caravan for 2 people

Submitted: Wednesday, Jan 23, 2008 at 22:04
ThreadID: 53845 Views:2651 Replies:8 FollowUps:2
This Thread has been Archived
Hi all
Myself and my wife are looking to take off shortly for a 3 month trip across the top. We have just purchased a nissan patrol as the tow vehicle but are complete novices to the caravan scene.
We just want something fairly small, single axle, with a double bed and kitchen, looking to spend max. $15,000.
Can anyone give us some suggestions of make and models to look at that may fit our requirements?
Thanks in advance
Hsut
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Motherhen - Wednesday, Jan 23, 2008 at 22:26

Wednesday, Jan 23, 2008 at 22:26
Hi hsut

So long as you don't anticipate being in the wet, you can get second hand "wind up" caravans quite cheaply. The one we had was small, and the slide out beds at each were both 'double' - a bit too small for my king sized Rooster to share, so we had one bed each. Zip open plastic windows with fly screens meant we were sleeping out under canvas looking at the stars, with very quick and easy setting up.

We used our fold up table, and the l-shaped bench with storage under was roomy to sit on. Plenty of room for two, but not a lot of room for clothes (we just had a couple of weekend bags for clothes stored on the floor when travelling and at night, and on the beds at meal time). It has gas stove with 2 burners and grill, and a sink with pump tap - all we needed. We took it on rough roads and put up with the dust. It has an annex but we didn't need it.

We replaced the fridge with an Engel upright 12/240 v, added a deep cycle battery and made a stand for a solar panel to put out when we stopped. We bush camped most of the time.

Our daughter and partner now use the van and go camping with their two little children, towing with their family station wagon. They set up the annex when staying for more than one night.

Motherhen
Motherhen

Red desert dreaming

Lifetime Member