Snap on gas fittings

Submitted: Tuesday, Feb 19, 2008 at 08:50
ThreadID: 54715 Views:6862 Replies:8 FollowUps:14
Thanks to everyone who helped-out with info that has led to me completing the job on my camper trailer.

Here are a couple of pics of the completed install.....

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Tuesday, Feb 19, 2008 at 08:58

Tuesday, Feb 19, 2008 at 08:58
Just looking at your fire proof mat Roachie, what precautions to you take?
AnswerID: 288265

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Feb 19, 2008 at 11:37

Tuesday, Feb 19, 2008 at 11:37
Ahhh John, Just there for demo purposes mate!!! I had to do some of the work out on the gravel driveway and I wanted to put the carpet down to protect my poor old knees. As you might have seen from the lighter stick in the photo, I did actually test the gas flow etc, but I made sure the ring was on the gravel when I did it.... hahahah (the name's Billy; not Silly....hahaha)
FollowupID: 553570

Reply By: Des Lexic - Tuesday, Feb 19, 2008 at 09:09

Tuesday, Feb 19, 2008 at 09:09
Bill,

I guess it's one way to get the old girl fired up. Will it be covered under Nissan waranty?
AnswerID: 288268

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Feb 19, 2008 at 11:39

Tuesday, Feb 19, 2008 at 11:39
Ahhh Desmond Donut!!! You, my friend, have this whole new world of camper trailers awaiting you!!! I will willingly impart all of my knowledge on the subject, to you at anytime you may so desire......LOLOL

Once you get a trailer and get rid of the roof-topper, you won't need the Viagra tablets anymore, eh!!!?
FollowupID: 553572

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Tuesday, Feb 19, 2008 at 09:50

Tuesday, Feb 19, 2008 at 09:50
Maaate!

I must be a man of simple means.
I just carry a smallish gas bottle with me.

Have a 4.5kg and a 3.0kg cylinder on board. It's handy having two bottles on occasions and one is a "backup" to the other.

Actually, the 4.5kg has a built-in float gauge which shows how much gas is in the bottle.
And with the "refillable" coleman bottles I can run the stove from, I am well covered.

Good idea though, if you only have a larger bottle to draw gas from.

Boy, that burner in the picture looks the goods for cooking crabs with!!!

AnswerID: 288274

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Feb 19, 2008 at 11:35

Tuesday, Feb 19, 2008 at 11:35
G'day Bill,

I do carry a 2nd gas bottle (4kg I think it is). I used to have that heavy ring attached permanently to it, but it was a pita having to get it out each time I want to do a stir fry in the wok. I have bolted the other female outlet i bought, onto that smaller gas bottle, so I can still do the cooking remotely if I ever need to.

I try to keep things simple (to match my mind)......

FollowupID: 553569

Reply By: Member - Pixie - Tuesday, Feb 19, 2008 at 13:09

Tuesday, Feb 19, 2008 at 13:09
Roachie - where can you buy those type of fittings?

Have been considering an extension line for my gas bottles and cannot find one with the right attachments
AnswerID: 288291

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Feb 19, 2008 at 14:07

Tuesday, Feb 19, 2008 at 14:07
They are made by GARTH... part number is SP-7 and they can be purchased at Bunnings.

Garth have a website, but don't sell online.

FollowupID: 553587

Reply By: Member - Matthew ,United Fuel- Tuesday, Feb 19, 2008 at 16:39

Tuesday, Feb 19, 2008 at 16:39
Are they certified????????

I dont really care just curious.

MAtt
AnswerID: 288311

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Feb 19, 2008 at 17:14

Tuesday, Feb 19, 2008 at 17:14
I'm assuming so....... Garth make LPG BBQ stuff so I'm assuming their gear is suited to the task.
FollowupID: 553622

Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Feb 19, 2008 at 23:11

Tuesday, Feb 19, 2008 at 23:11
I am failry sure that they are low pressure only & are to be used AFTER the regulator!
FollowupID: 553716

Reply By: Dave from P7OFFROAD Accredited Driver Training - Tuesday, Feb 19, 2008 at 18:20

Tuesday, Feb 19, 2008 at 18:20
I had thought that Bayonet fittings (if that's what they are) were only to be used for heating and had to be installed by a gas fitter...
Then again, I can;t be sure that they are bayonet from the pics, and laws may be different from state to state, or I might just be wrong...

