Home made dunnies

Submitted: Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 15:49
ThreadID: 54573 Views:4142 Replies:17 FollowUps:36
How do you keep the girls happy without proper toilets in the outback? Can people give me ideas about making a portable loo, something simple & easy to carry.
I don't want anything that has to be emptied.

Reply By: JustT - Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 15:52

Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 15:52
We cut the bottom out of an old milk crate, then cable-tied a toilet seat to it.

works OK.

AnswerID: 287460

Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 16:05

Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 16:05
Yep, been doing that for yonks, works very well.

Ever noticed how a female can hang on, sometimes for days, until you get to "civilised toilets".
Amazing stuff, wish I had that sort of control.

Cheers....Lionel.
FollowupID: 552699

Reply By: Shaker - Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 16:15

Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 16:15
We use a Jimmy's Thunderbox, very compact to carry.
AnswerID: 287467

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 16:43

Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 16:43
I second that Motion, the Jimmy!s ThunderBox is the way to go,
we use it on all the Tent camping trips, when we leave the Caravan
behind.

Daza
FollowupID: 552714

Follow Up By: Member -Dodger - Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 17:16

Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 17:16
Jimmy's Thunder box is great.
If you have the room then a porta potty is also an option.
However when tenting it the thunder box is the way to go folds flat and is easy to use.
I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

FollowupID: 552725

Follow Up By: Member - Tony W (VIC) - Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 20:07

Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 20:07
And another vote for Jimmy's thunderbox. Originally got it to keep the wife happy but it comes away even when she doesn't now.

Essential camping equipment. No flies and accidents. You can even read on the john.
FollowupID: 552763

Reply By: Member -Signman - Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 16:24

Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 16:24
Send her out over the dune with a shovel !!
AnswerID: 287469

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 16:26

Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 16:26
Signman, you are so heartless. I try to find a spot for her where the the digging is easy.LOL
FollowupID: 552708

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 16:41

Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 16:41
Des, You wouldnt be one that keeps saying "theres one just over the next hill" would you???.. LMAO
FollowupID: 552710

Follow Up By: Louie the fly - Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 17:22

Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 17:22
Somewhere with big rocks so she can rest the top 1/3rd of her backside on.

The other way I keep her happy when away is same as at home -
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
I DON'T TALK TO HER!!!
FollowupID: 552727

Follow Up By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 19:33

Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 19:33
Does she read your posts!!
FollowupID: 552752

Follow Up By: TrevorDavid- Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 20:23

Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 20:23
I'm with you signman, and they should only need a small shovel

TDB
dontyajustluvit

FollowupID: 552768

Follow Up By: Louie the fly - Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 20:23

Geez I hope not. Otherwise I'm in it deep...
FollowupID: 552769

Follow Up By: TrevorDavid- Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 21:09

Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 21:09
Louie, another hole maybe?? LOL.

TDB
dontyajustluvit

FollowupID: 552779

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 16:37

Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 16:37
I got an old wooden toilet seat, and made my own towbar mount for it, same up same as the bumper dumper and for the cost of a seat and some offcuts at a mates work!
Dig a hole under it, and back out till ones heart is content. no need for the bag.

AnswerID: 287472

Follow Up By: Grey Gonads - Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 16:42

Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 16:42
Truckster thats a REAL 'port-a-loo'.
How fast can it go??
FollowupID: 552711

Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 16:42

Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 16:42
Take the keys out first. Would be a wild ride if someone didnt realise you were on the throne....hehehe....

Lionel.
FollowupID: 552712

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 16:52

Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 16:52
I did-nt see a Toilet Paper Holder or a Magazine Rack.

Daza
FollowupID: 552716

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 16:53

Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 16:53
Truckster, Add a longer arm vertically, and you could have a game of net ball as well!!.....lol.

FollowupID: 552718

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 16:54

Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 16:54
Bog roll holder is the draw that slides out with the food in it, so you can make a sandwich before wiping, and the table is on the big door on the GU, so it aint an issue :)~

Its not exactly an event that needs to be 5 star now is it!?
FollowupID: 552719

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 16:56

Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 16:56
Heres the link to the dude that patented the idea
® U.S. Patent # 6125480

http://www.bumperdumper.com/

you can even get T shirts!http://www.bumperdumper.com/ubtnc.htm
FollowupID: 552720

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 18:34

Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 18:34
If you dont use the bag, dont wear thongs!!!!

