Remote area travel for the inexperienced.

Submitted: Sunday, Jan 27, 2008 at 23:07
ThreadID: 53947 Views:2636 Replies:8 FollowUps:11
This Thread has been Archived
I was just chatting to a mate who did the Madigan last year. Now perhaps the sand wasn't soft, or the spinifex high because, as trip leader, he didn't think it was all that bad. Remote, yes. But they'd done their preparation and were experienced remote area travellers.He used a lot less diesel than he thought he might. Some parts were more difficult than others, but there were wheeltracks. Quite frankly they had a ball.

I asked him about the Hay River run, and he said I'd find it too boring...I don't think so!

The point I'm trying to make is that all trips are subjective. If they had a breakdown, an accident, had the track been different, it could have been a different story. Misadventures can happen close to home, but when they happen in a remote area, well need I say more?

Now I'm no expert but I suspect that some of us are happy to be a long way from others,and some of us aren't. We can be well prepared but if we go bonkers because there's no one around for a long way, then we shouldn't be there, and will only cause strife for others in the party.

And if you're not sure which type of person you are, then a tag a long might be a good idea. The trip leader will probably soon sort you out :))
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Monday, Jan 28, 2008 at 08:19

Monday, Jan 28, 2008 at 08:19
Footloose,

I think that we can fall into a trap of over confidence. One good crossing of the Simpson Desert and you don't know what people are on about saying that it is hard.

If I am asked about a trip I will always talk about the challenging ones so that I don't give anyone the idea that a remote trip is easy every time.
Not to get them to join GDT on a trip but so they don't go with a false sense of security.