AnswerID: 288325

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Feb 19, 2008 at 21:04

Tuesday, Feb 19, 2008 at 21:04
Dave, not exactly the bayonett fittings I originally meant....I believe these would be "legal" all over Australia.

Garth Industries: Part no SP-7
FollowupID: 553673

Reply By: Member - Algee (NSW) - Tuesday, Feb 19, 2008 at 20:28

Tuesday, Feb 19, 2008 at 20:28
Roachie, couldnt find the origional thread. can you give me the details of the fittings you used, this is exactly what I am looking for
AnswerID: 288351

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Feb 19, 2008 at 21:02

Tuesday, Feb 19, 2008 at 21:02
Algee...... (hope this link works).

Garth Industries: Part SP-7

I got these at Bunnings in the BBQ area.

FollowupID: 553672

Reply By: Axel [ the real one ] - Tuesday, Feb 19, 2008 at 21:04

Tuesday, Feb 19, 2008 at 21:04
Lovely set up ,great photos , trunddleing along a gravel road / track and all those lovely rocks get to hit the gas line BEFORE they hit the mud flap , lovely , very convenient , "sorry love but I cant make you a cup of tea, as it seems my gas line is a bit kaput from the gravel " lol ,,,,,boom bomb.
AnswerID: 288357

Follow Up By: Member - Leave_enough_space - Tuesday, Feb 19, 2008 at 21:56

Tuesday, Feb 19, 2008 at 21:56
Don't think Roachie does everything backwards, although it may seem like it at times
FollowupID: 553693

Follow Up By: Member - Littleborgy (SA) - Tuesday, Feb 19, 2008 at 22:21

Tuesday, Feb 19, 2008 at 22:21
Correct me if i'm wrong, but isn't that the mudflap in front of the fitting in the second photo?

Cheers, Brad
FollowupID: 553703

Follow Up By: Outnabout David (SA) - Tuesday, Feb 19, 2008 at 22:31

Tuesday, Feb 19, 2008 at 22:31
You would be surprised how many rocks actually fly forward depending on tread type.
I broke my windscreen once a few tears back when a rock flew out from the front tyre hit a tree on the track and richochet back and bang. One in a squillion chance but I watched it happen in front of my sober eyes.
FollowupID: 553708

Follow Up By: Member - Littleborgy (SA) - Tuesday, Feb 19, 2008 at 22:43

Tuesday, Feb 19, 2008 at 22:43
I see what u mean David... Maybe Mr. Roach should've boxed the fitting (and lines if possible) in with a piece of RHS (or SHS if u want to get technical. LOL)

Cheers, Brad
FollowupID: 553711

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Feb 19, 2008 at 23:23

Tuesday, Feb 19, 2008 at 23:23
C'mon, settle down you's blokes!!!! hahaha

The top and bottom photos are taken from beside the camper wheel, looking FORWARD. That little mud flap was put there by me, originally to stop rocks and mud from the tyres of the tow vehicle, from hitting the plastic sink outlet just in front of the camper's wheel.

As such, the gas hose (which is encased in that fairly heavy duty bendable hose), is fully protected from the rubbish tossed-up by the Patrol's wheels. The only exposed bit is the brass fitting and that has a rubber bung over it when travelling.

As David has noted, it could be possible for a rock to be thrown forward from the camper's own wheel, but given the angle of the wheel arch and (again) the level of protection of the gas hose and fittings, I am very confident about the longevity.

If it makes you any happier, the gas outlet is "protected" by a ON/OFF tap up inside the camper. It will only be turned to "ON" on those rare occasions when I have to cook there and I will be "obliged" to check the status of the fittings as I get down low to remove the rubber bung.

Thanks for your concern.....duly noted.

FollowupID: 553717

Follow Up By: Outnabout David (SA) - Wednesday, Feb 20, 2008 at 07:29

Wednesday, Feb 20, 2008 at 07:29
Oh Roachie,

You should know by know we all look for failure in anything "roachie". We have all read about the overheating fixes on the old bus, the spaghetti wiring that would make an Italian Momma proud, fuel savers, bits hanging off your vehicle made up of slotted shelving steel, and of course the oil dumping on the road. So we just look forward to your next step of depleting the ozone layer when your gas line breaks.
I feel you should connect it to the Pootrol that way when it goes up in smoke it is only that that goes up and spares the only Ultimate.

DAvid
FollowupID: 553730