New to the forum

Submitted: Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 17:12
ThreadID: 53746 Views:2100 Replies:6 FollowUps:14
Hi to every one on the explor oz forum.
I am new to this so hopefully I can join in with some of the future threads.
I live in south east Qld and I bought a 100series Lancruiser a month ago and hope (when I get time off work) to go to many out of the way places and see some of Australia and its outback. I would firstly like to do a 4wd driving course so I can really learn what I can do in my new beast, then I hope to head bush.

Cheers one and all.

Reply By: Moose - Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 17:18

Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 17:18
G'day Briar and welcome to ExplorOz.
Heaps of info on here to keep you busy for yonks.
May I suggest that a Club would be the best place to obtain your driving course and heaps of useful info. Personally I'm with the TLCC but there are heaps of others out there. You should be able to obtain a much better value for money course from a Club compared to a commercial operator.
Cheers from the Moose
AnswerID: 282915

Follow Up By: Briar Tuck - Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 17:36

Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 17:36
Thanks for that I will look into it. I have heard there a few clubs and driver trainers to choose from around the south east corner. Thanks for the help
FollowupID: 547434

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 17:34

Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 17:34
Brian,

Welcome aboard.

If you need to know ant thing about a 4WD training courses click on the topics icon at the top of the page and it will have more that enough information than you need.

AnswerID: 282917

Follow Up By: Briar Tuck - Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 18:14

Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 18:14
Excellent! Thats a great photo Wayne, where was that taken?
FollowupID: 547446

Follow Up By: Wayne (NSW) - Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 18:52

Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 18:52
Brian,

Thank you, The photo was taken last year on the Hay River Trip.

Click on this link

Hay River

When you travel in places like this it is not hard to find a good subject to take a photo of.

FollowupID: 547460

Reply By: Louie the fly - Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 18:12

Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 18:12
Greeting Brian. Hope you enjoy it on here. It's good to share info and you can get any question answered (well just about). Sometimes it's a good laugh as well.

Hope you enjoy your 4WD and our great country.

Louie
AnswerID: 282923

Reply By: Member - Boo Boo (NT) - Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 18:14

Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 18:14
Briar

Welcome to the club. Its members have a wealth of knowledge and if they don't know the answer to a question they will make one up and see what happens.

Just don't ask about tyres, best fridge, and best 4wd LOL.

Regards Bob
AnswerID: 282924

Follow Up By: Max - Sydney - Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 18:26

Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 18:26
And in case you don't ask, the answers are:

1. BFG Al Terrains
2. Waeco
3. Toyota Landcruiser

Welcome to the forum mate and to the 4WD way of life - its great. Now watch the rude responses to what I said above:

LOL and ducking

Max :-))
FollowupID: 547449

Follow Up By: molzy - Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 18:33

Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 18:33
one out of three aint that bad!!! nothing wrong with bfgs!
FollowupID: 547452

Follow Up By: Wayne (NSW) - Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 18:34

Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 18:34
Max,

1. Coopers
2. Engel
3. Troopie

See what you have started Brian.

FollowupID: 547453

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 18:34

Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 18:34
Welcome Brian, and family??
Always good to see a new face and hear a new voice.
You realise off course you have now inherited some diverse characters...all good mate...;-)))
FollowupID: 547454

Follow Up By: Briar Tuck - Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 18:49

Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 18:49
I see every one has opinions and I like that. Its very confusing. :) I do have though 1 set BF goodrich all terrains, 1 Engel fridge freezer and 1 toyota land cruiser. So far so good.
FollowupID: 547459

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 19:40

Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 19:40
Brian, very diplomatic answer. You'r gonna do OK.
FollowupID: 547490

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 22:03

Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 22:03
1 Cooper STT's
2 Engel
3 Nissan Patrol

Welcome to EO Briar, you'll enjoy it here I reckon, most if not everyone does.

FollowupID: 547559

Reply By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 18:38

Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 18:38
Hi Brian & welcome to a great site. You will get lots of good info from many "gentleman" on here.
Word of warning though. Blokes like Max sometimes only get part of it right, like Waeco, yep that's correct. Tyres also probably correct. But how could anybody be so wrong about vehicle choice?? Anyway 2 out of 3 is pretty good!! LOL & cheers.
AnswerID: 282931

Reply By: Footloose - Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 19:10

Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 19:10
Stick around and meet the good, the bad and the downright wrong ! LOL
AnswerID: 282938

Follow Up By: Wayne (NSW) - Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 19:22

Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 19:22
Footloose,

You should not put yourself down like that.
On the odd occasion you have been half right.:-))

FollowupID: 547478

Follow Up By: Footloose - Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 19:31

Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 19:31
Wayne, I was going to say the good the bad and the ugly.
I should have added the impertinent whipper-snappers....get thee back to the Madigan Line and don't turn right this time :)))))))
FollowupID: 547483

Follow Up By: Wayne (NSW) - Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 19:52

Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 19:52
Footloose,

I will do that, right after I do the
Canning Stock Route,
Simpson Desert,
Kimberleys and
Karajini/Rudall River trips this year.

FollowupID: 547501

Follow Up By: Footloose - Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 20:29

Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 20:29
Its better done from the other end...as you probably know.

Anyway, you'll be working and too busy to enjoy it:))
FollowupID: 547517