can get very busy during the holiday season. Was there late last year and the river mouth was opening up again.Beach is great. We went with my son and his daughter and had a really good relaxing weekend. Top spot.
FollowupID: 546628

Follow Up By: Member - Kim M (VIC) - Saturday, Jan 19, 2008 at 15:58

Saturday, Jan 19, 2008 at 15:58
I put the idea to them but did'nt get a strong response. They don't appear to be all that interested in going bush.

Kim
FollowupID: 547027

Reply By: Footloose - Thursday, Jan 17, 2008 at 06:31

Thursday, Jan 17, 2008 at 06:31
Happy that the work situation (whatever it is...I just thought you were a fulltime superhero:) has sorted itself out.
I would have cheerfully taken my staff bush for a weekend...and left em there!
Working days finished? Boy have you got that wrong ! Mate, your working days don't ever finish, it's just the nature of the work that changes.
AnswerID: 282032

Reply By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Thursday, Jan 17, 2008 at 07:51

Thursday, Jan 17, 2008 at 07:51
Glad its all worked out for you....but do you do if thats publishable???

Laura
AnswerID: 282039

Follow Up By: Kev & Darkie - Thursday, Jan 17, 2008 at 07:57

Thursday, Jan 17, 2008 at 07:57
Kiwi,

It is secret mens business LOL

FollowupID: 546512

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Thursday, Jan 17, 2008 at 08:16

Thursday, Jan 17, 2008 at 08:16
Im a bloke - what are ya talking about!! (minus the testosterone, the physicals, the whinging and everything else that make men men!!)

go & have ya breaky Kev!!
FollowupID: 546516

Follow Up By: Kev & Darkie - Thursday, Jan 17, 2008 at 08:35

Thursday, Jan 17, 2008 at 08:35
I have been at work for over an hour LOL

FollowupID: 546519

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Thursday, Jan 17, 2008 at 09:03

Thursday, Jan 17, 2008 at 09:03
haha!! back to work hey....so what are you doing on Eo then??!!

In action on the old wheel it should be.......
FollowupID: 546527

Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY (VIC) - Thursday, Jan 17, 2008 at 09:12

Thursday, Jan 17, 2008 at 09:12
Kev
its morning tea time isn't it? Thats what I tell myself anyway.
Now back to work.
Have a nice day
Murray

FollowupID: 546529

Follow Up By: Kev & Darkie - Thursday, Jan 17, 2008 at 09:16

Thursday, Jan 17, 2008 at 09:16
Murray,

It's 5 O'Clock somewhere :))

P.S
Kiwi give up trying to post pics LOL

FollowupID: 546530

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Thursday, Jan 17, 2008 at 09:29

Thursday, Jan 17, 2008 at 09:29
I think I will !! Go back to work!!
FollowupID: 546532

Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY (VIC) - Thursday, Jan 17, 2008 at 12:17

Thursday, Jan 17, 2008 at 12:17
Gday....back again
Its yesterday lunch time in Samoa if thats any help.
Little Wes said its 5 pm in Alaska, but who believes their children anyway. It's time to go and eat again.
Murray

FollowupID: 546552