H3 hummer

Submitted: Saturday, Jan 19, 2008 at 00:34
ThreadID: 53642 Views:2340 Replies:6 FollowUps:8
gday all had my first look at the h3 hummer today and got to say im impressed for a yank tank
it was a petrol model and went very well for the size and weight factor but the most impessive was how all the driveline and exhaust was above the chassis line as usual the lowest point was the diffs butt all else was tucked away nicely out of harms way
Im told the v8 model is a couple of years away for australia but look out toyota this truck is definitly worth a look for the money
with just a little bling stuff set this bloke back under 60 gs
we removed the 26575r16 and fitted some 28575r16 tyres
but he could have gone bigger with no worrys
Throw on a lift and you got a very capable rig i reckon
Cheers Barn

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Saturday, Jan 19, 2008 at 07:53

Saturday, Jan 19, 2008 at 07:53
Petrol model!!! Thats all there is available.. Michael

AnswerID: 282417

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Jan 19, 2008 at 08:23

Saturday, Jan 19, 2008 at 08:23
Wow Finally a Hummer I could live with

Hummer at Detroit Motor Show

AnswerID: 282419

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Saturday, Jan 19, 2008 at 09:23

Saturday, Jan 19, 2008 at 09:23
INteresting BonZ, the pic number 8 of the 11 shows a Landrover. It has the same styling as a BMW, you know, the same style that Holden stole for its new Commodore!! Are we going to see all cars one day with BMW styling?? Scary!! Long gone are the days where all cars had their own styling. Even Crysler stole the Bentley styling for one of their vehicles, is nothing sacred??? Michael

FollowupID: 546938

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Saturday, Jan 19, 2008 at 09:27

Saturday, Jan 19, 2008 at 09:27
OOPPS Chrysler i meant.. !!

FollowupID: 546940

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Jan 19, 2008 at 17:49

Saturday, Jan 19, 2008 at 17:49
ahhhhhhh...... the oxford st model.. up your alley?
FollowupID: 547051

Reply By: Louie the fly - Saturday, Jan 19, 2008 at 08:46

Saturday, Jan 19, 2008 at 08:46
Not badly priced at under 60K for the Toorak Tractor version. Guess we'll soon see lots of Hummers in school carparks and shopping centres. Here's the link to the GM Hummer website.GM Hummer website

This is interesting "Its compact size can improve the H3’s maneuverability and ground clearance in off-road situations. In its home market, it is the only vehicle in its segment that can climb a 16 inch vertical wall, scale a 60 per cent grade and traverse a 40 per cent slope. H3 can also ford 407mm of water at 32 km/hour and 610mm streams at 8 km/hour"

I dare say I would be interested in looking at one.
AnswerID: 282428

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Jan 19, 2008 at 08:59

Saturday, Jan 19, 2008 at 08:59
It looked good until I found out it was petrol and only a 70l tank - ridiculous

FollowupID: 546933

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, Jan 19, 2008 at 09:02

Saturday, Jan 19, 2008 at 09:02
Perfectly suited to its target market LOL

FollowupID: 546934

Reply By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Saturday, Jan 19, 2008 at 09:02

Saturday, Jan 19, 2008 at 09:02
And you can legally tow 1360 Kg...WOW... serious Tojo
competitor ??. In your dreams...:))...oldbaz.
AnswerID: 282432

Reply By: Crackles - Saturday, Jan 19, 2008 at 13:33

Saturday, Jan 19, 2008 at 13:33
Torsion bar front end & leaf rear end it's suspension is not much different from a Rodeo ute. The 800mm deep cargo area and a payload of only 430kg will ensure you can carry your groceries after picking up the kids from school & not much else. Certainly would have trouble fiiting some fridges in lengthways.
The recent 3 way comparison with the Jeep & 76 Wagon Cruiser found the Hummer struggling in many ways so I don't think Cruisers & Patrols have much to worry about particually as an outback tourer.
Cheers Craig...........
AnswerID: 282492

Follow Up By: Member - Vincent A M (NSW) - Saturday, Jan 19, 2008 at 17:42

Saturday, Jan 19, 2008 at 17:42
I agree the thing rides like crap, drove a friend's one down to Albury & back (from Sydney) & on the concrete sections of the Hume hwy the girls needed a sports bra, It was empty the arse bounced all over the place & it needs a bigger fuel tank as it is thirsty & i must admit i think the rodeo ute would out corner it. typical yank car only good in a straight line.
They purchased it as a promotional car & have it sign written all over & That is what it is good for, it does get looked at.
It will certainly appeal for around the city or just to the snow type
FollowupID: 547048

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Jan 19, 2008 at 17:50

Saturday, Jan 19, 2008 at 17:50
The last last last thing on earth its aimed at is outback/anything tourer...

How many have you seen with the wannabe gangster kit of blacked out windows and 40inch rims with rubber bands on it?? THATS who its aimed at.
FollowupID: 547052

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Saturday, Jan 19, 2008 at 18:40

Saturday, Jan 19, 2008 at 18:40
We have a few suburbs in Sydney that they would slot right into next to the black sports Range Rovers!!!

FollowupID: 547066

Reply By: PajeroTD - Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 05:46

Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 05:46
the 4.5L V8 diesel H2 will be out sometime in the near future, which would be fairly good, but I would prefer a Tahoe. The H3 should get the 2.9L V6 which uses the same CGI block and reverse airflow technology (no manifolds) the 4.5 uses.
2.9L V6 = 184kw/550Nm
4.5L V8 = 230kw/705Nm
Don't get all excited about the 5.3L V8, it's just a standard engine, but better than the inline 5 i suppose. I guess the thing i dont like about the H3, is it's a "look at me" vehicle... which works right up until you are side-by-side with an H2.
AnswerID: 282629