FollowupID: 552739

Follow Up By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 19:35

Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 19:35
Luv it!! What happens if you put it in reverse?
FollowupID: 552755

Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 20:47

Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 20:47
You get your own back LOL
FollowupID: 552775

Reply By: Moose - Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 17:00

Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 17:00
G'day wato35
Used a real dunny seat as a template and cut out a plywood one. Sanded and painted. Attached it to the folding legs from one of those small camp stools (with the cloth seat bit removed obviously). That way it folds flat and is easy to cart around and very easy to set up. Then use one of those pop-up type of tents. Privacy and comfort and no complaints from my missus nor teenage daughter. Oh yeah - obviously you need to dig a hole! Just make sure you're not too close to a waterway and go as deep as possible so that when filled there's a fair amount of dirt over the "doings" to stop animals digging it up and spreading paper everywhere.
Cheers from the Moose
AnswerID: 287477

Follow Up By: Member - John and Val W (ACT) - Friday, Feb 15, 2008 at 11:54

Friday, Feb 15, 2008 at 11:54
The modified folding camp stool works very well - so well that it is possible to buy them with a plastic moulded seat. The pop up tent is not always necessary either - often there is enough vegetation to give privacy, or you can walk over the next dune. Great way for morning meditation!

Now for the really tricky bit. We are told to burn toilet paper as animals can dig up your deposit and the paper then blows around making a disgusting mess. We have all seen this. BUT toilet paper on its own is very hard to burn.

One way is to keep tut paper separate, say by depositing it- not in the hole - but into a bucket or onto a sheet of newspaper. It can then be brought back to camp and burnt properly in the campfire at a discreet moment. Or carried, carefully wrapped until it can be disposed of responsibly.

An altenative method is as follows:
1. Dig deep hole and make #2 deposit.
2. Set paper to one side, not in the hole.
3. Put a shovel of dirt/sand back in the hole to cover offerings
4. Then put in some newspaper, dried grass or leaves.
5. Place used toilet paper on top and cover with some more dried fuel.
6. Light and supervise to check that the small fire does not escape and that all the paper is burned.
7. When fire is out, fill hole with soil or sand.

NOT suitable in very dry or windy conditions if there is a fire ban in place.

Sure, it takes a few minutes longer, but at least you know that you are not leaving a delayed mess behind you.

Happy meditations,

Val.

FollowupID: 552869

Reply By: Mike Harding - Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 17:17

Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 17:17
The milk crate with a $5 Big W loo seat is good - keeps the flies out of the latrine too.

More recently I've been using this because it takes up less space and can be used easily by the side of the road (well... 100m from the side :)

http://www.grangerscampingworld.com.au/

Click on "Furniture" then "Toilets and Showers" and scroll down to the "Folding Toilet Chair at $29.95. Mine doesn't have the black sheet at the front - thank Goodness :)

The "Thunderbox", just below, is also good I understand.

AnswerID: 287481

Reply By: Member - Noldi (WA) - Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 19:03

Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 19:03
$22 from ranger, folds up flat, light as anything, little aluminium folding frame with a white loo seat on top best but ever
AnswerID: 287494

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 20:16

Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 20:16
Bought one for the wife's B'day a couple of years back. It amused me she wasn't too impressed with it being for her B'day. But she's used it with satisfaction.

FollowupID: 552764

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 19:43

Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 19:43
We use a fold up 9mm plywood thunder box - fours sides fold out on piano hinge. You need to mount each side on a 0, 10, 20 and 30 mm step, so they all fold in flat, if you know what i mean. Drill 13mm holes in the lower corners, so a garden-type cable tie holds them together. Normal plastic seat, and you use the seat as the template to cut out the hole - circumference of hole has to be no more than say 1040mm to take the paper liners we use. In the first flap that folds in, you'll need two 40mm holes so the first flap can fold over the seat wing nuts. Paint the lot in polyurethane gloss. Buy a canvas bag to put it in.

You need a good liner with all the thunderboxes, so they stay clean. We use paper bags - bought a pack of 200 from a bag wholesaler - from memory, a 360x170x550 size checkout bag is the right size. 20kg potato or flour bags are also the right size. We cut out the bottom of the bag; top gets taped under seat with packing tape. When you're packing up, just push the liner in, and put a shovel of coals down the hole to burn off some of the paper, and its all buried.
AnswerID: 287502

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 19:55

Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 19:55
If it helps, I just measured up the plywood pieces:

TOP 500wide x 520 deep
Rear flap (1) : 330H x 445W (this flap has the two 40mm holes)
Front flap (2): 320H x 440W
LHS (3): 310H x 520W
RHS (4): 300H x 520W

the 1,2,3,4 is the order in which they fold.
FollowupID: 552761

Reply By: Ozboc - Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 20:03

Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 20:03
EEEBBBAAAAYYYYYYY --- get a dunny from there - they are cheap - and your not going out and destroying the environment ......

remember when you bury your dunny paper , there is a very good chance animals will dig it up ....

take your crap with you ( in the portable dunny ) and dispose of it in any of the long drops you will encounter on your trip .....

how many times have you been somewhere and seen toilet paper behind trees ? by just digging a hole and burying it - you could be contributing to that mess in our outback ....

so if you can afford the car / tent / caravan / then you can afford the portable toilet

here is one for ya --- its on about $30 at the moment -- i got mine for about $50 + delivery

Toilet on ebay

and before you say it - no i have no affiliation with the seller -- just clicked on the first cheap one i could find

Boc

AnswerID: 287504

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 20:21

Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 20:21
>remember when you bury your dunny paper , there is a very good
>chance animals will dig it up ....

Not if you bury it deep enough or if that is not possible burn your toilet paper.

FollowupID: 552765

Follow Up By: Member - lyndon K (SA) - Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 20:23

Burn the paper! Bury the S--t. We are out bush for weeks, how would you like to carry that around??????????????
Now is the only time you own
Decide now what you will,
Place faith not in tomorrow
For the clock may then be still

FollowupID: 552767

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 20:36

Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 20:36
Pardon me but which planet are you posting from?
FollowupID: 552773

Follow Up By: Member - lyndon K (SA) - Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 23:26

Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 23:26
Hi Mike
Have i lost the plot? If so why?
We tend to travel in quite remote area's for extended periods of time.
So why am i from another planet?
Cheers Lyndon

FollowupID: 552797

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Friday, Feb 15, 2008 at 08:06

Friday, Feb 15, 2008 at 08:06
Hi Lyndon

Sorry, some confusion I thought you were saying burning and burying was a bad thing.

FollowupID: 552831

Reply By: rumpig - Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 20:23

i'll try and explain the setup we use on fraser island.
the lid is a bit of 16mm ply cut approx 600mm x 600 mm sqaure with a plastic toilet seat attached to it. this sits on a 16mm ply box thats got 6 piano hinges holding it all together. 4 of the hinges are in each corner to form the 600mm square box that the lid sits on, the other 2 hinges are in the middle of 2 of the sides. this allows the box to fold up flat to the thickness of 3 pieces of ply for travel. basically to make the box you cut 4 pieces of ply about 600mm x 600mm, then take 2 of the side pieces and cut them in half, you now have 2 pieces 600mm x 600mm and 4 pices 600mm x 300mm. join the 300mm pices back together with the piano hinge so you have 4 bits 600mm x 600mm again, screw them togethre to form the box the lid sits on. on the underside of the lid you screw some scrap bits to fit inside the box to hold the lid from sliding off.
hope that makes some sort of sense, being at fraser we use a sandspear to wash it all down before packing it away in a plastic bag for travel time.
AnswerID: 287512

Follow Up By: rumpig - Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 20:26

Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 20:26
must have missed phil's post, having a read of his it sounds like a similar setup.
FollowupID: 552770

Reply By: Member - Doug T (FNQ) - Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 20:54

Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 20:54
Take one of these with you

AnswerID: 287521

Follow Up By: Member - lyndon K (SA) - Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 23:28

Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 23:28
Doug you would be polluting the planet :)))

FollowupID: 552798

Reply By: Arielle - Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 23:32

Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 23:32
We used a cheap plastic bucket up at Lake Tinaroo at night time in January, which we covered with a plastic bag to keep any smell in (strictly for number 1's only!) and in the morning we dumped it away from the camp. This was the first time we have relieved ourselves in the camper trailer and my husband didn't like the idea at first. He suggested I squat in the bushes near where we were set up and I said there was no way I was baring my backside to the bush and why didn't he try it sometime if he thought it was so easy!! After much laughter he concede that with me plus two girls under 7, that it was a good idea. The bucket proved to be quite sturdy and good enough for a quick pee. The loo roll was put in a separate bag and burned on the fire in the morning. Glad I didn't take up hubby's suggestion to take a squat as it turned out there were a couple of wild dingo/dogs who were terrorising the campsite. They chewed our brand new inflatable boat, a body board, a ski glove, soft cooler, stole food and killed a beautiful curlew one night. Very eerie hearing them prowling around at night and had the kids terrified. Very glad we sold our tent and bought a Jayco camper trailer!
Amanda.
AnswerID: 287541

Follow Up By: Member - John and Val W (ACT) - Friday, Feb 15, 2008 at 12:04

Friday, Feb 15, 2008 at 12:04
Back in the good ole days when most houses had outside dunnies, the "Chamber pot" was the accepted repository for night time wees. You still see then in antique shops, fanciful creations in ceramic or their downmarket enamel cousins.

One of my morning chores as a kid growing up in the fifties was to empty "the pots" - not a favourite chore, just something that had to be done. And the flower garden benefited too.

So the plastic bucket is just a modern version of a time honoured system and nothing to be coy about!

Val

FollowupID: 552872

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Friday, Feb 15, 2008 at 12:26

Friday, Feb 15, 2008 at 12:26
Hi Val

You are bringing back old memories,I can still remember those days,
when we were kids, and even teenagers, that was a chore you had
to do every morning, before you had breakfast, and then off to
school, I can still picture the drum of saw dust in the corner of the
out house, my sister would make me go with her to the toot in
the night, she would make me stand out side, and I would bang on the walls and throw stuff on the roof, that used to get me in the
s--t when we went back in the house.

YES THE GOOD OLD DAYS

Daza.
FollowupID: 552874

Reply By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Friday, Feb 15, 2008 at 00:11

Friday, Feb 15, 2008 at 00:11
Where are the girls replies?
David is happy to dig holes for each of his 3 girls. That's love eh?!!
But men, you just really don't get it do you? What might take you half a newspaper to achieve, we can do in a matter of moments, so it's not a big deal, even age should not weary us...squatting isn't hard if done quickly. If you're a little slower, eat museli for breakfast or get a seat! Whatever your individual requirements but K.I.S.S. We also have a portapottie but David says it is simply the worst thing in the world to empty and I'm never going to try it. I'd prefer the bush anytime, and it is often preferable to the ecotoilets at national parks etc. Wato35 have you seen these loos, have you asked your girl how she feels about it, you may be surprised how resilient she really is. There are far worse things in life we have to endure, its not that bad in comparison (IMHO).
Michelle Martin
Marketing & Customer Support
I.T. Beyond Pty Ltd / ExplorOz

AnswerID: 287548

Reply By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Friday, Feb 15, 2008 at 06:40

Friday, Feb 15, 2008 at 06:40
We use Jimmy's Thunderbox, and every flush is a spoonful of garden lime.. really keeps the smell and flies away..

Bucky '
AnswerID: 287558

Reply By: Member - bushfix - Friday, Feb 15, 2008 at 08:00

Friday, Feb 15, 2008 at 08:00
you guys are all talking crap, fair dinkum. :)
AnswerID: 287567

Reply By: wato35 - Friday, Feb 15, 2008 at 09:19

Friday, Feb 15, 2008 at 09:19
Thanks to all for your ideas, or I could just buy a cork!
AnswerID: 287578

Follow Up By: Moose - Friday, Feb 15, 2008 at 14:39

Friday, Feb 15, 2008 at 14:39
Cork ??? Bloody uncomfortable to sit on :-)
FollowupID: 552899

Follow Up By: Wizard1 - Friday, Feb 15, 2008 at 14:58

Friday, Feb 15, 2008 at 14:58
Give them a cup of harden the hell up....

I'm glad my wife isn't that delicate a princess that she "needs" a proper toilet when camping. The good old shovel method is fine whenever necessary. When in need......
FollowupID: 552902

Reply By: V8Diesel - Saturday, Feb 16, 2008 at 11:21

Saturday, Feb 16, 2008 at 11:21
We keep our old birthday / christmas cards and make these.......

The Magic Cone

Fill the girls up with wooblah and let 'em go!
AnswerID: 287757

Follow Up By: Mark & Jo, S/side, Bris - Sunday, Feb 17, 2008 at 09:06

Sunday, Feb 17, 2008 at 09:06
OH MY GODDDDD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Jo
FollowupID: 553176

Follow Up By: Ole Grizzly - Thursday, Feb 21, 2008 at 09:45

Thursday, Feb 21, 2008 at 09:45
She didn't put the seat up..naughty naughty.
FollowupID: 553938